Horse Trail Directory
If using phone, may be best viewed holding it horizontal.
     

Recent Horse Trail and Campground Reviews

Like and Share with your friends.         
Hardens Horse Camp  - Norman , In

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first time here and we loved it. It was quiet and clean, and we always love riding in Hoosier National Forest. The pens were in the shade close to our site and had crushed stone. The owners were friendly and helpful. My husband had an accident on his horse and had to go to the ER. They offered to drive us there since it was getting dark and we were in an unfamiliar area. We declined, so he offered to grain and water our horses while we were gone. When we got back late, he helped my sore hubby into the trailer.

Reviewed by: Cheryl Rager Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/16/2020 Hometown: BREMEN, IN    (Reviewed on 9/19/2020 7:25:39 PM)

Rio Grande National Forest-Old Cow Town Colorado  - Saguache, CO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Zero Stars everything they stated on the website is a lie… No water access and No elec hook up ; We drove 80 miles to a place where no one new what was going on and everyone was apparently high; The one person who came to help us was hired the day before and let us have some water from his house- There was lots of screaming and yelling no one knew anything or checked our horse papers - No one came out to great us We went to several houses knocked finally the girl came came out wired out of head% didn’t even know where to stall the horses; We paid and watered the horses and left; Not a safe or welcomed place to go ; that place needs to be deleted from the site for false advertising there is no phone signal zero ; zero stars Horse people Beware don’t go unless your packing and not just your suit case

Reviewed by: Martha Valverde Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 8/1/9876 Hometown: Terrell, Tx    (Reviewed on 8/27/2020 9:05:58 PM)

Grove Point Stables  - Earleville , Md

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campground is self is amazing and really alot of fun. There are several different sections, the POINT, The NEST, and the COVE. There are limited corrals you can rent but Liz is always updating and improving the campground. All the camping is directly on the water so you can float, swim, canoe, Kayak, have just a great time. We have taken groups of over 20 with us and there is alot of room. It is primitive. No elec, water or sewer. You ride up to the main Farm House for bathhouse and water. This can be fun when we all have our water tanks and go in the back of a pickup to fill them. The Nest and the Cove are VERY shadey. The Point you park along the tree lines but you are out in the open. Liz or her kids will lead you to the beach and you have alot of time to swim your horses. The trails themselves are a little limited but they are pretty flat. The main draw is the ability to ride to the water at sunset and be back at camp in 30 to 40 mins. if you are a cross country jumper -this is the place. THe jump course is amazing. OVerall a really great place to go.

Reviewed by: Carolann Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/1/2020 Hometown: Reisterstown , MD    (Reviewed on 8/3/2020 8:19:03 AM)

Village Creek State Park  - Wynne, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Don't come to this camp unless there is ZERO chance of rain. They close the trails with as little as 2/10th inch of rain. Other than that it is a nice, clean campground. Clean bathhouse, nice covered stalls, and spacious, shaded campsites. All sites are back-in and paved, But most of them have quite a slope to them. The mosquitoes were pretty bad after dark; they need some bat boxes out to take care of them.

Reviewed by: Beans Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/1/2020 Hometown: Southwest, MO    (Reviewed on 8/2/2020 11:09:10 AM)

Elkins Creek Horsecamp & Tack Shop, LLC  - Ironton, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Really enjoyed my time at Elkins Creek. the trails were fabulous. Friendly folks

Reviewed by: Rhamilton Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/10/2020 Hometown: Rarden, OH    (Reviewed on 7/15/2020 10:58:08 AM)

Elkins Creek Horsecamp & Tack Shop, LLC  - Ironton, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great camping and very friendly owners that were very helpful

Reviewed by: Vicki Nichols Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/12/2020 Hometown: Versailles, KY    (Reviewed on 7/14/2020 12:49:08 PM)

Fort Valley Ranch  - Fort Valley, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I'm giving Ft Valley Ranch 4 stars because we enjoyed our stay there. The pro's - nice, clean campground and family type atomsphere. Sites were decent, staff was friendly. Good access to trails. The trails are pretty challenging and you will need shod all the way around or boots all the around. There is a bathhouse that is pretty small - we didn't use since we had a fully contained LQ. Cons -The horse paddocks are okay, but beware and check the ground entirely, one of my paddocks was set into the woods and had small stumps left that were about 2" around and 4" tall. The paddocks were wet and we brought a few bags of sawdust to spread which made a big difference for the horses. I also got spoken to because I allowed my horses to nibble on some grass after we returned from our ride. They also require a health certificate because we were crossing state lines, even though we were coming from only 2 hours away.

Reviewed by: K9FindM Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/20/2020 Hometown: NEW WINDSOR, MD    (Reviewed on 6/25/2020 8:35:29 AM)

Hueston Woods State Park-Horseman's Campground  - College Corner, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I ride here every week. Nice intermediate trails. Riding arena available at the horse camp. Usually not too crowded and easy to maneuver trailers.

Reviewed by: clacefieldhunt Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/16/2020 Hometown: Camden, OH    (Reviewed on 6/23/2020 12:29:05 PM)

Elkins Creek Horsecamp & Tack Shop, LLC  - Ironton, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My new favorite place! This was my first time camping and riding at Elkins Creek, and I loved every minute of it. Rick and Jill are very hospitable, the camp is clean, many amenities like water to rinse your horse off, bathrooms with hot showers, tack shop, common area to gather for a meal, and air conditioning in some of the rooms and wagons. Trails were very well maintained and well marked. I look forward to coming back again and would recommend highly!

Reviewed by: Jen Hope Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/18/2020 Hometown: Arcanum, OH    (Reviewed on 6/22/2020 7:33:02 PM)

Elkins Creek Horsecamp & Tack Shop, LLC  - Ironton, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our 2nd time there, Trails were very maintained, Cabin was very clean. Jill and Rick are very friendly and makes sure everyone has a good time. Band was very good... Great place...Won't be disappointed.

Reviewed by: Coupe Deville Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/18/2020 Hometown: Cranberry Twp , Pa    (Reviewed on 6/22/2020 11:51:33 AM)