Horse Trail Directory
If using phone, may be best viewed holding it horizontal.
     

Recent Horse Trail and Campground Reviews

Like and Share with your friends.         
Golden Hills Trail Rides and Resorts  - Raymondville, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails were incredibly well marked. There are many to choose from. Shoes are a must. There were quite a few river crossings. Sites were level and shady. There is 1 water spigot at the 1st paddock so bring an extra hose in case you are placed at the end. The stalls were aged but there were plenty to choose from.

Reviewed by: AnnE Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/5/2020 Hometown: Central Illinois, IL    (Reviewed on 1/12/2021 4:18:12 PM)

pole canyon ranch www.polecanyon.com  - quitaque, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Enjoyed our stay. The bath house is immaculate, the campsites level. The trails are well marked and they have a good trail map. The trails are a little rocky in places, but not nearly as bad as where I ride in Missouri. There are some very scenic areas and the trails are pretty easy. Being in W. TX, water is scarce, but there couple of good watering holes on the trails. The owners are very nice and accommodating. This is a great place to camp if you also want to ride Caprock Canyon State Park, as is is just a short haoul there.

Reviewed by: RayMaynard Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/15/2020 Hometown: Pocahontas, AR    (Reviewed on 1/9/2021 11:18:23 AM)

Wind Creek State Park  - Alexander City, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails meander through the forest, winding around, up and down hills, but not too strenuous. I would recommend shoes or boots as some of the trails can be rocky. Many of the trails are single track and all are beautiful. Some border the lake and there is a couple of trails that lead down to the lake. The campground has electric and water. I like to park near trees and highline my horse. There are some spots with no trees, so you will need to bring either a hi-tie or portable corrals. Each site has rocks for a fire ring and the trails go right from the campground. Across the street is the bath house. Clean. When entering the park, you need to have paperwork ready along with your tag number (I always forget and have to go back to the truck to write it down). Getting in and out of the camp is easy, even with the biggest rig. Camp spots range in size, but I've never had a problem with my 37' trailer. Easy in and out. Dump station in the RV portion of the park. All in all, a nice place to camp and ride.

Reviewed by: Borncountry62 Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/6/2020 Hometown: Havana, FL    (Reviewed on 12/11/2020 12:17:45 PM)

Whetstone Rocky Gap Trails -Chattooga Trails Bed and Barn  - Mountain Rest , SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

It was very rainy the week that we camped at Chattooga Trails and the nice large paddocks were a little muddy so we ended up high lining near our camper which was nice. We spent most afternoons riding, hiking or in the hammock and swing around the firepit enjoying the beautiful view. The Crumplers were very helpful and the campsite was very clean and had everything we needed. We really enjoyed the trails, they were a little challenging, beautiful and well marked. We didn't think they were too rocky but maybe a little slippery when wet. The scenery beside the gravel trail access road was pretty, uphill going in and downhill returning. We only saw 2 other riders in 3 days.

Reviewed by: Penny J Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/23/2020 Hometown: Guyton, GA    (Reviewed on 12/8/2020 7:32:24 PM)

Elkins Creek Horsecamp & Tack Shop, LLC  - Ironton, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have come to this place several times. the camp is always so clean, as are the restrooms and any common area. The trails are really kept well, we even went out after a rain, all areas were ridable. The people at Elkins, the owners, employees and the campers are so friendly. Just love it here.

Reviewed by: trinity farms Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/23/2020 Hometown: Waynesville, OH    (Reviewed on 12/7/2020 5:21:16 PM)

Elkins Creek Horsecamp & Tack Shop, LLC  - Ironton, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have come to this place several times. the camp is always so clean, as are the restrooms and any common area. The trails are really kept well, we even went out after a rain, all areas were ridable. The people at Elkins, the owners, employees and the campers are so friendly. Just love it here.

Reviewed by: trinity farms Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/23/2020 Hometown: Waynesville, OH    (Reviewed on 12/7/2020 5:21:11 PM)

Elkins Creek Horsecamp & Tack Shop, LLC  - Ironton, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are well maintained and marked! I listed the trails as intermediate however most could probably be ridden by a beginner. Some of the downhill trails might be attention getters for a beginner! Campground has all the needed amenities. Our stalls seem a little tight not sure if all were this size. Great place to ride.

Reviewed by: Jackson1pa Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/22/2020 Hometown: Georgetown, KY    (Reviewed on 10/26/2020 12:36:37 PM)

Elkins Creek Horsecamp & Tack Shop, LLC  - Ironton, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

LOVE THIS PLACE! The trails are amazing, with so many different things to see and always feel safe. The camp is clean and welcoming, all the amenities we could want. Will definitely be back

Reviewed by: tpennell Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/13/2020 Hometown: New Martinsville, WV    (Reviewed on 10/25/2020 9:10:55 PM)

Hoosier Horse Camp  - Norman, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love this place and the trails are great, even when it rains the roads are great to ride

Reviewed by: kcpaterson Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/16/2020 Hometown: Huntington, IN    (Reviewed on 10/25/2020 2:59:49 PM)

Wanatee Park   - Marion, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

FYI: Linn County changed the park's name from Squaw Creek to Wanatee in the fall of 2020 in case someone wants to look up information on it.

Reviewed by: merrymule Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/6/2020 Hometown: Central City, IA    (Reviewed on 10/24/2020 9:11:43 PM)