HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Elkins Creek Horsecamp & Tack Shop, LLC
(click on name for more information)
Ironton, Oh

Overall TRAIL RATING with 146 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 148 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Not one single complaint. We rode the entire main loop, stayed overnight on the trail and had a blast. I like challenging trails and we found some. The weather was horrible; rained, rained and rained. The information the camp hosts provided us was spot on, good trail maps that are accurate. We rode trails less traveled and some that are well traveled, no complaints. I think we rode about 16 miles in each of the two day loop and it was great. If it was not for the rain, none of the trails were bad; days and days of rain made them a little muddy and slick. Experienced horses and decent riders have no worries. I was there before and I had my 10 year old daughter with me, she loved it. The prices are good and the hosts are nut bothersome at all, they give you your space and help you in any way they can. The stalls are good, easy to keep clean, water is close and if you run out of hay, as I did they offered good hay at a decent price. We will be back for sure to finish up some trials we have not seen yet. Oh, ask them were the sights are, they know them all and the scenery is beautiful. Its big country for the east and if you like not having your hand held and good honest riding, this place is perfect. Elkins Creek, see you in the spring.
Reviewed by: Doug Wade on 11/4/2018 4:57:36 PM
More reviews by Doug Wade
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/12/2018 Hometown: Newell, wv

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails have a combination of difficulty. Some are rocky, hilly, and muddy with others dry, wide and gravel. Some steep hill climbs but nothing dangerous or overly challenging. I took an inexperienced horse, Elkins camp & trails offered a perfect mixture of challenges for her. The camp owners are very nice and give you privacy but are very responsive & helpful when or if needed. They are working very hard on trail maintenance in areas that are frequently used or low lying. It is a 7 hour drive for me, have been there twice this past summer and will be planning a trip again in future.
Reviewed by: Orion on 9/18/2018 8:47:05 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/15/2018 Hometown: Cochranton, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Roger Mason on 9/10/2018 6:14:45 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/8/2018 Hometown: Grayson, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camped at Elkins Creek for 4 days in late August 2018. While we found the road in to be a bit dicey, narrow, low visibility curves, once we got there we were in heaven. Large campground, plenty of space to maneuver. He has put in new space across the road that looks like a really nice area to camp. We camped behind the main building on a little creek. The stalls were clean and ready when we unloaded. A camp host was there as Rick was working on trails and he was very helpful in finding stalls and sites. The camp was not busy this particular weekend. Everything was clean and tidy. The trails have really improved, you can really tell they have been busy improving existing trails and laying new ones. Wish we could have stayed longer! We will definitely be back!!
Reviewed by: RachelV on 9/9/2018 9:25:00 AM
More reviews by RachelV
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/22/2018 Hometown: Chardon, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My favorite camping and trail riding experience this season. Fabulous hosts who really make you feel welcome. Their hard work and love for this beautiful area is evident and they are wonderful caretakers of the land. Trails are well maintained and delightful. Campground is easy for big rigs. This will be a place I visit often. Thanks Rick and Jill!
Reviewed by: Anne Thompson on 7/11/2018 3:55:03 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/10/2018 Hometown: Orient, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is the most amazing place! The staff could not have been more friendly and it was so clean. The trails were clean and clear and my stay was therapeutic. My only regret is that I could not stay longer!
Reviewed by: GoldenHarp on 7/2/2018 5:13:18 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 6/30/2018 Hometown: Dublin, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I love Elkins Creek! It's a great friendly place to stay and ride. The facilities were great,we had fun with friends and family and Jill and Rick are wonderful. They make you feel at home and make sure you have everything you need and help with anything you need. I can't wait to go back.
Reviewed by: Tammy Jordan on 7/1/2018 6:59:22 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/29/2018 Hometown: Flatwoods, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We stayed in the cabin and it was well worth the price, stalls were good for us, the showers were good, maps could be a litter better but much better than most places. I thought it was easy to find, plenty of parking, plenty of room to turn your rig around and the trails are incredibly well maintained. Very impressed with the trails. We are definitely headed back. Thanks for a good weekend.
Reviewed by: Doug Wade on 6/14/2018 8:59:40 PM
More reviews by Doug Wade
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/20/2018 Hometown: Newell, wv

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I really enjoyed staying at this campground & riding these trails! I can't believe I've never been to this wonderful place before. Jill & Rick are terrific!
Reviewed by: Mcrank on 5/28/2018 5:41:21 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/27/2018 Hometown: Hillsboro, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very comfortable accomodations for horse and rider. Loved the cabin. Trails were well cleared with good footing.
Reviewed by: ayoung on 5/19/2018 7:42:09 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/13/2018 Hometown: Hollidaysburg, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Jill and Rick are so personable and have the knack of making you feel like family right off the bat . The amenities are outstanding and the trails are beautiful and so well maintained ! I’m almost afraid to post this review because I want to keep it all to myself but I have the feeling word is out ! 👍
Reviewed by: G.Emery on 4/30/2018 8:38:15 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 4/27/2018 Hometown: Cincinnat, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First visit was 4 years ago. Rick and Jill have continued to improve the camp site and trails. The place is stunning. See you all soon.
Reviewed by: TNGossard on 4/30/2018 8:28:10 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/27/2018 Hometown: Cincinnati , Oh