HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Elkins Creek Horsecamp & Tack Shop, LLC
(click on name for more information)
Ironton, Oh

Overall TRAIL RATING with 205 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 208 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Really enjoyed my time at Elkins Creek. the trails were fabulous. Friendly folks
Reviewed by: Rhamilton on 7/15/2020 10:58:08 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/10/2020 Hometown: Rarden, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great camping and very friendly owners that were very helpful
Reviewed by: Vicki Nichols on 7/14/2020 12:49:08 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/12/2020 Hometown: Versailles, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My new favorite place! This was my first time camping and riding at Elkins Creek, and I loved every minute of it. Rick and Jill are very hospitable, the camp is clean, many amenities like water to rinse your horse off, bathrooms with hot showers, tack shop, common area to gather for a meal, and air conditioning in some of the rooms and wagons. Trails were very well maintained and well marked. I look forward to coming back again and would recommend highly!
Reviewed by: Jen Hope on 6/22/2020 7:33:02 PM
More reviews by Jen Hope
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/18/2020 Hometown: Arcanum, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our 2nd time there, Trails were very maintained, Cabin was very clean. Jill and Rick are very friendly and makes sure everyone has a good time. Band was very good... Great place...Won't be disappointed.
Reviewed by: Coupe Deville on 6/22/2020 11:51:33 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/18/2020 Hometown: Cranberry Twp , Pa

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are immaculate, well mapped, marked, and maintained. The campground and camp hosts are top notch as well! One of our favorite places. :)
Reviewed by: ranger402m on 6/18/2020 11:15:28 PM
More reviews by ranger402m
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/15/2020 Hometown: Bastian, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice trails, well marked and beautiful! Hospitality at camp was wonderful!!!!
Reviewed by: Erica on 6/7/2020 5:01:03 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/6/2020 Hometown: Dawson, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Amazing hospitality! Love this place. We will definitely be back. The trails were well maintained and beautiful sights. The cabin was adorable. Wish it had a shower stall, toilet, small sink and stove and it would be GRAND!! Hey Rick - add that toilet and shower stall and we can do without the stove and sink. LOL Really though Fellow Horse Lovers - this place is great. They have a tack shop that is awesome. Shirts, saddles, shavings, hay, purses, bridles, hats - you name it - they got it. Very nice and helpful people Rick and Jill are. The other campers were also hospitable and friendly. Troy(Louisiana)greeted us on arrival and was so friendly and helpful we thought he helped run the outfit. Great time with really good people.
Reviewed by: Milissa Cox on 11/1/2019 8:18:28 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/21/2019 Hometown: Charlestown, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I was so impressed. The trails are wonderfully maintained and marked. The campground experience was great. We were there for the Halloween weekend - kids parade, chili dinner, music, it fun. Everyone there was super helpful - staff and other campers. This is a definite return visit.
Reviewed by: Cheryl Allen on 10/20/2019 10:36:10 AM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 10/12/2019 Hometown: West Chester, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our second time at Elkins and we loved it. Rick & Jill are great people and they make you feel welcomed all the time. It's a great place for all ages and the trails are so well kept and clean.
Reviewed by: Connie 630 on 10/15/2019 11:51:58 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/24/2019 Hometown: New Brighton, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautiful wide trails all kept up. Scenery is amazing. Lots of hills. Camp is clean and relaxing.jill and rick are wonderful people who care and run a great place. Awesome tack shop too. Everything you may need. Horse stalls are great no high ties.
Reviewed by: Amy L Mcintire on 10/9/2019 9:13:54 PM
More reviews by Amy L Mcintire
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/14/2019 Hometown: Jamestown, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rick and Jill are wonderful hosts. The trails are maintained and not muddy after 1 day of rain. They are well marked. Showers and bathroom facilities are nice.
Reviewed by: Rosemary on 9/29/2019 11:55:42 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/25/2019 Hometown: Chardon, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had the best time. My son and his fiancé were married by Jill at the horse camp last weekend. We had the reception there also. Family traveled from Ohio, Pennsylvania and Michigan. We had family staying in horse trailers, campers, cabins, bunk rooms and covered wagons. All were clean and ready for us. Jill was fantastic to work with. She ordered the cake for us and took us to get supplies for the reception food. They had a great kitchen to prepare it in. There was enough room to seat at least 60 or more people. We had access to ice, crock pots, roasters, coffee urns, tea and lemonade urns, and also firewood for the evening bon fire. Some family did get some riding in also, as it was a busy weekend. Beautiful weather and beautiful setting. I can't say enough about Jill and Rick, their fantastic place and their genuine kindness. They love what they do and are proud of the history of their place, the horse trails and their county. Thank you so much Rick and Jill.
Reviewed by: redbarngal on 9/15/2019 4:17:42 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 9/7/2019 Hometown: Botkins, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great camp grounds, Jill & Rick make you feel right at home and treat you like family, even though this was our first visit. Loved the trails, you are out in the woods but the trails were very well kept and marked. Loved the experience.
Reviewed by: Carol Rose on 9/7/2019 10:31:18 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/24/2019 Hometown: Sugar Grove, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

THIS WAS OUR FIRST TIME HERE.BEST PLACE WE HAVE BEEN TO.EVERYONE WAS NICE .VERY CLEAN PLACE.RICK HELPED US PULL IN OUR SPOTS.LATER SAT AT OUR SITE AND CHATTED ABOUT THE TRAILS. RICK AND JILL MAKES YOU FEEL LIKE YOU ARE FAMILY .SUPER NICE PEOPLE. LOVE THE TRAILS.RICK AND JILL ARE SUPER PEOPLE .WE WILL RETURN SOON.
Reviewed by: roxanne stewart on 9/2/2019 6:00:07 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/30/2019 Hometown: centerburg, oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The owners, Rick and Jill, take very good care of their guest's needs. They have always gone above and beyond to make sure we have the best camping experience.
Reviewed by: BURNS on 6/14/2019 11:09:12 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/6/2019 Hometown: Hartville, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We frequent this camp throughout Spring, Summer and Fall. We consistently have wonderful rides and always enjoy our time on the trails. The best part of our visit is being with friends and family and meeting those new to EC. Whether it’s your first or 10th trip, you always are welcomed with open arms by owners Rick and Jill. The family atmosphere is wonderful and the accommodations are outstanding. Stalls, tie lines, restrooms, cabins, wagons and the tack shop are all ready and well stocked. You won’t be disappointed with a weekend or weeklong stay.
Reviewed by: SKeeton on 5/28/2019 6:29:10 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 5/26/2019 Hometown: Flatwoods , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Not one single complaint. We rode the entire main loop, stayed overnight on the trail and had a blast. I like challenging trails and we found some. The weather was horrible; rained, rained and rained. The information the camp hosts provided us was spot on, good trail maps that are accurate. We rode trails less traveled and some that are well traveled, no complaints. I think we rode about 16 miles in each of the two day loop and it was great. If it was not for the rain, none of the trails were bad; days and days of rain made them a little muddy and slick. Experienced horses and decent riders have no worries. I was there before and I had my 10 year old daughter with me, she loved it. The prices are good and the hosts are nut bothersome at all, they give you your space and help you in any way they can. The stalls are good, easy to keep clean, water is close and if you run out of hay, as I did they offered good hay at a decent price. We will be back for sure to finish up some trials we have not seen yet. Oh, ask them were the sights are, they know them all and the scenery is beautiful. Its big country for the east and if you like not having your hand held and good honest riding, this place is perfect. Elkins Creek, see you in the spring.
Reviewed by: Doug Wade on 11/4/2018 4:57:36 PM
More reviews by Doug Wade
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/12/2018 Hometown: Newell, wv

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails have a combination of difficulty. Some are rocky, hilly, and muddy with others dry, wide and gravel. Some steep hill climbs but nothing dangerous or overly challenging. I took an inexperienced horse, Elkins camp & trails offered a perfect mixture of challenges for her. The camp owners are very nice and give you privacy but are very responsive & helpful when or if needed. They are working very hard on trail maintenance in areas that are frequently used or low lying. It is a 7 hour drive for me, have been there twice this past summer and will be planning a trip again in future.
Reviewed by: Orion on 9/18/2018 8:47:05 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/15/2018 Hometown: Cochranton, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camped at Elkins Creek for 4 days in late August 2018. While we found the road in to be a bit dicey, narrow, low visibility curves, once we got there we were in heaven. Large campground, plenty of space to maneuver. He has put in new space across the road that looks like a really nice area to camp. We camped behind the main building on a little creek. The stalls were clean and ready when we unloaded. A camp host was there as Rick was working on trails and he was very helpful in finding stalls and sites. The camp was not busy this particular weekend. Everything was clean and tidy. The trails have really improved, you can really tell they have been busy improving existing trails and laying new ones. Wish we could have stayed longer! We will definitely be back!!
Reviewed by: RachelV on 9/9/2018 9:25:00 AM
More reviews by RachelV
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/22/2018 Hometown: Chardon, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My favorite camping and trail riding experience this season. Fabulous hosts who really make you feel welcome. Their hard work and love for this beautiful area is evident and they are wonderful caretakers of the land. Trails are well maintained and delightful. Campground is easy for big rigs. This will be a place I visit often. Thanks Rick and Jill!
Reviewed by: Anne Thompson on 7/11/2018 3:55:03 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/10/2018 Hometown: Orient, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is the most amazing place! The staff could not have been more friendly and it was so clean. The trails were clean and clear and my stay was therapeutic. My only regret is that I could not stay longer!
Reviewed by: GoldenHarp on 7/2/2018 5:13:18 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 6/30/2018 Hometown: Dublin, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I love Elkins Creek! It's a great friendly place to stay and ride. The facilities were great,we had fun with friends and family and Jill and Rick are wonderful. They make you feel at home and make sure you have everything you need and help with anything you need. I can't wait to go back.
Reviewed by: Tammy Jordan on 7/1/2018 6:59:22 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/29/2018 Hometown: Flatwoods, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We stayed in the cabin and it was well worth the price, stalls were good for us, the showers were good, maps could be a litter better but much better than most places. I thought it was easy to find, plenty of parking, plenty of room to turn your rig around and the trails are incredibly well maintained. Very impressed with the trails. We are definitely headed back. Thanks for a good weekend.
Reviewed by: Doug Wade on 6/14/2018 8:59:40 PM
More reviews by Doug Wade
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/20/2018 Hometown: Newell, wv

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I really enjoyed staying at this campground & riding these trails! I can't believe I've never been to this wonderful place before. Jill & Rick are terrific!
Reviewed by: Mcrank on 5/28/2018 5:41:21 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/27/2018 Hometown: Hillsboro, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very comfortable accomodations for horse and rider. Loved the cabin. Trails were well cleared with good footing.
Reviewed by: ayoung on 5/19/2018 7:42:09 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/13/2018 Hometown: Hollidaysburg, PA

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List