HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Elkins Creek Horsecamp & Tack Shop, LLC
(click on name for more information)
Ironton, Oh

Overall TRAIL RATING with 248 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 250 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are very well maintained owners are very friendly and helpful campground is clean The scenery is as good or better than anywhere you go in the southeast/midwest
Reviewed by: Augustus on 10/6/2022 5:26:31 PM
More reviews by Augustus
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/4/2022 Hometown: Butler, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are very well maintained owners are very friendly and helpful campground is clean The scenery is as good or better than anywhere you go in the southeast/midwest
Reviewed by: Augustus on 10/6/2022 5:26:24 PM
More reviews by Augustus
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/4/2022 Hometown: Butler, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Owners were extremely nice and helpful!
Reviewed by: Jim Bolon on 9/22/2022 2:19:14 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/18/2022 Hometown: Colerain, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails were labeled well, was able to use paper map and phone map to find my way around the trails. Even though it rained, there was no excessive water/ mud that limited my ride or trails. Plenty of room on the trails for rides, no concerns for getting injured by tight spaces or brush. So many trail options to never get bored. Beautiful views - tons of acres for endless rides. Campsite had public restroom/ shower and tack room for convenience which was great. If you’re going camping , I don’t see a real need for wifi, but since it’s so rural there is poor service. Public wifi may be a future convenience, but that’s not why I went horse camping.
Reviewed by: Jb204515 on 8/9/2022 7:35:05 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/6/2022 Hometown: Cleves, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very Hospitable Hosts. Good trails, camping, and friendship.
Reviewed by: Rich Werner on 7/31/2022 5:54:13 PM
More reviews by Rich Werner
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/28/2022 Hometown: Weston, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a great trip. Camp well maintained. Owners friendly and very accommodating.Nice camp store. Easy access to stalls. Everything we needed was at camp. Trails are some of the most beautiful you can ride anywhere. Lots of amazing rock formations and a great Vista view. Will definitely return.
Reviewed by: N Oben on 5/30/2022 11:05:41 AM
More reviews by N Oben
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/29/2022 Hometown: Blanchester, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My granddaughter Kristen and friends Sherry, Alaina and myself had a very enjoyable ride. Nice marked trails. The owners were gracious and helpful. We only did a dayride and will definitely come back.
Reviewed by: Sarah Hamilton on 5/22/2022 5:51:22 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 5/21/2022 Hometown: South Shore, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Couldn't ask for a better host then Rick and Jill they are extremely helpful with anything you might need. The trails are wide and always clear and the camp itself has easy access and have water and electricity available. There are also clean bathrooms with showers that can be used at any time. There is no phone or internet service so be prepared to enjoy your time with no outside distractions, if at any time you do need to reach anyone they do have a phone that is available free of charge on the back porch. We will definitely be visiting as much as possible.
Reviewed by: Stephanie Maynard on 5/10/2022 6:37:27 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/4/2022 Hometown: Catlettsburg, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Amazing horse camp. Trails are well maintained, owners are awesome very friendly and helpful. Facilities are well kept. Beautiful trails
Reviewed by: ReneeJ6527 on 5/8/2022 12:20:41 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/5/2022 Hometown: Sandy hook, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice clean camp, great tack store. The people running the camp were extremely friendly, accommodating and helpful. It's been my experience that most camps have pretty nice people, but these guys were top notch. The trails are well kept and well marked, the map was great. Beautiful area and scenery. We will be back!
Reviewed by: Marcia Coy on 5/1/2022 7:43:08 AM
More reviews by Marcia Coy
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/26/2022 Hometown: Scottsburg, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great horse camp, owners are wonderful and accommodating, trails are impeccable and beautiful scenery. Rick and Jill go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable.
Reviewed by: Debbie Young on 4/24/2022 4:43:48 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/24/2022 Hometown: GREENUP, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a great long weekend. Jill and Ricky were great hosts. They are working very hard to maintain trails. It rained and the trails were muddy but passable. Tons of room in the campground and the trails had amazing views. Definitely be back.
Reviewed by: Roadapples7 on 11/15/2021 9:12:42 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/11/2021 Hometown: Utica, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

had a wonderful stay with Jill and Rick they did there best to make sure everyone was happy . we can't wait to go back and the tack shop was great.
Reviewed by: Brenda Lehman on 10/27/2021 6:29:22 PM
More reviews by Brenda Lehman
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/15/2021 Hometown: logan , oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What a blessing to arrive safely into a calm and peaceful campground that was clean and suited for families where when your horses are taken care of, you can enjoy walking your dog around camp or children can play in the creek nearby. The little tack shop had most anything you could have needed (if you had forgot it or it just broke). The GATHERING area is the best amenity if it were to rain -- flowers and separate sitting areas under cover from the weather allow families, friends and groups to gather and play games, chat or eat together. The trails were very well marked and maintained like a metro park. Like a good "Hallmark movie", once you leave your phone in the camper (since there's no service) you learn to re-appreciate the gift of the beautiful creation and friends around you and live in the moment you've been given there. Already rebooking next year.
Reviewed by: CLRider on 10/25/2021 4:18:52 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/23/2021 Hometown: Rogers, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had such a great time! Very friendly and personable owners. It rained a lot so the camp was a little muddy, but it rained A LOT!!! trails were still in good condition, much better than expected. We only rode 1 trail and it was very hilly, which was a great work out for horse and rider. Beautiful views. Tack shop had a little bit of everything. Even stuff you normally forget to pack..lol. We will return in the Spring, I can't wait!
Reviewed by: Laura Katherine Melluzzo on 10/21/2021 7:56:35 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/16/2021 Hometown: Franklin, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Always such a great place to stay and ride! Campground and stalls are both delightful, with a great tack shop there as well ; and we've never met better campground hosts than Jill and Rick. Not the least, the trails are absolutely AWESOME. Can't wait to go again!
Reviewed by: ranger402m on 10/6/2021 6:13:19 PM
More reviews by ranger402m
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/5/2021 Hometown: Bastian, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is my husband and my FAVORITE place to go! The trails are so well maintained and MARKED! The scenery is beautiful here. The campground is nice, but the owners are the BEST!! Jill and Rick treat you like family. The tackshop has pretty much everything you need! Love this place!!
Reviewed by: Tonya R Losh on 9/17/2021 6:38:33 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/11/2021 Hometown: Scott Depot, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to camp and ride Rick and Jill are very accommodating they have a well stocked tack shop if you need something we will be back there soon
Reviewed by: 0951413 on 9/10/2021 5:46:41 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/9/2021 Hometown: Butler, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

These are some of the best marked trails around. Maps are excellent and coordinated with the markers. Owner, Jill, is fantastic. Very personable and helpful.
Reviewed by: Jamie H Harvey on 9/9/2021 3:14:39 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/3/2021 Hometown: Liberty, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are great!! Well keep and well marked, The owners are awesome and the camp site and facilities are great. We will be back at least twice a year. Added to our riding calendar
Reviewed by: Larry Westbrook on 8/11/2021 3:50:18 AM
More reviews by Larry Westbrook
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/8/2021 Hometown: Waynesville, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are great!! Well keep and well marked, The owners are awesome and the camp site and facilities are great. We will be back at least twice a year. Added to our riding calendar
Reviewed by: Larry Westbrook on 8/11/2021 3:49:26 AM
More reviews by Larry Westbrook
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/8/2021 Hometown: Waynesville, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are great!! Well keep and well marked, The owners are awesome and the camp site and facilities are great. We will be back at least twice a year. Added to our riding calendar
Reviewed by: Larry Westbrook on 8/11/2021 3:48:58 AM
More reviews by Larry Westbrook
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/8/2021 Hometown: Waynesville, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are great!! Well keep and well marked, The owners are awesome and the camp site and facilities are great. We will be back at least twice a year. Added to our riding calendar
Reviewed by: Larry Westbrook on 8/11/2021 3:48:15 AM
More reviews by Larry Westbrook
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/8/2021 Hometown: Waynesville, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

As always, Jill and Rick go out of their way to make sure your visit at their campsite is the best. The trails are in top shape and Rick has worked hard to make improvements on all the muddy sections of the trails. It is a pleasure to head out to Elkins Creek and enjoy the Wayne National Forest bridle trails.
Reviewed by: Bobbi Arters on 7/4/2021 4:58:13 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/30/2021 Hometown: Sunbury, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rick and Jill are amazing hosts. No need was unmet. Camp is clean and friendly. Trails are well maintained. Absolutely recommend!
Reviewed by: Shari McGuire on 7/1/2021 11:09:33 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/19/2021 Hometown: Rolling Prairie, IN

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List