HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Brown County State Park
(click on name for more information)


Columbus, IN

Overall TRAIL RATING with 27 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 27 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I agree with the last reviewer, Kathy L., Brown County used to be the best destination to ride in Indiana but the state has not payed enough attention to the trails. They are a muddy muddy mess. They need to take a page from their counterpart, OBannon State Park: fix those trails and improve the people areas! I think all of us who frequent there, probably because it is the closest to our homes, wouldn't mind so much the problems with the human/horse comforts if they'd just invest more in the trails. This WAS a premiere horse riding destination, with lots of miles of trails but now not so much. We ride the forest trails more in this area just due to the better trail conditions. Oh, but they'll tell you they're working on the campground! See the occasional new manure bins? How about the occasional repaired hitching posts? Oh yeah, and they put in an RV dumping station! Oh and the best part of all these luxuries? The state raised the camping fees! As a public user of our great state's parks, USE THAT MONEY AND FIX THE HORSE AREAS!!!! Until then, I don't recommend this park unless the season has been very dry. Then and only then will the trails be enjoyable.
Reviewed by: D Mac on 1/3/2017 11:15:24 AM
More reviews by D Mac
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/26/2016 Hometown: Indianapolis, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails at Brown County were extremely muddy, and lots of rock. I called the muddy areas mud pits. Some of the muddy areas on the trail were 50-100 foot long and 6-12 inches deep. The trail would be dry and then we would come to a large area of trail with deep mud. We had to direct our horses off the trail at least 50% of the time. Riding was hazardous at these sites. Lots of stone as well. We are seasoned trail riders, really enjoy our Indiana state parks as well as our county parks. But I respect the health and welfare of our horses far to much than to return to Brown county. Truly disappointed. Our campsite was wet, muddy, no fire ring, or anything even close to it, no picnic table, the hitching rail was muddy. But at least we had electric.
Reviewed by: Kathy Lesage on 9/26/2016 4:42:36 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/23/2016 Hometown: Fair Oaks, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I had heard so much about riding Brown County that my friends and I made a point of travelling here for a fall trail ride. The campground was average. The placement of our hitching rail was too close to our trailer (we were in camp site 68). It would be a much better site if the hitching rail was moved toward the back of the site. Water was very convenient and of course the manure pits were plentiful. The trails were average as they need more work to keep them sustainable. I have been involved with master trail planners and could recognize a big need for repair and/or relocation of some of the trails because of erosion problems. Possibly a second trail out to the longer B and C trails would help. We enjoyed our rides but the trails could be made safer and more durable if the park would invest a little time and money.
Reviewed by: Carrie Q on 11/4/2015 4:12:30 PM
More reviews by Carrie Q
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/19/2015 Hometown: Green Bay, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rode Brown County for the first time. Enjoyed the trails but was very disappointed by the campsite. I was probably the camper noted as having their horses on another site as the ones at our site had several inches of water, manure and urine and smelled terrible. They were dug out and obviously had not been leveled in years. Informed the staff that I had a long trailer but they put me in a site that was very difficult to get into as the road was narrow, the permanent garbage cans were placed too close to the site entrance and had trees close to the road. The staff was not informed or helpful and had no idea about the trails. I was told that the dump site was down the road at the non-horse camp and they weren't sure if the gate was open. I have stayed at Deam Lake and O'Bannon several times and love both sites. I don't plan to come back to this one unless the sites improve. However, the riding was good and my son enjoyed the restaurants at the end of two trails.
Reviewed by: Aubrey Henley on 9/24/2015 1:05:05 AM
More reviews by Aubrey Henley
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/12/2015 Hometown: Rineyville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First time to the campground, found neighbor's horses at our rail since their hitching area was flooded. Ours wasn't much better. Rails were coming unbolted from the uprights. Very unlevel site, back of trailer was at my hip height making it difficult to get tack out. Trails were OK, got lost and ended up on private property as trying to go from trail 6 to trail H was not marked, later found out it was closed from another camper. Camp host should have told us that. Took A to A1 and A1 was very dangerous and boggy. It has been very rainy this summer, but no excuse for the poor care taken in the campground. When you pay for a bridle pass you expect better care taken in the campground.
Reviewed by: Kathy McBride on 7/23/2015 11:34:43 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/12/2015 Hometown: Goshen, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wow! Used to be a favorite place to camp & ride for us close to 30 yrs & we frequented the horsecamp often, but NOT anymore. Horse campground has become very rundown & neglected. Hitching rails are rotting & have seen many break with horses tied to them. Huge holes at hitching rails holding urine & very smelly. Water is not convenient to most sites. Very little supervision in horsecamp allowing loud, rowdy behavior even taking horses into shower house, gaited horses racing up & down in camp with no regard to other riders. The trails (on B side) out to C & D have been neglected & the hills very difficult to maneuver up & down, many trees down on the trails on C & trails are overgrown with weeds. The single file trails are very dug out & deep. If it is wet the mud pockets on many trails are difficult to get thru or around. Very sad to see such a beautiful park so rundown & neglected.
Reviewed by: Nancy Meyers on 5/31/2015 5:21:49 AM
More reviews by Nancy Meyers
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/15/2014 Hometown: Clayton, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

It is my understanding from friends that have been to Brown County that there is a local gentleman that makes and sells hitching post/rail tie up straps/leads. If you know how to get a hold this gentleman please reply on here how I can contact him. Thanks.
Reviewed by: CowboyGeorge on 3/9/2013 7:46:12 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/9/2013 Hometown: Saratoga, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I stayed in the primative camp ground for one week. Trail A was best because Trail B was simply too hilly/rocky unless you like endurance type riding. Trail A was a more relaxing/easy ride. Riding to Story for breakfast was lots of fun. Cell phones simply don't work unless you ride for about 6 miles to an area for reception. Nothing was mentioned in any information about this therefore it was quite a surprise after arriving. I liked that the trails were still good even after heavy rains. I plan to make it an annual event.
Reviewed by: Austin Snyder on 11/1/2012 1:57:25 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/17/2012 Hometown: Crestwood, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Water available at many locations along the trails so easy to keep horses hydrated. Trails vary from two abreast to single file; easy to combine various loops to keep each ride different. Few muddy spots even though it had been relatively dry. Ride to Story for breakfast was fun. Wood is available from the park store; on weekends they drive through camp with wood and ice. Shower house and bathroom was clean, water close by; a farrier was also present each day. Well designed campground but check for hitching post stability before using, some seemed unsteady.
Reviewed by: Merrymule on 8/7/2012 9:15:49 PM
More reviews by Merrymule
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/17/2012 Hometown: , IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Let me start by saying I went here on July4th weekend, and unless you like to party, DO NOT go here on a holiday weekend. Both the modern and primative campgrounds were packed. The rules in the campground were to the point of being ridiculous. Once all the weekend traffic left (we stayed for 6 days) the campground was wonderful. The sites in the primative that we used were shaded (make sure you get some shade!) the flies were awful, but I think that was everyplace this year. You want your horse to be fit and shod for the trails here. Most of the trails are well marked. Hard to get lost, however, alot of the loop trails are very challanging and reading the description of the trail it was completely the opposite of the ride that you would have. There are rest areas along some of the trails with a table and a mounting block which is really nice. Was not impressed with the restaurant in Story, in fact found them down right rude. The premise to ride into the town and tie up and eat is nice though. The campground has ample manure pits, and water spigots. the shower house was ok-could have used more pressure but the water was hot.
Reviewed by: vero on 9/18/2011 3:42:08 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/4/2011 Hometown: nashville, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground was very nice ample space at most sites for larger rigs. A lot of shady sites.Manure bins close to all sites.Water spigots located around campground. One modern restroom/shower house in center of campground Several other pit toilets in campground. Hiching posts. Ours was muddy but when we asked about getting it fixed they put some gravel in it next day. Trails to accomodate all levels of riders.Well kept trails for the most part only a few uglys but nothing bad. We come from hilly Ohio so trails seemed fine to us, Flat landers might think different. The only thing the campground needs is a dump staion it would have been nice we had a 7 hour trip home. It is a go to place we will be back.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 8/20/2011 8:51:54 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/10/2011 Hometown: Bloomingdale, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First off let me say that I went here over July 4th, and unless you like to "party"-do NOT go here on a holiday weekend. The primative campground was packed (electric was as well) and it was like being at a circus. Generators were NOT allowed after 11-not even Honda generators (it was 90+ all weekend.)The park management was very strict with doling out rules, to the point of it being an annoyance. After the holiday was over the campground got nice and quiet and we could go back to camping like it should be. The flies were just awful. Make sure you have a shading site, the ones in the sun were just brutal. They have manure stations every other site, so you dont have to walk far to dump poop. As far as the trails go-they are marked very well so it is hard to get lost, however, the descriptions on the numbered loops were written to sound almost boring. Those trails were challanging and not at all for the faint of heart, full of ravines, deep sloppy mud (it hadnt rained in a couple of weeks either so I would say stay away from this in the early spring), and lots of roots and huge rocks. The hills were very steep and not for out of shape horses. The trail that leads to the restaurant in the town of Story-the place sounds nice but they were so rude that I walked out and didnt stay for even a glass of water. The trails have mounting blocks at various spots which is nice to be able to stretch your legs and all. The showerhouse was fair. All in all I would say that for all the hype I heard about this place I was dissappointed and probably wont come back.
Reviewed by: vero on 7/24/2011 1:16:04 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/2/2011 Hometown: Nashville, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place for a long weekend. Campground is very nice with large camp sites but only tie outs available. Trails are very easy and very muddy when we were there. It had been an extremely wet fall. Electric sites are available but do not have direct access to water. Favorite ride is to ride into small town of Story and eat breakfast at the Inn.
Reviewed by: Lora on 11/24/2009 6:14:26 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/7/2009 Hometown: New Salisbury, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have stayed there for years but this year was horrible. Campground not kept up, showers dirty, pit toilets full and filty. The horse rails were a mess and had huge holes full of urine etc. Why are they not taking care of this place. I won't go back the way it is.
Reviewed by: Teresa on 8/17/2009 11:00:37 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/14/2009 Hometown: Russiaville, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The Memorial Day Weekend was fairly busy. Nice Campgrounds with ample room between sites. Stayed in primitive, no generators after 11:00 PM, rough when it is HOT! Used wagons and riding horses, some trails accessable to wagons, better take a chainsaw, some trees down across trails! Showers and full restrooms were NOT kept very clean, campers could do better too! The $20 Bridle tags is kind of a rip too!
Reviewed by: GJS on 5/27/2009 7:01:23 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/24/2009 Hometown: Sadieville , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a very nice campground, and beautifully maintained trail system. The provided maps are detailed, easy to follow and provide great information about the type of terrain and distance per segment of trail. Camping sites were in great shape, well-spaced and comfortable. We were there mid-week and left on a Friday so it wasn't very crowded, though by the time we left early Friday afternoon the sites were really beginning to fill up. Extremely enjoyable camping/riding trip. . .Brown County is a place I hope to return to often!
Reviewed by: Audrey on 5/14/2009 12:23:08 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/22/2009 Hometown: Cincinnati, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

In my opinion, B.C.is like home. I never tire seeing it. The first time we did it in A tent, now we have the home away from home. Yet I still enjoy B.C. I have been there in the spring and fall. It doesnt matter when I am there.I always enjoy being there. I have been in a lot of camps and parks, b.c. is just A tresure for all horse people to enjoy. A home away from home
Reviewed by: Ron Kieszkowski on 11/28/2008 10:13:13 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: michigan City, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

i do not have one!
Reviewed by: yes on 8/23/2007 1:48:00 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 8/23/2007 Hometown: anywhere, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Really liked the trails. Great diversity, ridge lines, creeks, valleys, shorter trails, long trails, most very scenic, something for everyone. All trails well marked, all easy to ride. Camp was clean. DNR was in camp every day checking restrooms, shower house etc. Great place to take a family.
Reviewed by: Chris and June on 7/5/2007 3:39:18 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 7/5/2007 Hometown: Lancaster, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just stayed and rode the trails with a group of 9 - June 15-17, 2006. Campground review -modern campsites available with diverse sizes (length and width, some easier access than others, it will tell you upon registering via the web) and convenient amenities every 3-5 sites (trees, water spickets (bring your hose to wash the horses), dumpsters, manure pits). Electric outlets for each camp site. They also offer primitive sites too (go to website to find .pdf file for the horseman's campground layout). Each site has two H shaped pickets linked together. The shower house had ~ 10 shower stalls and bathroom stalls available. The water was hot, hot, hot. It was fairly clean. We drove around the park and the views are breathtaking. The park has an Olympic size swimming pool as well as a wading pool. On the day we drove by, it was in the 90's and the pool was not overly crowded. Campstore is right there and has basic essentials. The town of Nashville was better than we expected. There are tons of little boutiques, restaurants, tack store, western wear store, theatres, ice cream shops, etc. It was a blast. There is something for every age in the little town of Nashville. With 70 miles of trails, you and your horse can experience it all...up and down hillside climbs with many technicalities (loose rock, 2-3 foot drops), wading through small streams or a stroll through the woods. The footing is mostly clay and limestones. Sheet rock in the stream crossings. The main trails (alphabet labeled) are three horse wide and the side trails (numbered trails) are single file. It had rained a week before our trip and parts of the trail were muddy. You can plan on a short ride or a long ride (over 5 hours). Trails are very well marked and the trail map explains all of the trails very well. The group especially liked the ride to the town of Story (they have an upscale restaurant with reasonable prices and a tack shop with horse expo prices and will deliver what you buy to your campsite) and the early morning ride to the Wild Horse Junction store for a full country breakfast (bacon, scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy) and later in the eve for ice cream. Incentive rides are good rides. All of these sites have areas to tie your horse up while you enjoy yourself.
Reviewed by: Tomson on 6/19/2006 11:49:57 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/19/2006 Hometown: Williamston, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Big open trails, longest trail takes you to a little town area where you can take a break and have a drink or eat dinner. Camp site is large ample room between other campers. Great time!
Reviewed by: Jeff on 7/11/2005 4:01:30 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 7/11/2005 Hometown: Taylorsville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

You can do most of the trails in one weekend if you ride all day. The views are beautiful but the trails aren't all that difficult. The campground is large and bathrooms are clean
Reviewed by: LN on 6/9/2005 9:57:40 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/25/2004 Hometown: Walton, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

If you ride all day you can do most of the trails. The views are beautiful but the trails aren't all that difficult, campground is large and bathrooms are clean
Reviewed by: LN on 6/9/2005 9:56:24 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/25/2004 Hometown: Walton, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband and I have stayed in the Modern Horseman's Campground several times. We especially like being able to take a shower, since our trailer has only a weekend package. The trails are a lot of fun and the scenery is breathtaking. We feel it is one of the nicest areas to camp with electric and trail ride.
Reviewed by: Suzanne on 1/4/2005 2:25:18 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/4/2005 Hometown: Rochester, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

BC is one of the best places in all the midwest. BC has all skill levels of trails,single file #ered, double-wide lettered and the park is split in half by the campground.BC's campground has primitive or water and electric, pit toilets and flush toilets with showers. Bc has a store for supplies and gear very close by. The trails are well marked and vary from easy to moderate all skill levels can have a great ride her.
Reviewed by: billaur on 12/19/2004 7:24:09 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 12/19/2004 Hometown: Dyer , IN

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List