HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Uwharrie National Forest - Canebrake Horsecamp
(click on name for more information)


Troy, NC

Overall TRAIL RATING with 15 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 15 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We spent 5 days in Canebrake for our Thanksgiving this yr and as many trips in the past have found the rides and stay very nice.Our only complaint was that the bathroom was never taken care of during our stay until that monday.We had to go out and get toilet paper because it ran out. They should have whomever is taken care of this come around more often when the site is full.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 12/14/2012 4:53:52 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/22/2012 Hometown: Fayetteville, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My family and I have been to Canebrake a few times over the last couple years and the experience gets better and better each time we go. The trails are absolutely beautiful and cater to all levels of riding. Didn't realize how rocky some of the trails were the first time and our horses were barefooted (not recommended), but lessoned learned and with shoes they did awesome. The trails are pretty well marked, although some signs and paint marking could use some maintenance but with the great maps provide we had little problem navigating around. The atmosphere at the campground was great. Met a lot of nice and friendly people and I can't say enough about the camp host. He and his wife are two of the nicest, most helpful people I've ever met and treated by two toddlers like grandkids. The facilities are top notch. Most of my horsecamp exerperiences in the past didn't include any kind of amenities except for a centrally located water point. NOT Canebrake. The camping spots themselves are level, spacious, and for the most part very shady. There are conveniently located water points, electric hook-ups at every site, a horse wash station, showers, bathrooms (with flushing toilets!), and grills at every site!! HOLY COW, it's like horse camping heaven! The ONLY issue I saw was that not everyone utilized the manure points, and instead chose to throw it in the woodline. If we want nice facilities, let's all do our part. My family and I love Canebrake, and we most definitely will be back again and again.
Reviewed by: Greg on 9/6/2012 5:23:18 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/31/2012 Hometown: Raeford, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Not the best camping weekend I've ever had by any means. When we arrived, we got the last 3 sites available with electric hookups. We planned all our meals around electricity so primitive was not an option. The place was absolutely packed and the forest service has taken down the reservation system for the winter. Part of our group had to go down to 4B and pay $50/night b/c the all sites were gone by 10am Friday morning. If the reservation system was up year round, This would not have happened. Tried to tell the female blonde heavyset ranger this and she insisted I was wrong--that you could make reservations. I told her to go online and try. You can't until March 17th. She was not mean about anything but just wasn't helpful. She also never asked for our coggins. All of the water spigots were broken around our campsites so we had to tote water buckets from the other side of the campground all weekend. I didn't mind doing it for my horse but it was an inconvenience I wasn't expecting. What makes Uwharrie worth it are the trails. The weather was perfect and the trails were great. Little rockier than I remember for my barefoot horse but with boots, I didn't have any problems.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 2/21/2011 1:15:12 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 2/18/2011 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great ride at Uwharrie--we will have many miles of trails to check out. Both our barefoot horses did fine. We never found any rocky trails but I think the more rocky trails are closed for renovation. The campground was great. Nice large level pads to park my trailer on. I never used the bathrooms so I can't comment on them. Love the electric hookups. Only complaint would be water--I wish each site had it's own water supply. Other than that, the place was great.
Reviewed by: Jennifer on 1/27/2011 11:43:35 AM
More reviews by Jennifer
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/21/2011 Hometown: Clover, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails are still great, the host is still very helpful and attentative, the campground is well taken care of and best of all we was surprised to find that electric hook ups have been added to all the sites!
Reviewed by: Karen on 4/11/2010 6:32:48 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/10/2010 Hometown: Kershaw, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great campground! Level sites with great bath houses and they have fire pits, tie outs and grills! The trails at Uwharrie are awesome and they have all level trails for all level riders. We ride there every other weekend and can't get enough of it!!
Reviewed by: kelly on 11/10/2008 3:05:45 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/1/2008 Hometown: concord, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first visit to Canebrake as we typically go north to ride in the Virginia mountains. First the bad; the campground was terrible in comparison to other campgrounds in the National Park Service we have used. The grass was knee high, the bathrooms we used were nasty - not only dirty but overtaken with spiders and other bugs, and the generators! By generators, I'm not talking about the quiet Yamaha and Honda generators but these monster power makers that can be heard across the entire camp. It seemed no one was aware of the 10 PM - 6 AM "quiet time". Certainly having showers and a horse wash station were a big plus. The trails were good and we were glad the host had left some maps in the mailbox. We missed some turns but all in all we had a good ride over the 20 miles or so we rode.
Reviewed by: Karalot Stables on 9/15/2008 1:36:32 AM
More reviews by Karalot Stables
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/13/2008 Hometown: Pilot Mountain, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First time here and delighted with the campsites, trails and everything. The horses were tired and we were happy. We will definitely be back.
Reviewed by: David on 3/26/2008 9:01:02 PM
More reviews by David
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/21/2008 Hometown: Greensboro , NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The immenities at this campground are great. Firepits, picnic tables, grills, a lantern pole and high tie poles are at every site. There is no electricity but there is water at 4 different locations around the campground and there are two bathhouses. The host is very helpful. The trails are well marked and challenging. Horses need shoes all the way around because some trails are pretty rocky. I feel so fortunate to have such a wonderful place to ride so close to home.
Reviewed by: Melinda on 9/30/2007 4:40:19 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/30/2007 Hometown: Oakboro, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is one of the best rides anyone can enjoy. The trails are challenging and the views breathtaking.You can go from the shores of the area lakes to the highest peaks of the mountain. Horses need to be shod and in shape. All canebrake needs is electrical hook ups. The host is great! You can ride all weekend and never cross over the same trail!
Reviewed by: Robbi Russell on 9/30/2007 3:35:53 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/30/2007 Hometown: New London, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been camping in Uwharrie for ten years, Canebrake has been around for several years now and I love the place. No water or electric but that is OK by me. The trails are great but you need all four shoes and horses should be in shape. The Camp Host at Canebrake is wonderful. Always willing to help. Look forward to many more years of riding there.
Reviewed by: Anissa on 6/26/2007 11:22:34 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/27/2007 Hometown: Siler City, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Spent 3 days/nights and had a great weekend. Horses really need 4 shoes for moderate to difficult trails, and it's a great workout for all. Campground was clean with spacious sites. We missed having electric hookups, but the firepits were big and deep and great for cooking. Trails were ill-marked in a few places, but overall in good condition. River Trail was the most beautiful of the trails we rode. We will go back, but are going to try a campground w/electric hookups.
Reviewed by: Carrie on 9/6/2006 4:23:26 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/6/2006 Hometown: Climax, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband and I spent Easter weekend at canebrake, this was our 1st time going there. We ride alot, and have been to serval trail rides, but this was the best I've been on. It could use some water and eletric hookups, other than that every one there was so nice. The camp host was a great help. We ride alot of flatlands and your horse does need to be in shape to ride Uwharrie. We are ready to go back any time
Reviewed by: Kathy on 4/19/2006 1:02:34 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/16/2006 Hometown: Manning, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This campground is just the start of a lot more camping and riding in Uwharrie. With the co-operation of volunteers the trail system is more clearly marked and the trouble spots will be assessed for re-routes. I would recommend this to anyone who would like a challenging ride. NOT for KIDS or BEGINNERS. (you don't want to come here to learn how to ride a horse) There are a lot of 'easy trails' but make sure your horse is in good shape since this isn't 'flat land'. Locals and visitors are encouraged to join the Uwharrie Trail Riders Associaton that represents the groups and individuals that use the equestrian trail system here. I like the idea that this trail website gives us the ability to comment and provide feedback on our experiences. That's how we know what to fix.
Reviewed by: Elizabeth on 5/1/2004 10:25:05 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/1/2004 Hometown: Uwharrie, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Tom and Paula are the new hosts at Canebrake. We had 'volunteer days' (third weekend of every month) and the weather was beautiful. The volunteers are making a difference in the trails and I'm looking forward to riding with more people that visit here.
Reviewed by: Elizabeth on 3/21/2004 12:02:23 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/21/2004 Hometown: Uwharrie, NC