HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Whippoorwill Campground
(click on name for more information)


Richlands, nc

Overall TRAIL RATING with 7 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 8 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband and I have rode Whippoorwill so much that we finially got a perm camper there so we can enjoy it with our son also. Our whole family loves everything about it and will be there for a very long time. We now call Whippoorwill our second home.
Reviewed by: Jason and Renee on 4/22/2009 6:59:20 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/18/2009 Hometown: Goldsboro, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice easy trails you can ride for a small fee anytime, or have fun on a organised ride. Great, spacious campground setup, lots a hookups, easy to get in and out of, nice barns if you choose to stall your horse, easy rules and great hosts. New outdoor arena for gaming shows and fun too. Recomend Whipporwill for anyone who wants a nice, easy, hassel free, relaxing weekend.
Reviewed by: Wyatt on 7/23/2008 10:09:31 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Jacksonville, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This trail system is great for green horses. There are some tighter trails to help them from being so spooky then there are trails that get a little wider to help them gain confidence. There are two of foot bridges that have a bit of a drop so caution must be taken with high strung greenies. Some tree/deer stands in the pathways and just off the trails plus some drainage pipes are also great for training. Maps are available in the pavilion and trails are marked. Shoes not needed. Two small areas of pavement but not so rough to warrant shoes. One is about 50 feet and the other is about 65 ft. I was told that at one of the rental cabins that overlooks a pond, you can actually ride your horse through the pond to the other side. It's only 3ft deep tops. They have a new outdoor arena and are starting a game show every first Saturday of the month. There are two barns with nightly stall rentals or monthly. Great relaxed place. I just wish there was a trail with lots of hills and valleys and logs. My horse loves obstacles.
Reviewed by: Carrie on 1/7/2008 9:41:11 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/1/2000 Hometown: Mt. Olive, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Can't wait to go to night ride June 30. Sorry you'll miss out JR.!! Stay home and eat some cake, Happy Birthday!
Reviewed by: Pony Tail on 6/20/2007 10:24:25 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/20/2007 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

OOOPS, previous comment ride date should be 06/06/06. I put 06/06 for month and year.
Reviewed by: sandra hoskin on 4/1/2007 7:06:54 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/6/2006 Hometown: dudley, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have rode these trails for several years. Most of them nice road size trails, wide enough for wagons. The owners very nice and helpful in anyway they can to make your stay enjoyable. Camp close by or down by the woods for privacy.
Reviewed by: sandra hoskin on 4/1/2007 7:00:02 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/6/2007 Hometown: dudley, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

we came camping the weekend of 11-11 and 11-12. we had a blast and the owners are the nicest people. we danced at the pavillon at night and had a blast! the owners drive by often and always waved and stopped in to say hi. We went with another couple who also had a camper and they actually stored their camper because we plan on definately going back! thanks to the owner and his family for making our trip a happy and memorable one!
Reviewed by: courtney Glenn on 11/16/2005 5:52:43 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 11/16/2005 Hometown: jacksonville, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

this is a very nice campground a fun time can be had by all. the trails are nice and can accomodate almost all levels of experience. My wife and I had a great time the owners and their family were great. I highly recommend the camp.
Reviewed by: Edward ribbs on 9/3/2004 7:44:12 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/7/2004 Hometown: Asheboro, NC