HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park and Horse Camp
(click on name for more information)


Live Oak, FL

Overall TRAIL RATING with 9 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 9 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We were very sorry to see that the entire horseback riding stable had been discontinued at SOSMP. The horse camping facilities are still there, but no on site 'horsey people' on the payroll anymore. Grounds were overgrown, animals liquidated, except for a few peacocks and some privately owned horses waiting to be relocated. Guess they've lost their passion for the animals, especially the horses, which is a sad situation. It was our favorite part of the park.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/6/2009 8:56:06 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/4/2009 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

It is a beautiful place, we rented a golf cart and rode around checking out most of the trails. The river side is a nice place to ride your horses the other side is pretty but a little boring. But all in all great place to relax and enjoy nature.
Reviewed by: Candie Kennedy on 4/9/2007 7:42:44 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/9/2007 Hometown: St. Augustine, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is mostly an RV campground w/the horse camping off to the side (but bumped right up beside the RV sites & music stage). The trails are 5-star scenic as you ride the ridge high above the river, but 2-star interesting (nothing new after the 1st hour and a gaited horse can work thru ALL the trails in a few hours). Campsites are squeezed. Stalls & sites are quite pricey. Manager of horse site (2006) anxious to please and keeps the place spotless. The walking-distance cafe is the best thing going: low prices, generous plates, great cooks! Highly recommend this camp for a short visit, especially with out-of-state guests who want to experience Florida's blackwater rivers and palmetto/pine ambiance. If you want peace & quiet, avoid the music fests or "big" weekends.
Reviewed by: Twila D. Wilson on 2/22/2007 6:22:40 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/15/2006 Hometown: Tallahassee, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

we stayed here in late dec they were getting ready for there new years ride we left on the 28th it was very clean great christmas light display good trails with more connected if you choose the only complaint is the prices for multiple horses it cost us 36.00 a night just for our horses and 28.78 to camp the fee for camping is well worth it but we had to set up the corrals ourself the horseman camp ground needs to have arrows to mark the site we had to move the site was not mark clear enough but great experience they have all you need right there
Reviewed by: TAMMY COULSTON on 1/10/2007 8:02:02 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/10/2007 Hometown: FLAT ROCK, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We camped with all 4 of our children, and 3 horses. The children had plenty of activities to keep them busy while Dad and I went out on the trails with the horses. The stalls were clean upon arrival. The campsite was big enough for our living quarters/3 horse trailer, plus a tent for the boys to sleep in. We'll be going back again during the week of Thanksgiving. We loved it!!
Reviewed by: Diane on 8/31/2004 7:56:33 PM
More reviews by Diane
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/31/2004 Hometown: Palmetto, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We like it here, but the sites are a bit close. Could be more trails also, which is why we don't go there that often. What is there is nice, and I would recommend it.
Reviewed by: CarolP on 7/26/2004 2:41:42 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: Hometown: Ocklawaha, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We would highly recommend Live Oak. Trails were great and marked. The facility was very clean and accomodating for both humans and horses
Reviewed by: C. Alexander-Paschal on 4/17/2004 9:14:15 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: Hometown: Cartersville, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautiful facility. Nice large stalls, good lighting and water easily accessable. Campsites close but comfortable. Trails well marked, maps available. People very friendly. Will definately return.
Reviewed by: rufrider on 4/26/2003 3:52:10 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/26/2003 Hometown: plant city, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice, new barn. Trails are very pretty, but a bit limited, especially if you have a gaited horse and can cover a lot of miles in a short time. Campsites in the horse area are too close together to suit me.
Reviewed by: Julie S. on 2/24/2003 1:21:14 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/10/2002 Hometown: Englewood, TN