HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Sleepy Hollow State Park
(click on name for more information)


St. Johns, MI

Overall TRAIL RATING with 7 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 1 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a short 6.5 mile loop. It was nice to see once, but was not anything spectacilur. You dont need shoes here, pretty flat. Trails could be wider to allow riding side by side. Nice staging area.
Reviewed by: vero on 9/18/2011 3:59:06 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/11/2011 Hometown: nashville, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice well groomed trails, easy, nice variety of scenery through woods and meadows
Reviewed by: D Moore on 6/25/2007 4:49:04 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/25/2007 Hometown: Defiance, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A nice trail ride for beginner horses and people. The trails are roomy and there are two choices, the East and West loop. I like the East loop because it winds in the woods, open fields, pine, apple trees and there is a bridge. The trails are well marked and there are no 'off the beaten track' trails that confuse the rider. I rode the trail in the winter and easily found my way around - no map needed. The parking area is smaller than others I have been to, but there always seems to be a place you can squeeze into. The association does a great job in keeping this trail and camp maintained and have fun events throughout the year. The only issue is in the springtime, the dirt road can get muddy. Being that the road is narrow, I hope I never get stuck.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 9/6/2005 3:05:44 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/25/2005 Hometown: , MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We found both trails to be very nice, with a convenient layout in the staging area. I would rate the traffic to be moderate, I think we met 2 to 6 riders on the trail and maybe 4 to 5 groups in the staging area. We have been to this trail twice, both times in fall, the color was immpressive.
Reviewed by: K Schlee on 7/22/2005 2:50:25 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/6/2004 Hometown: Charlotte, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Sleepy Hollow has some 2 nice wooded trails to take horses on. One unique thing about sleepy hollow is that one of the trails is designed extra wide for horse and cart access for those who like to drive train their horses.
Reviewed by: Jen on 7/18/2005 2:51:56 PM
More reviews by Jen
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/1/2004 Hometown: Dewitt, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I would like to know from someone who rides this trail if there is a lot of traffic or can you ride without constant passing of other horses and riders? I do not mind mild traffic but I have been told that there is an exceptional about on this trail.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 2/13/2005 6:06:42 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 2/13/2005 Hometown: Michigan, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a great place to ride for an easy day ride, especially if you like to gait or trot your horse. Over mostly level terrain, the trail snakes through forest, meadows, and brush on a well maintained route. It was fun racking along the twisting turning trails.
Reviewed by: jtrider on 9/3/2004 10:41:23 AM
More reviews by jtrider
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/1/2004 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

NICE CLEAN TRAILS, WATER PUMP IS AVAILABLE, 2 TRAILS AVAILABLE 5 MILES EACH. CAN SEE DEER AND SEVERAL DIFFERENT TYPES OF BIRDS.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 5/4/2004 5:49:47 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/20/2003 Hometown: , Select State