HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Big Mineral Equestrian Trails
(click on name for more information)


Gordonville, Tx

Overall TRAIL RATING with 10 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 9 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Only my third time on these trails and have been excited to ride each time! First thing to note is clear signage to direct you to equestrian camp. No uncertainty now. Also to note are the definitive permanent trail markers have been fixed along Walnut Creek Trail and also Brushy Creek Trail eliminating the chance of getting lost while riding them. Several alternate trails for less experienced riders/green horses for the more intense inclines, etc. The campground is getting much needed attention and trimming so trailers can clear without scraping roof with low limbs. Volunteers have done a great deal of work to make this happen. Tree stumps have been removed that were by the pavilion. To date there are four pens with possibility of more pens in the future. Facebook group formed recently: Friends of Big Mineral Equestrian Trails
Reviewed by: justmealways on 1/2/2015 10:12:06 PM
More reviews by justmealways
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 12/26/2014 Hometown: Crossroads, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First time there this year. Trail is in great shape. Somewhat Recently marked with colored duct tape. lots of fairly steep hills and washes to navigate up and down. Both north and south trails are loops. My 2nd favorite place to ride after caprock. Best thing, it's NOT CLOSED DUE TO GOV SHUTDOWN!
Reviewed by: Brett on 10/12/2013 7:35:24 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/5/2013 Hometown: gordonville, tx

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Awesome trails. Very challenging lots of different terrain. Thank you to who ever put markers out on the trail. Would love to know more about how far the trail goes and if it does indeed loop back. Someone put 15 miles and another post said 30. We just rode out and back for about a 4 hour ride.
Reviewed by: Denise on 1/1/2012 9:11:45 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 12/30/2011 Hometown: Plano, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails were great, the only downfall I found was the many low branches. We were with a large group who knew the trails well so we didn't get lost but I could have easily gotten lost without them. Wish the campgrounds had toilets.
Reviewed by: Mrs. Conley on 9/25/2011 6:09:08 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/25/2011 Hometown: Wolfe City, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I've been riding these trails for years, and I live next to them. The trails do loop but currently are not marked. There is no one individual or group maintaining these trails. They are challenging and the best around these parts for conditioning for mountain riding. I would be willing to meet/show individuals or groups the routes once this heat wave lets up. If you contact me, reference this website, otherwise your email will be deleted.
Reviewed by: Ruth Abair on 8/21/2010 4:34:15 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/2/2010 Hometown: Sadler, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

For us the campground was fine. Lots of shade for picket lines, easy walk to lake to water horses. Plenty of downed trees for fire wood. No restrooms. No public water that we could find, just the lake. We stayed 3 days, had LQ w/ generator, and a friends w/ full sized camper, 6 head of horses. Great place to really work a young horse, tons of challages. Trails are over grown, downed trees, so be prepared to go off trail, deep gullys, mud, creeks, lake edge in parts very mucky, sucked the front shoes off one horse. Easy to swim horses. Lots of shade on trails. Downside, as best we could figure, none of the trails loop or circle, and there are many dead ends. No maps available. It's a shame this is not better looked after, it could be amazing!! Caution, not for the faint of heart, or a mindless horse.
Reviewed by: Hyla on 6/1/2009 7:27:27 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/31/2009 Hometown: Whitesboro, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

There 30 miles of trails at Big Mineral Equesteran not 15 miles. Ihere are two sets of trails. The north trail and the south trail. I have been riding there for 15 years and there is nothing in this are that can beat this.
Reviewed by: Roy on 11/29/2008 10:15:23 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/29/2008 Hometown: Gordonville, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Big Mineral is one of my favorites..great trail when it gets hot and you and your horses are in shape, lots of steep up and downs. I wouldn't even call it a campground more like a parking area with acess to the lake where you can walk your horses down and let them swim. great for those hot summer months.
Reviewed by: Tina on 5/2/2007 7:43:04 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/2/2007 Hometown: Denton, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Back in the 1990s rode here several times. LOVE the trails! Lots of hills shaddy trails, lake access and nice sandy soil that is easy on horses feet. There were several trail improvements including concreat low water crossings and the trails were well marked. Reasonalbe access to Lake Texoma for swimming and watering horses. Nearby camping store let us fill our water bottles. Haven't been back in a long time due to primative camping - no water, no electricity and an outhouse a LONG way from the camping. Would love to go back someday.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 2/20/2007 6:58:44 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 2/20/2007 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Have riden these trails for a long time can be very chalanging in spots.
Reviewed by: Nelson on 9/14/2004 9:29:32 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/1/2004 Hometown: Gainesville, TX