HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Country Haven Campground and Stables
(click on name for more information)


Bloomingdale, In

Overall TRAIL RATING with 13 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 12 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

go to indiana state forest and parks and click on coverd bridge state forest and equestrian center. to call for more info (812)-648-2810 or (260)-409-6827 they have 21 sites 12 electric water every 3 or 4 lots they have hitching post I was told that they have A grand total of 4 miles of trail. and I was also told that they are not open yet,and do not have A opening date yet.
Reviewed by: Ron Kieszkowski on 1/14/2010 8:32:27 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/20/2008 Hometown: Michigan city, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

for an updateon contryhaven go to indiana coverd bridge state forest and if you scroll up to the bottum of the page you can leave a coment R.k.
Reviewed by: Ron Kieszkowski on 12/9/2009 10:01:52 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/20/2008 Hometown: m. C. , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

If you want an update on (country haven)here is what I found. Go to (indiana trail riders assn. and press search. it will be called (coverd bridge state forest)
Reviewed by: Ron Kieszkowski on 11/19/2009 9:55:57 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/1/2008 Hometown: Michigan city, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

anybody hear or see something about country haven? it would be great to hear something about it. hope fully it will be open by next spring. yall have a great day. R.K.
Reviewed by: Ron kieszkowski on 8/16/2009 6:52:52 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Michigan City, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

When will they be opening? We have ridden here several times, It is our favorite. We prefer it over Brown County, it is our favorite in the hole state. So many trails up high and down low, water fall and so serene. Please when will you be open.
Reviewed by: Melody on 7/2/2009 6:15:45 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/20/2007 Hometown: Kokomo, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This place has been closed for a few years Now. Recently the Indiana Department of Natural Resources has purchased the property. Despite recent rumors, Country Haven IS NOT OPEN at this time. Hopefully it MIGHT open by the end of the year. I have been working very hard redesigning the ttails on a volunteer basis to speed up the process to help DNR open the property back up.
Reviewed by: Brett Erwood on 6/19/2009 5:26:17 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Rosedale, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Indiana Trail Riders are marking new trails but it is unknown as to when it will open (lacking management). I'll give you an update when I see something going on (like the trails being cut out).
Reviewed by: Rose on 5/3/2009 8:44:45 AM
More reviews by Rose
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Bloomingdale, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What is going on with this place. Is it going to open, and when. what will it be called. Hope some one will open up,and give us an update. R.K.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 4/28/2009 6:22:26 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The word is out that the state hopes to open the campground this April!! It'll be great sharing my unmarked trails with you.
Reviewed by: Rose on 2/9/2009 12:36:44 PM
More reviews by Rose
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Bloomingdale, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Indiana Trail Riders organization have reported on their website that the INdiana DNR has purchased Country Haven from the Nature Conservancy along with an additional 1000 acres on the other side of the river. Their intention is to open it all to horse riders. The problem is going to be getting to the other side of the river. Since there are no good trails in this area of the state, I can't wait. If anyone has any additional info on this please send it to me.
Reviewed by: Gregg Grote on 10/15/2008 8:50:48 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/15/2008 Hometown: West Point, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband and I rode our horses and camped for years at Country Haven. We appreciated the fact that it was privately owned, and were extremely disappointed to hear it had sold. I tried to contact the IN Nature Conservancy, but my first email was returned--I guess the email address on their website doesn't work. I resent my email to Chip Sutton, from that group. Do you know if there is anyone else we could contact to encourage them to reopen?
Reviewed by: Paul & Rhonda Baumgart on 9/7/2008 4:46:18 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/7/2008 Hometown: Danville, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Country Haven was bought by the Nature Conservancy along with 900 adjoining acres. It will be managed under a special agreement with the Indiana Dept. of Natural Resources. There is no information available online as to when CH will reopen and what type of facility it will be. Since it has operated as a horseman's campground and has existing facilities, I hope it will re-open for equine activities. Hopefully other folks will update this post as information becomes available.
Reviewed by: bjc1954 on 6/21/2008 7:56:54 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Indy, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

As of 5/20/2008 Country Haven is still not in operation as a Horsemans Camp. Sadly it is just being overgrown.
Reviewed by: Keith on 5/21/2008 8:37:32 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/19/2008 Hometown: C-ville, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Country Haven is no longer a horse camp. It was sold over the summer of 2007.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/22/2007 4:14:20 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/22/2007 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Country Haven was sold to The Nature Conservancy. Not sure if it will reopen as place for camping and trail riding.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/8/2007 4:47:34 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/8/2007 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

FYI, Country Haven is no longer in operation.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/1/2007 11:51:53 AM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 10/1/2007 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Does anyone know what happened at Country Haven? I knew they were selling their breeding stock but had NO IDEA they were selling the property or campgrounds! Does anyone know what is happening to the property or if it will re-open in the future? This is so sad...Dereth and Jim were wonderful owners! This facility will be greatly missed!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 8/4/2007 1:49:03 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 8/4/2007 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Sadly, Country Haven has been sold and will no longer be a horseman's camp.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 7/29/2007 8:57:33 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 7/29/2007 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Country Haven is closing as of 7/20/2007
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 7/15/2007 1:26:19 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/15/2007 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Country Haven is one of the best kept secrets in the State of Indiana for camping and trail riding! Jim and Dereth are wonderful hosts and they make everyone feel right at home! The trails are beautiful and wind up and down beautiful gorges, follow shale bottom creeks, and offer superior views of Sugar Creek and a waterfall. Many deer can be seen along the trails and in camp. Unfortunately the trails were very wet and muddy after thunderstorms limiting our rides the next couple of days. But, we saw enough beauty at Country Haven to return for both overnight camping and day rides! The camping sites are adequate for electric hook-up. You may want to bring some type of bedding for the hitching posts as they are earthen. The shower house provided nice hot water for showers. The charm of Country Haven lies in its unspoiled beauty and welcoming owners. We kept our horses in stalls rather than keep them out during the storms. Nice, nice fac ility! Highly recommended!
Reviewed by: Barb on 6/9/2007 9:50:43 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 5/30/2007 Hometown: Indy, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Even though the trails are not very well marked, it is easy to get around and find your way. The trails varied from easy to moderately difficult and the scenery was fantastic! Waterfalls, Sugar Creek, covered bridges and beautiful rock formations, plus deer and wildlife galour! There were nine of us who went down for the weekend and we had a great time. The campground is clean and the bathrooms are kept stocked. Water is nearby but you do have to haul it to your horse. Our overall experience was worth sharing. I will most certainly be going back SOON!
Reviewed by: Kimberly on 9/13/2006 9:39:50 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/8/2006 Hometown: Mulberry, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been to Country Haven several times. It is my favorite place to go. The trails and the scenery are awesome. I took mt 9 year old grand daughter this year and she enjoyed it as well. I was the only one in my group that had been there before and the rest of the group liked it also. I think that it has Brown County beat by a long shot.
Reviewed by: Dawn on 6/7/2006 10:39:00 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/3/2006 Hometown: Monon, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

It was a lot of fun for me.
Reviewed by: Sarah on 4/5/2006 2:45:14 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 4/5/2006 Hometown: Allen county,Indiana, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

9/6/05: Just returned from a GREAT weekend at Country Haven. They have now added electric sites!!
Reviewed by: RF on 9/6/2005 8:13:33 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/6/2005 Hometown: Danville, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to go -- large shower house, lots of shade. Stalls in beautiful big barn are available. Very accommodating owners -- friendly and very helpful. Grounds and shower house are well maintained. Lots of trails, some steep. Recommend HIGHLY!!
Reviewed by: Robin on 7/27/2005 8:09:38 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/27/2005 Hometown: Danville, IN

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List