HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Alafia River State Park
(click on name for more information)


Lithia, FL

Overall TRAIL RATING with 6 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 4 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

One of the best State Parks to ride in Florida! Great trails, great camp accomodations, close to areas for shopping and the trails are meticulously well kept and marked clearly. Great to walk trot, canter and gallop. Hills and valleys and water views! We ride here a lot..love this place!
Reviewed by: JJC on 11/19/2012 11:16:56 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/5/2012 Hometown: Dade City, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Can't praise this place enough. Rode 3 days early April, already warm (80+) but most trails were shady & pleasant. I'd guess about 40+ miles of dedicated horse trails, all well groomed with head clearance, good footing, quiet, shady, with hills and lakes (no swimming-gators). Beautiful, clean park, campground, restrooms, picnic area...everything was gorgeous. Long perimeter trail with great grid of cross trails, N/S, E/W. Many other wide open spaces to explore. Trail map and trail markers are accurate, rode all over w/o GPS & didn't get lost once. Many other multi-use trails and Bicycle Only trails also. Crossed trails with a few very courteous cyclists, proving we can co-exist. This place truly caters to Horses with water troughs scattered along the trails & natural water access everywhere. This is a State Park so bring your coggins, they'll check. Large mosquitos so bring repellant for horse and (hey, it's Florida in Spring) This is truly a double 5 star camp and trail, maybe the best in Florida.
Reviewed by: olecowpoke on 4/5/2010 7:49:58 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 4/5/2010 Hometown: Lakeland, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We went for the weekend to this wonderful park. The trails are some of the best Florida has to offer. I had not been to this park in many years and the improvements are tremendous. The campsites are nice with tie-outs for the horses. They have planted some lovely Oaks which are growing well and will provide each campsite with some nice shade. My only complaint is that they did not plant any trees by the tie-outs so the horses don't have any shade which would definitely limit camping with them in the warmer months. When I say clean wonderful restrooms, I mean it. No wonder they won an award for their campground facilities. We saw in 2 days of riding, deer, fox, alligator, turtle, buzzards :) and lots of armadillos. The one thing to metion is that they have some wonderful biking trails in the southern section by the campground and the bikers REALLY enjoy them. The trails do cross one another in that area, so it is helpful if your horse appreciates bikers going in and out of the trees. The trails are very well marked and all of the bikers we met were very courteous to us. The place is not huge but we rode many of the cross trails and probably missed a couple. The trails are so pretty that we didn't mind riding some of them more than once. We will definitely go back.
Reviewed by: Tammy B. on 5/20/2007 3:31:44 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/20/2007 Hometown: Brooksville, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

TRAILS ARE CLEARLY MARKED WITH NICE VIEWS. CAMPSITES ARE CLEAN WITH EASY ACCESS FOR LARGE TRAILERS. HORSE CAMPSITES ARE IN SEPERATE AREAS FROM MAIN CAMPGROUND. WILL RETURN AGAIN.
Reviewed by: PARIS NICHOLSON on 3/28/2007 8:55:35 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/26/2007 Hometown: SORRENTO, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We ride here frequently and can't possibly cover all the terrain. It's a new experience every time. Scenery varies from one end of park to the other, and small hills provide variety. Be prepared to ride for a couple of fun hours, and maybe "get lost" somewhere in the back!! Loads of fun for horses and riders alike! Take a map with you the first time out.
Reviewed by: J. Bergen on 11/29/2006 4:14:35 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/25/2006 Hometown: Valrico, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great day riding yesterday. There is a nice variety of scenery. Enough trails for a couple of days of riding. A Paso Fino club was holding a poker run. Thanks for the prize and lunch!
Reviewed by: jtrider on 5/1/2005 8:06:45 AM
More reviews by jtrider
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/30/2005 Hometown: Sunbury, OH