HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Coldwater Recreation Area
(click on name for more information)


Munson, FL

Overall TRAIL RATING with 18 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 18 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great trail rides, well maintained trails. Great campground but the bath house is about 100 yds from campground. Showers were the size of the one in my camper. Would be nice if they had more paddocks to turn horses out when not riding. Half price for seniors.
Reviewed by: R Crowell on 2/21/2015 7:16:18 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 2/14/2015 Hometown: Madison, Fl

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Such a beautiful place. Beautiful trails with great sandy footing, wide enough for 2 horses and very well marked and plenty of them!! Campground exceptional and a nice grassy turnout as well. Well worth the ride to get there!!!!
Reviewed by: Jennifer Eardley on 10/28/2013 5:41:14 PM
More reviews by Jennifer Eardley
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/23/2013 Hometown: Sarasota, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just came back from my first visit to Coldwater. Absolutely loved it will go back this spring. Great place to take young horses. Trails are fabulous!! Wide, sandy,well marked and maintained. Can't say enough good things. Some of the trails are sparse or have no water at all. So I know I wouldn't come in the heat of the summer. Campgrounds are tops. The barn stalls have been enlarged. Very roomy. My big 16 hand quarter horse laid down every night. He was very comfortable there and we have no barn at our farm so it was unusual for him to lay down. Some things they could improve is to mark where you go to check in at the entry. If it is your first time go all the way past the first dump station and stop. You will see the office sign on the building to your right. 2nd thing is without sewer hook ups it would be nice if there were at least porta pottys at the camp grounds. It is a very long walk to the bath house. If they would divide the turn out pen into two then more than just a few horses at a time could go out. Somethimes we had to wait 2 days before our horses could get a spot to go out and roll around. The staff was SUPER FRIENDLY and helpful. Found out that most of the help are volunteers. Wish they would have such a program here in Georgia. This is one of the best campground I have been to. Can't wait to go back next spring
Reviewed by: Sheila on 12/19/2011 9:52:45 AM
More reviews by Sheila
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/26/2011 Hometown: molena, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wonderful trails as always. FFAHA has done an outstanding job marking trails; maps are easy to read and even I can't get lost! There was water along some of the trails for the horses. Coldwater is adding more covered paddocks and has enlarged their small stalls. Can't wait to get back there for the Santa Rosa Sheriff's Posse Saddle Up and Ride Poker Run on April 30, 2011!
Reviewed by: Esther on 3/22/2011 12:06:48 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/12/2011 Hometown: Havana, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Agree with previous comments but just wanted to add a warning that it's not really a good place for tent camping.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/13/2010 10:37:28 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/10/2010 Hometown: , FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails were awesome, people at campgrounds were helpful. Some deerflies along one of the trails were bad (it ran alongside a bottom for a ways), but we just travelled fast through this area. Trails weren't crowded (we were in the saddle by 7 or 7:30 each day). Came back for a great swim in the creek, lunch and a nap and headed out again the evening. Great time for the whole family.
Reviewed by: sweetas on 8/13/2010 8:07:11 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/1/2010 Hometown: Cantonment, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We just returned from Coldwater and the place looks the best it ever has!! Five Flags Arabians has spent oodles of time marking the trail and they have a wonderful new trail map so you won't get lost. Lots of work has been done to improve the footing. Wagon trails now available too. The new bathrooms are open and are awesome. I saw a 2nd dump station that I had not seen before. I understand they now allow 28 day long reservations for the winter guests. Staff is as friendly as ever.
Reviewed by: Karen F on 4/8/2010 3:39:04 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/5/2010 Hometown: Loxley, AL, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Second time to this Campground. Had a great time and the trails we rode where in great shape. Camp Host extremely nice and accommadating. Will be planning another camping event next year to this campground.
Reviewed by: Ron on 11/11/2009 12:39:06 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/1/2009 Hometown: Carnesville , GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails have recently been re-marked and the map is much easier to use. Great place for riding/camping. I love the covered paddocks, but they are limited. Trails are sandy, mainly 2-track, easy terrain. Shoes or boots not required. Rangers are ready and willing to help. Great folks over there!
Reviewed by: Esther on 4/11/2008 7:37:57 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Havana, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to camp and trail ride. Staff is friendly and helpfull, the only complaint I have is that I made a reservation for my Mother when I paid my bill and checked out, the staff member put the reservation in my mothers name as I requested, I later learned that Rene ( a staff member) told the staff member who made my mothers reservations to change the name on it to my name. When my mother camped there the staff would not let her use her senior discount because the reservation was changed to my name. Rene needs to let the staff do there job as they obviously know what they are doing in regard to reservations, my mother was not happy when rene refused to give her senior discount.
Reviewed by: Happy Camper on 8/17/2007 12:09:00 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 2/17/2006 Hometown: , GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have visted Coldwater creek many times and have always been very pleased.The rangers are always helpful and courteous.The park overall from trails to camsites are grade A.
Reviewed by: David Mayo on 8/12/2007 5:14:01 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/25/2007 Hometown: Cottondale, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

WHEN MAKING RESERVATION BE SURE TO REQUEST COVERED PADDOCK STALLS. OTHERS ARE TOO SMALL. GREAT PLACE TO RIDE WITH VARIOUS LEVELS OF TRAILS TO CHOOSE FROM(1 HR. TO ALL DAY). CAMPSITES ARE CLEAN WITH EASY ACCESS. GREAT STAFF, PLUS VOLUNTEERS TO ASSIST WITH EVERY NEED. FREE FIREWOOD FOR EVENING CAMPFIRES. WILL REVISIT EVERY YEAR.
Reviewed by: PARIS on 4/11/2007 6:56:44 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/9/2007 Hometown: SORRENTO, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campground is very well maintained with 69 large sites. There are plenty of stalls available, but some are quite small. Make sure you reserve a large are medium stall. The small stalls are very small. There are also uncovered stalls available. Horses are not allowed in the campgroud, but stables are only a short walk from the campground and you are able to park your truck close to the stables to unload tack. The trails are primarily flat and very sandy. They stay dry even after a very hard rain. There are numerous trails which connect and allow you to ride from one hour to 8 hours.
Reviewed by: Kristy on 2/5/2007 7:23:18 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 2/3/2007 Hometown: , LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trail map needed updating which resulted in taking a few wrong turns. Woods of trails had "war zone" look from previous years hurricane damage. Signs were posted everywhere forbidding horses in the creek. The campground / bath house was very clean but was disappointed to learn my horse was not welcome in or near my campsite; therefore, tack had to be carried to & fro or else left "unattended" @ the stables.
Reviewed by: The Garrett's on 1/17/2007 10:39:54 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/17/2006 Hometown: Lynchburg, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trail map needed updating which resulted in taking a few wrong turns. Woods of trails had "war zone" look from previous years hurricane damage. Signs were posted everywhere forbidding horses in the creek. The campground / bath house was very clean but was disappointed to learn my horse was not welcome in or near my campsite; therefore, tack had to be carried to & fro or else left "unattended" @ the stables.
Reviewed by: The Garrett's on 1/17/2007 10:34:55 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/17/2006 Hometown: Lynchburg, zz

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Visit www.ffaha.org for pictures of trails, facilities, and campground, trail maps, facility and trail descriptions, event calendar, maps, and directions. FFAHA helps Forestry maintain the horse trails and raise money for the horse campground facilities.
Reviewed by: Christina Schiro on 8/7/2006 1:40:54 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/7/2006 Hometown: Pensacola, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campground is very well set-up with lots of spaces and clean rest rooms.The staff is very helpful. Plenty of food stores and shopping near by. The Trails are clean, wide well marked and never over crowded.The trils can be long or short, it's your choice. Fun for all agages and all level of riders. This place is truly a "Hidden Jewel".
Reviewed by: Bert Engeron on 4/7/2006 4:55:58 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/1/2006 Hometown: Elberta Al., Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice campground with hook-ups and barns. Trails are well groomed, but somewhat mundane. Nice place to ride when it's cold up north.
Reviewed by: JulieS on 8/8/2005 8:54:18 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/1/2003 Hometown: Athens, TN