HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Faye Whittemore Farms/Pumpkin Patch
(click on name for more information)
Jasper, AL

Overall TRAIL RATING with 33 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 35 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We loved It there we were able to hook up our camper/trailer and have our horse in paddocks located directly behind us. The views were beautiful and riding was wonderful for easy to expert riders.
Reviewed by: Nic & Ashley Robison on 2/1/2015 5:29:52 PM
More reviews by Nic %26 Ashley Robison
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/2/2014 Hometown: Fort Payne, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

beautiful trails
Reviewed by: marjorie on 9/13/2013 7:28:20 PM
More reviews by marjorie
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/10/2013 Hometown: New Market, al

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I was there for a NATRC ride, so the trails were very well marked for the event. They were incredibly scenic but for this flatlater gal, some were kind of scary. Lots a stream crossings. The first day, my horse wore boots, but on the second, she did fine barefoot. The campground is another story. Saw pics of a beautiful barn and stalls on the website. Don't let it fool you! Horses are kept in corrals behind the campsite and look like pallets were used to put them together. Nails sticking out of boards and no covers over any of the stalls. It rained all night Friday night and my horse's corral was a muddy mess. They advertise a full-service campground, but there are no sewer connections and no dump station. The "big" rigs are parked closest to the bathhouse and the smaller rigs (that usually don't have living quarters) are parked much farther away. If I remember right, they only have 30 amp service, not the 50 amp that would allow you to use multiple items in a big rig. Each site was shaded, which was nice as far as the sun was concerned, but the bugs love shade, too. Overall, I was not happy with the campground, but did enjoy the trails. I don't know how well they're marked when a NATRC ride isn't going on and will probably never know. I will try to post some pics of campground/trails/corrals.
Reviewed by: borncountry on 5/22/2013 7:09:38 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/4/2013 Hometown: Havana, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautiful trails but not marked well at. Would be great if you knew where you were.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 9/30/2012 10:15:23 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/29/2011 Hometown: , AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Anonymous on 6/6/2012 8:55:13 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/29/2011 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is one of the best places to ride in the Southeast. Beautiful trails, with plenty of water crossings, and well marked. Their campsites are shaded and there are plenty of them, the bath house was nice and clean. There was a dumpster beside the road across from the barn so I don't know why people say there is no place for garbage
Reviewed by: James Edwards on 5/6/2012 11:39:10 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/20/2012 Hometown: Winston, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails are wonderful trails. A little difficult to find, but once you are on the trail, very easy to follow. These are some of the most beautiful trails in Alabama I've seen. The campsites are shady with water and electricity. Ricky and Janet are very nice. My horse was barefoot and did fine, no boots required.
Reviewed by: Amy Farley on 5/2/2012 11:17:28 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/27/2012 Hometown: Remlap, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

WOW What a wonderful place. The trails are absolutely beautiful, the mountain laurel and wild azaleas down on the creeks were in full bloom. The trails were well marked and we had no problem at all. The campground has lots of shaded sites that are easy to get into and the bath house is very nice and was keep clean all weekend. Ricky was very helpful with anything we needed and recommended several good places to go eat in town.
Reviewed by: Susan Miller on 4/24/2012 3:13:40 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/14/2012 Hometown: Birmingham, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My girlfriends and I travel and trail ride several times a year and love this place. Our first trip there was in April 2011. The scenery is by far the most beautiful of anywhere we have traveled. Most of our trips are toTennesee. The white trail along the creek. The yellow trail in the water walk, and the orange trail through some of the huge pastures is just breathtaking. What I really loved was that there is cell service in the forest which makes you feel safe if there was an emergency of any kind. Ricky made you feel as though you are a friend and not a customer. We had very little problem navigating the trails. They were marked very well. If you need to go to town, it's only a few miles away with any type of store or restaurant you desire. The campsites are shady and very easy to maneuver a big living quarter trailer. I also like how your horse has a paddock on the site. No, there is not a dumping station or a place to dispose your garbage but who doesn't pass a truck stop along the way home. We are going to make this place a yearly or biyearly trip for sure.
Reviewed by: Lori on 4/15/2012 2:01:48 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/13/2012 Hometown: , GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a great time at the Pumpkin Patch this weekend. Trails were not hard to navigate and the hospitality was wonderful. Loved it we will be back.
Reviewed by: norm on 4/10/2012 11:14:13 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/29/2012 Hometown: collins, MS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Pretty trails but not marked very well at all. Bath house clean. Camp sites just okay with no place for garbage.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 12/11/2011 7:13:11 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/29/2011 Hometown: , AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Bath house clean, camp sites okay (no place for garbage), trails pretty but not marked well at all. Never knew where you were.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 11/19/2011 8:01:07 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/10/2010 Hometown: , AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband and I had a great time at the Pumpkin Patch this past weekend. Trails can be a bit tricky to follow, but the "locals" will gladly take you out and show you a great ride. Trails are very scenic and range in difficulty levels from easy to moderate. There are lots of bluffs and the fall foilage was fantastic. This is a great weekend/long weekend trip. Many people there this weekend had been coming for years (had permanent campsite dwellings) and new each other, but included us first-timers in all that they did. All in all a great weekend. One complaint is that there is a flat fee of $10 per horse whether you picket, use a paddock, or use the stable which is about 1/2 mile from camp. I understand the paddock and stall price, but I feel that there should be a discount for those who choose to picket their horses unless the facility provides the picket lines; however, this will not prevent me from returning.
Reviewed by: RR on 10/31/2011 2:57:29 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/29/2011 Hometown: , GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We really love this place! This is some of the prettiest scenery in Alabama with rock bluffs and creek crossings. Some spots are rocky, but unless you are an inexperienced rider, the trails are not difficult to navigate at all. On one loop (orange loop), the trails are wide and not very hilly. On the white loop, trails are rockier and steeper, and the scenery is awesome. Also, more trails are being added. We found it very easy to follow the markers on the trails. Also, we met lots of nice people, and that made the camping experience even better. This will definitely be a return trip for us!
Reviewed by: Gail on 9/21/2011 12:11:14 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/2/2011 Hometown: , AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Could be a lot better. At one point you just come out behind someones farm with no signs at all to tell you where to go. Very poorly marked trails. Wash house okay and camping spots okay but no place to put garbage. Trails we saw were pretty but I couldn't tell you how we got there or how to get back. Not marked well at all.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 9/13/2011 6:52:15 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/15/2010 Hometown: , AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails are poorly marked and the map they provide is useless. Some of the trail markers lead to dead ends. It's a pretty place but the scenery isn't worth the hassle of frequently getting lost.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 9/7/2011 8:16:03 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/21/2010 Hometown: , AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

If the trails were marked better and their was a place in camp for garbage with a little management this could be a nice place. Missed the mark for me.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 7/9/2011 8:10:00 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/5/2010 Hometown: , AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Only if there was no where else to go would I visit this place.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 6/9/2011 11:37:27 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/29/2010 Hometown: , AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to spend some time with some great accommodating people. Paddocks behind campsite or covered barn short distance away. New trail down by river is AWESOME and lots of easy, shady trails. Very homey type place creates some great memories.
Reviewed by: Sandy Pegram on 3/30/2011 2:27:30 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/14/2010 Hometown: Alabaster, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Will NOT go back nor recommend this place. Though hook-ups, rustic campsites and paddocks were not in good shape. Trails were scenic, but not safe. We got into ground hornets BAD on one of the most dangerous goat-type rock trails. Could have been a very bad outcome! Trails not marked well, and you return through a gated pasture that contains cows & horses w/babies. Not a good scene. AND...if you do go, even if they tell you pads aren't necessary, we highly recommend them.
Reviewed by: cathe on 11/2/2010 6:29:44 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/1/2008 Hometown: ozark, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Won't go back to this place
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/15/2010 3:05:07 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/25/2010 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My daughter and I hauled into the campground as a layover for the night and were going to ride a short ride the next morning. When we registered we were asked if we were going to ride and I said probably the next morning but not sure. The owner said the reason he asked was because he charges a fee to ride. I had no problem with that and told him to go ahead and add the fee thinking probaly $5.00 (this in addition to stalls and camping). He started writing down the diffent fees and wrote $15.00. I thought that may be for both so was still not concerned untill he wrote another $15.00. I asked what that was for and he said that was the trail fee. I thought that was a bit much ($15.00 each) to ride our own horses for a couple of hours plus stalls and camping. This information should be on the website or at least made known to people when they call for rates.
Reviewed by: Cathy on 8/24/2010 12:10:33 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/26/2010 Hometown: Bunnell , FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love it! Love it! Love it!!! I have camped there twice this year, once in April and once in May. The white trail is the most beautiful trail that I have ridden in North Alabma. It is comparable to some that I have ridden in north eastern Tennessee. There was water nearby along almost the entire trail. The creeks, waterfall and river are amazing. I took so many pictures along the way. I could ride these trails every weekend!! I can't wait to go back. Ricky and his wife are great people. We really enjoyed our stay there. I really like the campsites. The paddocks are very close to the campsites which makes it very convenient. Great trails, great good and lots of fun!!
Reviewed by: Melissa Wright on 6/13/2010 7:17:41 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 5/15/2010 Hometown: Athens, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a really great place to ride. The trails are beautiful!! The trails are, in fact, marked with brightly colored ribbons on trees at intervals close enough that anyone should be able to follow. We did not get lost even on our first trip there. We were there when the owner was marking the new trails (which had just been cut) with green ribbons -- ribbons are on the left if you are headed back to camp and on the right if you are leaving camp. Existing trails are marked as well. Yes, Ricky and Janet ARE great people, but so are their trails and campground. There is also a trail horse competition for campers and their horses. Obstacles are set up in a large arena near the campsites and campers compete with their horses for a small amount of prize money. Just adds to the fun. Don't let negative comments from other people keep you away from this place. It's great!!!!
Reviewed by: Randy on 6/4/2010 5:41:22 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 5/31/2010 Hometown: , AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I don't know who Jackie is butt when I was there the trails "were not" marked well at all and everyone we met was asking for direction. So, I ABSOLUTELY do not think it was all "their faults". And I agree with the other post about garbage. With what they charge to camp it is rediculas for them to not have a dumpster for garbage. Wasn't going to comment but some people seem to be sticking up for Rick and Janet because they are nice folks. They are but that doesn't excuse the poorly marked trails and/or lack of a place for garbage. Don't think we'll go back either.
Reviewed by: Mac on 6/3/2010 5:29:24 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/28/2010 Hometown: , Select State

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List