HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for GREEN RIVER STABLES
(click on name for more information)
CAMPBELLSVILLE, KY

Overall TRAIL RATING with 9 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 9 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground not really catering to horse guest as owners' bread and butter is the Amazon distribution centers seasonal employees. stalls not larger than 8x10. no tie ups at trailer so horse will tear up your nice trailer while your tacking up. shavings are free, but don't spill any or you will get repromanded. Trails are nice in Park and good trail access. It did rain one day we were there and found stall full of water went to get more shavings but they were soaked too. really liked the trails but watch out for Mountain bikers. the town is nice everything is close.
Reviewed by: Scott H. on 11/1/2016 10:50:25 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/1/2016 Hometown: Knoxville, tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We were just day riding but I wanted to check out the campground before I left, WOW!, these folks have obviously put in a lot of hard work and money into their facility! The campground was neat as a pin, the new lounge area for catered meals, pot luck or whatever your group might like to do is so cute!!! I read some of the other comments about non horse campers and have to say every campground I've ever visited allowed non horse campers, this doesn't bother me in the least! I've never met campers I didn't like! If I owned a campground I would let anybody camp that paid for the spot and acted respectful to the other guest. To complain about that is just nit picking!!! The trails are absolutely gorgeous and very well maintained. I love it and can't wait to get back and camp, we will definitely be having a Women On The Edge ride at Green River Stables!
Reviewed by: Cheryl Boren on 7/16/2013 2:00:27 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/15/2013 Hometown: Crofton, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We called a little later than we should have to make reservations for a holiday wknd but we were told we would be accommodated w 3 sites and six stalls but as soon as we arrived things began to change drastically compared to any prior service we had ever had at the facility. ER had to move two horses from stalls to tie up stalls then we were sold wet firewood that never caught fire when I had called about firewood that day and did not care to bring our own. Then we request the last two empty tie up stalls for friends who would be arriving the next day we were told they would be taken care of but again that didn't happen and our friends left now mind you it's $5 to tie a horse to your own trailer and the talks re all the same price regardless the fact that you have to tote your water a hearty distance when you talk about big buckets filled full of water. When one of our youth members expressed her opinion about how she wasn't satisfied w having to tie up her very rxspensive competition horse she was told by the owner that she could be refunde and she could pack up and leave! Then half of the talks that were last yr have been removed and a large party room has been built in their place. Last nt they had a full parking lot of outsiders who came to party my concern in this is the smoking by drunks rt in the same building as where the stalls are!!!!! Then we are a Christian based riding club who cater to youth and we do not feel comfortable having youth around this atmosphere. Very disappointing that we have such nice using trails and faculty so close to home yet we feel that We can't come and enjoy ourselves the horses and our club friendships due to the drastic changes that's happene over the past several months.
Reviewed by: Connie Woolery Leach on 5/26/2013 4:51:58 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/24/2013 Hometown: Irvine, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

It has been two years since I have been to Green River Stables, and I was impressed with the improvements to both the trails and the campground. Erosion on the trails has been repaired. Several trails have been widened to accommodate wagons. There are a few new trails since my last visit. The campground was in excellent shape with a new laundry room. Campground hosts are very accommodating and easy to work with. I had a great visit and hope to return soon.
Reviewed by: Janis on 6/21/2012 2:33:29 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/16/2012 Hometown: Lancaster, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I recently visited Gren River Stables for a day ride and to check out the facilities for future rides and camping. The trails are great for inexperienced riders and horses. Many of the places to take a break have trash cans and picket lines. Also many places on the trail have a great view of the lake, with some areas riding right next to the lakeshore. The barns have new double boxing in most of the stalls. The campground has mostly pull through spaces with electric and water but not a whole lot of shade. The owners were friendly and helpful. The trails were well marked but I didn't get a map as my riding buddy knew the trails well. Overall I thought this was a place I will go back to ride and look forward to a camping trip there as well.
Reviewed by: C. Steele on 5/28/2010 6:51:16 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/24/2010 Hometown: Sandgap, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Green River Stables is not as represented by this website or their own webpage. Things have apparently deteriorated since the entries were made. The Website gives the impression that there are 30 miles of trails to ride, but only a little over half are actually open to horses. You can easily cover them all in one day. The Stalls have missing and loose boards. One morning I found one on the floor of my horses stall with the nails pointing up, fortunately she wasn’t injured by them. I noticed several protruding nail heads while hammering the board back in place and reseated them as well. I strongly recommend checking the stall before putting your horse in it, probably a good practice any where you go. The Wash bay is no longer in use as the wall panels have peeled off leaving insulation , wiring and pipes exposed. The bathrooms are reasonably clean , the only problem noted was that the restroom is not accessible when the shower is in use , but there are plenty of empty stalls if one gets desperate The web site states horseback guided tours are available, However that is no longer the case. They have recently discontinued them as indicated by a sign on the office door. They represent themselves as a Horse camp but the weekend we were there, we were the only horse campers. The campground was filled with non horse campers and Boaters. The 11:00pm quiet time is not enforced and the Owner tolerates the actions of heavy drinkers giving them free rein. They had a PA system blaring music until 2:00AM and only stopped when a fight started leaving one person laying in the road for several minutes until someone helped him up and rendered aid. I would not go back there as I have ridden all the trails and the place seems to be moving away from accommodating horse campers. It seems to have become a gathering place for heavy drinkers with the accompanying foul language, definitely not a place to take kids. Green River Stables is not as represented by this website or their own webpage. Things have apparently deteriorated since the entries were made. The Website gives the impression that there are 30 miles of trails to ride, but only a little over half are actually open to horses. You can easily cover them all in one day. The Stalls have missing and loose boards. One morning I found one on the floor of my horses stall with the nails pointing up, fortunately she wasn’t injured by them. I noticed several protruding nail heads while hammering the board back in place and reseated them as well. I strongly recommend checking the stall before putting your horse in it, probably a good practice any where you go. The Wash bay is no longer in use as the wall panels have peeled off leaving insulation , wiring and pipes exposed. The bathrooms are reasonably clean , the only problem noted was that the restroom is not accessible when the shower is in use , but there are plenty of empty stalls if one gets desperate The web site states horseback guided tours are available, However that is no longer the case. They have recently discontinued them as indicated by a sign on the office door. They represent themselves as a Horse camp but the weekend we were there, we were the only horse campers. The campground was filled with non horse campers and Boaters. The 11:00pm quiet time is not enforced and the Owner tolerates the actions of heavy drinkers giving them free rein. They had a PA system blaring music until 2:00AM and only stopped when a fight started leaving one person laying in the road for several minutes until someone helped him up and rendered aid. I would not go back there as I have ridden all the trails and the place seems to be moving away from accommodating horse campers. It seems to have become a gathering place for heavy drinkers with the accompanying foul language, definitely not a place to take kids. Green River Stables is not as represented by this website or their own webpage. Things have apparently deteriorated since the entries were made. The Website gives the impression that there are 30 miles of trails to ride, but only a little over half are actually open to horses. You can easily cover them all in one day. The Stalls have missing and loose boards. One morning I found one on the floor of my horses stall with the nails pointing up, fortunately she wasn’t injured by them. I noticed several protruding nail heads while hammering the board back in place and reseated them as well. I strongly recommend checking the stall before putting your horse in it, probably a good practice any where you go. The Wash bay is no longer in use as the wall panels have peeled off leaving insulation , wiring and pipes exposed. The bathrooms are reasonably clean , the only problem noted was that the restroom is not accessible when the shower is in use , but there are plenty of empty stalls if one gets desperate The web site states horseback guided tours are available, However that is no longer the case. They have recently discontinued them as indicated by a sign on the office door. They represent themselves as a Horse camp but the weekend we were there, we were the only horse campers. The campground was filled with non horse campers and Boaters. The 11:00pm quiet time is not enforced and the Owner tolerates the actions of heavy drinkers giving them free rein. They had a PA system blaring music until 2:00AM and only stopped when a fight started leaving one person laying in the road for several minutes until someone helped him up and rendered aid. I would not go back there as I have ridden all the trails and the place seems to be moving away from accommodating horse campers. It seems to have become a gathering place for heavy drinkers with the accompanying foul language, definitely not a place to take kids.
Reviewed by: Jim Crowe on 9/15/2009 12:24:23 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/3/2009 Hometown: Scottown, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Green River Stables is not as represented by this website's description or their own webpage. Things have apparently deteriorated since the entries were made . The Website gives the impression that there are 30 miles of trails to ride, but only a little over half are actually open to horses. You can easily cover them all in one day. The Stalls have missing and loose boards. One morning I found one on the floor of my horses stall with the nails pointing up, fortunately she wasn’t injured by them. I noticed several protruding nail heads while hammering the board back in place and reseated them as well. I strongly recommend checking the stall before putting your horse in it, probably a good practice any where you go. The Wash bay is no longer in use as the wall panels have peeled off leaving insulation , wiring and pipes exposed. The bathrooms are reasonably clean , the only problem noted was that the restroom is not accessible when the shower is in use , but there are plenty of empty stalls if one gets desperate The web site states horseback guided tours are available ,However that is no longer the case . They have recently discontinued them as indicated by a sign on the office door . They represent themselves as a Horse camp, but we were the only horse campers the weekend we were there . The campground was filled with non horse campers and Boaters. The 11:00pm quiet time is not enforced and the Owner tolerates the actions of heavy drinkers giving them free rein. They had a PA system blaring out music until 2:00AM when the fight started leaving one person laying in the road for several minutes until someone helped him up and rendered aid. We later found out that they were all family and friends of the owner. I would not go back there as I have ridden all the trails and the place seems to be moving away from accommodating horse campers and a gathering place for heavy drinkers,Definetly not a place to take small children.
Reviewed by: Jim Crowe on 9/13/2009 8:44:39 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/4/2009 Hometown: Scottown, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Dump, go somewhere else.
Reviewed by: Donna on 3/7/2009 7:50:26 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: LaGrange, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice and relaxing no worries place to ride and stay
Reviewed by: kenny on 5/29/2008 5:17:12 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: grayson, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails are wide most places and gently rolling hills, a few small bridges to cross. A perfect place to ride if you are a beginner and do not like strenuous climbs or descents. Scenery is pretty also. We take our young horses that we are just starting to train them here.
Reviewed by: Allison Brooks on 2/15/2008 5:49:34 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 5/20/2007 Hometown: Hardyville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have ridden your trails for two years and love them. The stalls are great and the campsites are good. They will be better when the trees grow. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We will be seeing you May 06.
Reviewed by: Bobby T Richardson on 4/17/2006 3:15:16 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/30/2005 Hometown: Shelbyville, KY