HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for cutfootsouix
(click on name for more information)


grand rapids, mn

Overall TRAIL RATING with 8 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 8 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I love riding at cutfootsioux and not finding discarded cans, wrappers and other debris along the trails, as I've seen in other places designated as multipurpose. I believe horseback riders are very responsible and they should be given credit for a huge part of keeping trails clean. My MAIN ISSUE (and others I know) is the cost for the DAY RIDERS. I have no problems at all with paying a usage fee however, I do not feel it should be equal to overnight campers. I ride at CFS with friends who camp overnight and we know of quite a few people who will not come because of the daily fee. If you multiply a "few" by all the riders that come in, it can be significant. If you don't want the DAY RIDERS taking up the premium camping spots, that's understandable, then designate a section where day riders can park. I can't recall if I've ever seen every spot taken! I would love to camp overnight but because of animals at home, it isn't possible at this time. I sure hope that by the time I'm able to do that, CFS is still open and not a victim of budget cuts. The times are tough, gas is high and if riders stop coming, the campground could very well close. Then what??? Well, my friends and I will ride at home however, not everyone is able to do that! When you DO consider the daily cost, I would at least think the trails would be marked well enough to keep riders from getting lost. Wouldn't you?? Since I first rode at CFS in 1999 or 2000, it is sad to say, the trail markings have not improved by much! For those who think my feedback seems harsh, I apologize, however, it is.......truthful!... and for the young people following behind us, I sure hope they still have a beautiful place to ride in ten or twenty years!!
Reviewed by: Deb on 6/13/2012 10:23:10 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/26/2012 Hometown: Remer, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground hosts are very helpful. Very muddy under horse ties. Very disappointed in the number of dogs roaming loose throughout the campground and there were also dogs on the trails with riders. Trails are beautiful but need some work after spring snow storm.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 6/12/2012 8:19:29 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/26/2012 Hometown: , MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails are beautiful, but as with others I find that many trails are not mapped and it is difficult to find your way even with a map. It would be helpful to have more maps on the trails with "you are here" notations! The campground is very nice, private, and well mowed, however could use more gravel under the horse ties (it was very muddy the weekend we were there). The campground host & hostess are great folks!
Reviewed by: Gail on 5/30/2012 3:34:37 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/26/2012 Hometown: , MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We enjoyed our camping experience at Cut Foot Sioux! The trails are excellent! We plan on returning for fall colors! Camp Host on site helped us with the mapping and offered a wheelbarrow....someone keeps stealing them. Firewood is also available at no cost.
Reviewed by: Nora Job on 9/19/2011 6:58:09 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/16/2011 Hometown: Monticello, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our group had a very wonderful time at Cut Foot Sioux.We loved the amount of miles and trail choices the Camp had to offer.You must have a good sense of direction and be able to read a map well .If you can get your bearings straight it is not that difficult to navigate the unmarked trails.The best part of Cutfoot trails are that they travel through some very scenic ,unspoiled and pristine forest areas.Trails wind around many lakes and up on high ridges with spectacular views.The trail footing is soft dirt and sand surfaces,it was not muddy when we were there in Oct.The campsights are each cut straight out of the woods ,are shady and allow privacy between each site.Several pull through sites and many sights that are big enough to allow for a large rig.The only neg. expereince was the fact that there were no wheel barrows to haul manure to the maure pit,the ranger said someone keeps stealing them from the park[very sad !]So bring your own wheel barrow.We plan on coming back each year ,the fall colors are spectacular here.
Reviewed by: Sue Aamot/Hiddenbrook Peruvians on 4/4/2011 8:40:53 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/15/2010 Hometown: Cambridge, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Can anyone post (use the review section) more information on this place? If you do, I'll put it in the original description. -- Webmaster
Reviewed by: Webmaster on 1/26/2011 7:42:16 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2011 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

You'll never ride the same trail twice if you don't want to, but be careful, carry a map, and have a good sense of direction if it's your first time because some of the trails are poorly marked. We went and it happened to rain the first two days, so the areas that could get muddy on the trails got MUDDY. In fall the trails are gorgeous, though. The campground is set up a little awkwardly, so you might have to haul water a long way for the horses, or haul their manure a good distance to find a pit. But with such a reasonable camping price, I just bring a good wheelbarrow and don't complain!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 1/26/2011 7:01:32 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/1/2010 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Anonymous on 4/28/2009 1:02:33 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/26/2008 Hometown: Duluth, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Anonymous on 12/22/2007 9:36:52 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/1/2000 Hometown: , Select State