HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Fort Ridgely State Park
(click on name for more information)


Fairfax, MN

Overall TRAIL RATING with 7 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 7 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I really liked that there was electric and water at every site, plus the flush toilets and showers! I recommend the very last campsight, because you have woods on one side. Much more private than any of the other campsites. A little too long to get to the trails, which were nice.
Reviewed by: KH on 8/17/2011 11:05:09 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/6/2011 Hometown: Burnsville, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first time using the horse campground. We stay for three days and had a quiet, peaceful experience. No bugs!! Each site has it's own water as well as the usual picnic table, fire pit, and high pickett lines. The creek is behind the sites so you can hear the water rushing by. The modern toilets and showers are always welcomed. Each site is a back-in and if crowded would be too close together (for my preference). We were lucky to be by ourselves at one end of the campground. The farmhouse, with the eight rental stalls, is a option for people who don't have a sleeping trailer. The trails are dirt and hilly. You must walk about half a hour next to the bike trail (or chose the shorter dirt road route) to get to the main trails. Opportunities for creek and bridge crossing! My friend fished for trout in the stream and hiked with the dogs.
Reviewed by: Lynn on 5/10/2011 7:22:35 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/6/2011 Hometown: Scandia, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great trails for experienced beginners on up. Beautiful country side and woods. Some very steep hills maybe tough for older horses! Theres alot of river crossings depending on rain amount it may be deep. They also have bridges if you prefer bridges. Great Park! Summertime after a rain it may be buggy!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 9/2/2009 3:43:35 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/17/2009 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a great day ride with some moderately challenging areas/hills! I would recommend this for families, but only with children that are experienced/comfortable riders.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 3/23/2009 2:33:12 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Anonymous on 8/31/2008 9:11:28 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I absolutely LOVE this park. The campground is very private not any regular campers(you know the drive thru lets go look at the horses kids trafic). Yes you do ride along the bike trail or the dirt road to get to the actual trails, but you can warm up your horse on the way there and then walk them back to cool them off. the trails have plenty of hills and creek crossings two bridge crossings (not one).electric and water at every camp site. SHOWERS SHOWERS SHOWERS for horse campers !!!!!!!!! Golf course in the midst of it all(for those husbands that don't ride as much). If you don't like to ride the bike trail or the road load up and start at the dayriders area.flush toilets horseshoe pit,sand box for kids,you can walk to some really great views. the staff at this park is fantastic !!!!!!
Reviewed by: Kelly on 10/25/2007 7:52:24 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/25/2007 Hometown: shafer, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I absolutely LOVE this park. The campground is very private not any regular campers(you know the drive thru lets go look at the horses kids trafic). Yes you do ride along the bike trail or the dirt road to get to the actual trails, but you can warm up your horse on the way there and then walk they back to cool them off. the trails have plenty of hills and creek crossings two bridge crossings (not one).electric and water at every camp site. SHOWERS SHOWERS SHOWERS for horse campers !!!!!!!!! Golf course in the midst of it all(for those husbands that don't ride as much). If yoy don't like to ride the bike trail or the road load up and start at the dayriders area.
Reviewed by: Kelly on 10/25/2007 7:44:51 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/25/2007 Hometown: shafer, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This ride is just okay. You have to ride along a paved bike trail and a pretty busy highway for quit awhile. But when you do get into the trees and around the golf coarse it's nice and hilly. The horse camp is acually outside the park and you have to ride gravel to get to the park or take the bike trail. You can ride the entire park in one day. For me it just wasn't worth writing home about. The golf coarse was busy and looked really nice.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 6/28/2007 12:58:47 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/19/2005 Hometown: , MN