HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Sauratown Trail-Mountain Trail Stables
(click on name for more information)


Pinnacle, NC

Overall TRAIL RATING with 29 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 28 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Mountain Trails Stable is in a perfect location for Sauratown Trail. Halfway between Pilot MT State park and Hanging Rock. Tammy and Phil are the best hosts ever, if God had a pattern for nice folks they would be it. The barn is FIRST RATE and only a few feet from your campsite, it has bathrooms with showers for peoples and your horses if you need them. oh and the trails are awesome, be prepared for some rocky areas but there is something for everybody here. This is a perfect location for first time over nighters, Tammy and Phil will make sure you have everything you need. there is a great fire pit, and firewood.
Reviewed by: LINDA T on 10/27/2014 4:03:18 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/25/2014 Hometown: WAXHAW, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a wonderful time with Phil and Tammy Barber. Excellent facilities and the trails were nice. Headed towards Hanging Rock State Park was VERY rocky, which made for some slow moving through the rocks and switchbacks but a beautiful area. Headed towards Pilot Mtn State Park the trail followed a small creek most of the way we rode. Shady, 3 creek crossings and much less rock! Awesome time on these trails. Congratulations to the Sauratown trail association for keeping wonderful trails like this open for us all. Thanks to Tammy and Phil for the great time we had staying with you!
Reviewed by: Pam Smith on 9/15/2014 8:14:01 AM
More reviews by Pam Smith
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/1/2014 Hometown: York, sc

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a wonderful time with Phil and Tammy Barber. Excellent facilities and the trails were nice. Headed towards Hanging Rock State Park was VERY rocky, which made for some slow moving through the rocks and switchbacks but a beautiful area. Headed towards Pilot Mtn State Park the trail followed a small creek most of the way we rode. Shady, 3 creek crossings and much less rock! Awesome time on these trails. Congratulations to the Sauratown trail association for keeping wonderful trails like this open for us all. Thanks to Tammy and Phil for the great time we had staying with you!
Reviewed by: Pam Smith on 9/15/2014 8:14:00 AM
More reviews by Pam Smith
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/1/2014 Hometown: York, sc

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Pam Smith on 9/15/2014 8:09:05 AM
More reviews by Pam Smith
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/1/2014 Hometown: York, sc

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Super nice place!! The stalls are really nice, I mean real nice. Camp area was flat and had hook ups. The bathrooms were nice, clean and showers were nice as well. The wash rack was perfect. The trail was a good combination of easy to more difficult. I would suggest shoes there are areas that are pretty rocky and there was a decent amount of water crossings. It was nice being able to ride out from the barn and hit the trails. The scenery was pretty and the ride is quiet, even the areas that you had to ride on the roadways were low traffic and the locals are nice and courteous. Tammy and Phil were great hosts. We will be back and Phil can grill a mean steak. Thanks you guys for a great trip.
Reviewed by: Doug on 6/1/2014 2:08:32 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/20/2014 Hometown: Newell, wv

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My first time here and will definitely go back. Tammie and Phil are wonderful host, make the best homemade ice-cream, and make it easy for you to relax and enjoy their place. The trails are right behind the property, easy to follow and make your way back. Where you park your trailer is flat so no worries about getting leveling blocks out, automatic waters for your horse, so no carrying water buckets. The barn and stalls are so nice, my guy just laid down and took a good nap! Thanks Tammie and Phil, hope to see you soon.
Reviewed by: Renee McGee on 5/28/2014 11:15:26 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/25/2014 Hometown: Climax, nc

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a wonderful Memorial Day weekend at Mountain Trail Stables. Phil & Tammie were gracious hosts and made you feel at home right away. The campsite was level which made setting up a breeze. Our horses thought they had arrived at a luxury hotel when we introduced them to the barn. Beautiful does not do it justice. The trails were a pleasure to ride. We will definitely be back in the fall. Danny & Pam Wright
Reviewed by: pamwright14 on 5/26/2014 2:13:36 PM
More reviews by pamwright14
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/25/2014 Hometown: Crouse, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a wonderful Memorial Day weekend at Mountain Trail Stables. Phil & Tammie make you feel at home right away. Phil & Tammie were gracious hosts and made you feel at home right away. The campsite was level which made setting up a breeze. Our horses thought they had arrived at a luxury hotel when we introduced them to the barn. Beautiful does not do it justice. The trails were a pleasure to ride. We will definitely be back in the fall. Danny & Pam Wright
Reviewed by: pamwright14 on 5/26/2014 2:12:49 PM
More reviews by pamwright14
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/25/2014 Hometown: Crouse, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Tammy and Phillip are wonderful hosts. They were very concerned that we had everything that we needed to have a great weekend. They also were very helpful to give directions for the different trails and even gave us a map. The trails were beautiful, the campground was very quiet and the barn was immaculate. Nice big stalls and a wash bay for the horses, nice bathrooms with showers, and even an upstairs sitting area with a kitchen. This will probably be our new favorite place to go riding. Loved it!
Reviewed by: Nell Bray Butcher on 9/2/2013 2:28:20 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/30/2013 Hometown: Tyro, North Carolina, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Was so great to be at a place where the host showed friendship and concern for your stay. The barn is great stalls wonderful trails the best!! Plan to go back this fall for the fall colors!!! Sadie can't wait!!!! :)
Reviewed by: Robbi on 7/14/2013 3:09:41 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/4/2013 Hometown: New London , NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A must go! A wonderful facility with awesome owners and atmosphere! We highly recommend Mountain Trail Stables that offers direct access to the Sauratown Trail. (The trail goes from Pilot Mt. to Hanging Rock state parks.)The barn and common areas are wonderful and they made you feel right at home. TAMMY knows how to give directions like no one else we have had the pleasure of asking. The trails are maintained by volunteers, such as they, and they know just about every step of it. A great extra that these wonderful hosts offer is.....are you ready?......free ice....from their very own ice machine!!!! Thank you so very much for your hospitality Phillip and Tammy
Reviewed by: Chris & Siobhan Foster on 6/17/2013 11:23:43 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/14/2013 Hometown: Jacksonville, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have to say without a doubt,this barn was the most amazing one I've every seen.Words cannot describe how beautiful it is.I felt like our horses were staying in a hotel.With a country theme,Tammie and Phil Barber nailed it.We had access to a beautiful cozy loft,all the free crushed ice we needed,free stall shavings,the cleanest bathroom/showers I've been to,and a country swing hanging in the barn.The Barbers hospitality is unforgettable.I know when we left,we had two new friends.....oh,and also,the trails are great too.If you love creek trails,they have it.If you love challenge trails,they have those too.We can't wait to bring our friends here soon!!!
Reviewed by: Richard & Donna Starnes on 6/17/2013 9:08:59 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/14/2013 Hometown: Rockwell, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Dave and I could not have found a better place for our horses or ourselves to spend a weekend. Phil and Tammy are the most wonderful host and hostess The barn and bath facilities could be compared with none. Thank you so much. Looking forward to returning.
Reviewed by: Janet Ducra on 10/18/2012 8:06:38 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/11/2012 Hometown: Lenoir, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Fantastic campground/host,owners. Tammy & her husband were amazing. Looking forward to our next stay.
Reviewed by: susan shirley on 8/12/2012 6:19:44 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/20/2012 Hometown: kenly, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wonderful, clean, quite,campground area and one of a kind barn. The 3 bathrooms, barn and gathering area were spotless upon our arrival. Owners could not be more helpful and friendly. The access to the Sauratown trail system was easy. Will go again.
Reviewed by: Pat Willett on 6/6/2012 12:50:52 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/25/2012 Hometown: Bennett, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Phil and Tammy are the best camp hosts. They go out of their way to make sure their guests are as comfortable as possible. Their barn is very accomodating, both to the horse and the rider.really a great place to camp and ride!!!!
Reviewed by: Carolyn on 5/28/2012 11:08:57 AM
More reviews by Carolyn
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/24/2012 Hometown: Bennett, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great weekend, wonderful weather, Tammy & Phillip were great hosts. Barn was fantastic (which is high priority for me), large stalls with mats, automatic water in each stall, nice clean bathrooms/showers. campsites might be close quarters if several campers were there but we had whole place to ourselves. Trails were good & well marked. Pilot Mtn. trail was easier & not as rocky as Hanging Rock(?) trail, several creek crossings (which was good experience for our horses.) Overall a great weekend.
Reviewed by: C. Knox on 5/22/2012 7:44:52 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/19/2012 Hometown: Huntersville, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Absolutely great. Super nice facilities and Tammy an Phil are fabolous. Go and you won' be sorry. Stalls are amazing. We will go back!
Reviewed by: Vallentine on 5/14/2011 6:28:16 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/24/2011 Hometown: Woodruff, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

WE CAMPED AT THE BARN FRI AND SAT NITE. EXCELLENT LOCATION FOR RIDING THE TRAILS, JUST MOUNT AND RIDE. WE HAD EVERYTHING WE NEEDED FOR THE WEEKEND. MR. AND MRS BARBER WAS VERY NICE AND VERY RESPONSIBLE HOSTS. WE WILL GO BACK AND CAMP AND RIDE AT THE BARN. YOU NEED TO SEE THE BARN IT IS VERY NICE WITH STABLES AND LEISURE FOR THE WHOLE FAMILY.
Reviewed by: JERRY & DANNY on 10/10/2010 5:28:24 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/9/2010 Hometown: MT. OLIVE, OR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just returned and could not wait to write a rave review. Tammy and Phillip are extremely accomadating hosts (right down to the homemade ice cream). We made ourselves at home. State of the art barn and bathrooms. Loved the camping area. Felt safe. Great for kids and dogs. Trails ranged from low bottoms beside creeks to mountain-like with laurels and rhododendron. Trails are challenging but not dangerous. Well marked with some views. Have already booked 2 more trips this year!
Reviewed by: Lee family on 9/6/2010 5:49:09 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/3/2010 Hometown: Raleigh, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

we just got back from our second trip to mts this month.it was the same both times,excellent. tammy and phillip are the most down to earth sincere people we have met.when they say make yourself at home they mean it.their facilities are excellent and their hospitality overwhelming.we have met some wonderful people while staying at mts.so if your looking for a fantastic trailride destination with great facilities nice people and great trails come to mts,you won't be disappointed.thanks also to bev and the sauratown trail association for maintaining such nice trails for us to ride on.
Reviewed by: frankie and danny on 7/28/2008 10:19:30 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/26/2008 Hometown: graham, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

IN RESPONSE TO SMOKING IN THE BARN. THERE IS A "NO SMOKING" IN THE BARN RULE AT MTS. AS A MATTER OF FACT, BASICALLY THAT IS THE ONLY RULE. MTS IS A GREAT PLACE WITH TAMMIE & PHIL BEING TWO OF THE NICEST PEOPLE I HAVE EVER MET. THEIR GOAL IS FOR EVERYONE WHO COMES TO "FEEL AT HOME" IF IS UNFORTUNEATE THAT SOMEONE DID NOT FOLLOW THAT "COMMON SENSE" RULE. WE HAVE BEEN CAMPING WITH OUR HORSES FOR ABOUT 5 YEARS AND I HAVE NEVER BEEN TO A PLACE THAT CAN EVEN COMPARE WITH MTS. CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK
Reviewed by: RHONDA on 7/13/2008 7:35:36 AM
More reviews by RHONDA
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/27/2008 Hometown: CHAPEL HILL, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

MTS was an awesome experience for my wife and I on our 1st horse camping experience. Hosts Tammie & Phil treated everyone way too good. These two people made the 5-1/2 hour drive there worth it. They bought Pizza for their guests one night and threw a bar-b-cue the next...including home-made ice cream. They are just very nice people who care about their guests. Trails were a bit too rocky in places but MTS is located in the middle of 35 miles of trails. The barn was state of the art and you won't find a cleaner place. My only negative comment is other campers smoking in the barn. Not safe and made me worry about our horses while trying to sleep. Overall, I don't think we will ever find a better place to go. Looking forward to going back.
Reviewed by: Shane Hollar on 7/11/2008 11:11:22 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/4/2008 Hometown: Va Beach, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

By far the nicest facility for you AND your horse---you won't find better hosts than Tammie and Phil! Easy trail access, peaceful atmosphere, scenic views. We had a fantastic time and can't wait to go back!!
Reviewed by: Pam Cochran on 7/1/2008 6:41:57 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/27/2008 Hometown: High Point, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Phil and Tammie....I can't thank you enough for the wonderful experience of visiting your home. The facility, scenery, trails and hospitality were more than I ever imagined! We are already making plans for a return trip and bringing more horsey friends along. You have a wonderful place there and I intend to visit as often as possible. Sincerely, Lori Vaden (and Dusty)
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 6/30/2008 12:20:33 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/28/2008 Hometown: Greensboro, NC

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List