HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Kissimmee Prairie Preserve State Park
(click on name for more information)


Okeechobee, FL

Overall TRAIL RATING with 9 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 9 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Full Electric hookups and water at campsites, but must reserve through Reserve America. Check out the photos and see placement of electric for backing into campsites. Not the best design for horse trailers. But campgrpound is very shady. Large 1/2 acre horse paddocks with water, [portolet. Nearby family campground has showers & restrooms. This is a Prairie, so very open, but the blue trail has some shade and lovely scenery. Be ready to ride for serveral hours and pack a lunch if riding to the Kissimmee River. Another nice ride involves a safe river crossing that is fun. Tons of wildlife: deer, some hogs, lots of birds. This area can be very wet, so be prepared to ride through wet trails, but it keeps you and the horses cooler. We love camping here in the winter months. total of 15 campsites. One worry, is they do allow non-horse campers to camp here, so reserve your spot early
Reviewed by: Dunoir on 6/25/2013 10:27:44 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 12/7/2012 Hometown: Coconut Creek, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great flat trails with wide open vistas but minimal shade. Our group experienced several gator sightings, deer, and wild turkey. There was a lot of water due to recent rains. Equestrian campground has awesome large horse enclosures with running water (bring a hose) and ample trailer parking. Full hook ups and hot showers for camping. Park personnel are awesome. recommend reservations.
Reviewed by: Loretta Oats-Duarte on 5/27/2013 4:33:35 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/26/2013 Hometown: Saint Cloud, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

we'e stayed here once before and enjoyed it very much. The only problem this tme was the Equestrain hostess, and some of the camper. If this area is for horses then the peole that camp there should not complane about the aniamls. we met great people. show lots of wildlife. The only problem was the camping,they should save some sites for horses. Some friends couldn't come. horse people can't camp in the family camp sites why should they camp in the horse site BUT all in all it was great and Ranger Jen is the best
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 3/26/2012 5:59:52 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/19/2012 Hometown: Deland, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Went there for the first time in December 2011. We haven't been camping much but this is a great place to go. Only one thing you need to go for more then a day or two because there a alot of great trail. We met some great people. We will be going back in March ro a week. D
Reviewed by: Donna on 12/28/2011 8:27:07 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 12/27/2011 Hometown: DeLeon Springs , FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just spent 2 weeks here and there have been BIG changes!! The equestrian camping loop now has 30 amp and 50 amp service and water. Unfortunately, the idiots that laid out the sites placed the pads with trees in the middle of some so call the camp office to help select site before using Reserve America. Real government work at it's best! They have spacious paddocks but they have pulled out all the water to the paddocks so you have to be prepared to haul water from the nearby sites. The trails in this dry prarie are some of the most interesting you will find in Florida. Visit during dry season. Wildlife is abundant. Always saw at least 20 deer on any ride. Lots of wild turkeys. They even visit the campground in the mornings. Saw a bear. Wild hogs and more. We will be going back next winter.
Reviewed by: Karen F on 4/8/2010 3:54:32 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 2/2/2010 Hometown: Loxley, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a great place for endurance riders to train and green horse to log some safe miles. The trails are mostly single sand tracks through the vastly open areas. The weather is important factor to consider when riding...I would not consider riding in hot or wet weather. The horse camping area is seperated from the main campsite with no bathhouse and only one bathroom. However you camp next to the paddocks with your horses in full view. The Campsites also include a picnic table, fire ring and level ground for both tent or campers. The staff was very freindly and helpful. We'll be back to camp and enjoy a ride in the quiet openness of the park as the weather get cooler.
Reviewed by: Trailrider on 11/27/2006 9:44:04 AM
More reviews by Trailrider
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/27/2006 Hometown: Jupiter, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground great for RVs, paddocks for horses, trail open, good for taking out beginning riders or green broke horses, not much to spook at and fuss about. No shade on trail, except some hammocks, and can get broiling in summer.
Reviewed by: Carrie on 12/23/2005 1:51:50 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 12/23/2005 Hometown: Okeechobee, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground was primitive, but very shady. Ok for lg trailers. Great big paddocks and lots of them. A little of the trail goes through a beautiful hammock area, but most is open. We seen 3 deer, 3 hogs and lots of large alligators. Not difficult to ride here. Kind of boring.
Reviewed by: Tammy on 9/18/2005 10:17:55 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/27/2005 Hometown: Lake Helen, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The winter is the best (only?) time to ride here. Much of the riding is on open prairie so the sun can be hot. We had a great ride. The sun was bright and a cool breeze was blowing from the north. We rode a loop from the camp to the Kissimmee River and return. About 18 miles total. On the way we gaited across prairie, enjoyed walks through a few hammocks, and cantered (gaited horses can canter, you know) on some back roads; oh yes, we also splashed along about a mile of trail that was under water. My two friends on Paso's got their boots full of water but my Walker kept me above most of the wet. All in all a fun day. We didn't camp but I don't remember seeing any hook-ups. Better check on that if you need them. There is plenty of watering holes for the horses.
Reviewed by: jtrider on 12/28/2003 10:04:22 AM
More reviews by jtrider
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 12/27/2003 Hometown: Okeechobee, FL