HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Apex Trailhead - Goethe Trailhead Ranch
(click on name for more information)


Dunnellon, FL

Overall TRAIL RATING with 9 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 9 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trail Rating:  Camp Rating:  Large grassy sites, large (12x12)stalls, clean bathhouse, common area, pool. All around VERY nice campground facilities. Good trail access. There is a $2 fee to use the Goethe State Park - well worth it. Self serve pay the post station as you enter. Trails are varied, some wide, some single file. Mostly flat & sandy. Some boggy areas with roots, nothing dangerous. Campground has daily, weekly and monthly rates, park model and cabin for rent. Dog friendly camp, leash rule enforced. No dogs in rental units belonging to camp. I recommend, with or without horses.
Reviewed by: Anne Glaser Breen on 5/20/2015 9:01:51 AM
More reviews by Anne Glaser Breen
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/13/2015 Hometown: Macon, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

WHAT AN INCREDIBLE PLACE! THE CAMP GROUND IS BEAUTIFUL, PEACEFUL AND IMMACULATE! HUGE LIGHTED ARENA, 96 12X12 STALLS, 73 EXTRA SPACIOUS RV FULL HOOK UP SITES. RIGHT ACROSS THE STREET IS THE GOETHE STATE FOREST WITH 53,000 ACRES TO EXPLORE! WE WILL BE RENEWING OUR VOWS HERE SOON! MY HUSBAND BRINGS OUR HORSES HERE TO TRAIN SINCE IT HAS ALL THE AMENITIES NEEDED. ALL SORTS OF PLACES TO VISIT NEARBY; RAINBOW RIVER, HOMOSASSA SPRING WILDLIFE STATE PARK, CEDAR KEY, DEVILS DEN, FISHING AND GOLFING... ALL WITHIN A SHORT DRIVE! AFTER RIDING WE UNWIND AT THE POOL HERE ON THE GROUNDS. THE POT LUCKS ARE MY FAVORITE! MEETING NEW PEOPLE AND MAKING LONG LASTING CONNECTIONS. AFTERWARDS, WE ALL GET TOGETHER FOR A GREAT BONFIRE AND CONTINUE THE FUN! I LIKE THE FACT THAT THE SITES ARE SO SPACIOUS WITH PLENTY OF ROOM TO BE COMFORTABLE. THEY HAVE A PARK MODEL, A TRAILER AND A CABIN FOR RENT IF YOU LIKE TO ENJOY THE HORSING AMENITIES BUT DON'T HAVE AN RV... YOU CAN STILL COME AND DO ALL THE HORSEY THINGS AND STAY FOR AWHILE IN THE COMFORT OF ONE THESE RENTALS! WE COME HERE OFTEN AND WE NEVER WANT TO LEAVE! THE OWNER,LOREL, IS AWESOME! THE WEBSITE HAS CHANGED TO ; info(AT)ocalatrailsrvcamping(DOT)com, SO CHECK IT OUT AND MAYBE WE'LL SEE YOU THERE FOR SOME FUN IN THE SUN!
Reviewed by: Ileana on 5/3/2014 12:44:16 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/3/2014 Hometown: Spring Hill, Florida, fl

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband and I just returned from a fantastic 12 night vacation stay at Goethe Trailhead Ranch. I have stayed at many equestrian campgrounds for both pleasure and for work (equine video production). The human and horse accommodations are super. From full hook up (elec, water and sewer) for our LQ horse trailer; to roomy 12x12 stalls and turn out paddocks for our horses. All are well maintained, secure and safe! The trails are quite easy to navigate with soft sandy footing. The weather was perfect high 70's low 80's. By the way, if you don't have a Living Quarters, there are units that you can rent. This vacation trip was truly a relaxing pleasure. Thanks Lorel for building such a great facility and a great time!
Reviewed by: Teresa Eppard-Dikin on 12/7/2012 11:25:44 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/23/2012 Hometown: Linville, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautiful place! Full hookups, sparkling swimming pool, roomy stalls, turnout paddocks. Miles of trails right across the street. Close to Dunnellon with lots of shops and dining. Definitely going back! A must see!
Reviewed by: Claire Kenyon on 5/22/2012 7:06:59 AM
More reviews by Claire Kenyon
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/5/2012 Hometown: Fleming Island, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Anyone looking for a beautiful Horse RV Campsite. This is one of the most emaculate Horse Camp/RV Parks we have stayed at with over 96, 12x12 all wood,limited contact stalls,shavings available lighted arena,several turnout paddocks, roundpen, tack store,Goethe State Park has over 53,000 acres and approx 120 miles of clean trails, stream crossings and wildlife
Reviewed by: Paula Grant on 2/15/2011 6:20:59 PM
More reviews by Paula Grant
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 2/14/2011 Hometown: Tallahassee, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Stayed at Trailhead Ranch for the month of February 2010. This place is fantastic. The facilities are brand new and has large stalls, turnout paddocks, feed store, BBQ pit, sand arena and tons of easy riding in the Goethe Forest. I would recomment this to anyone who want a great place to stay with your horse, RV and ride endless easy trails. Super people as well. I will certainly return. Be happy to talk to anyone who has questions about the Trailhead Ranch. Just a wonderful place.
Reviewed by: Bryan Turner on 4/1/2010 9:39:55 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 2/1/2010 Hometown: Fenwick, Ontario Canada, OT

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is the complete package! Miles of trails, very friendly, knowledgeable people. Anxious to go back again and again. They even offer weekend events, classes and clinics. A must see, must do facility.
Reviewed by: A. Sharkey on 6/11/2008 7:44:47 AM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 4/10/2008 Hometown: Dunnellon, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This place HAS IT ALL!!! Many barns and stalls,store, friendly staff, arena, and the many many miles of trails to ride bike or hike are right there!!!! Very Impressed!!!
Reviewed by: Billy Joe on 6/4/2008 8:03:41 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Houston, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautiful brand new facility! They have a convenience store, feed & tack store, and bath house with handicap access. The campsites were spacious with full hookup for my RV. There were box stalls available for the security of our horses. Trails were right across the road. We were able to warm up our horses in the round pen before our ride. We were lucky to be there and catch the weekend event of barrel racing being held there for additional excitement. The staff was helpful and very friendly. Definately coming back again.
Reviewed by: Julie Allein on 5/23/2008 3:29:42 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 5/17/2008 Hometown: Palm Coast, FL