HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Santa Margarita River Trails
(click on name for more information)


Fallbrook, CA

Overall TRAIL RATING with 5 votes:
Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very Challenging trail. No horses should be on the trail that have only arena experience. This is a very advanced trail. There are some narrow trails with straight down drop offs. No spooky horses should be on this trail unless you stay on the San Diego county park side. There are numerous water crossings. This trail is not for horses that do not cross water well. Some crossing are really deep and muddy even through the summer.
Reviewed by: Highlander on 2/19/2013 11:39:26 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 2/17/2013 Hometown: Fallbrook, CA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice, challenging trails. Love the sheer cliff trail. Some trails however end with no warning, I'm sure remnants of the heavy rains of a few years ago. The new trailhead is great, I only wish they had included a sand pit for the horses to roll in after the ride.
Reviewed by: Renee on 12/18/2011 10:12:55 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/29/2011 Hometown: San Diego, CA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice area, challenging trails in some areas. Trails were difficult to follow after the first quarter mile from the meandering creek and the heavy rains this past winter. Water was belly high in most areas we crossed. Had difficulty finding trails and staying on them. If I was not with a newbe I would have trail blazed, my horse loves making her own trail if one is not available.
Reviewed by: Lady and Rider on 7/4/2010 5:30:05 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/2/2010 Hometown: Lake Forest, CA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have ridden Santa Margarita trails for 8 years. The easier trails are on the south side upper trails. Most of the trails are very challenging and NOT for the beginner or even intermediate if not with another experienced rider. Some of the trails are very steep, rocky, and can be very narrow. Some of the trails are not ment for horses and some riders get lost and accidently get on those trails. Many river crossing are belly high and rocky under the water. These trails are great if you like the challenging trails, beautiful scenary, and see how trail worthy your horse really is:)
Reviewed by: The Highlander on 6/13/2009 5:54:15 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Fallbrook, CA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Day use parking with lots of room for pulling in, parking and turning around, shady pick nick benches, porta potties, community water trough, three small pipe pens, trails well marked as you ride. Lots of water in creek. Some crossings were belly high. Thick sand areas, bolders, rocks, poison oak, and occasional rattler in the summer time.
Reviewed by: Greta Elliott on 8/8/2008 5:34:09 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/23/2008 Hometown: Wildomar, CA