HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Big River Ranch
(click on name for more information)


Lexington, MO

Overall TRAIL RATING with 14 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 12 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Found this place while looking for a new facility to visit. Stayed for several days and no one else was in camp with us as it was the middle of the week. The campground was nice and well kept. It is completely in the sun so be prepared for the heat especially if you are not lucky enough to have an awning on your trailer! Horse stalls were satisfactory. It was nice that each stall was free standing. None of the pens share a side so no fighting over the fence. Nice washrack, roundpen and arena. The only downside is that the roundpen and arena are used to turnout horses that stay on the grounds and we were unable to use it most of the time which was a bummer. The trails were easy to follow and well maintained and can be ridden by any level of horse/rider. Plenty of trails to ride for a 3 night stay. Staff was nice and helpfull. Trails are sand-based and no shoes are necessary. This would be a great stop-over location for a couple days to shorten a long trip.
Reviewed by: spratt on 9/16/2014 7:09:45 AM
More reviews by spratt
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/1/2014 Hometown: Palmyra, NE

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: spratt on 9/16/2014 7:02:24 AM
More reviews by spratt
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 8/1/2013 Hometown: Palmyra, NE

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We were at Big River Ranch for the Memorial weekend. I should have written this review earlier because we had a great time there. They provide trail maps that are pretty easy to follow. We mostly rode the river trail which was lots of fun. They have "carved" trails that go in and out of the woods and they are a blast to ride. I know there are more trails but we didn't go on them because we liked the river ride so much! We had our horses stalled in the barn instead of putting them in the pens. Loved it. The stalls were clean and large. The showerhouse and restrooms are clean and functional. There is also a large meeting room, but we didn't take advantage of it. The night we were there they put on a "wild west show" complete with the side-saddle riding damsel and bad guys. It was all fun and entertaining. They also had an obstacle course for anyone who wanted to try. That was fun to watch~~I didn't have the nerve to enter the contest, but most of the obstacles were up the next morning so I tried them then. One more nice thing about Big River Ranch: they post a phone number guests can call if they have any difficulty on the trail. We didn't use the phone number, but it was so nice to have it in case we had an emergency. Robbie and his staff have obviously worked very hard to make their guests experience fun and safe. I would definitely go back.
Reviewed by: Belinda on 6/15/2014 7:28:37 PM
More reviews by Belinda
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/26/2014 Hometown: Lawrence, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just try the trails you will love them.
Reviewed by: Joey Braden on 4/1/2014 6:09:54 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/1/2014 Hometown: Lexington, Missouri,

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Fabulous place! The trails are extremely well maintained and marked, with a variety of terrain. Open, flat or hilly with beautiful views, or deeply wooded with challenging hills, creeks..... The sandy river trail is unlike anywhere else. Footing is good with few rocks. I've been there at least 6 or 7 times with both insecure riders/horses, as well as expert riders. Everyone is always overwhelmingly happy! Each time I come, I find new places to ride-this place is amazing! We love to go into the town of Lexington a few miles away and shop/eat in the evenings after riding, then come back to sit on the large deck to watch the stars and listen to coyotes. We stay in the very comfortable bunk room with air/heat, refrig./microw./coffeemaker. You can even check out movies from a large selection in the office to watch in bed. We are extremely picky about where our horses stay and I can't say enough about the accomodations for the horses. One night it was rainy looking, so Jake and Robbie helped us move everything into the beautiful indoor arena where we could choose between large pens or state of the art stalls. They are the most accomodating and friendly people you could ever hope to meet, and do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable and safe. It is always nice to know there is someone around in case you get into trouble. Their concern and friendliness are what make this place so special! Great people!! Big River is a very clean, family run ranch that offers the very best of riding and horse accomodations around! Check it out for sure- you will be back!! Aso a terrific place to safely overnight travelers with horses. Great Barn!
Reviewed by: hallie on 9/25/2012 7:21:46 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/23/2012 Hometown: kansas city, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I am not sure what the person in October of 2010 was talking about nor am I sure what I had heard about this place from a few others. It is completley awesome! I have driven for hours to get to a place to ride that had good trails. Then I find this place in my back yard. I cannot believe how great his place is and its in Northern MO. Great Trails, yes, there are some trails around fields but there NUMEROUS trails in the woods, some very challenging, some not so much. Its a great place to ride and enjoy time with friends or meet new ones. This place is amazing, Check it out as soon as you can!
Reviewed by: Clint on 6/11/2012 10:12:41 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/27/2012 Hometown: Polo, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

WOW! Was I surprised. After driving 8 hrs to get to Eminence several years in a row, for a good trail riding experience, was thrilled to find such a great place so close to home. I clearly don't understand the negative comments regarding this place. Indoor Arena with stalls, outside pens to staking your horse out. Elec and water hookups to primitive camping. Something for every type of camper. Trails from an easy open ride to "holy sh*t" that was tough! Yes, there are some trails that skirt the fields but the view was beautiful. Kids rode in the arena in the evening for hours! Round pen also! A fun show and extreme trail class were entertainment for those participating as well as watching. Met great people! Owners will bend over backwards to take care of campers and they have plans to expand with obstacles and jumps. Showers and bathrooms clean and very nice. Only neg was dust from arena but I heard they are getting a water truck or tank to water down. I will be going back and taking more friends and horses! Thank you Big River Ranch!
Reviewed by: Shannon & Shelley on 5/29/2012 4:22:03 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/26/2012 Hometown: St Joseph, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a great ride with the guy who cut the trails. Best riding we have had in a long time..very challenging. Unfortunately I took a spill and broke my arm. This was totally my fault. I would go back any time. Everyone there was so helpful and constantly asking what they could do for us (even before I broke my arm). Pens for mules were close to campsite. I would recommend to anyone. You can ride easy, which we did the first day or whatever level you want. I would like to go back and be able to ride along the Missouri, unfortunately, we were there when the levees had broken and everything was flooded. Give it a try! I will be going back.
Reviewed by: BetteHoskinson on 1/8/2012 10:24:25 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/26/2011 Hometown: Hutchinson, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Big River Ranch is a great place to ride. I like to just walk along, however, some riders I notice were hitting the "high" spots and loving it. I know the guy that owns Big River Ranch will never let 2 or 4 wheelers roam on the property. They just put a new roof on the event barn this year. Very clean restrooms and showers. I am going back!
Reviewed by: Elfrieda Townley on 3/31/2011 8:58:42 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/20/2010 Hometown: Raytown, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Fall 2009 date?? Alot of what they claim as trails are just ridin' the fields as I call it. Going along farm fields to get to a few cut trails. I've ridden better places, worse too. As for the campground, what they call an "Event" barn had no heat and leaked so when the weekend turned cold and rainy we tried to play cards and stuff in there but it was rough. I think our large group overwhelmed them, it didn't seem like they had a plan.
Reviewed by: S&S on 10/28/2010 1:30:31 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/30/2009 Hometown: Kansas City, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

When I rode there on Labor day there was talk they would open up the place to four-wheelers and trap-shooters. Ride it while you can it won't be nice for horses for long.
Reviewed by: Bob on 9/28/2010 12:21:58 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/4/2010 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Even when wet these are beautiful trails for novice to expert riders. Views of the Missouri River, beautiful fields and hills, lakes, and the river and levee, this is a great riding experience. With an arena and covered area to ride we had a great experience. All the staff is extremely helpful and very nice. Trails now can be difficult to follow but this is being changed with color coded signs. Maps are provided and all the staff is helpful with directions. We plan to return, it's beautiful.
Reviewed by: Coy and Sara Bartlett on 6/17/2010 4:56:25 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/17/2010 Hometown: Fayetteville, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Really an unknown gem! Trails for every interest - flat open, ride side by side trails, hilly and wooded trails. Did not visit the shower house, but over this Memorial Weekend the ranch hosted lots of activities for everyone in the family. Really a wonderful friendly environment and had as much fun as we have had horse camping!
Reviewed by: Allison on 5/31/2010 3:40:06 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/30/2010 Hometown: Leavenworth, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Something for every level rider, "mosey" along on the wide, mowed, lake trail. Or challenge yourself on the wooded bluff trails. Riding next to the MO River is really cool. Im a beginner but have done some of all of these, you'll wear out before you run out of trails. The colors this time of year are amazing!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/14/2009 2:47:13 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 10/7/2009 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This time of year it is of course chilly, had flats, forest and river rides to enjoy. I look forward to seeing the ranch in full bloom this spring. Very enjoyable!!!
Reviewed by: Jeanette McGinnis on 12/17/2008 1:24:35 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/1/2008 Hometown: Kansas City, MO