HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Eagle Ranch Resort
(click on name for more information)


Collins, MO

Overall TRAIL RATING with 38 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 39 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A large portion of the campground is out in the open, but is very clean and well maintained. The stalls are very large and very safe for your horses. The only issue would be in hot weather because the stalls are just about completely enclosed so not a lot of air can flow through them. Shower houses are clean, nothing fancy. The owners were very accommodating to us and very helpful with the maps. Trails are pretty well marked and they have a nice map, athough I do recommend a phone GPS map to help out. Trails are varied and traverse mainly through woods with some nice ups and downs
Reviewed by: paintedskyhorses on 10/16/2018 1:27:09 PM
More reviews by paintedskyhorses
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/1/2018 Hometown: raymondville, Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have been to Eagle Ranch several times including before Jerry and Cheryl took over. The camp is always neat/clean and hosts are very welcoming. The main issue is limited miles of trails. Although they add cut backs there is only so much land available. Eagle Ranch is a great 2-3 day horse camp but for riding there is only about three full days. The camp with stalls is a bit pricey but for 2-3 day trip it is worth the price.
Reviewed by: ta on 7/24/2016 2:00:12 PM
More reviews by ta
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/10/2015 Hometown: St. Louis, Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just spent 4 days and it was awesome! Not sure why people give eagle ranch a bad rap. Yes it's different than it was with the previous owners but it's still a fabulous place to ride. Most places charge a trail fee, what's the big deal? Our group has always enjoyed the riding and Jerry and Cheryl have always been nice and accommodating. We've already made reservations for Halloween!!
Reviewed by: Lilshetland on 5/1/2016 10:46:06 PM
More reviews by Lilshetland
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/27/2016 Hometown: O'Fallon, Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground was clean, but not shaded. You parked in the open. There is not water at your campsites. There are only three marked trails, one of which is a very easy trail. Did not run across any real water crossings, just a couple of streams. Staff was not very friendly. We had their Saturday night chicken meal for $12 and although the food was good and you received a nice size piece of chicken, you only received a tablespoon size serving of the sides. You had one to two small bites of each side. The dessert was a boxed cake with cool whip type of topping and a very small square serving. Very disappointed in the meal. Although the stalls were very well built, many of the horses in the camp were very unsettled in them. They are totally enclosed on three sides so the horses cannot see each other. The gate to the stalls for some of the barns have bars so the horses cannot hang their head out, so we heard many horses screaming all night and kicking the stalls trying to see their buddies. They seemed to be more nervous and stressed in these type of enclosed stalls. The up side was that it rained and the stalls stayed totally dry. Also, the stalls are cleaned for you, which was a great treat. The young men that cleaned the stalls were very nice.
Reviewed by: Dia on 5/24/2015 8:40:37 PM
More reviews by Dia
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/23/2015 Hometown: Raymondville, Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Nice place to ride with marked trails and maps. We where here in the middle of the week so not too many others there. Could be crowed on weekends. Owners took care of us when we got there and supplied us with ice and firewood when needed.
Reviewed by: Willa W. on 6/11/2013 7:30:18 AM
More reviews by Willa W.
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/4/2013 Hometown: Slater, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First time staying at Eagle Ranch. Fantastic stay! The stalls are large and sturdy, campsites are level and spacious, and the owners are friendly and accommodating. We will be back for Labor Day.
Reviewed by: hornet on 5/27/2013 5:35:42 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/24/2013 Hometown: Hallsville, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Holloween weekend was great at Eagle Ranch. Trail were great and the colors were great. Food was very good including the Friday night hot dogs. Jerry & Cheryl are doing a great job and for us we are thankful to have a great place so close to home. See you all in 2013.
Reviewed by: Rick on 11/2/2012 12:52:08 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/28/2012 Hometown: Lamar, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first time here and had a wonderful time with the Halloween ride at Eagle Ranch. The facilities were clean and the trails were well marked. The kids enjoyed the hay ride and looking for pumpkins on the trail. The steak dinner was fanastic and the band was very good too. We will be back again other than just for Halloween next year. Thanks to the camp owners for a great family time!
Reviewed by: Tom B. on 11/1/2012 10:10:14 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/27/2012 Hometown: Fort Scott, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What a great Halloween weekend at Eagle Ranch. Busy schedule, fun for everyone. Owners go out of way to make you feel welcome. But to the one who took the key out of the Ranger, SHAME on you, that wasn't just a prank, that was mean!
Reviewed by: Melvin on 10/29/2012 2:51:10 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/27/2012 Hometown: Weaubleau, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

ACTHA ride this weekend. Awesome trails, great hosts, wonderful time. Definitely recommend it.
Reviewed by: AL on 8/26/2012 6:58:07 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/25/2012 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: halina on 7/14/2012 8:21:11 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/7/2012 Hometown: reeds spring, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Went back to Eagle Ranch a year after new owners took over. Camp was clean as was the stalls. The little voucher for a bottled water was sort of condensending to me and kinda embarrassing. Just do away with the water voucher... two bottles of water for the weekend isn't even worth tracking down the owner to redeem the voucher. Provided Firewood pile was small, but still free. The trails though need some serious maintenance. They are now very rutted and extremely rocky.... we ride all over MO (Big Creek, Big Piney etc) and these trails are by far the most unlevel and hard to ride rocky terrain. Trees need to be trimmed away from the trails too. Several folks in our large group got scratches and snags from the low hanging branches and side branches not being trimmed. So please remind me again what the trail use fee is for?!? The trails are not being maintained. Owner was courteous, however he did not thank us for our club's visit. Every camp we attend the owners thank the patrons for their business especially when a club attends. More new cabins are being built (very nice) and it appears that the the camp is being turned into more of a resort. Not a bad thing, just with more people staying with horses etc., the trails will need more maintenance and maybe some new trails to ride. We use to go to this camp at least 4-5 times over the summer, but with the rough trail conditions we will only attend during our club rides.
Reviewed by: Tammy on 7/5/2012 2:58:10 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/30/2012 Hometown: , KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Experienced the Chuck Wagon Races at Eagle Ranch, not worth the money we spent, over priced for an hour of races. Also was told by the owner to put out our campfire and go to bed! Never had anyone tell us to do that before, we like to sit and talk around the campfire as late as we want, we paid for the campsite didn't we, we werent loud or bothering anybody, we've never had a problem before. Also our kids werent allowed to sing karoke anymore, it was only for adults, and it was shut down around 10,isnt it supose to be fun? Too many rules at ER now for my taste. I heard we werent the only ones that the house mother got on to. Recently we have tried out J Bar S at Lowry City, they are real real nice and don't lay a bunch of Fee's and rules on you. Its a nice place to ride and camp too and they make you feel very welcome.
Reviewed by: Rick on 6/28/2012 8:50:38 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/22/2012 Hometown: , KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What a great weekend, even tho it was hot, the campground and atmosphere couldn't be better. The chuck wagon races are very entertaining. Thanks Cheryl and Jerry for a great time. See ya soon.
Reviewed by: Rale on 6/25/2012 6:20:13 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/22/2012 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First time at Eagle Ranch, went to see their first Chuck Wagon Race. Great time, good riding, good dance. The whole group of us had a great weekend and we will be back
Reviewed by: Lindsey on 6/24/2012 6:27:21 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/23/2012 Hometown: Camdenton, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

After my 1st trip to Eagle Ranch I would agree that some of the earlier posts are giving this place a bum rap. The facilities are among the best you will find anywhere. Stalls, bathhouse/restrooms are awesome. Campsites are nice but you might want to bring a folding table as there are no picnic tables. Nice cabins for those w/o LQ trailers. Trail map is great and trails are well marked but only in one direction, you must ride in the direction of the markers until you know the trails. Trails are limited but adequate for a weekend. Jerry was curteous, fees are reasonable with free ice and firewood. Will definitely go again.
Reviewed by: robert on 6/20/2012 6:47:35 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/16/2012 Hometown: houston, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have been to Eagle Ranch many times, but this was our first trip back after the change in ownership. I have no idea why people are blasting the place or not camping there. To us there was no difference in the camping experience and the trails were still great. Our trailer was cleaned as well as stalls, had plenty of ice, water, and firewood. The camp was clean and well taken care of. Jerry the owner was just a normal guy, maybe not a big talker but so what, he was friendly enough for us. Don't know that I ever had any more conversation with the previous owner. We go to ride and relax, not a big social event for us. If you are not going to Eagle Ranch because of a few bad posts, you are missing out. We have been to camps all over and seen the good, the bad and the ugly, Eagle Ranch is getting a bad rap, but like everyone else, that's just my opinion. We will be back this fall when the heat is gone.
Reviewed by: Steve on 6/17/2012 2:10:26 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/16/2012 Hometown: Edgerton, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Hehe, I'm an expert. Anyway, expert or not, I ride a lot and I go to a lot of campgrounds/horse trail parks. I really like this place. I have been 3 times this year and plan to go back in July and October. The campground is always clean and well taken care of. They have wi-fi! I have an LQ trailer but some of my buddies don't so the cabins are an extra nice feature for those folks. The trails are well marked and provide a challenging ride for us experts (lol) and easier rides for those not looking for a thrill a minute ride. I like to ride out alone sometimes but often worry I will get lost--Eagle is my favorite place to ride alone--I can't get lost there and I know if I don't get back to camp someone will come find me!
Reviewed by: Chas Young on 5/30/2012 8:42:26 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/15/2012 Hometown: East Lynne, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We were there Oct 7th weekend and had a great time. No issues. We forgot our power cord but they loaned us one, pretty nice. Great stalls!
Reviewed by: john on 11/24/2011 9:05:16 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/7/2011 Hometown: columbia, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Eagle Ranch WAS the best trailriding facility up until this past year, you have to admit the attendance has dwindled down quite a bit from when the previous owner and crew were there. And the homey feeling is just not there anymore. Its all about management and personality! The new owner just doesnt have what it takes and thats the plain truth like it or not.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 11/16/2011 11:50:14 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/30/2011 Hometown: , AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

ISN'T THIS SITE INTENDED FOR PEOPLE WHO ARE INTERESTED IN PASSING ON INFORMATION ABOUT GOOD CAMPING/EQUINE FACILITIES??? IT IS PAINFULLY OBVIOUS THAT SOMEONE IS MORE CAUGHT UP IN TRYING TO TRASH THE NEW OWNERS THAN OFFER INFORMATION ABOUT THE PLACE TO BENEFIT OTHER RIDERS. THIS SOUNDS LIKE A PERSONAL PROBLEM TO ME AND THIS WEBSITE IS NOT AN APPROPRIATE PLACE TO AIR YOUR COMPLAINTS. LET'S FACE IT, TIMES CHANGE, OWNERS CHANGE.........THOSE OF US WHO ARE ADULTS LEARN TO LIVE WITH IT AND ADAPT. I HAVE FOUND THE NEW OWNERS VERY FRIENDLY AND ACCOMODATING AND EAGLE RANCH IS STILL ONE OF THE BEST RIDING/CAMPING FACILITIES IN SOUTHWEST MISSOURI.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 11/11/2011 3:19:19 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/29/2011 Hometown: , KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We're very upset!!! I have been going to Eagle Ranch since it first opened and I just can't do it anymore! Steve and Shawn are gone and they kept the place going, always so friendly and nice. Steve bent over backwards to make you feel wanted and at home, and Shawn was a jack of all trades and a great ranch hand who was so good with people and the horses, he was even a farrier and horse trainer. I overheard the new RUDE OWNER get on to him for shoeing a horse one day, and said he didn't want him shoeing on his time.! I always got my horses shod while there, he was very good and reasonable, in what I observed over this past season the new owner Jerry "just doesn't get it:! He really needed his good ranch hand but let him go thinking he and his wife could run the place!!! WHAT A JOKE!!! Did you see how bad Halloween weekend was? It was the slowest ever in 6 years!! All because of the new owners attitudes!! They can barely ride horses and hardly know the trails, Shawn knew every trail out there and just how long it took to ride it, they made a big mistake letting him go, he was the only one there worth talking to with any kind of personality because Jerry sure doesnt have one. Talk about puting nails in your coffin! Leting that hand go was the stupidist thing they could have ever done and did do! The ranch has sure suffered because of that one stupid action. I have even witnessed Jerry treat Shawn rudely when he still comes out to ride and visit with us old campers, I myself wanted to punch him out for the way he treats him when he comes. I agree with you unhappy campers, we are going elsewhere and telling anyone we know to do the same. We are not going to support Eagle Ranch's rude owners anymore and they have gotten the last from this ole boy too! If anybody has Shawns phone number I sure would like to have it, I need my horses shod and I would like to say hello to him, because he was sure a nice fellow that got the SHAFT! I heard he had to move up north to get a job. Now they have replaced Shawn with a woman !!!!!! and thats even more of a joke!!!, HUMMM will be interesting to see how they fair through the winter and I doubt very seriously that they will have very much business next season with the amount of people he has ran off. Eagle Ranch is not what it use to be and never will be as long as Jerry has it. Hope he realizes it soon and puts it back up on the market and someone with some brains and horse sense gets it, they sure couldnt do any worse.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 11/10/2011 10:52:28 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/29/2011 Hometown: , Lenexa, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We are done with Eagle Ranch. Never will they receive another dime of my money. Rude rude rude. have to agree anyone that was there before knows the difference in how you are treated. Hope he can keep on getting the new comers as I am another frequent customer who will not be back.
Reviewed by: De De on 11/9/2011 1:34:23 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/29/2011 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Well once again Jerry showed his butt this weekend, he is so scared somebody is going to steal something from him, or sneak into the ranch and he not get their money. He actually had a baracade set up goin out into primitive camping. Can you believe it? Had a board baracade across the drive way and a tent set up to catch anyone going back there. He also had someone set up by the bathrooms to catch you as you came in on saturday night, and he asked us "what our purpose was there?. We thought we were entering fort knox! We had heard he was going to get extra security because he didnt want anyone sneaking in, but just couldnt believe it when we saw it. Steve never worried about people stealing from him and he never had a problem with it, this guy is paranoid, he has every thing he can lock, locked up, Steve never locked up anything and again never had a problem with it. The kind of people that go to Eagle Ranch are not thieves and most are well to do people and they dont have to steal Jerrys piddly little crap. This was his last big weekend, lets see how good he does from now on, only new campers are happy and have had the wool pulled over their eyes because he was on very good behavior for the church groups that rode there recently but we know how he really is, and he demonstrates it every week! We and our friends are just sick that he has the ranch and not Steve, it was so warm, fun and friendly, we always felt like family, we would go just to see Steve and the young couple that worked for him and we always had our horses shod while there, sort of a kill two birds with one stone. Nobody wants to jump in their rig and go see this guy, and from the person that he called and hung up on about the Halloween ride, YES!! thats how he REALLY is, its his true RUDE personality, he showed you, to the rest of you who were singing his praises, I believe you were from the church groups and he put on a different face for you. A very uncompasionate person, and his wife just goes along with it. We dont know who comes up with the stupid ideas, him or her, She needs to keep his butt the at house and away from the ranch before he puts them in the poor house. Everybody we talk to wants the ranch back the way it use to be with the old owner and crew at the helm. Lets keep hoping!!!!!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 11/1/2011 7:23:44 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/29/2011 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rick Said: "lots of us liked the unlimited free firewood/water/ice but do you get that at other horse camps..NO!" Well other camps don't charge a $10 trail use fee either in addition to campground and stall fees. The RV sites are as high now as some horse camps that provide both electric and water at the site. The intent for the trail use fee by Steve (original owner) was to pay for the "Free" water, firewood, and stall cleaning help. Now the prices have increased and the trail use fee is still in place, but no longer unlimited bottled water and firewood are provided to the customer. Not disputing the place is not good for a weekend of easy riding, but the truth needs to be stated about the "no longer free" items while the trail use fee is still being charged.
Reviewed by: Long Time ER Customer on 10/28/2011 2:10:54 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/28/2011 Hometown: , KS

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List