HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Mammoth Cave Horse Camp
(click on name for more information)
Mammoth Cave, KY

Overall TRAIL RATING with 373 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 384 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground is great but another bathhouse would be ideal. Stalls are good. Owners are marvelous people and Chris is the best! Love that there is cowboy church on Sunday mornings. Trails are easy and scenic. But could be marked better and the map could be better as well. All in all, a great experience
Reviewed by: Sgentry on 10/19/2021 5:19:51 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/16/2021 Hometown: Harrodsburg, kY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We absolutely love this campground!! We honeymooned here last year and decided to make it a yearly trip…we just got back home yesterday and wish we could have stayed!! The owners and cris are absolutely amazing people…it’s so family friendly and has some of the best trails I’ve ever been on!
Reviewed by: RK Ranch on 10/18/2021 11:58:32 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/14/2021 Hometown: Winamac , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just got back from the fall ride. The owners and staff are absolutely the best around. Everyone is friendly and helpful. The facilities are great and the entertainment top notch. This was a sixth year at the fall ride and we plan on returning annually. We always have such a good time catching up with friends and look forward to this vacation. The owners and staff are more like family and go out of their way to make you feel at home. If we lived closer, we would go more often.
Reviewed by: Mary Ann Steiner on 10/13/2021 11:11:43 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/4/2021 Hometown: East Palestine, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground and bath house were clean and maintained. Grass was cut and roads thru campground were fairly smooth gravel roads. Barn was spacious with places to hang tack. Wheel barrows and rakes were available and the manure pits were centrally located. Map was available as well as a trail app, both were accurate. Trails are well marked with both color markers and mileage markers. Large trail signs with mileage at beginning of each trail. Most trails are wide and easy, with enough "single-track" trails to make it interesting when you start getting board with easy. Raymer Hollow road had some large 57 gravel on it (about 3 miles) which makes it hard on horses feet. I sure hope they put some crusher run on that trail. It's really pretty and has lots of small bridge crossings. Buffalo Creek was fun and a little technical and the McCoy trail is hard to extreme. Wet Prong trail is beautiful. This is our second time camping at Mammoth Cave Horse Camp and we will return. WE love the ease of riding, the pleasant campground with shade and a clean bath house that includes a laundry. Would like to see maybe another bath house closer to the barn area in the future. Some great little restaurants located close by the campground that makes it nice for quick meals. I would recommend staying there in early spring or very late fall (after first frost) because of the bees and snakes we encountered on the trails. Happy Trails!
Reviewed by: Donna Birthisel on 9/8/2021 10:34:05 AM
More reviews by Donna Birthisel
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/6/2021 Hometown: Ripley, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Absolutely beautiful place to camp.well taken care of..great trails and everyone was so nice and welcoming. Definitely will go back
Reviewed by: Etta Harris on 9/7/2021 4:32:23 PM
More reviews by Etta Harris
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/3/2021 Hometown: Poneto, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Absolutely beautiful place to camp.well taken care of..great trails and everyone was so nice and welcoming. Definitely will go back
Reviewed by: Etta Harris on 9/7/2021 4:32:19 PM
More reviews by Etta Harris
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/3/2021 Hometown: Poneto, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Kevin and Janet run one the the best campgrounds I have ever been to! Chris does an excellent job with the grounds. The trails are well maintained and marked. If you haven’t ever been there I highly recommend it!
Reviewed by: Charlie Allgeier on 9/6/2021 10:51:29 AM
More reviews by Charlie Allgeier
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/5/2021 Hometown: Brandenburg , Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Kevin and Janet run one the the best campgrounds I have ever been to! Chris does an excellent job with the grounds. The trails are well maintained and marked. If you haven’t ever been there I highly recommend it!
Reviewed by: Charlie Allgeier on 9/6/2021 10:48:40 AM
More reviews by Charlie Allgeier
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/4/2021 Hometown: Brandenburg , Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We really enjoy going to MCHC. We've been there for a spring and fall trail ride which is really nice, if you didn't get enough food, it's your fault! We've also been there 8n tge dead of summer. The camp is usually quiet and you do your own thing. It's a nice time to go if you want quiet! Kevin and Janet are great host along with all their staff. Trails are nice and you can go you own pace. I do agree with a suggestion to put a trail head sign somewhere. This last time there, we where there and another couple was in the cabins. They looked a bit lost until we found out they where looking for the trailhead. All 8n all, we love going there.
Reviewed by: djar on 8/14/2021 5:21:30 PM
More reviews by djar
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/9/2021 Hometown: Bethel, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Hello fellow trail riders, The campground is ok but the office was almost never open and we did not know our way around. A guy mowing grass did show us how to get to the trails from the campground but a sign would have been nice. Some of our group did find an obstacle course in the woods the last day. If you have ridden in the woods in Ohio, WV, VA or KY... you will have seen everything I saw on these trails. The camp owners were never seen around the camp. I do not see a reason to ever go back. I would suggest looking for another place to ride.
Reviewed by: Jeffrey Sperry on 7/26/2021 2:38:44 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/22/2021 Hometown: Salem, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Mammoth Cave Horse Camp is a wonderful place to stay! Site 12 directly behind the horse trailer area has a wooded area with a hitching rail that's large enough for two horses and (bonus here) a 12 x 12 picnic canopy. Full shade! Hook-ups are close enough for 25' potable water hose and 25' electric cord. Showers and bathrooms were clean and I especially like the layout. Each shower is it's own separate room with a locking door. If you're a solo camper like me this is a safe way to do showers. My horse was comfy in a clean stall that had hooks for water bucket and feed bucket plus a corner hay feeder. Wash racks were refreshing after riding (yep, my horse made sure that I got wet too!) Shavings and ice, tee-shirts and other cool stuff are available at the camp store. Camp owners Kevin and Janet are the best people ever! They provide free maps and are very familiar with the trails because they both ride. There's a little stage set up and Kevin and friends provided live music on Saturday night. Folks were dancing, socializing and having a wonderful time! Trails in MCNP are some of the best maintained I've seen in Kentucky or Tennessee. You can choose from easy (Collie Ridge, Wet Prong), intermediate (Raymer Hollow, Blair Spring) and more "technical" trails (First Creek and McCoy Hollow). You can use the maps to plan your rides either short, medium or all-day if that's what you want. Five-star rating and I'll be back for sure!
Reviewed by: KY_TWH_Rider on 6/28/2021 11:10:39 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/8/2021 Hometown: Mammoth Cave, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Went there with a couple of friends, really needed the time as I didn't get to ride on Memorial Day weekend. Weather was nice and the camp host was the best we had in a while. He recommend a few places to eat as when the guys go we eat out. Enjoyed it and hope to get back there again soon.
Reviewed by: Jay Beiting on 6/25/2021 2:55:48 PM
More reviews by Jay Beiting
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/23/2021 Hometown: Brooks, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Cinthis savagr on 6/15/2021 4:53:22 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/1/2021 Hometown: Normandy, Tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground is very clean and the stalls are easy to access. Area in barn to store hay and tack since the stalls are separate from your campsite. The campground Manager Chris makes you feel like family from the beginning to the end of your visit. Highly recommend this campground and trails
Reviewed by: John Browning on 6/14/2021 3:00:14 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/10/2021 Hometown: Brookville, In

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great campground and wonderful camp hosts. Trails vary for every rider or horse level. Always meet old friends and leave with new ones. Will go back.
Reviewed by: Adrienne Royster on 6/6/2021 10:54:03 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/1/2021 Hometown: Maurepas , LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

When making reservations make sure that your in the actual horse camp. They put additional sites up the hill with no amenities. Such as, no bathrooms or wash rack. Your trailers are very close to each other. If your with a large group it would be OK. Also its first come first serve on the stalls.
Reviewed by: Alene on 6/1/2021 5:22:02 PM
More reviews by Alene
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/29/2021 Hometown: Mentor, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

When making reservations make sure that your in the actual horse camp. They put additional sites up the hill with no amenities. Such as, no bathrooms or wash rack. Your trailers are very close to each other. If your with a large group it would be OK. Also its first come first serve on the stalls.
Reviewed by: Alene on 6/1/2021 5:21:56 PM
More reviews by Alene
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/29/2021 Hometown: Mentor, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautiful campground! Hosts are friendly. Trails are well marked and maintained.
Reviewed by: Sonya Penson on 5/23/2021 3:23:50 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 5/20/2021 Hometown: Montrose , WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great people and clean facility. Comfortable and relaxing right next to the national park trails. Highly recommend if you're in the area.
Reviewed by: Bruce Perry on 5/4/2021 10:29:40 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 5/1/2021 Hometown: Elizabethtown, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautiful facility! More importantly, Kevin, Janet, Chris and Denise are fabulous hosts! Couldn’t have felt more welcomed. Thanks for sharing your music around our campfire too! Many thanks from the “Just One More” bunch from Michigan. Hope to to meet up again sometime.
Reviewed by: Rex Battestilli on 4/28/2021 11:22:51 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 4/18/2021 Hometown: Allenton, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Kevin and Janet are excellent host. The facilities are top notch, trails are really good, you can tell a lot of work has been put into them! We went for the spring trail ride, so it was a week of no cooking!! The kitchen staff did great! Food was good, hot and plentiful!! Can't wait to go back!!
Reviewed by: Donna Riley on 4/19/2021 2:02:26 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 4/18/2021 Hometown: Hamersville, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Spring fling at mammoth cave horse camp. food is great, entertainment is great, power and water at each site. covered stalls for each horse. Bath house is adequate, shower heads are very low would be my only compliant. Trails are well maintained, although there are some muddy places but limited amounts and most of the muddy spots have walk arounds. My horses don't have shoes and did not have any issues. Hills were rolling. A few technical places. get your horses used to crossing wooden bridges if they have issues with that. We did pick off several lone star ticks from horses and ourselves. Enjoyed the experience and reserved our campsite and stalls for next year. Well worth the money.
Reviewed by: 1lilappy on 4/19/2021 11:30:09 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/12/2021 Hometown: Northville, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground was wonderful, the owner was great, we were there just after the opened for the season. Was the second time we were there, will go back again❤️
Reviewed by: devosh on 3/18/2021 7:34:23 AM
More reviews by devosh
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/4/2021 Hometown: Athens, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our family had a wonderful experience staying at Mammoth Cave Horse Camp for three nights. The grounds and horse stalls were in great shape. The facilities were clean and well maintained. The people were super friendly and helpful. The camp has great access to the First Creek Trailhead on the Northside of the National Park. I look forward to the day we return for another visit.
Reviewed by: Wilson Frazier on 3/8/2021 10:04:09 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/6/2021 Hometown: Louisville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camp and stalls are first rate. The owner, Kevin Davis is so helpful. He provides wonderful camping experiences. This is the best horse camp in Kentucky.
Reviewed by: pthorne on 4/16/2019 4:59:00 PM
More reviews by pthorne
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 4/8/2019 Hometown: Bowling Green, KY

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List