HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Mammoth Cave Horse Camp
(click on name for more information)
Mammoth Cave, KY

Overall TRAIL RATING with 392 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 408 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

MCHC is a DONT MISS! Gorgeous trails, beautiful facility, clean stalls, level campsites, and all the staff is super hospitable and helpful! I was there with two friends and the transmission went out in my truck. They flew home after the event and I stayed behind an extra week with the horses waiting on the truck. Staff was wonderful, checking on me and the horses and superhelpful with supplies. Will definitely be back!
Reviewed by: Tanya M Nelson on 1/21/2023 12:32:01 PM
More reviews by Tanya M Nelson
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/7/2022 Hometown: Bryceville, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

MCHC is a DONT MISS! Gorgeous trails, beautiful facility, clean stalls, level campsites, and all the staff is super hospitable and helpful! I was there with two friends and the transmission went out in my truck. They flew home after the event and I stayed behind an extra week with the horses waiting on the truck. Staff was wonderful, checking on me and the horses and superhelpful with supplies. Will definitely be back!
Reviewed by: Tanya M Nelson on 1/21/2023 12:32:01 PM
More reviews by Tanya M Nelson
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/7/2022 Hometown: Bryceville, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first time at Mammoth. Stalls were nice as well as the campsite and trails. Maps we accessible. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Only thing I would suggest is not using the GPS Waze. It takes you off route into another road that has no turnaround. I suggest putting the sign for Mammoth Cave Horse Camp, on the opposite side of the road, not attached to the tupelo street sign. Other than that, no complaints, we will be back!
Reviewed by: Mary B. on 11/28/2022 1:11:19 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 11/26/2022 Hometown: Cynthiana , Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just left Mammoth Cave Horse Camp for their Cowgirl Weekend Event, let me tell you it was by far my favorite camping trip, the atmosphere was amazing, the food was delicious and I would recommend it to every cowgirl young and old. it was an absolute blast! and I will be making this a yearly tradition
Reviewed by: GoodGollyMsMolley on 11/7/2022 1:50:27 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/6/2022 Hometown: Hawesville , Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camp has large sites easily accessible with quick access to the trails. MCHC is well maintained with friendly helpful owner. This is my 3rd annual Halloween activity there.I have already reserved my site for 2023!!!
Reviewed by: Paula Cordova on 10/31/2022 3:43:19 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/28/2022 Hometown: Horse Cave, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our second stay at MCHC and 3rd trip to the area. MCHC has grown now with a large area B for camping with stalls right there. Camp is clean, well organized. They responded quickly in our planning phase when we had questions about hay etc. Check in was smooth and fast. Bedding was delivered to the stalls right away. Staff was FANTASTIC. Chris rounded several times a day checking on things. Kevin came by once he was back home and checked on all the campers. The trails have had a lot of work done on them since we were last there. The NPS has really improved the footing in many places and marking them better as well. I highly recommend this camp and area as a wonderful trail rider destination!
Reviewed by: RachelV on 10/26/2022 5:01:22 PM
More reviews by RachelV
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/18/2022 Hometown: Chardon, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We loved it, very clean and maintained. Had an issue with my mare the 3rd day Denise and Chris went out of their way to contact me and while we were on a med run took time out of their day to help my mare till we got back. She's fine and I feel their help and concerns for her helped. Even thou we got cut a day short of riding I don't Regret the 6.5 hour drive and look forward to returning in the spring.
Reviewed by: Pete Carver on 10/21/2022 11:45:51 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/13/2022 Hometown: Edwardsburg, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We love going to Mammoth Cave Horse Camp! Kevin, Janet and staff are so friendly! The sites are clean and accessible! The fall and spring trail rides are very well planned with different options for the riders. The food is very good and plentiful from the front of the line to the back! The trail for the fall ride with in great shape! All the people who take care of us are very good! We do go back!
Reviewed by: djar on 10/20/2022 12:36:43 PM
More reviews by djar
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/1/2022 Hometown: Bethel, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We love this campground and the owners and staff are unbelievable. They put on wonderful trail rides with amazing food and entertainment. The trails are being improved each year when we visit and the scenery is beautiful.
Reviewed by: Mary Ann Steiner on 10/12/2022 11:19:18 AM
More reviews by Mary Ann Steiner
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/3/2022 Hometown: East Palestine, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Awesome place to ride excellent experience owners and staff are great
Reviewed by: Jay Kinman on 10/10/2022 3:44:05 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/2/2022 Hometown: Boonville , In

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great hosts and great facility!
Reviewed by: MARY WEBB-SMITH on 10/10/2022 1:14:45 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/6/2022 Hometown: ANDERSON, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

It’s unfortunate there is not a cut through to connect the longer trails, but is a beautiful ride. Will definitely go again
Reviewed by: Leslie Sampson on 9/19/2022 10:39:14 AM
More reviews by Leslie Sampson
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/17/2022 Hometown: Shelbyville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

It’s unfortunate there is not a cut through to connect the longer trails, but is a beautiful ride. Will definitely go again
Reviewed by: Leslie Sampson on 9/19/2022 10:39:12 AM
More reviews by Leslie Sampson
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/17/2022 Hometown: Shelbyville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautiful camp. Beware of some rides are rugged climbing
Reviewed by: Angiects on 9/10/2022 10:28:45 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/8/2022 Hometown: Campbellsburg, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Absolutely loved this campground. The stall construction are the best I've seen. I would give the trails a 5 star if there was less mud and there were several trees down across the trails. Nothing new for my horse and myself, but was expecting more trail maintenance for a national park. This could just be my wrong perception. I would encourage a trip/stay here!
Reviewed by: Kelly G on 8/23/2022 8:30:18 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/15/2022 Hometown: Forsyth, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to camp. Stayed in the bunkhouse which was clean and very comfortable. Bathrooms and showers were also clean.
Reviewed by: BranMill Farm on 6/7/2022 6:20:30 PM
More reviews by BranMill Farm
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 6/5/2022 Hometown: Glasgow, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Caroline Maddox on 5/17/2022 5:22:01 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/14/2022 Hometown: Eminence, Ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

David and I love camping and riding at Mammoth Cave and we highly recommend the Mammoth Cave Horse Camp! The barns are top notch, the sites are beautiful and well kept, with trees, mowed grassy areas, and gravel base. The trails are gorgeous. The mess hall is beautiful with a big stone fireplace. Kevin and Janet are great hosts. LOVE their events! The food is great; big breakfast and big supper every day with lunch fixins or a cookout midday. The entertainment is awesome; love the bands!! 5 star on all accounts! :-)
Reviewed by: Lisa Smith on 4/11/2022 10:32:27 AM
More reviews by Lisa Smith
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 4/4/2022 Hometown: Hopkinsville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love the campground and trails. Will definitely be going back for more visits.
Reviewed by: Donnie meeks on 11/23/2021 1:01:52 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 11/21/2021 Hometown: Pelham , TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I was there as a grandmother & a 4-H Horse Club volunteer with my 11 year old grandson and our Tennessee Walking Horses. Everybody was very friendly and so accommodating. We stayed in the Big Bunkhouse & our horses in the stalls next to it. Great Experience. THANKS!
Reviewed by: Linda Starnes on 11/16/2021 4:12:25 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/13/2021 Hometown: Brownsville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We spent a week at MCHC just as the weather turned cool and leaves started changing from vivid green to crimson and gold. All the facilities—both human and equine—were clean and satisfactory, and the owners super friendly and welcoming, but most incredible of all was Chris—he went above and beyond to make our visit a perfect holiday. The trails were beautiful, with a nice mix of dense forest, sparkling creeks, and scenic landscapes. The camp filled up a bit on the weekend, and it was nice to see all the horses, but during the week was even nicer, having the whole camp and the trails mostly to ourselves. The horses enjoyed rolling in the sandy arena and grazing on the lush grounds after a ride. We all had a great time!
Reviewed by: Abysmillard on 10/27/2021 2:03:01 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/20/2021 Hometown: Adak, AK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground is great but another bathhouse would be ideal. Stalls are good. Owners are marvelous people and Chris is the best! Love that there is cowboy church on Sunday mornings. Trails are easy and scenic. But could be marked better and the map could be better as well. All in all, a great experience
Reviewed by: Sgentry on 10/19/2021 5:19:51 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/16/2021 Hometown: Harrodsburg, kY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We absolutely love this campground!! We honeymooned here last year and decided to make it a yearly trip…we just got back home yesterday and wish we could have stayed!! The owners and cris are absolutely amazing people…it’s so family friendly and has some of the best trails I’ve ever been on!
Reviewed by: RK Ranch on 10/18/2021 11:58:32 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/14/2021 Hometown: Winamac , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just got back from the fall ride. The owners and staff are absolutely the best around. Everyone is friendly and helpful. The facilities are great and the entertainment top notch. This was a sixth year at the fall ride and we plan on returning annually. We always have such a good time catching up with friends and look forward to this vacation. The owners and staff are more like family and go out of their way to make you feel at home. If we lived closer, we would go more often.
Reviewed by: Mary Ann Steiner on 10/13/2021 11:11:43 AM
More reviews by Mary Ann Steiner
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/4/2021 Hometown: East Palestine, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground and bath house were clean and maintained. Grass was cut and roads thru campground were fairly smooth gravel roads. Barn was spacious with places to hang tack. Wheel barrows and rakes were available and the manure pits were centrally located. Map was available as well as a trail app, both were accurate. Trails are well marked with both color markers and mileage markers. Large trail signs with mileage at beginning of each trail. Most trails are wide and easy, with enough "single-track" trails to make it interesting when you start getting board with easy. Raymer Hollow road had some large 57 gravel on it (about 3 miles) which makes it hard on horses feet. I sure hope they put some crusher run on that trail. It's really pretty and has lots of small bridge crossings. Buffalo Creek was fun and a little technical and the McCoy trail is hard to extreme. Wet Prong trail is beautiful. This is our second time camping at Mammoth Cave Horse Camp and we will return. WE love the ease of riding, the pleasant campground with shade and a clean bath house that includes a laundry. Would like to see maybe another bath house closer to the barn area in the future. Some great little restaurants located close by the campground that makes it nice for quick meals. I would recommend staying there in early spring or very late fall (after first frost) because of the bees and snakes we encountered on the trails. Happy Trails!
Reviewed by: Donna Birthisel on 9/8/2021 10:34:05 AM
More reviews by Donna Birthisel
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/6/2021 Hometown: Ripley, WV

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List