HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for 4B Farm- Uwharrie National Forest
(click on name for more information)


Uwharrie, Troy, Eldorado Community, NC

Overall TRAIL RATING with 10 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 10 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Clean campground, shower house, bathroom,covered stalls, ride off campground directly to trails.
Reviewed by: Doni Bernd-Phelps on 7/24/2013 7:02:12 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/23/2013 Hometown: Smithfield, Virginia, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

4B IS THE BEST PLACE YOU COULD POSIBLEY STAY IF YOU WANT TO CAMP AND RIDE. LARRY AND HELEN, THE OWNERS COULD NOT BE ANY NICER. THE STALLS ARE PERFECT AND YOUR CAMPSITE IS ALWAYS VERY WELL MANICURED! UHARRIE NATIONAL FORREST IS ONE OF THE BEST PLACES I HAVE EVER RIDEN.
Reviewed by: NANCY STROUD on 7/7/2012 11:59:07 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/31/2012 Hometown: WARSAW, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Have always stayed at 4B. Couldn't ask for a better campsite or all the available trails. 2012 is here and looking forward to going and staying at 4B and enjoying all the trails. Cowboy Church is excellent. The Best of The Best !
Reviewed by: Edward & Sandra Lloyd on 2/22/2012 2:46:44 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/31/2011 Hometown: New Bern , NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Ms. Donna and I ride Uwharrie in the Spring, Fall, and some in the winter. We ALWAYS stay with larry and Helen at 4B. Stalls are always clean with fresh bedding .. front office staff can take care of all your needs .. including GREAT ice cream! If you have never ridden Uwharrie it would be a better experience if you rode with somebody who actually knows the trails .. however .. trails are marked with colors so it is not difficult .. make sure you have all 4 shoes .. remember it is mountainous and that means "rocks" .. you'll not be disappointed in your stay at 4B and the trails at Uwharrie .. trail head is just a 2 minute ride out of camp .. easy access and all the trail you'll need for a full day of riding .. email me if you need more information.
Reviewed by: Tom on 7/12/2011 3:38:20 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/10/2011 Hometown: Galax, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a great time at 4B Farm. Larry and Helen were informative, courteous, and friendly hosts. The folks manning the tack store were knowledgeable and could really dish up the ice cream! 4B Farm is clean and neat. They had a large crowd the previous weekend, but we couldn’t tell. The bathroom facilities were bright and spotless and the showers had plenty of hot water. The pipe corrals were by our campers and were safe and spacious for our horses, having the right mixture of sunshine in the morning and shade in the afternoon. The birds sang us to sleep each night. Since this was our first time to their farm, Larry graciously took us out and showed us some of the many well-marked trails. The trails were moderate requiring some steep climbing. There was lots of water for the horses in streams along the way. Larry showed us a pretty pool of water with a small waterfall where the horses could drink and cool off. If you like riding in the mountains, you’ll really enjoy 4B Farm. We will definitely be going back!
Reviewed by: Meg on 6/6/2011 5:20:14 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/5/2011 Hometown: Goldvein, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I've been camping at 4B since 2006 and each time I go there, I enjoy it more. Larry and Helen are wonderful hosts. This past weekend I had a serious problem with my saddle and Larry graciously loaned me one of theirs so my weekend would not be lost. It doesn't get any better than that, does it? And I honestly believe I could ride those trails every day and not get bored. Uwharrie is a fantastic place to ride - each trail offers something different. I'm counting down the days to my next visit.
Reviewed by: Cindy Martin on 3/15/2011 6:47:44 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/13/2011 Hometown: North, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love to ride Uwharrie We go a few times each winter. The ticks are bad in the spring and summer. Trails are great, nice variety of terrain, but get a good map! First timers will have more fun if they ride with someone who knows where the really good trails are. Horses need to be WELL shod on all four feet or they will go lame. Carry easy boots in case they throw a shoe. Have stayed at 4B and Canebrake several times.4B Camp: Nice hot showers and a plugs for hair driers at 4B= great in the winter. 4B is much more expensive, but a very nice place to stay- friendly and helpful owners. Tie line areas require your own rope and are too low. Better to get a stall. Both campgrounds have water spigots that require you to haul water to your site...no water hook-ups. Hosts at Canebrake are very friendly and helpful and he rides out every day that they are there! Nice high posts to put tie lines up. Showers available, but only moderately warm and no hair drier plugs. Canebrake is right on the Home trail. There sre usually trail maps at Canebrake.
Reviewed by: Marie on 11/20/2010 10:29:45 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/27/2009 Hometown: Florence, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

As always, my time at 4B was wonderful. Larry is a fantastic host and the campground and barns are always immaculate. It just doesn't get much better than 4B Farms.
Reviewed by: Cindy on 11/5/2010 7:02:29 AM
More reviews by Cindy
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/28/2010 Hometown: North, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I've ridden these trials so many time I can't count. There is just about every type of terrain here. There are steep rocky trials, flat trails, creek crossings, narrow switch back trails through the woods(my personal favorite). You can ride along the river and see large turtles sunbathing on logs. If you enjoy variety, this is the place. It's a good place to train for endurance rides as well. If you want to expose a young horse to alot of different things, this is the place. The trails can be pretty muddy if there's been recent rain. The campground is clean, well run and family oriented. The bathrooms are very nice and spotlessly clean. There's a little store with soft drinks, ice cream, etc. They check your coggins so don't forget it.
Reviewed by: TR on 5/27/2010 6:12:19 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/21/2010 Hometown: Stokesdale, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

3 stars on the campground. Just because a place has a power hookup and a roof over the stalls does not make it a 5 star place. On the good side, stalls were big, shavings were free, owner was very helpful, had maps. On the bad side, no water hookups, you have to haul it, shavings were very far from some stalls, "membership fee". Over all a pretty good place to stay. You can stay at Canebrake horse camp which is less tan a 1/2 mile away and ride right out on the same trails for a lot less money but you have to tie out (no stalls) which is fine until it rains and it poured one night we were there. I was glad we were at 4b. Now the trails. I would say ok but after staying at deep creek later that week and riding the smokies I felt like uwharrie was a waste of time. Saw no wildlife what so ever after 3 15 to 20 mile rides. Some areas were very rocky and you spend more time helping your horse than enjoying the ride. Everybodys different and to me it was just not that pretty and I won't go back.
Reviewed by: Michael on 3/21/2010 4:04:52 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/12/2010 Hometown: Gowers Corner, FL