HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for 7 Bar L Ranch
(click on name for more information)


Live Oak, FL

Overall TRAIL RATING with 23 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 23 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

DO NOT GO ON A HOLIDAY! Boy were we disappointed. After planning, taking time off from work, packing, saving money for travel etc. .. We were greeted by a rude woman that immediately tells us we have to squeeze into this tiny spot and that we CANNOT PUT OUR AWNING OUT! I don't know about you, but one of the enjoyable things about camping is sitting under your awning, relaxing, cooking, etc. When we did get squeezed into the site, we could not reach the water or the electricity without numerous connections and we could not even open our camper door! The riding is awesome, but the website makes the camp look very spacious. It is not! The owner eventually came around and was not much better. Bottom line is... These people got greedy and overbooked. We left the next morning very unhappy, for the 200 mile back home. This event was reserved months in advance and we would not have went had we known we were going to be treated in that manner and accomodations were as such. I have pictures to prove if anyone is interested. The owner was very rude when I tried to get a refund. And we were not the only unhappy campers, many more which had driven 6 hours had the same reception and jam.
Reviewed by: Speigner on 1/16/2012 10:45:52 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 12/29/2011 Hometown: Marianna, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very warm, friendly and relaxed facility. LOVE it! Nice bathrooms, very convenient to Live Oak, good covered stalls and very pretty property with easy access to Linville, Mattair and Suwannee Tracts!
Reviewed by: Mary Parkinson on 10/27/2011 6:29:08 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/10/2011 Hometown: Edgewater, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first stay at this location. We were able to camp under a large oak tree very close to the Silo Bathhouse and next to the stalls. You do have to ride about 10-20 minutes from the campsite to the trails, but it was well worth the effort. You gain access to trails alot of people don't use. In fact, we rode for three days and did not see another rider. Most of the trails are under shade and the footing was easy on the horses. The ranch owner is easy going and allowed us to use anything we needed. There was a County Music singer, named Ron Needly who put on a 3 1/2 hour show for the campers for free. We had a great time and will be back....
Reviewed by: Trail Rider on 3/22/2011 11:57:13 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/12/2011 Hometown: Jupiter, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a great time, the little cabin was great and the rest of the accomonidations were top class. We will defiently go back
Reviewed by: Pam Farmer on 3/20/2011 3:19:34 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/17/2011 Hometown: Dunnell, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a great time, Trails were really nice... Met some very nice campers. the ranch was nicely kept. We would love to go back again!!
Reviewed by: Diana on 11/30/2010 2:44:14 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/21/2010 Hometown: Naples, , FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had an awesome time at the ranch, and the trails are beautiful. One of our riders were injured, and Andy could not have been more gracious, or helpful. Heading back for another visit in October!
Reviewed by: D Long on 9/17/2010 10:04:35 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/1/2010 Hometown: Lakeland, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails not well marked, the ranch was wonderful, owners/staff awesome, great place; wonderful experience!!
Reviewed by: Katrina on 8/16/2010 7:37:27 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/20/2010 Hometown: Pensacola, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first trip to Seven Bar L. Camping facilities are very nice and clean, peaceful, and shady. Clean bathrooms, nice spacious paddocks or stalls for your horses, very reasonable rates. Andy is a great host and will help you with anything you need, setting up your camp, cooking, directions for trail riding, or just sitting aroung and visiting with you. He has a beautiful red nose pit bull named Ramsey, she is the sweetest dog I have ever met. She adds so much to the camp area. We had so much fun with her. She would come by to visit several times a day. We looked forward to her visit each day. Riding along the Suwannee River was just beautiful and very scenic. Great experience, great trails. Will go back soon. We just loved it!!
Reviewed by: Tonya Brock on 8/8/2010 12:18:51 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/3/2010 Hometown: Deleon Springs, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice owners, who are very accomodating. Nice campground with spacious paddocks. The bathrooms are very clean and the riding along the Suwannee River is beautiful. It takes about 20 minutes to get to the riding, but once you are there it is beautiful. There are many trails. My only concern would be the cows in the pasture may bother some horses since you must go through the pasture to get to some of the trails.
Reviewed by: Ted and Sandy Macy on 5/1/2010 2:17:50 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 2/15/2010 Hometown: Brooklet, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Small campground, with a family feel. Excellent host, Very clean. Owners go out of the way to help campers. Trails are wonderful, once accessed. This place is a GEM. WILL BE BACK.....
Reviewed by: Dee Raymond on 4/22/2010 7:12:20 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/18/2010 Hometown: Beverly Hills, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first time to 7 Bar L and we loved it! It was fuller than usual (from what we were told) but it was still very quiet and peaceful. We have our 2 kids with us and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The trails were nice, the camp area was very clean, the paddocks and stalls were all nice and the bathroom facilities were very clean! We will be back!
Reviewed by: Maureen on 4/18/2010 4:44:42 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/17/2010 Hometown: Jacksonville, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first trip to 7 Bar L Racnch; but it definately won't be our last. Andy and Crystal are great hosts. The campground is very spacious with nice stall and paddocks to chose from. Camp facilites are very clean. Their is lots of easy riding beside the Suwanee River. The trails are scenic with lots of spanish moss hanging from the trees.
Reviewed by: J. Sizemore on 1/4/2010 11:03:26 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 12/30/2009 Hometown: Barnesville, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

September 2009 Having just spent 3 days at this wonderful friendly campground all 8 of us are awaiting another trip back. This is a very horse, human and dog friendly place to camp and enjoy riding!!! We'll be back!!!!
Reviewed by: Beanie Brooks on 9/27/2009 11:20:52 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/22/2009 Hometown: Wellborn, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to camp, great people to be around, good trails, will go back!!!
Reviewed by: Paul Goble on 9/26/2009 4:19:30 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/1/2009 Hometown: Pioneer, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We camped for three days with our two draft horses and other friends, it was a terrific experience. Campground was pretty and peaceful with big oaks and fishing pond. My kids fished all day and night and were in heaven. Horses got to stay in large turn out field, which eliminated any stress for them. Clean bathrooms, friendly people, and reasonable rates. Trails were close and abundant and Andy the owner even gave us a basic tour of how to get to the trails so we would'nt get lost. Trails were mostly pine forests but the river was beautiful, though flooded limiting our riding choices. Overall, we had a great experience and didn't want to leave.
Reviewed by: Betsy on 4/12/2009 7:22:47 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/10/2009 Hometown: Gainesville, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I left a review in the other 7 Bar L listing. However, because this place is so great, I wanted to put a review here also. We went there with the intent of staying 3 nights and moving on, but stayed 7 nights until we went home. Andy & Crystal are great! Stalls, paddocks and pens are clean and safe! You don't have to worry about anyone messing with your horses or stuff. Having water, electric & Sewer is wonderful, shade is generous and pond is scenic. Access to trails is easy and convenient. We will NEVER stay at Spirit of Suwanne again! During our last trip to spirit of Suwannee in 2007 someone tried to steal/joy ride my gelding! Management was not concerned at all, just said there were chains on the gates if we wanted to lock them! Said they would have security ride by during the evening and night - never saw them! I don't think they are concerned about the horse people any longer. Anyway, you can camp here, ride two different tracts of the Water Management area from the farm and there are numerous places to day trip to if you want more! We will be back!
Reviewed by: Sally McDavid on 4/11/2009 2:39:01 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Lecanto, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Shady campground, safe clean stalls & paddocks. Quick & easy access to miles of trails along the Suwannee River. Way better than Spirit of Suwannee! This is our new "home"! Safe secure facility and you don't have to worry about someone messing with your horses or tack. In addition to being able to ride two different sections of the Water Management Area from the campground, there are several great day trips that are very convenient. This is a really nice place, clean restrooms, campfire wood and a fishing pond. We just love it!
Reviewed by: Sally Mcdavid on 4/8/2009 4:43:56 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/23/2009 Hometown: Lecanto, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Really friendly people but got confused as to where the trail was after you go thru their pasture, it's straight ahead, we took a right and rode by the road. Trails, when you get there are well marked, very natural setting, plenty of shade. Was able to ride to the Suwannee Springs Park with a little exploring. Nice time overall
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 6/25/2008 7:23:27 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/10/2008 Hometown: Ocala, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our first trip to the 7 Bar L will not be our last. We camped for a couple of nights under spreading oak trees dripping with spanish moss. Andy and Crystal Lawrence were fantastic hosts concerned with the comfort and contentment of their guests. The trails were right out of the old movies about the deep south, with many of them following the Suwannee River. Soft sandy trails through cool, shady woods (as cool as it gets in Summertime Florida) with the occasional spider. Very few bugs made for a wonderful weekend of riding. The camp dogs were sweet and friendly, and the bathhouse was one of the most unique I have ever seen. An old silo converted with showers and facilities! The stall were large and airy and close to camp. Water supplied to each stall was very nice. Ya'll need to visit if you are ever in the area!
Reviewed by: Esther on 6/23/2008 5:36:00 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/21/2008 Hometown: Havana, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What a wonderful unique place! To be there feels like home! Wonderful People! Awsome campside! We will be back!!!!!!!
Reviewed by: Trudy on 3/31/2008 7:25:54 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Jacksonville, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We just returned from a great trip to FL. We enjoyed our stay at 7 Bar L. We liked the campsites, and it was so nice to be able to turn the horses loose in a pasture or keep them in a stall. We liked the trails and riding on the Suwannee River, we got lost one day, but will know the next time. Andy and Crystal are great hosts and we felt right at home. Looking forward to staying there again.
Reviewed by: Judy & Elaine on 11/19/2007 5:48:10 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/10/2007 Hometown: Harrison, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

HOSTS ARE VERY ATTENTATIVE. FACILITY WAS VERY CLEAN AND UNIQUE. STALLS AND GROUNDS ARE WELL KEPT AND OVERALL FAMILY ATMOSPHERE WAS WONDERFUL. IT FELT LIKE WE WERE VISITING A FAMILY FARM WITH ACCESS TO AN ABUNDANCE OF RIDING AREA.
Reviewed by: MATT AND ALMA on 7/10/2007 7:38:00 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 2/14/2007 Hometown: WORTHINGTON SPRINGS, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

GREAT HOSTS WE STAYED 2 NIGHTS TRAILS ARE SENIC BEAUTIFUL SPRING FISHING POND AND UNIQUE SHOWER/RESTROOM
Reviewed by: TAMMY COULSTON on 1/8/2007 1:15:49 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/2/2007 Hometown: FLAT ROCK, IN