HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for A.H. Stephens State Parks
(click on name for more information)


Crawfordville, GA

Overall TRAIL RATING with 10 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 8 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campground and sites are large and have 50amp electric and water. They just finished a new 10 stall barn. The stalls are 10x12, include bucket hangers and stall lights. The trails are beautiful. Stream crossings, nice spot to relax by the lake, ride along creeks in the cool cover of the forest. I absolutely love this park. I keep coming back again and again.
Reviewed by: Carouselfarmsga on 6/10/2014 12:02:13 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/10/2014 Hometown: Jackson, ga

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We stopped here after spending 3 days at Hard Labor Creek State Park. I feel that this park is just as lovely. It has wooded beautiful rolling terrain with numerous creek crossings. Nice level campsites with 20/30/50 amp hookup and water. Each site has a fire ring, picnic table and post for a picket line or you can stable in the recently added 10 stall barn. If you use the barn be sure to bring shavings all the stalls have rubber mats. The park staff are friendly and helpful and act like they are genuinely happy you are there. A few more miles of trails and a bath house and this place will be a 5 star rated horse camp.
Reviewed by: koszuta on 6/23/2013 1:02:20 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/21/2013 Hometown: ocala , fl

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails were beautiful and great for gaiting. Lots of shade and some hills, footing was excellent. We spoke to the ranger and he said they are planning on adding 10 more miles of trails soon. This is one of the nicest places we have ridden in a long time. Very well maintained and WELL marked trails. The campground and new 10 stall barn are wonderful. You can tell someone was very horse smart when they built the barn, they even have rubber mats. The day use area also has plenty of shade and running water. We will be back again for sure!
Reviewed by: Kristen Nice on 4/21/2013 11:17:20 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/21/2013 Hometown: North Augusta , SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

AH Stephens has been hard at work putting in new camping sites with water. Really nice level sites with pinic tables and fire rings. No electric hookups yet but they hope to have some soon. They have great poles for your picket lines. The trails are well marked and very easy. Only problem with the trails is there are not enough!
Reviewed by: Leslie on 5/11/2011 2:54:27 PM
More reviews by Leslie
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/7/2011 Hometown: Griffin, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails are clean and easy. Friendly staff at the park. This is a good place to take the family & inexperienced riders. The campground is spacious and you can turn a big trailer around easily.
Reviewed by: Julie on 1/28/2011 12:05:30 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2011 Hometown: Thomson, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautifully kept tails. Easy and well marked. Plenty of room to turn a trailer. Clean and well maintained. Very friendly people in the office.
Reviewed by: Sue on 10/11/2010 7:24:23 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/11/2010 Hometown: , GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

(Its been a while since I've ridden here, but I love to read the reviews on this site. I feel like they help a lot so better late than never...)The folks in charge are very horse friendly and really want horse people to come ride and have plans to keep improving campground. We went at the last minute to meet some friends. The trails were pretty but short and not very challenging. We rode a couple of hours then back through camp and a couple hours on the other side of camp. A lot of people like this so they can come back to camp for lunch, but we like longer loops. This is a very nice place to go ride if you are in the area but I wouldn't drive more than a couple of hours. Great place to take inexperienced riders or horses.
Reviewed by: JB on 6/13/2010 2:45:29 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/20/2009 Hometown: Gray, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

okay. me and my best friend went there. WE HAD A BLAST! so fun! it was great!
Reviewed by: Muskoka's rider person on 5/16/2010 5:03:48 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/2/2010 Hometown: (near) Atlanta, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I love it. The trails are easy and yet they are hilly and interesting. I took my 5 year old granddaugther camping at A.H. Stephens and we had a blast. Camp sites have water but no electicity. The are well marked so even I can get around them.
Reviewed by: Linda on 9/10/2008 1:44:01 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/1/2007 Hometown: Watkinsville, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

These are very nice and easy trails and the rangers are very helpful. The camping area is nice though I've never actually camped there --it is well maintained.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 7/23/2008 9:02:01 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 7/23/2008 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I ride there fairly often. People at the office are very nice and the the cost is very low. The trails are kept in good condition and I would invite you to ride there. E-mail me and if I can, I'll join you on a ride.
Reviewed by: Linda on 10/9/2006 8:40:33 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/9/2006 Hometown: Watkinsville, GA