HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Bar Fifty Ranch
(click on name for more information)
Bismark, AR

Overall TRAIL RATING with 14 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 13 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Many Trails Closed! Riding is on property owned by the Ross Foundation which is doing active logging in several locations as well as undergrowth burning. Many of the trails are closed for logging, even parts of the main white trail. If your horse is not comfortable with dogs don't go. Numerous camp dogs around that will not stay in camp & scare the horses on the trail. Watch out for dogs in camp also. They will jump in your trailer while you are trying to enter the door.
Reviewed by: maryz on 4/1/2014 7:19:19 PM
More reviews by maryz
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/23/2014 Hometown: jackson, tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Been going to Bar50 for years. The campground is large and shaded, there are many pull thru sites with electricity/water, horse pens have easy access to water. Bathrooms are nice and kept up well. Trails are shaded but rocky, many steep places, yet there are some places where the footing is good. Horses should be shod. We love it because it is only an hour drive away and you can ride for days without repeating trails.
Reviewed by: Holly on 5/3/2012 11:39:19 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/13/2012 Hometown: Little Rock, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The camp was clean and nice large sites. The owners were very friendly and the breakfast was wonderful!!!! Unfortunately for them the trails are now mostly filled with ATV's and those loud noisy motor bikes. If your horse does not like ATV's or motor bikes you will not make it out of camp. We were lost most of the time as the trails are poorly marked and the maps appear outdated. There were about twenty five trailers there and everyone had the same comments. We left and moved to another camp in Arkansas.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 3/19/2010 6:15:02 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/1/2010 Hometown: , KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Be prepared to eat a lot of dust in the campground!!! Never have I, my horse, and all my camping geer been so completely covered in dust and dirt as I have in this place. The roads through the campground are not paved and people driving in and out constantly keep the dust stirred 24/7. During my stay earlier this year they even had a water truck come through at regular times trying to keep the roads wet to keep that dust and dirt down which helped alot. They also have a "camp dog" that is allowed to roam freely night and day throughout the campground and he barks all night long so don't expect to get much sleep. The meals are fabulous and the bath houses are well kept. The trails are very nice and well marked also. If you can stay up to 4 days you could ride every trail they have at the walk. A beautiful place to be if you can stand the dust and dirt from the constantly traveled dirt roads throughout the campground. I would give them a better campground rating if they would pen up the camp dog at night away from the campground so one could sleep. I won't be going back till they do.
Reviewed by: Jamie Snider on 1/12/2010 2:29:09 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/31/2009 Hometown: El Dorado , AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The Bar Fifty is FABULOUS!!!!!!! The owners and staff are the best. Our cabin was amazing and the breakfasts were scrumptious!!!!! The trails were gorgeous but not near as risky as climbing the mountains in Colorado on horseback, so I felt very safe and could really relax on the trails, and I was riding a green-broke horse that I had brought to the Bar Fifty myself. Which reminds me, the stalls were first-rate, and my horses were very comfortable staying in the Bar Fifty Barn. It was clean and immaculately maintained!!!!! I will go back every chance I get!!!!
Reviewed by: Cindy Simmons on 12/13/2008 8:29:58 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/21/2008 Hometown: Texarkana, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Jullian and Bette are the best, we had a great time staying at the Bar 50 and spending our New Years with them. The New Year's Eve party was a blast and we will be there again next New Years. George and Heath are excellent trail guides and a credit to the Bar 50. Trails are fantastic, scenic and at times steep, but worth it. We made alot of new lifelong friends. We will be back again and again.
Reviewed by: jerichorider on 1/2/2008 5:46:59 AM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 12/30/2007 Hometown: Holden, LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first time to BarFifty. The breakfast was fabulous and the staff was friendly and very helpful. We wish someone would have told us to shoe our horses as the trails are very rocky. But we rode anyway and had a great time. Will absolutley return and bring the kids. Great place and great people.
Reviewed by: T & M on 11/24/2007 3:49:47 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/2/2007 Hometown: Northeast, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

BEEN THERE SEVERAL TIMES, GOING THIS WEEKEND. CAMP AND BATH AREA ARE THE BEST AND CLEAN! TRAILS ARE GOOD, WE FIND SOMETHING DIFFERENT EVERYTIME WE RIDE. LOVE THE WATER FALL! THE KIDS HAD AN AWESOME TIME, AND SO DID WE!.
Reviewed by: KAREN on 5/22/2007 11:39:13 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/22/2007 Hometown: HAMPTON, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a great time as always. Have been to Bar Fifty several times and plan on going back. Trails and cabins very enjoyable! Staff is very friendly. Love to go there.
Reviewed by: Jay and Suz on 10/12/2006 1:13:47 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/12/2006 Hometown: Hensley, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have been to the Bar Fifty 2 times and it was wonderful both times. The camping site is one of the best, and the trails are a challenge. We always have a great time. We plan on returning again.
Reviewed by: Joe on 8/31/2006 3:10:28 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/31/2006 Hometown: Athens, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We just returned home from a 1 week vacation at the Bar-50. We loved the trails and the campground. The only problem we encountered was that the map of the trails was not always easy to use. We loved it and we will return.
Reviewed by: Linda on 7/3/2006 9:35:43 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/1/2006 Hometown: Carlisle, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Need all your cost Information
Reviewed by: Andy on 5/6/2006 3:48:30 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 5/6/2006 Hometown: Fayetteville, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We love J-D trailriding camp for the trails and the camp site www.j-dtrailriding.com
Reviewed by: Betsy Messamore on 2/10/2006 1:50:06 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 2/10/2006 Hometown: Madisonville,KY, OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Bar 50 is a great place to ride. The campground is first rate with water and electric hook up. We used the corrals next to camp and they were very nice with water. We plan to go back again next year.
Reviewed by: Pete on 8/14/2005 10:10:38 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/14/2005 Hometown: Lucas, TX