HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Barkcamp
(click on name for more information)


Wheeling WV, OH

Overall TRAIL RATING with 8 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 7 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I really liked this place. Not alot of trails if you were there longer than a weekend. It's been dry, so the muddy spots weren't so bad. I wouldn't recommend if we had alot of rain tho. There is a bee's nest in a tree on the "big blue loop" between marker #16 & 17. The trails are marked well & is easy to get around. Some hills, but not bad. They have pit toilets in the horse camp area, but they are cleaned daily. The shower house is probably 1/2 mile away & is really nice. I would definitely go back.
Reviewed by: Donna on 5/31/2012 6:54:46 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/26/2012 Hometown: Croton, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I am a little new to horse camping but I liked the place real well. It was spread out and not conjested. Trails were fairly well marked and just a couple tricky muddy places. Ride around lake was really pretty. Easy access to dump station. I wish they had stall or corrals for more security at night.
Reviewed by: Rumba on 2/18/2012 4:57:59 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/1/2008 Hometown: Little town in Pa, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: jan on 9/4/2010 5:54:54 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/14/2010 Hometown: vermilion, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trais were easy to ride. Camp sight was nice but mixed with non horse people. Staff very friendly & helpful. This is a good over-night one. You ride threw fast.
Reviewed by: Rita on 7/28/2009 6:19:21 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/7/2008 Hometown: Middlefield, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

2007 was first time for us. we really enjoyed being there. campground very nice and clean we used the shower house and was one of the better ones. very clean. cute little country store and some sights to see. the trails were great and scenic.enough trails to ride for a week end maybe 3 days at the most. we visited twice last year and plan to go back this year. people very friendly and helpful.
Reviewed by: patty on 5/12/2008 3:33:41 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: girard, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails could use a little TLC. The main trails are good but white and silver trails haven't been touched. Found several trees down and briars taking over the secondary trails. Great place to start your riding season. Trails are very easy. Five Star campground! Electric and paved pad for trailer. High ties and great wash bay for horses. Plenty of water for horses at camp. Park staff is friendly and helpful. This one is a yearly ride for us!
Reviewed by: Kat on 11/10/2007 12:34:22 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/28/2007 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I personally found these trails easy. Narrow but easy. Marked well. An easy lazy day of riding maybe two days. You can stop here on the way to Salt Fork. Full hookups, tie outs. Good water. Kinda preppy for my family and our old rigs. Nice campground although adjacent to family camping and children.
Reviewed by: Anna Fowler on 11/6/2006 11:31:41 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 11/6/2006 Hometown: Coolville, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a very nice place to ride. The trails are well marked and the staff are fantastic people. You can ride the whole thing several times in a day but it is a nice place to go ride.
Reviewed by: Lee on 10/24/2005 10:08:11 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: Hometown: Caledonia, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We were lost for 6hrs. Trail markings were hardly noticable. Hence, being lost. We were on almost every trail. VERY deep muddy paths. Not groomed. Branches and fallen trees. Overgrown stickers on the white and silver trails (stay awayfrom these until they are groomed). Recommend seasoned trail horses only. Young , spooky, or green trail horses would pose a serious safety hazard as some trails follow along high cliffs and banks.Not for beginners! proved to be quite adventurous and fun for an expert rider and horse. Won't go back till things are DRY.
Reviewed by: Candy Rich on 1/13/2005 11:38:36 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/10/2004 Hometown: Quaker City, OH