HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Big South Fork National Recreation Area
(click on name for more information)


Jamestown, TN

Overall TRAIL RATING with 27 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 25 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

we have camped at truewest campground many, many times and we are very satified with the rates and hospitality. The sites are groomed well taken care of! I rated them 5 star all the way!!
Reviewed by: Carolyn Avans on 5/28/2013 6:16:45 PM
More reviews by Carolyn Avans
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/12/2013 Hometown: Nashville, , TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been to Timber Ridge Horse Camp in the past, but not under the new owners. They have done an excellent job of improving on an already good thing. We were met by Lee and Ronnie first thing. They helped us unload and even cleaned the back of the trailer! Lee and Ronnie, aka Big Foot, went out of their way all weekend to make sure our 10yr old would have a weekend he would not forget...lol. They were great with all the kids there that weekend. The trails were great as always. Enjoyed the new trails they had opened also. I missed my old friends from previous trips, but made some fantastic new friends! Great weekend, looking forward to going back to see our new friends and some great riding!
Reviewed by: Garry on 5/8/2012 2:58:17 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/13/2012 Hometown: Bell Buckle, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We came to TimberRidge for the first time this spring... LOVED IT. The campsites, great, the People that run it all from cleaning out your trailer when you arrive to keeping the bathhouses and area clean and safe is wonderful!!! Loved the diversity of the trails from sandy roads, bluffs, caves, beaver dams, and many many water crossings,my favorite being the trail going up the creek to the Falls....Good barns, good campsites, good trails, good horses good people, good weather....what more could a person ask for..... except maybe a longer vacation there.... AAAAAAAAAA the Cranes
Reviewed by: Crane on 5/8/2012 1:32:22 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 4/20/2012 Hometown: Blountville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Timber Ridge lived up to their reputation. We were impressed by the friendliness of Lee, Dee and Ronnie. Great trails, excellent camping spots, and friendly neighbors. Be sure to ride the new falls trail on Timber Ridge property and the new trail in National Park.
Reviewed by: Jeannine Ellison on 5/5/2012 6:29:47 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/1/2012 Hometown: Spencer, WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just got back from riding Big South Fork River and Recreation trails and have to say I was disappointed. If you are a novice this is the place for you. Big wide sandy trails. However, I was looking for some challenges and didn't find much. Some of the out of the way areas are challenging with climbs up over large rocks. Many of the most interesting rock formations are not accessible by horseback. A couple of nice outlooks are.
Reviewed by: Sandy on 10/17/2011 2:14:20 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/10/2011 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

WE traveled to TimberRidge from Appling, Ga and it was worth the time getting there. The campground and people were Wonderful. The trails were an adventuer and the scenery was beautiful.. Anyone wanting adventure, great trails, wonderful safe campgound and good people then go to TIMBER RIDGE...........!!!
Reviewed by: Treva Duncan on 9/5/2011 3:41:32 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/24/2011 Hometown: Appling, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Timber Ridge campground provides exceptional service for the horse and rider. When we arrived and unloaded the horses, we turned around and Lee was cleaning out the trailer. What a great way to start our vacation! Lee and Denise go out of their way to ensure the guests at Timber Ridge have a positive experience. Some mornings, the neighbors stop by for coffee. They are super friendly, and eager to provide ride recommendations,local insight on nearby activities, and driving directions to avoid traffic. I have never been on vacation where everyone was geniunely intereseted in helping us and expecting NOTHING in return :) As for the trails, this is the first time I have been trail riding in the south and found the terrain and footing to be extremely varied. Parts of the trails were wide, open to the sun, with clay like footing and other areas were steep, singly track and very rocky, but thats all part of the trail riding experience. You can ride for ever and not see another person. The downside of Big South Fork( from a northeasterners veiw) is that the trails are very similiar; miles and miles of hardword forest, with some river crossings, and rock outcroppings (just like the backround picture).
Reviewed by: L. Cantamessa on 8/7/2011 6:53:30 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/3/2011 Hometown: Brewster, NY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had the best time ever. We went the weekend before the opening weekend and had the whole place to ourselves so we got to explore. They were so very nice and helpful in every way possible. We are already planning our return trip. The trails are beatiful we went down everyone that they had. HAVE FUN!
Reviewed by: Lori on 3/11/2011 10:11:19 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/8/2011 Hometown: Villa Rica, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Anonymous on 2/7/2011 2:44:17 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/23/2010 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice facility. Well marked map and trails provided. Owners very helpful.
Reviewed by: Ralph and Cynthia Thompson on 9/3/2010 12:30:28 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/26/2010 Hometown: Chattanooga, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautiful trails...cool temperatures in the gorges. Rocky...horse needs shoes or very tough feet (my horses were barefoot and did fine) Horses not conditioned on hills will need exta conditioning because you do have hills to wind down and pull up. We stayed at True West. The barns and campground/bathhouse were CLEAN. Wifi on deck. Area has a GREAT restaurant in Bacarro but NOTHING on Mon/Tues when thay are closed except burgers and pizza. Short off road ride to Cumberland Trail Head. Owner will also trailer you toother trail heads...good service!
Reviewed by: T Grant on 6/16/2010 7:21:39 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/2/2010 Hometown: Madison, MS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

timber ridge the place too be. trails bathhouses stalls campground very clean.ride the o and w railroad trail also wildcat den. lee and denise stevens are grate folks down to earth.timber staff unloaded the horses off the trailer and stalled water hayed also clean out trailer. what about that.trails lots of water veiw bluffs forest it has it all.thanks to lee and denise staff. 1-931-879-ride {7433}
Reviewed by: tracy smith on 4/18/2010 2:31:08 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/15/2010 Hometown: chickamauga, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Gretta and Bobby Gene, no one is trying to be mean and hateful to you. You have done an excellent job of running Bandy Creek Stables in the past. But now it is getting increasingly difficult to contact you to make reservations. Calls are not always returned in a timely manner. Stall assignments are posted on the board upon arrival, and the stalls are clean and ready for use, but there is almost never anyone around. Sometimes, campers have questions about trails, emergencies arise, situations come up when it would be nice or even necessary to have someone of authority at the stables. All business owners have a life outside of their business, but it is their responsibly to hire someone to be there full time during regular business hours if they themselves cannot be there. Service at the barns have been severely lacking in 2009, and I know there are many others that feel the way I do, because I hear the comments they are making. Everyone likes the two of you very much, and hate to see things neglected as they are. People traveling and coming in for vacation, spending their hard earned money expect a minimum level of attention,which they are not getting. I have heard many of your regulars say that the place is running itself now, with everything being self-service. We like you and wish you all the best, but do miss the way things used to be. We hope the fact that you are so busy doesn't cost you any business. We love Bandy Creek Stables and will continue to come.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 12/5/2009 2:56:19 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/1/2009 Hometown: , TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We apoligize that we are not at Bandy Creek everyday. Yes, we do have a new campground and stables, Catoosa Ridge Stables and Campground. This is not all that has been going on. We have been trying to adopt a little girl from China, dealing with losing loved ones, and I have been trying to finish my degree. We do not appreciate negative comments. We take care of the stables the same as always, with the help of friends. If someone was not nice (for the life of me, I would like to know who?)we need to know. This should not be posted on the internet. We really appreciate those who understand that, we too, have a life outside of the stables. We are not making this a habit of posting comments on the internet, but after so many people come to us and tell us about this, we feel the need to defend our reputation and our employees. If you feel the need to say something to us or are wondering what we are up to these days, give us a call. 931-397-1680 or 931-397-1861.
Reviewed by: Gretta and Bobby Gene on 12/2/2009 8:25:18 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/11/2009 Hometown: , TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Bobby Gene and Gretta York, mangers of Bandy Creek Stables, were wonderful. The staff treated us great and were very friendly. The trails are the best in Tennessee. Planning a trip back soon!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 9/24/2009 2:51:55 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/12/2009 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Big South Fork has wonderful trails all the way around! There is so much to see -- waterfalls, the BSF River, Rhododendren tunnels, caverns, sand caves and arches, rock formations -- there is such a variety. We have stayed at most of the privately owned horse camps, also the public camps, and all are clean and nice.
Reviewed by: lauryn on 8/9/2009 8:14:03 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: maryville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I am writing this review to express my dislike of some things the park service did to the trails (most notably "Booger Mtn"). We stopped going to Bandy Creek because the old narrow, rocky, switchback trail off Booger Mtn was turned into a straight-down gravel rd you can drive a car down. We can ride roads @ home. We trail ride for exactly that experience...trail riding. We never liked being as far away from the horses either but the campground itself was very nice as campgrounds go. One of the nicest bath houses ever. If a trail has been put back in on Booger Mtn I'd love to know but I won't go back just to find out.
Reviewed by: Dwana on 7/28/2009 1:02:09 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/1/1999 Hometown: Primm Springs, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Bandy Creek is great riding with direct access to Big South Fork. The barns are nice but expect to drive about 1/2 mile to get to your horse. BobbyJean and Gretta York manage the barn and stall rentals but don't seem to be around too much anymore........they are off managing another riding facility. The girl they have there now is not really friendly...... The warmth is gone............ The campsites are GREAT!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 5/24/2009 2:39:35 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I travel with my family to Bandy Creek once a year. It is about a 9-10 hour drive for us but it is worth it. We love going to Bandy Creek. You can't beat the hospitality that you get from Bobby Gene and Gretta. We love getting to see them every year. Very nice stalls! I wish we could camp a little closer to the horses, but it always works out okay. The rules at the campground seem to have lightened up over the past few years. Camping is great for family and children, not the greatest if you like the horseback riding party scene....I believe QUIET time starts at 10pm at the campground. All in all, the trails are some of the best I have ever seen... you can ride and ride and see beautiful scenery. We can't wait to go back.
Reviewed by: Stacy on 10/4/2008 9:18:49 PM
More reviews by Stacy
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Orland, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We travel to Bandy Creek each spring and fall for one week. We love the entire experience at Bandy Creek and Big South Fork. The trails are as good as anywhere we ride and the campground is clean and orderly. We actually like the fact that the stables are located acroos the road from the campground. Our horses are save an secure in the stalls, and the campground is cleaner and free from flies. Billy Gene & Gretta do a great job at Bandy Creek stables, and try very hard to make your horses comfortable. We love every part of out visit, and plan to visit again in Ocotber.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 5/22/2007 11:33:03 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/2/2007 Hometown: Owensboro, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I had to write in and answer the previous review. I like the fact that the stalls are about 1/2 mile (or less) from the campground, because it cuts down on the flies in the camp area. There has never been a problem with security, but it pays to use common sense, like not leaving your saddles at the barn overnight. All of the rules are for good reason. For instance, the rule about not leaving your coolers out is because there are bears in the park, and unattended food attracts them. The rules insure that the campground is clean safe and orderly. Not like some campgrounds that are dirty and wild .
Reviewed by: Mrs.X on 4/9/2007 3:12:36 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/9/2006 Hometown: , TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The riding at Big South Fork is great. Bandy Creek campground is very nice, like all National Park Service facilities. The stables are nice too. However, you camp about a mile from the stables. The stable grounds are not locked or monitored, so there's nobody there watching who's coming and going after hours. Also, quite a few ridiculous rules in this campground, like you get a ticket if your truck or trailer tire is even one inch off the gravel pad, you can't leave a cooler outside your trailer, etc. We go to BSF several times a year, but have decided we like another facility better.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 4/5/2007 12:48:36 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 4/5/2007 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

we camped at bandy creek in 02 and loved it. the trails are so unique, not like in il.it's like a rain forrest,beautiful lush folage and different plants along the trail to try to identify.the short trips to the overlook is well worth it.
Reviewed by: jan on 8/8/2004 6:28:32 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 8/8/2004 Hometown: illinois, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Note that a couple of reviews, particularly related to the camp site, are for the Honey Creek Horse Camp. The reason is that the Honey Creek location was entered after the reviews. New reviews for Honey Creek should be entered from that location.
Reviewed by: Webmaster on 1/9/2004 11:52:42 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/9/2004 Hometown: Okeechobee, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We stayed at Honey Creek Horse Camp on the South end of the Park. East of Jamestown. New Camp-opened-spring of 2003. Excellent for long camper trailers. Easy backing in and excellent turn around. Good bath house. Water and 30/15 Amp Electrical. No sewer hookups. Great trails with bluffs, overlooks, water crossings, oil/gas wells too!! The trails are easy to moderate. This was our first time and we will go back. The owner operators are horse people. They ride the trailes.
Reviewed by: Larry on 12/30/2003 10:01:45 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 12/27/2003 Hometown: Knoxville, TN

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List