HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Big South Fork - Honey Creek Horse Camp Inc.
(click on name for more information)
Allardt, TN

Overall TRAIL RATING with 9 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 9 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Oct 2016 was great weather to ride great trails from Honey Creek to Needles Eye, Gun Rock, White Oak Trail OL, Gert Wiley Trail, Grooms Branch, Jakes Hole, Overlook to RR Bridge, Oh Shit Trail & O&W Bridge. Needles Eye is a must see and they had maps by the shower house. Our site was level, water & electric. We used pens and they were nice. Hitching rails were broke and they need a dumpster to control garbage but it takes time when you are new owners and once they get them fixed I'd give them a 5 Star rating! Was a very relaxed campground! Enjoyed our time there! Was 750 miles and would go back! Thanks! You're getting it really nice!
Reviewed by: Linda & Morris Dolph on 1/17/2017 6:06:27 PM
More reviews by Linda %26 Morris Dolph
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/10/2016 Hometown: Waterloo, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a great time staying at Honey Creek Campground, the owner was so helpful with backing us in, bringing us firewood and stall cleaning. They know the trails and can let you know where they are, and what level of riding is needed to ride them. The campground has a nice bath house, camping spots and a big turn around spot if needed. Easy access to some very scenic trails, some of the prettiest BSF has to offer! We will go back for sure. The owners are great host to a wonderful campground....thanks for reopening Honey Creek!!!
Reviewed by: Audrey Rody on 10/5/2015 11:30:32 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/2/2015 Hometown: Columbia, Tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a great time riding these trails in Big South Fork! . We were given a good map by C.B.but more markings were needed. We were a little challenged by the rain but didn't let it spoil our fun! This is a nice shady campground with good owners. We really liked the hitching posts at each site to make tacking up easier. The barns seemed to be a complaint by some but were really no problem at all. They are much better than they may look on the outside and super clean with lime.
Reviewed by: Alice on 10/4/2015 9:42:51 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/3/2015 Hometown: Chapel Hill, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Spent Labor Day weekend at Honey Creek and had a great time. The owners were exceptional and friendly and went out of their way to take care of guests. The trails were beautiful and we enjoyed all our rides. The campsite is close to several trails. The stalls were a little small, but the camp allowed picketing horses so we moved the horses to our campsite so it wasn't a problem. Nice shaded sites. Also met a number of friendly campers. Will definitely be back.
Reviewed by: Aubrey Henley on 9/24/2015 12:56:01 AM
More reviews by Aubrey Henley
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/5/2015 Hometown: Rineyville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We, our horses and our dog enjoyed our stay @ HCHC. Owner CB & his family were very informative upon our arrival, gave us very accurate maps to find our way around and even offered free firewood. All the campsites are well shaded, have picnic tables, firepits, & hitching posts for use. The bathhouse was clean and centrally located within the camp sites. The dump station was conveniently located near the bathhouse. We used a round pen that was available (since we had the campground to ourselves) even though there were clean barn stalls available for the taking. HCHC even provides WIFI! The trails were GREAT, no crossing busy roads, mostly cleared from ice storm damage, we saw the Double Arches, the Arch, the Devil's Den, & lots of beautiful rock formations. We met 4 riders that were staying @ another campground complaining how far they had to ride in order to reach BSF interior trails, which we didn't have that problem at all. We met 6 other riders that were staying @ another campground complaining their site was in the "middle of a yard" and they couldn't have their horses in their campground, which we didn't have that problem either. Our dog even became best friends with a resident neighbor's dog that chose to be our "trail boss" for no charge, HA! We WILL most certainly return to HCHC, it was the best (people, horse and dog) accommodating camp we've visited @ BSF.
Reviewed by: Garrett on 9/23/2015 4:07:04 PM
More reviews by Garrett
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/21/2015 Hometown: Lynchburg, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I had a great time at honey creek over memorial day weekend. I couldn't have asked for more hospitable or friendly staff. They were very welcoming. We had a great time. The riding is excellent. No crossing highways or roads like some camp sites to get to the trais. Beautiful views just minutes away from camp. Along with very affordable pricing. Overall it was a great experince and we will be back in the Fall!
Reviewed by: matt lawrence on 6/1/2015 11:29:28 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/22/2015 Hometown: Smithville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I'm so happy Honey Creek is back open with CB and Bridget making sure we were happy campers! Trails are still some of the prettiest in BSF (even after the ice storm). Challenging at times. Fun!
Reviewed by: Sheila H on 5/3/2015 5:11:06 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/2/2015 Hometown: Rockvale, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The creek and river trails were great.Some trails are nice and wide but you can find the challenging trails.
Reviewed by: Jon Myers on 4/3/2015 7:04:48 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/20/2015 Hometown: Findlay, Oh

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a blast! The weather was perfect, CB who runs the campground was awesome. He made sure we were comfortable, gave us maps,explained the trails and hauled us out to the far end so we could ride back. Would have given a 5 but there were lots of trees down from an ice storm ~ not ride management fault ~ and because we were so early in the ride season had to do some trail cleaning in spots. Beautiful views and nice trails. Would go back!!!
Reviewed by: JoandSteve on 3/31/2015 12:21:55 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/21/2015 Hometown: Risingsun, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I gave trails a 4star only because of a recent ice storm which resulted in down trees of all sizes. In spite of this we had a blast riding. Great weather and CB was a great host! Give this Campground a visit.
Reviewed by: JLynnS on 3/26/2015 2:15:20 PM
More reviews by JLynnS
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/15/2015 Hometown: VanBuren, OH