HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Big South Fork - Saddle Valley Campground
(click on name for more information)


Jamestown, TN

Overall TRAIL RATING with 37 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 37 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Saddle Valley is a small camp joining Big South Fork pubic trails. Lots of shade and easy to park your living quarter trailer. The owners helped make this a very good ride by loaning us their stock trailer were we able to trailer to other trail heads including Charit Creek Lodge and a short loop to Hippe cave. Camp is near a developed equine community as such there are many groomed trails by the home owners association. These are nice easy trails but for more challenge we rode several federal trails in Big South Fork. Teresa and Ed are extremely nice but do research if you want challenging rides. We had wonderful week with a great mix of rides. The horse ladder was a blast. Hippe cave was a site to see. We did a half day trip to Amish Community on Muddy Pond Road outside Jammestown - nice leather shop and tack shop along with a bakery. Some good deals in the tack shop
Reviewed by: ta on 9/24/2017 8:34:03 AM
More reviews by ta
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/14/2017 Hometown: St. Louis, Mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What an amazing place. We were there with a huge group, so big others were at other campgrounds. I think we got the best one!!! We actually had shade trees, very clean camps, clean shower house and bathrooms, Large Screen TV, Ice for purchase, WIFI, lots of ways to get on the different South Fork Trails. The owners are awesome and truly appreciate each camper! You can tell they have a true love for what they do and really care about your horses!!! Any time I go back to South Fork... this is the only place I will stay!!! The owners care a great deal about your safety and yours horses!
Reviewed by: Rocking 777s on 6/3/2014 10:01:49 PM
More reviews by Rocking 777s
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/29/2014 Hometown: Butler, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What an amazing place. We were there with a huge group, so big others were at other campgrounds. I think we got the best one!!! We actually had shade trees, very clean camps, clean shower house and bathrooms, Large Screen TV, Ice for purchase, WIFI, lots of ways to get on the different South Fork Trails. The owners are awesome and truly appreciate each camper! You can tell they have a true love for what they do and really care about your horses!!! Any time I go back to South Fork... this is the only place I will stay!!! The owners care a great deal about your safety and yours horses!
Reviewed by: Rocking 777s on 6/3/2014 10:01:08 PM
More reviews by Rocking 777s
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/29/2014 Hometown: Butler, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wonderful Memorial Day weekend at Saddle Valley! Ed and Teresa are the best of hosts. Great food Saturday night, clean facility, fun trails, great campfire every night :) Very well cared for facility and just beautiful campground.
Reviewed by: nora miller on 6/2/2014 6:11:29 PM
More reviews by nora miller
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/24/2014 Hometown: Monterey, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

GREAT weekend at Saddle Valley for the first annual HTCAA riding weekend!! AWESOME catered dinner, great band Saturday night.... You guys rocked it!! Had a blast! And of course, a great time on the trails, great campground, clean and kept up as always. Thank you!!
Reviewed by: nora miller on 6/2/2014 6:06:47 PM
More reviews by nora miller
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/1/2014 Hometown: Monterey, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been a guest at saddle valley for many years. The hospitality is wonderful. Ed and Teresa do all possible to be sure that guests are comfortable, have all they need, and have a positive experience. The camp is clean, the bath house is clean, they have a common kitchen that campers can use, and will draw maps for many good rides. The camp is located in a land peninsula surrounded by the big south fork on 3 sides. You can ride out into the park for as lil or as long as you want. Plus there are miles n miles of private trails adjacent to saddle valley as well. Plus they have a day trailer to borrow to get to multiple trailheads within the park. Again, the owners will take extra steps to be sure your visit is wonderful. Stalls are behind your site. Closer than many camps at which I have stayed.
Reviewed by: Lindsay on 10/16/2013 8:40:05 AM
More reviews by Lindsay
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/15/2013 Hometown: Charleston, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Saddle Valley is a comfortable place to camp, and you can ride from camp to most of the trails in BSF. The hosts were very helpful.
Reviewed by: John on 2/6/2013 8:23:22 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/1/2012 Hometown: Harrodsburg, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I agree with Ed about Saddle Valley - It is one of my favorite places to stay when in BSF. Theresa and Ed and the greatest and love the small campground. Has everything we need when we go camping. Nice stalls and lots and a nice clean showerhouse. Probably no matter where we stay in BSF, after about 3 days you need to trailer out to a trailhead unless you ride walkers.
Reviewed by: Sue on 6/21/2012 7:38:23 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/12/2012 Hometown: Pleasant Plain, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I'm not sure Al stayed at the same campground everyone else has. I think the campground is great, several barns in different areas, need some more water hook-ups but a hose works great, several different trails to ride, it's about a fifteen minute ride to Cumberland Valley trail but most of that ride is on trail, ride down road short way and cross blacktop to trailhead, or take different trail to yellow face.
Reviewed by: Eddie on 6/20/2012 3:43:22 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/12/2012 Hometown: Nashville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Do not recommend. Water access not convenient. Stalls far from campsites. Baths only marginal. No legible maps, directions, such as existed, very confusing and not helpful. Trail head too far from camp.
Reviewed by: Al Smith on 6/18/2012 6:03:55 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/15/2012 Hometown: Elba, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Saddle Valley is the best we have come across Ed and Thersea treated s the best we ever have seen and we have been everywhere with our horses trails are wel marked but just ask and they will help you with trail maps and info to get you anywhere you want to go
Reviewed by: T McKinney on 5/29/2012 7:35:18 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/25/2012 Hometown: Tioneata, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

this camp is RIGHT at the BIG SOUTH FORK! the camp hosts, husband and wife, are southern hospitality at the highest level. they have great knowledge of the area, tend to your every need(trail info to ice, etc). it is the place to stay if you do not want any worries. absolutely will be back, bringing more friends next time.
Reviewed by: susan on 4/30/2012 7:57:00 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/19/2011 Hometown: indiana, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Would like to add to my review. Camp sites were also very shaded and Teresa printed me a great trail map and also some good info about the trails.
Reviewed by: Jerry Rieckers on 4/29/2012 4:05:27 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/26/2012 Hometown: Bowling Green, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Setting in camp as I write this using there wifi.Been here for three days and have had a great time.Camp was mowed and trimmed when we pulled in. Teresa had two stalls ready for me.Stalls are plenty big and there are several turn out pins.Big screen with direct t.v. is handy.Good access to two trailheads.Ed and Teresa are great host and we will definitly return.
Reviewed by: Jerry & Bonita Rieckers on 4/28/2012 4:32:44 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/26/2012 Hometown: Bowling Green, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Ed and Teresa made us feel very at home at their campground. The bathrooms were clean, the campsites were shady and clean, with the barns behind the sites for convenience. The common area was breezy and pleasant with large screen tv, and the food (bbq)was wonderful! The camp is just the right size, not too large or too small -- and intimate enough to where you can get to know fellow campers without feeling crowded. The people are more laid back and are here to enjoy riding their horses on the beautiful trails nearby. There is cell phone service there, at the top of the hill near the office. The owners are always willing to help you in any way they can, and are very friendly. They have a 3 day spring and fall ride which lasts 3 days in the back country, and we want to do this. We will definitely go back -- this is our favorite campground in BSF - they don't nickle and dime you do death or charge extra fees. They are in this business because they love people and horses.
Reviewed by: Mary Lynn on 4/13/2012 7:53:43 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/23/2012 Hometown: Clinton, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have ridden many trails at Big South Fork and stayed at many of the campgrounds. All have been really nice, but Saddle Valley has been our favorite. Teresa and Ed were very friendly and made you feel at home. The campground was clean and well shaded, as were the bathroom and showers. You can tell they enjoy being around people and horses, and running this campground. They gave us a well written trail map and told us of all the best places to ride to. When we came back a little late, they were ready to send a search party after us (that is how much they cared! How nice!). Their rates are very reasonable, and they offer so much down home hospitality.
Reviewed by: Laury on 12/27/2011 12:42:12 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/8/2011 Hometown: Loudon, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We went to the July 4 Poker Run they had, and it was a blast! Nice people, clean campground, fun and challenging trails! I'd like to go back for the Halloween ride if possible
Reviewed by: Lauryn on 9/11/2011 3:35:00 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/4/2011 Hometown: Loudon, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Don't know why more people don't leave more comments about Saddle Valley. Probably because everyone there -- the owners and other horse campers -- are a good, fun-loving, laid-back group who don't stand on pretense. Everyone was friendly and interacted with each other. In a very real sense, there were no strangers in camp -- and you couldn't be even if you wanted to be.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 9/9/2011 4:07:32 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/3/2011 Hometown: The Great Commonwealth of, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband and I had an awesome time, we were the frist campers of the season. It was our 1st attempt to camp with our horses and it was a breeze! Our Fl horse's were not used to the terrain,wet trail conditions due to the abundance of rain before we arrived, but they survived! It was chilly and a little wet the first day, but it cleared up quickly! Teresa was an awsome hostess!! She made us feel right at home the minute we arrived! She answered all our questions, shared valuable Trail information with us NEWBIE Mountain riders, and even found us FRESH HOMEGROWN eggs for breakfast! Scout their dog was a perfect gentleman and was a treat to have around, as we were missing our own dogs back home in FL. We plan on going back the first chance we get! We highly recommend Saddle Valley Campground! Wish I was there right now!!
Reviewed by: Tammie Trapp on 4/28/2011 11:23:34 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/18/2011 Hometown: Reddick, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My wife and I had a great time at Saddle Valley Campground. We stayed 7 days. I would reccommend this campground at Big South Fork. We have a 60+ ft. rig and had no problems getting in or parking. The hosts were great and very accommadating. We could saddle our horses at our trailer which I like very much. Ed and Treasa had a great Halloween Party and furnished some very good barbeque. We will be visiting them again.
Reviewed by: Dag and Bonnie Taylor on 11/20/2010 8:42:50 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/27/2010 Hometown: Butler, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Found the ride not to be well thought or planned, lack of water after 20 plus mile ride in 90 degree heat, 2 horses suffered from pace and heat. They could have hauled in a bit more water sooner. Lack of planning of trails led to many a rodeo with the bee's. Outriders did not even know the trails. Bad language and attitudes made for less fun too. I did enjoy some of the riders and the trails that were planned out ahead and were not unused and just full of bee's and hornets. I do not enjoy watching or being bucked off of which they had plenty in these circumstances. I was given a freebie totry to make up but why go back to where you were not treated well.
Reviewed by: Deb on 10/1/2010 12:56:17 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/24/2010 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been going to Saddle Valley for seven years and have NEVER been disappointed. Ed and Teresa are like family. I was fortunate enough to go on the four day/three night pack trip this year and LOVED it. It was not a ride for the faint of heart, but for me personally, it was incredible! I was smiling the whole way! I'm ready to go again!
Reviewed by: Debra on 9/29/2010 9:52:20 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/24/2010 Hometown: Damascus, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

WoW!!!! What a great campground. Ed and Teresa are the BEST!!! I have just came back from a 4 day 80 mile trail ride. The ride was out of this world. Bees where a pain :-(... But all and all EVERYONE pulled together and we made it. What an adventure!!! I cannot wait till next years ride. It will be year # 4 for me on this ride. WOOHOO Cowgirl Up!!
Reviewed by: Rebecca on 9/29/2010 9:11:58 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/24/2010 Hometown: Dawsonville , GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Good Hosts who are serious trail riders themselves and a good place to stay. Relaxed atmosphere. I went on the 80 mile 4 day ride, perfect weather and wonderful trails, we all had a great time along with some excitement and mixups when we hit the yeller jackets. But hey, have to expect those buzz bombers this time of year. But it delayed things so much it threw us way off schedule so the rest of the ride got switched around. Be sure you and your horse are conditioned for a long ride and ready for rough rocky trails and sometimes unplanned adventure when going on this one. Do one of Ed's overnight rides to Charit creek lodge if this one is too much.
Reviewed by: Reuben Titus on 9/27/2010 12:03:59 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/24/2010 Hometown: Spencer, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband and I just had a fabulous long weekend at Big South Fork, Tennessee. We stayed at Saddle Valley with Ed and Teresa Elam, who are excellent hosts. They really go out of their way to make you feel "right at home"! --Great place to see BLACK BEARS!!
Reviewed by: John & Jeri Carroll on 9/6/2010 5:50:52 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/5/2010 Hometown: Hamilton, OH

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List