HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Big South Fork - Spruce Creek Campgrounds
(click on name for more information)


Jamestown, TN

Overall TRAIL RATING with 12 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 12 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

phil Gary has started closing campground in the winter. I am pretty sure he opens back up in march if you just call and leave a message with your name and phone number he will get back to you.
Reviewed by: vicky on 2/10/2013 2:13:28 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 2/9/2013 Hometown: knoxville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

has anyone been to spruce creek lately? they do not answer e-mail or phone calls??
Reviewed by: phil on 12/7/2012 9:13:19 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 12/7/2012 Hometown: meridian, MS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Gary treated us like family, made our stay very enjoyable. Loan us a trailer to haul to other trails, although there was plenty of riding right out of camp. Gary kept things very clean and our animals were very safe and as comfortable as we were. Many Thanks! We will be back. I am hoping very soon!
Reviewed by: Deb & Bruce on 10/30/2012 7:44:10 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/22/2012 Hometown: Jackson Twnshp (Westville), IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just got back from another great time at Spruce Creek Campground in the Big Southfork. Got to go to several different trailheads without breaking camp as they offer two trailers free of charge. They also have free firewood which eliminates the hassle of hauling it. Great stalls and clean bathrooms. They have only 9 campsites which keeps it small and friendly. The stalls are all in a big barn with solid walls and all enclosed. Can't wait to go back. Can't beat Southfork riding.
Reviewed by: Sue on 10/25/2011 12:52:27 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/19/2011 Hometown: Pleasant Plailn, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Have stayed at several of the horsecamps in Big SouthFork but will definitely go back to Spruce Creek Campground. Nice shaded lots and and not too big of a campground. Nice big stalls, clean shower houses and great service. They will let you use their trailers to haul out and offer free firewood. Everything I look for in a good campground.
Reviewed by: Sue on 6/26/2011 5:05:19 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/23/2011 Hometown: Pleasant Plain, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We just returned from our first trip to Timber Ridge and I will admit that all of the good things that have been said about this campground are true. We stayed for 4 nights and we were checked on by the owners (Lee & Dee) every morning and every night to make sure we did not need anything. I will admit that I was not prepared for the campground owner to cleam out my trailer and I was a little taken back by the willingness to help you when we first arived. I have never had this kind of service at any other campground. Campsites were small enough to meet your neighbor but were big enough for your privacy and allowed plenty of room for our slideout. The stalls were nice and allowed enough room for my 16+ hand Quarter horse and My Wife's Mule... Lee made sure the stalls had bedding and supplied everything to clean them daily. The trails on the campgroud side were moderate to easy and the map was easy to follow for even our first time to BSF. There are plenty of trails across the road from camp and most are moderate to easy as well.... There was only one trail that we were warned would be for advaced riders so we did not think we were ready for that one...(thanks to Phil and Lisa for the advanced BSF training) I would and will be returning to Timber Ridge soon. Overall the trip was a good way to start the spring riding season.
Reviewed by: Mike & Lisa on 4/10/2011 5:50:50 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/6/2011 Hometown: Hartford, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campgrounds are the best, very quiet and intimate. We have been visiting for several years now and can't see staying anywhere else. The barn is clean and ready when you arrive. Pam and Gary are exceptionally nice and accommodating.
Reviewed by: R Hall on 3/27/2011 6:03:12 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/26/2011 Hometown: Germantown, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Pam and Gary are the nicest people, and are very accomodating to everyone. There are many many miles of trails and you can ride to BSF. They will also let you use the trailers if you want to go to a different trailhead. The shower room is very clean, and the sites all have full hook ups. The only things I would change is the barn stalls don't get much light. They are big and all of them have fans if it gets warm. They have a huge fire pit where everyone sits around and chit chats. Pam and Gary always are around in the evenings and enjoy chatting with everyone.
Reviewed by: Ted and Sandy Macy on 4/30/2010 10:06:05 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/10/2009 Hometown: Brooklet, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

the first time we stayed here pam and gary are amazing people and made us fell like we had been best friends forever the barn is great big stalls cleaniest barn i have ever seen alone with the bath house pam and gary go above and beyond to make sure u have a great time while u are there and are very helpful about what trails to ride and how to get there we have been back several times since the first time and it has been the same everytime pam and gary u guys and ur campground rock vicky and mark
Reviewed by: vicky and mark on 2/6/2010 4:08:03 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/15/2009 Hometown: knoxville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had an excellent time while we camped there. This will be our #1 choice for all future trips to BSF. Gary and Pam were excellent hosts. The stalls were cleaned, and ready, complete with the 1st bag of complimentary shavings. The stalls also provide hay racks and 2 hooks for water and feed buckets. Water is provided via hoses inside the barn per every 2 stalls. No having to carry heavy water buckets! And I have never seen a cleaner bath house. They were friendly and catered to our every want and need. They provide shavings for purchase on site and have 2 trailers available if you want to pull to another trailhead. I don't know of any places that can compare with this kind of excellent service. We give it a 5+ star.
Reviewed by: Krista Graves on 10/20/2009 3:21:05 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/27/2009 Hometown: Dalton, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The hosts (Pam and Gary) and the trails are absolutely wonderful! If you're looking for field parking - forget it. This place is spread out, bathhouse is immaculate, barn is clean-clean-clean. They provide two trailers for your use for free to a trailhead if you want to broaden your riding time. They know the trails and give you information so you can have a great ride, regardless of your riding ability. There are not enough adjectives to describe how wonderful this campground caters to you.
Reviewed by: Diane Dillon on 6/9/2009 4:03:17 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/6/2009 Hometown: Elgin, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to ride and camp. I will bring rental horses for persons wanting to rent them for the weekends. Please call or email for rates and to reserve horses. All my horses are bomb proof and well mannered.
Reviewed by: Earl Webb on 6/3/2009 1:30:28 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/8/2008 Hometown: Minor Hill, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Anonymous on 5/28/2009 9:13:37 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/8/2009 Hometown: , AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The owners Pam & Gary are 5 star folks and so is everthing at the facility for our 4 legged friends and people.Wish the campsites were a little bigger but we didn't spend that much time there b/c we were riding so much. Great place to pull from for a day ride to East Fork, Bandy Creek etc many caves to see close by. We had an awesome time. Oh and if you need a Vet. chances are they will call you and or come.
Reviewed by: Brenda & Jamie on 8/2/2008 10:44:46 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 5/10/2008 Hometown: , SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The owners where awsome. I felt at home and trully enjoyed my time off the trail.
Reviewed by: Duke on 11/20/2007 12:32:23 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/18/2007 Hometown: London, KY