HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Bolo Club
(click on name for more information)


Sherwood, TN

Overall TRAIL RATING with 9 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 9 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We've been riding the Bolo for several years now and is always enjoyable. Miss Mary takes great care of our group and always has everything in order and ready to help in every way. If your concerned about the sulfur don't be as they put in water filtration and I couldn't smell a thing. Lol. I highly recommend this place and hope you'll give it a try hope to see you on the trails
Reviewed by: Bob f on 3/7/2017 10:38:15 PM
More reviews by Bob f
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/8/2016 Hometown: Shelbyville, Tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Bob f on 3/1/2017 12:03:12 AM
More reviews by Bob f
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/21/2016 Hometown: Shelbyville, Tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a great time and the riding there cannot be compared to, always water to play in, no matter how dry the weather has been.
Reviewed by: ML on 9/7/2014 10:44:20 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/3/2014 Hometown: viola, tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

SAVE YOUR MONEY AND GO ELSEWHERE. I read the trail reviews before going and I wish I had noticed that they were all almost a year or older. We wasted our Labor Day weekend there and left with a night of camping and 2 stalls paid for. Trails were overgrown to the point we had to backtrack. My husband used his pocket knife to get us through one spot but the others he couldn't. Trail 8 started out good but we then ran out of numbers and couldn't find the trail and again we backtracked. We rode it from the other direction thinking we were just overlooking it and the same thing happened. No numbers and no trail. When we returned to camp we told George what happened and his reply, "Sorry man, I can't do everything." Scenery is beautiful and the trails could be great if maintained. WILL NOT GO BACK.
Reviewed by: afackler on 8/31/2014 12:04:04 PM
More reviews by afackler
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/28/2014 Hometown: jamestown, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Spent a week here. Facilites were very nice and clean. The only problem we had, was sulphur water and was told a new well has been dug and new water lines will be in place next year. The lodge is extremely nice on cool, cold nights to take your meal. Bath houses were immaculate. Stalls were convenient. Trails were marked well. Hilly, and rocky in places. A few bogs. But, you're in the mountains! If you go, the cave ride is neat. Beautiful views. Will be going back.
Reviewed by: Dianron on 11/1/2013 4:38:06 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/19/2013 Hometown: Mansfield, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This place was great, the people, place and trails couldn't be better. The campsites are nice with water and electric on each site. There are rooms, cabins and a house for rent if needed. Everything is newly remolded and well thought out. Bath houses are super clean, and nice. There is a lodge available to everyone that has a fireplace, TV with satellite, large tables for dining. There is a kitchen for you to cook in. Great big deck with a wonderful view. WiFi on location. The barn is big and offers stalls or you can stall in an outdoor covered stall. Safe and nice stalls with water nearby. Upstairs in the barn is a entertainment area for bands or gatherings. Live music is offered on their big weekends. George and Buddy are on site and really make you feel welcomed and will answer any questions you have. You feel right at home with all the conviences as well. The trails were not muddy (even though day one we had 1.5 in of rain, it is mostly sand and rock bottom so it drains well. There was of course some mud, but nothing like other places, not bad. The trails are in the mountain so there is a lot of climbing up and down and it is quite rocky in places so shoes or hoof boots are required. We rode in boots on the front only and did great. Oh and do equip your horse with a Crupper, we did not and our saddles ended up on their necks. The trails are very clearly marked and correspond with the map well. I would not say they are for beginners, but experienced riders will love it. The views are amazing. Lots of creek crossings for watering your trusted steed. And a few places to take breaks when needed. It is in a valley so be prepared to drive down the mountain and up, make sure you have plenty of fuel before starting down. There is a town only about 30 min away. Wonderful place and we cant wait to return and enjoy this place and people. Ride your heart out during the day and relax in the lodge with a fire at night, cant beat it. Check them out on FB, The Bolo Club. Happy Trails to You
Reviewed by: Kim Young on 3/22/2013 7:00:44 PM
More reviews by Kim Young
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/20/2013 Hometown: Sandwich, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First time for us at the bolo club and loved it. We camped with friends that had told us about it and glad we went labor day weekend. George and company were great and the trails were relaxing to us for a nice weekend of camping and riding. Nothing hard just some long pulls and scenic views. If you are experienced at all with trail rides this is a great place to visit. Bring your drinking water as they have sulfur but it's not that bad and would not stop me from going there again. This is one of our new favorite places and only 82 miles from home for us. Hope you give it a try
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 9/5/2012 6:17:47 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/31/2012 Hometown: Shelbyville, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We spent the weekend riding and camping for the first time at The Bolo Club near Sherwood, Tn. This place is less that two hours from our home so we are very happy that it is available for trail riders like us. The facilities are extremely nice. The Bolo Club is located in a valley between two mountains or ridges. It is truly beautiful. You are surrounded by awesome views. The new bath house is great and they have this huge, old barn that we put our horses in. There is a new pavillion where you can watch TV or just relax. A creek runs right next to the road in front of the campground. You can even go fishing here. We saw some pretty good size bass in the creek. The trails are just absolutely great. There were no challenges for our horses on the trails we traveled. There are also some awesome views while on the trails since you go up the mountain. It isn't steep, just a slow, gradual climb. We will definitely be back here and I encourage all to come and try this place. You will not be disappointed. One caveat though....the water is well water with a very high sulfur content and is therefore not good for drinking or cooking. We did not know this until we got there so we drove to town about twelve miles away and got some gallons of water. On our next trip here we will fill up our holding tank to use for baths and bring plenty of bottled water for drinking and cooking. Believe me, it is that bad. But everything else here is great. Yes, they do check your coggins papers for each horse upon arrival. PLEASE try The Bolo Club.
Reviewed by: rharwood on 6/4/2012 7:59:15 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/2/2012 Hometown: Arab, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We just returned from a weekend stay at Bolo. We stayed in the Crib, a unique bunk house in the barn, and had use of the kitchen and lodge which was great. The bath house was clean as was the campground. George was very nice and accomodating. The trails were rougher than we like, but beautiful scenery and many miles of trails. They were very steep in a lot of places with rocks to negotiate. Your horse needs to be in shape and definately ride with a breast collar and crupper.The trails need to be marked better, but George said he is working on that. Overall a nice weekend.
Reviewed by: Judy on 9/26/2011 12:50:05 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/23/2011 Hometown: Harrison, TN