HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Broken Arrow Horse Camp and Campground
(click on name for more information)


Custer, SD

Overall TRAIL RATING with 28 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 28 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We spent 8 days at Broken Arrow - the sites were great - a bit crowded (not a lot of privacy), the stalls for the horses were AMAZING - but inconvenient as you had to haul your saddles up to the stalls to saddle (golf carts did help). Camp owners were incredibly kind and helpful. Trails out of camp were very poorly marked, so bring a GPS and get directions from the owners - we ended up trailering out most days to better marked trails - sites were beautiful!!
Reviewed by: Reed2016 on 6/25/2016 4:18:28 PM
More reviews by Reed2016
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/25/2015 Hometown: Ellsworth, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We went camping at Broken Arrow for 7 days beginning on 8/4. I knew this was one of the worst times to go out to the Black Hills because of the Sturgis Rally, but I had no choice because that was the only time my son and daughter had available to go. Traffic was bad going there and worse coming home. Heading there, the brakeline on my truck sprang a leak. We called the campground and they were able to give us safer directions to get there since we had little braking power. They were also able to refer us to a good place to get our truck fixed in Custer (Leo's) who fixed our truck promptly and charged reasonably. As this was rally week, I was afraid the campground would be noisy and overrun with motorcycles. Although there were a number of motorcycles there, this camp was absolutely the most quiet campground that I have ever stayed in. We just rode the trails that you could get to from camp and this kept us busy for six days. You just walk out of camp and you are immediately on the trails in the National Forest. The first day, Sue (owner) took us out and showed us around on a 2 1/2 hour ride. She offered to take us out again, but we figured with the maps they supplied, we would be able to find our way. Trails were varied in terms of difficulty and how rocky they were. I would definitely recommend shoes, although we had a pony along who went barefoot and rode over 6 hours one day without becoming tender. Usually, there is more than one trail to a destination, so you can make the ride easier or more challenging depending on the route you take. This was nice, because we had my daughter in law along and when she went out we could go on less strenuous trails. Horse stalls were covered and safe. Campground was clean and well cared for. Showers and restrooms were clean and decorated with neat western artwork. More than enough trails right out of camp to keep you busy for a week. Owners were friendly and very helpful. Lots of the sites are close together, but we had two primitive sites and they were roomy enough. There were not a lot of horses there (probably because horse riders avoid rally time) but even though there were a million motorcyclists on the roads,once we were in the campground or on the trails we never even noticed them. This was a great place to stay and to ride.
Reviewed by: Gerry S on 8/21/2012 2:57:41 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/4/2012 Hometown: Bruno, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We spent eight wonderful days at Broken Arrow during the 4th of July Holiday; riding six of the eight days and spending the other two playing tourist in the Custer / Black Hills area. Jerry and Sue have a great facility and go out of their way to play host and make you feel like one of the family. We know some folks like to bring their horses to their campsite to saddle-up but we actually appreciated everyone using golf carts to take their tack to the barns; one of the few times we have enjoyed eating outside without flies. Our daughter, son inlaw and grandson, non horse people, joined us for the week and also enjoyed their stay. We thought we would end up using one of Jerry's trailers to haul our horses to other trails but we were more than happy with the trails right out of camp. There is a lot of variety in trail destinations and lenghts. We had plenty of two to three hour rides and if we had wanted could have been out for the day. The Chuck Wagon dinner was a lot of fun and we met some great folks. We would recommend Broken Arrow to multi-generational families with a mix of horse and non-horse people. Great location to use as a base camp for area sightseeing (Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, Mastadon Digs). Our daughter and son inlaw went caving and on another day took mountain climbing classes while we played grandparents. Of special note is the care they take to have as much grass as possible in the campsites; it is kept watered and closely mowed; our one year old grand son really appreciated falling down on soft grass instead of rock. We have camped with our horses from Florida, to Kentucky and extensively in Missouri. Broken Arrow is in our top five favorite destinations now and we intend to return. Really nice to have a place to go during the heat of the summer.
Reviewed by: Bob & Cindy Fauser on 8/3/2012 7:11:20 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/4/2012 Hometown: Colona, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a group of 8 that stayed at camp. We can't say enough good things about this campground! Wonderful hosts, wonderful amenities, Wonderful family-like atmosphere, and excellent horse barn! Jerry is more worried about getting the horses situated and us situated than he is about getting paid when you first pull in. There are several trails you can ride from camp or you can do like we did and trailer to surrounding areas. Overall, when we return to the Black Hills, we will definitely be staying here! We rode to and through 2 other camps and were not big fans of them. You have everything you need at Broken Arrow!
Reviewed by: Kendra on 7/14/2012 10:55:30 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/8/2012 Hometown: Pleasant Hill, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wow...haven't been here for several years and great changes. Out 4 days so far. There is little pine bark beetle damage in what I've been riding so far, and therefore few downed trees/trail closings. Varied terrain on 2 - 7 hour rides. Horses in covered pens (kids are happy w/rain for next couple days). Jerry and Sue have added cabins, and a few cute hotel rooms for those w/o LQ's. An outdoor kitchen is being made, and chuck wagon dinners start on Friday's in June. They want folks to have fun and get to know their neighbors so providing those gathering spots
Reviewed by: Lynn Renee on 5/24/2012 10:22:39 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/18/2012 Hometown: Stillwater, MN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The new owners have made a great campground into a mighty spectacular one! When we camped there 2 years ago, our handicapped friend had difficulty getting his tack back and forth to his mule even though he was parked at the closest site to the covered corrals. Jerry has several golf carts that now make it easier for anyone to get around when and where needed! There are also some new cabins that are not only cozy but also decorated in high style! Same goes for the bunkhouse and even the showerhouse. Everything about the entire campground is immaculate. Jerry and Sue are friendly and super helpful. I'd highly recommend staying at the campground and hope to make a return visit.
Reviewed by: Cindi on 10/10/2011 8:08:13 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/14/2011 Hometown: Arcola, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This campground and riding was the best we have been to and we've been to alot. The camp was immaculant and the owners were VERY FRIENDLY and helped with anything we asked. The trails were great and the maps that were given to us were right on and we had no problems at all finding out way around. We will definitely be going back again and recommend this place to everyone.
Reviewed by: Traci Westphal on 8/6/2011 7:24:04 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/1/2010 Hometown: Corning, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground opens onto the Black Hills National Forest which made for GREAT access and riding. Immaculate bathhouse and laundry; stalls covered but open which didn't present any issues. Great hosts! Only issue I have is like another reviewer said: this is NOT just frequented by horse folks; in fact, it was probably 60-40 in favor of Winnebago etc and non-horse folks. Also, the campsites are a bit "on top of each other" and laid out like row houses. Clean, convenient but a bit too "neighborly" for me; didn't feel like I was camping and didn't much care to listen to neighbors conversations on both sides of us; I prefer some SPACE which Broken Arrow does not provide. Now, it does allow for campfires but I didn't like being 15 feet from my neighbor's campfire either. Hosts are VERY helpful and accomodating providing hay at a reasonable cost and very attentive. Sign in window of office said "Campground for Sale" so if we go back, we would check to be sure ownership has not changed hands.
Reviewed by: Trailer Tom on 10/14/2010 2:20:55 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/20/2010 Hometown: Waynesville, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I spent two weeks at the Broken Arrow campground and it felt like home by the time I left. The hosts and facilities are one of the best. I have already reserved a spot for two weeks next summer.
Reviewed by: Donelan on 7/11/2010 8:54:07 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/4/2010 Hometown: Decatur, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

You can not ask for a cleaner, nicer place. Very close to town and attractions. Great trails, good maps. Many repeat guests (I guess that pretty much says it all). Jeri and Larry are very nice and helpful. This is a place to check out.
Reviewed by: Andy & Karen on 6/29/2010 3:30:23 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/29/2010 Hometown: Loxley, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We just spent a week here, we found the trails well marked, diamonds at intersections relate to the map. We enjoyed the nice sights along the way. The only 4 wheeler in camp was the one Larry uses to do chores. Everything in camp that we needed, Top notch camp. We had some great meals at the Hitchrail in Pringle. Plan to return again!
Reviewed by: Carol on 10/22/2009 6:06:14 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/6/2009 Hometown: Colorado Springs, CO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We just returned from our stay at Broken Arrow Campground and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owners keep the entire camp spotless. Larry hauls out manure at least twice a day and is a working dynamo while Geri cleans the showerhouse leaving it spotless! Stalls are covered, and there are plenty of wheelbarrows and water hoses to make sure the equines have the best of accommodations, too. Trails are not well marked, but since the riding is in the Nat'l Forest, that cannot be held against the campground. Yes, we hope to come back again.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 8/11/2009 4:51:42 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/8/2009 Hometown: , IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I gave it 3 stars, only because they do allow ATV's there in the campground. Personally, I do not think ATVs and horses make for a good combination. The campground is spotless. The bath houses were clean, however it needs more ventilation. The trails are all good and they have a rental trailer you can use to trailer out to the further trailheads.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 8/3/2009 10:32:12 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/1/2009 Hometown: , TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Well if you like camping on top of each other, listening to 4 wheelers going up & down the road, hauling your equipment up to your horses, & ride trails that are not marked well.(the maps they SOLD should be free as they were not very helpful) This is the place for you. I actually would rather hear a few barking dogs than to have to listen to 4 wheelers. If the fact that ATV's were allowed at this place we would have never stayed there. I will say one good thing it was clean.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 8/1/2009 5:51:14 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/1/2009 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Geri and Larry run a fabulous vacation retreat. Everything is very organized and clean. We cannot say enough good things about the hosts. During a storm, a sleeping bag and cot were soaked. Larry emptied the water from the cot and put the sleeping bag in the dryer and started the fire so we would be warm on our return to camp. When Larry and Gerri discovered we had headed in the wrong direction, they tracked us down and sent us off again--in the direction of our intended destination. Many great rides from the property or Larry has a trailer you can use to go for day rides. Super people!
Reviewed by: Ce Faulkner on 7/14/2009 12:55:19 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/25/2009 Hometown: Pearl City , IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We stayed three weeks at The Broken Arrow Horse Camp last fall (2008) and another two weeks this spring.  It's a wonderful destination for horses and riders featuring second-to-none accommodations and immediate access to some of the nicest trails in the Black Hills.  The trails encompass an al la carte mix of easy, challenging, soft, rocky, open and wooded terrain and a number of spectacular overlooks.  The camp is located 4 miles south of Custer.  It is quiet and nicely laid out with beautiful views of the mountains.  The covered horse pens are a particular plus and the shower house is clean and warm.  Not only are owners Larry and Geri helpful, friendly and well-organized, they are always available and have a great sense of humor.
Reviewed by: Howard & Carolyn on 6/17/2009 6:43:19 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/23/2009 Hometown: , WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Top Notch place to stay. Facilities were so well kept up, I felt like I was at a 5 star motel and my horses did too. Owner's are exceptionally knowledgable, accomodating, and treat you like family. Something for everyone, if my older kids that didn't want to put so much time in the saddle as I did, could safely venture off to the park or town for something to do as well. Alot in the area to see.
Reviewed by: Sandra Bollom on 4/1/2009 6:45:04 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/10/2008 Hometown: Hammond, WI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Host and Hostess were very friendly and extremely helpful. Always willing to recommend a point of interest and help you map it out. The restrooms were kept very very clean and the stalls were adequate. The view was magnificant. The only minor complaint I have is that the sites are extremely close to one another. PS.. Wouldn't recommend the ride to Mount Rushmore due to the poor condition and erosion of the trail on the last leg to Rushmore. If your horse were to get stuck or hurt there are no service/access roads in or out so the prognosis wouldn't be good. The risk far out weighed the satisfaction of riding to Rushmore. Definately would return as we had a blast trail blazing thru custer.
Reviewed by: Tocky11 on 1/25/2009 11:59:10 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/18/2008 Hometown: Wayne, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Larry and Geri, thanks for a great vacation. My husband and I stayed for 7 days and wished we could've stayed longer. Geri is very knowledgeable of the area and very helpful findng your way on their mapped trails. Our first day out, on the west side we came across a herd of elk, 8 cows and a big bull and then came across another bull on the otherside of the trail, very exciting. The scenery from the campground and out on the trails is beautiful. You definitely have to ride up to Heaven and to Blue Bell Lodge. Thanks again for a great time!!! Sonny and Tammy
Reviewed by: Tammy on 10/19/2008 3:31:43 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/13/2008 Hometown: Monticello, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Thank you so much for enjoyable trail riding. We had so much fun. Everything was so clean and well kept. Good luck the rest of the season and I hope you get some of your own riding in!
Reviewed by: Aimee on 7/15/2008 11:42:05 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/12/2008 Hometown: Huron, SD, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Broken Arrow is an EXCELLENT facility. Trails good,horse corrals good,trailer parking facilities good. Very clean bathhouse with endless hot water. Larry & Geri are GREAT host. Larry took time out of his day to come look for us when a bad storm came up.(the only day we didn't take rain coats!) We are returning in June 2008 for another GREAT stay at Broken Arrow. GREAT PLACE FOR VACATION.
Reviewed by: Brad & Gigi Palmer on 5/27/2008 1:08:53 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/5/2007 Hometown: Andover, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We thoroughly enjoyed this camp. Many options to ride. Much to do in the area when not riding. We stayed 2 extra days and plan to return on another trip. The hosts are great folks and the facilities are great, easy to get to with a big rig.
Reviewed by: Jack & Bonnie on 3/10/2008 10:52:54 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/27/2007 Hometown: Cross Plains, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a first class camp with covered corrals, spotless bsthhouse, full hook-ups and excellent hosts. We traveled all the way from Tennessee to camp here, and our only regret is that we only stayed for 6 days. We could have easily stayed for 2 weeks. We rode the forest service trails, and also rode into Custer State Park and ate at the Blue Bell Lodge, leaving directly from camp. We also rented Larry and Geri's trailer and did more riding in Custer. The possibilities are endless. Also lots to see and do in the Black Hills when not riding. Would go back in a heartbeat. If I could change one thing, it would be that the trails were better marked. However, they were very scenic and easy, and we didn't have much trouble finding our way around with the maps provided. Feel free to email me if you want more info.
Reviewed by: Julie Slack on 8/30/2007 1:25:10 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/26/2007 Hometown: Englewood,, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was a wonderful place to ride,and the campground was just great.Easy trails and beautiful scenery.Clean camp.
Reviewed by: Richard McMasters on 8/10/2007 4:06:12 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/18/2007 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We stayed 6 days here. Excellent camp sites, quiet, beautiful view. Hosts were very helpful and loaned us their trailer to go to trail heads. Most horse stalls are covered, very clean and secure. They have a "turn out" corral so your horses can roll when returning to camp. Laundry facilities and shower areas exceptionally clean. Easy access to the park system.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 8/1/2007 6:22:12 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/6/2007 Hometown: , WI

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List