HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Brushy Creek Guest Ranch
(click on name for more information)


Gloster, MS

Overall TRAIL RATING with 23 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 23 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The restrooms were filthy and out of paper products the 3 days and 2 nites we were there, the campground was underwater. Very disappointed..
Reviewed by: Cindylee on 2/28/2017 11:13:40 AM
More reviews by Cindylee
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/15/2016 Hometown: Brundidge , Al

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just returned from 6 days at Brushy Creek Ranch. The new owners, Chris and Ashley, are awesome horse people who will accommodate all your camp and trail riding needs. The campground is in excellent shape and the trails are great fun. Chris and Ashley tell me, they now offer some rental horses as well as leading rides for those new to the trails. I look forward to returning in the near future. I believe this is the best riding in the area.
Reviewed by: tom dischler on 10/19/2015 1:25:18 PM
More reviews by tom dischler
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/11/2015 Hometown: Eunice, LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

ATTN:BRUSHY CREEK RANCH IS UNDER NEW OWNERS!!! Chris and Ashli Kimball have the Ranch now. It is a slice of Heaven. God is moving here. You will be treated like family. Cabins, fishing, a pool, great trails for all levels of riders. Shady campsites with some pens at the sites. Covered stalls also. A big arena. Great place for clinics. I just atended a Max Bishop mule Clinic there. I had a blast. Stayed 9 wonderful days. Please come see for yourself.
Reviewed by: Jonesfarm on 8/17/2015 3:08:02 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/7/2015 Hometown: Citronelle, Al

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Good facilities and trails that could be better marked, just not the right owners. Definitely not horse people! Campground was great and well maintained. They are pricing themselves out of business. We travel across US from MI. to Louisiana yearly and is close enough in winter months to ride there, but fees at campground are a deterrent. $40/night for campsite plus $10/night for each horse stall is by far the most we`ve encountered. We reserved site at $30/night and were charged $40. A normal site fee with hookups from our travels have been $18-$30/night. Paying $24/night at the wonderful Mammoth Cave Horse Camp makes $40 at Brushy Creek seem way out of line. Owners would do better to lower prices to more likely fill campground than detouring potential customers away, otherwise move on to something else. We love campground and trails but will be searching for more economical alternative close to Brushy Creek or only use "day use"
Reviewed by: Todd & Sonya Peters on 4/5/2015 1:41:38 PM
More reviews by Todd %26 Sonya Peters
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/14/2015 Hometown: Scotts, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have been going to Brushy Creek Guest Ranch for years. New owners are awesome and very helpful. Trails are beautiful in any season. Campground is neat and well maintained.
Reviewed by: citycowgirl on 4/1/2015 8:53:52 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/26/2015 Hometown: NOLA, LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

New management and soon to be new owners are awesome! Friendly and honest! pleasure to return to such a great place.
Reviewed by: horselover021 on 2/18/2015 10:48:34 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 2/16/2015 Hometown: South louisiana, La

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

brushy creek trails are very good for any rider. creek crossings are clear with sandy gravel bottom. forest service trails are well marked. other trails made by riders are not well marked, but you will not get too lost. brusy creek guest ranch campground is well maintained. do not be mislead by some negative reviews. no campground is perfect, but brushy creek guest ranch is the best place in mississippi to camp and ride. the only negative is the brown water sometime, just bring your own drinking water.
Reviewed by: phil h on 12/9/2014 8:02:55 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 12/6/2014 Hometown: quitman, ms

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was once an awesome place to camp and ride. The facilities changed hands arround may of 2013, since then business has declined due to rude owners. They over charge your credit card, and have no clue about horse people or business. They are unapologetic in their theft and rudeness. They even told me they don't need me or my friends business, well that must not be true because they were previously over booked, now almost never booked up. KARMA! I pray it changed hands again!
Reviewed by: Horselover0211 on 11/17/2014 5:20:15 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/11/2014 Hometown: Louisiana, La

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We stayed here for over a week and really hated to leave! The campground is beautiful. Loved the privacy of the bathhouse! The owners are extremely helpful and accommodating. The covered stalls are very nice. We had intended to use the outdoor stalls that are included in some of the campsites but found that they were just too small for a prolonged stay. It rained quite a bit during our visit but we were still able to use the trails. The forest service has been marking trees with survey tape for who knows what, so if your follow the survey tape you may get lost. There are many side trails but if your follow the diamonds you will make some really pretty loops and be ok. We will definitely be back. We've been on the road with our horses for 5 weeks visiting different horse camps in the south and Brushy Creek Guest Ranch remains one of my favorites! Really a five star camp!
Reviewed by: Ozark Mountain Gal on 3/6/2014 3:25:23 PM
More reviews by Ozark Mountain Gal
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 2/4/2014 Hometown: Ozark Mountains, mo

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Miles and miles of beautiful, well maintained trails in the Homochitto National Forest. Some are hilly with nice vistas and quiet forests; others are wide and spacious. No 4 wheelers or motorcycles. Clear water sandy bottom creek crossings perfect for watering horses. Trails with steep sections have an alternate route so riders of all levels can safely ride together. So many trail combinations, we seldom encounter other riders. Stall bedding is not allowed but pens/stalls have sandy soil. There are two horse wash racks. Trails have been recently marked with survey tape. Campground is picturesque, well maintained and thoughtfully planned. Most sites have two horse pens, a fire ring, picnic table, and hook-ups. Those without pens are located adjacent to ample size covered stalls. Sites in the center of the loop are pull through for the super long trailers. Ample space between sites allow privacy. Spotless bathhouses have private shower, toilet and sink per room. Nice pond for afternoon fishing. Owners don’t tolerate unruly guests which makes this an ideal experience. Close to Louisiana, little over an hour north of Baton Rouge.
Reviewed by: Debbie Springer on 11/24/2013 8:06:24 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/18/2013 Hometown: St. Martinville, LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My family has been going to Brushy Creek Guest Ranch for years. The past couple of years I had noticed the Ranch was going down. I was pleasantly surprised this past weekend. The new owners have really brought the place back to life. Everything was clean, well kept. They have nice big sites, water & elec. hook ups and most with trees. I have been to a lot of horse camps and Brushy Creek Guest Ranch is at the top of my list.
Reviewed by: shelia rancher on 11/17/2013 8:16:56 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/16/2013 Hometown: denham springs, la

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Excellent camp grounds. Miss Linda is a wonderful host. Does everything possible to please their guests. Stalls were very clean and well maintained.
Reviewed by: DRW on 11/1/2013 6:05:31 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/26/2013 Hometown: Lafayette, La

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is in response to the person who identifies themselves as Allise Barker of Denham Springs La. I've done some research and have come to the conclusion based on my research that you may indeed be of relation to these new owners of this campground, therefore you have a biased opinion of what happened, and you were also present when the male owner threatened me and yelled at me. You were however, not present when the female owner was rude to me. If you are not in fact of relation to them, you still have no clue of the events that occurred during my stay. I camped there with many friends all of whom I know. If you were a guest I never saw you as the group I knew were the only ones there at the time. Since you do not know me, you cannot account for the validity of my statements. I NEVER used foul language! If I had there is still NEVER a reason of ANY kind for a host to yell at a guest. It is NEVER ACCEPTABLE to threaten a person with police action for writing a check that has NOT been proven to be returned for insufficient funds. I did nothing while I was there to warrant this type of behavior from these people. I have also encountered a few other people who have been treated very rudely by the male owner, he yelled at them and hung up the phone with them. He also evicted them, by no fault of their own. These people have double billed people, charged credit/debit cards in FULL BEFORE the guest has even arrived, as far in advance as one month, full payment. They have changed their policies to serve their own wants and at their own discretion, without advanced notice to those who booked with the previous owners. I have MANY friends that have had bad encounters there, mostly with the male owner. These people have NO clue about customer service or HOW to run a successful business! I in the past have been a great guest there,under the wonderful previous owners, always obeying the rules, a very frequent guest, without any incident. I have asked for an apology from the owners for threatening police action once my check had cleared, this was ignored. I also stated that IF I had indeed offended them it was NOT intentionally, AGAIN ignored!
Reviewed by: Mary Gaidry on 8/4/2013 4:56:38 PM
More reviews by Mary Gaidry
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/18/2013 Hometown: Houma, Louisiana,

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Brushy creek is a horse riding heaven!!!! I read the review about the lady being evicted and I have to respond. I was camping there at the time of her stay... and there is always "2" sides to a "story". The campground was immaculate, the bath house was very clean and each bathroom has its own air conditioner and heater which is wonderful!!! The owners were very friendly and welcoming. The evicted guest failed to mention the foul language and rude comments made to the owners. If you handle yourself in such a way it is the right of any owner to "evict you"! I questioned the owners about the prices she quoted and he said that was untrue. This is a truely beautiful place for riding, a MUST see!!!
Reviewed by: allise barker on 7/24/2013 11:43:14 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/13/2013 Hometown: denham springs, la

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Evicted from Brushy Creek!! I'm sorry to say that I just got evicted from brushy creek, by no fault of my own! The first day of riding I no sooner got my horse unsaddled when the new owner informed me that my Australian shepherd needed to be on a leash. I told her I just got back from riding and then leashed him. Anyone who knows me knows I always leash unless on a trail. The next day the bath houses were a disaster, stopped up toilets ect, I informed the daughter of the owner that they needed attention. The pool was disgusting it was the color of iced tea! The next day I was checking out a day early and asked for a credit for my next visit the lady informed me that they don't do credits, even though I was checking out before the noon checkout time. She told me that they were trying to keep the place open and were going up on their rates to $50 a night plus an outside pen fee! I proceeded to load my horse and leave, the man came by and asked about my bill, I told them they have my credit card. The man said it was no good, despite being a new card, the daughter said dad there is a conflict with the address. I said well I will write a check, he said if it is no good he will call the police!!! He then said I was not allowed there again, that I was telling him how to run his business and was disrespectful to his daughter! To say the least I have never been treated so rudely by a business. All you out there know I would go there at least 4 times a year maybe more. They are not in the least nice people, not accommodating, flexible or considerate to their guests. They claim to be christians, this a shames me as a Christian. They no longer refund anything for a booked holiday weekend! If you are willing to be robbed, treated poorly, and exposed to rude negative people go there if not go elsewhere! I will continue to post this!
Reviewed by: Mary Gaidry on 7/18/2013 6:50:21 PM
More reviews by Mary Gaidry
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/14/2013 Hometown: Houma, Louisiana, LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a great time. Endless trails,a little muddy, I would recommend using a GPS.
Reviewed by: Muleman on 4/3/2012 7:56:43 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/31/2012 Hometown: , LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The road to the campsite is one lane only, which makes it a little worrysome, as you have to drive a ways through the forest. But once you're at the camp, it was worth the drive. The campground is just beautiful. It has a huge outdoor arena, bathhouse, swimming pool, small fishing pond, and recreation room. There are pull-through hook-ups in the front with covered stalls. There are additional hook-up's and stalls toward the back of the property, a little more private. Some shade, but some are in the full sun. The cabins are very pretty. It is clean up after yourself, and the owners take pride and make sure everyone does so. The trails are varied with lots of water crossings, a couple of bridge crossings, flat ground and hills. It is correct that the creek is a little tricky and it does have sinkholes, even in very shallow water, just make sure you have a spare set of clothes :-) I have ridden there many times and have had no accident in the creek, but have seen people hit the water, and have had difficulty crossing safely when accidentally getting lost on the trail. There are a few places where trail markings are difficult to see, follow, or have been lost; I recommend bringing along a GPS and knowing how to use it. The white trail is not too difficult to follow. There are other trails, but again, need GPS. The terrain can be slick after a good rain and the creek should only be crossed at the marked trail. The trails are mostly under tree cover, and with the water available, a great place to ride in the summertime. Word of caution, if the horse flies are bad, they are usually tripple bad there, from about mid May through June. I love it there
Reviewed by: Sissi on 1/4/2012 1:07:06 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/15/2011 Hometown: , LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

this is a beautiful place to ride,especially since La,Miss,and south Ala.do not have alot of campgrounds.it is especially good when it is hot,there is alot of water.I look forward going back.
Reviewed by: JT-trailblazer on 7/8/2011 3:09:18 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/2/2011 Hometown: carencro,la, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My friend had an old map that showed lots of fun trails but they now they only hand out a crummy map that has only one trail:( The owner is impossible to reach on the phone if you have a question:( This is all very unfortunate because the campgrounds are lovely, bath house brand new, in ground pool next to lake, stalls, cabins available, fun trails (may be to challenging for beginners). Lots of water crossings. It was dry when we went but looked like a place to avoid during the rainy season. I understand it is for sale. Also, our rig is 40' and barely made it in but they have been doing road work. Make sure they know when you are coming because the 1 mile road in is all one lane
Reviewed by: Karen on 4/8/2010 4:14:31 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/15/2010 Hometown: Loxley, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautiful grounds, well kept. Trails are easy to moderate but not marked very well. The riding is very nice and peaceful. Lot of hills and hollows to ride up and down. Best kept spot in Mississippi!
Reviewed by: Balinda Pegram on 6/16/2009 1:56:01 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Collins, MT

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

THE CAMPGROUNDS ARE A++ EVERYTHING FOR HORSE AND RIDER. THE TRAILS ARE SUPER BUT NOT FOR BENINNERS. A LITTLE SHORT BUT WELL WORTH GOING. SUPER FAMILY ATMOSPHERE.
Reviewed by: Petra on 5/31/2009 7:29:14 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Brandon, MS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are not for beginers. Rough in some spots. Only cross creeks in designated areas. Creek has alot of sink holes. Ranch is great and well manicured. Bath houses are like a 4 star hotel.
Reviewed by: Jim and Laura on 5/27/2009 10:48:49 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/9/2008 Hometown: Zachary, LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trail is not for beginners. Close wood trails with water crossings. Cross at designated areas due to sink holes and quick sand on the Homochitto. Beautiful ride. Brushy creek is beautiful with great sites, clean bathrooms and showers, well manicured arena, picnic table for every RV site. Cabins are available for rent - a little on the pricy side. I did not see them from the inside but heard from those who rented that they are beautiful and very comfortable. Small pool also available and nice fishing pond.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 5/5/2009 6:41:40 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/1/2009 Hometown: , Select State