HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Buck N Horse Campground
(click on name for more information)


Groton, NH

Overall TRAIL RATING with 12 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 12 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is the best campground I have been to. The people are genuine, friendly and fun to be around. The BATHROOMS are nicer and cleaner then most Hotels! The trials are fun, lots of hills, varying terrain and water/bridge crossings. The camp site had a fire pit, electric paddock for the horses, plenty of room for the truck and trailer. Absolutly will be back, one of the best trips I have been on :)
Reviewed by: Merri on 7/23/2012 12:59:00 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/20/2012 Hometown: Carver, MA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Daves campground for horses and their riders is a treasure that I wish I had discovered years ago. Dave and his fellow weekend riders/campers were gracious and accomodating in every way. We felt like we had known everyone for years! They shared their enthusiam, laughter,awesome trails, pot luck dinner and great stories. Can not wait to get back there next year to ride and enjoy the people, scenery and fun again. These are people that know how to ride hard and have a great time doing it. PS- Unbelievable how clean the bathrooms and showers were, too!
Reviewed by: Sadie Perry on 11/18/2011 7:46:27 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/23/2011 Hometown: Pembroke , NH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

As an endurance and pleasure rider I enjoy the trails we share for their varied terrain and training purposes. I also enjoy the pure beauty of the area, and the abundance of wild life that we share it with. I live near Dave and his campground and come across many of his riders throughout the summer and fall seasons regularly. All the "campers" seem to be enjoying themselves, and I've never heard anything but complements to their host, and accommodations. I also know that the evenings around the community camp fire brings loads of laughter and lifelong friendships when sharing it over a camp cooked pot luck. Look forward to seeing you on the trails!
Reviewed by: Yarrow on 6/7/2011 5:57:00 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/1/2010 Hometown: White Mt National Forest, NH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Owner and campers very friendly! We had a pleasant time with good people.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 7/10/2010 3:55:28 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/25/2010 Hometown: , NH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campground website address has changed it is now bucknhorsecampground.net
Reviewed by: Brian on 3/10/2010 5:41:24 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/9/2010 Hometown: , NH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first visit to Buck N Horse. I found it be a great place. The trails were all varied both in terrian and footing. I was there with a green horse, his first year, and had a wonderful time. No traffic on the trails and very little traffic on any of the dirt roads I came across. The bathrooms were the best of any horse camping areas I have been to so far. Very clean. The camping and paddock areas were great. The people we encountered at the site were all very friendly and easy to get along with. I am ready to go again. Dave and Shirley were very accommodating. The road up to the campground had us wondering if we were on the right road, but just follow the directions. You will find it in the middle of no where, well worth the worry.
Reviewed by: LS on 10/1/2009 11:19:19 AM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 9/19/2009 Hometown: , VT

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been to Buckin'Horse several times and cannot say enough about the accommodations! The bathrooms could NOT be any nicer or cleaner. Sites and paddocks are well situated and clean. Other campers are pleasant and fun. Trails range from perfect to rough, but there will always be the good, bad and ugly! You choose your pleasure! And the views are spectacular!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 4/23/2009 7:24:29 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/1/2008 Hometown: , NH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our first riding/camping experience so we have no comparisons, but it was great! Shirley and Dave are fine folks. The bathrooms & showers are clean as a whistle. Everything has been well thought-out with water at the paddocks, a place to hose the horses, and a little "shop" where you can get ice and other things you might need. Trails were not "easy" but were not unsafe if you aren't a wreckless person. Shirleys horse does a great job of helping the more timid horses/riders through the potentially "scary" spots. We will be going back. It was overall a great time for us and our mighty steeds.
Reviewed by: becky & ron on 9/6/2008 2:48:28 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/5/2009 Hometown: Mont Vernon, NH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I leased these people my horse for nothing and he came back to me 150 pounds or more under weight and so sore he cant move.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 7/30/2008 12:30:14 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/26/2008 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

had a great time and everybody was so nice, as a novice rider they made me feel right at home
Reviewed by: jaimie on 6/3/2008 3:41:11 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Dublin, NH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to ride, miles and miles of trails.
Reviewed by: Brian on 7/9/2007 1:32:26 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/4/2007 Hometown: , NH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a GREAT time here
Reviewed by: Susan on 8/9/2006 3:20:09 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/5/2006 Hometown: , MA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

THis Place is AWESOMEEEEEEEEE
Reviewed by: Felicia on 7/20/2006 7:17:15 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 7/20/2006 Hometown: , NM