HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Buffalo National River- Buffalo River Ranch
(click on name for more information)


Jasper, AR

Overall TRAIL RATING with 8 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 8 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Really enjoyed my stay here. Owner is very friendly and willing to do anything to accomodate you and make your stay great, which mine was. Indoor arena has a few obstacles which are challenging and fun. The trails are not for the faint of heart but for us adventurous souls they are wonderful, challenging and beautiful. I will definately be going back!!
Reviewed by: Sandy on 10/18/2011 2:52:09 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/12/2011 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Jim was a WONDERFUL host! He made sure we had firewood and were settled in nicely. He was thrilled to show off the trails, and made sure we had a good time. Positives: Jim was GREAT!!! Campground was very clean, an indoor arena to play in, clean showers and bathroom. Scenery was WONDERFUL. Absolutely beautiful. Negatives: No shade at camp. I wouldn't use the outdoor stalls in the summer as there is no shade. Indoor stalls in the arena would probably be ok. Trails were very washed out when we went (it rained all spring) and it was over an hour ride to the river (1200 feet elevation, for those keeping track at home!) Overall: Make sure your horse is in shape and has shoes. If you want a nice leisurely easy trail, this is not for you. If you want beautiful views and don't mind rough trails and rocks, this is the place for you!
Reviewed by: horsin on 5/31/2011 8:38:44 PM
More reviews by horsin
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/28/2011 Hometown: Lebanon, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground was great! Host was exceptionally gracious. Planning to return. Scenery was gorgeous.
Reviewed by: D Whitley on 10/12/2010 7:30:31 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/11/2010 Hometown: Cassville, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Jim and his family are the best! We had a great week, we will be back in the fall. Make sure your horses are in good shape.
Reviewed by: David on 6/4/2010 6:03:16 PM
More reviews by David
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/25/2010 Hometown: Hartselle, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been going to BRR for years. Visiting with Jim, the owner, is half the fun of camping there. He loves to ride and show off the trails in his backyard. Both he and his daughter are very helpful. You can see all kinds of wildlife, wonderful trails, and a great river in a natural state. Getting down to and back up from the main river trail does alot to conditioning an horse and rider, but it is not that difficult.
Reviewed by: linda on 1/28/2010 1:42:10 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/2/2009 Hometown: , OK

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just spent Memorial Day weekend at BRRR.Camp is very nice,clean,and trail head is right at camp.The only drawback is: from here,is an hour or more ride down to the Buffalo River and several places are steep and rocky and very deep in mud when wet.NOT for a novice trail rider.But the views are worth it,and,Jim offers several options other than this trail: he offered the loan of a trailer to go to Ponca bridge/Steel Creek to ride,also we took a short but beautiful ride to Horseshoe Canyon Dude Ranch which was beautiful.For scenery,this just can't be beat!!
Reviewed by: Don & Sharmon on 5/24/2009 5:40:55 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/1/2009 Hometown: Harrisburg,AR, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Buffalo River Ranch is great! If you have a big rig and don't dare go down to Steele Creek...you can have hook-ups and an indoor arena to work your horse in when its stormy out. Jim is THE BEST camp host! He will gladly take you on the trail nearby, or down to Parthenon for lunch. We enjoy it and plan to back again and again.
Reviewed by: jane on 5/5/2009 10:08:53 AM
More reviews by jane
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/8/2009 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Jim and family were great. the trails were very sceinic. The campground was very clean the bathrooms were clean. Outside stalls are high and dry in wet weather. LOTS OF TRAILS A good time had by all.
Reviewed by: John F. on 6/11/2008 10:28:19 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/8/2008 Hometown: Amasa, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Friendly people, great riding, very hospitable hosts, beautiful scenery.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 1/8/2008 9:17:11 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/15/2007 Hometown: , Select State