HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Caney Mountain Horse Camp
(click on name for more information)


Big Flat, AR

Overall TRAIL RATING with 18 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 17 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campsite was level and roomy. Pens right behind site with water handy. You piled manure and they picked it up every day. Nice shower house and a wonderful gathering area on porch to sit and visit or play a little guitar on south side of office & kitchen which had great food! Riding the Buffalo River is beautiful! Rode to Hepsey School,Big Creek Bluff, Hepsey Cemetery, springs, old foundations, Gnome Trails, small cave close to camp, Funnel Rock, I Do Trail, watched some canoes go over some rapids as we ate lunch, Short Cut Trail, Hocott Homestead, large cave, the squeeze, Baileys Falls, Goat Town, Over Looks, saw Murphy's oil house, Spring Creek,saw all the permanent sites and rode the "Ooops" Trail with Wendy & Qwen. Rode a couple of days with Thomas & John and everyone was great about telling you what trail you were on. They did have a map. First couple of days we enjoyed riding with a couple that were also from Iowa but moved to Arkansa and we were always on the "I think I Know Trail"! Was all great fun! Morris did not like the road leading to camp but he said after 1 day he was really having fun! Take your generator and full gas cans. Cowboy Church on Sundays and food is so good we ate there 3 times. Nice little shop for shirts & caps. Rough riding but lots to see. Charles & Teresa are very helpful & want you to have a good time. 605 miles for us and well worth the trip.
Reviewed by: Linda & Morris Dolph on 1/24/2018 8:50:12 PM
More reviews by Linda %26 Morris Dolph
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/6/2017 Hometown: Waterloo, IA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails were pretty....map wasn't very helpful, trails weren't marked very well & few places not cleared well either, this was all ok if didn't have kids riding with us... all levels of riders was what was advertised we however only came upon trails on mountain bluffs time & time again. Was told would have to move because of our generator then later another trailer was allowed to do just what we were being told we needed to move about we were almost made to move over... the almost last 7 mile stretch to get to this camp is not a place for inexperienced truck & trailer driver.... in day light the 6miles took us 40min as to not be evil on our horses. In order to get to dinner had to walk through the middle of a group singing hymes which was a bit odd... If you need beer/fuel get it before you go because it's a 2hr jont to get it later on & get back. They are NOT Lieing about don't try to take the other rd to get in....part of the "rd" Is a creek that you have to forge to get to the rest of the "road". All & all if you are really into riding mountain bluffs & baptisms,church & have a good generator this place is for you... Shoes are a must!
Reviewed by: Kaitlynlu on 5/29/2017 3:21:56 PM
More reviews by Kaitlynlu
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/28/2017 Hometown: Oskaloosa, KS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just returned from a week at Caney Mountain. Charles, Teresa, Bootsie, Cheryl and everyone else associated with this camp are GREAT. Yes the last 7 miles are slow, but once you are 15 minutes down the trail you will forget about that. I had three friends that enjoyed it so much they stayed and extra 4 days. If you are looking for a nice place to ride and great camp host I would suggest you consider Caney Mountain Horse Camp. I will surely go back.
Reviewed by: cajunmuleman on 11/23/2014 1:24:28 PM
More reviews by cajunmuleman
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/15/2014 Hometown: Rayne, LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Fantastic place to camp and ride, Yes the last seven miles are tight, but well worth it. Do your best to bring every thing you need and you will enjoy it. Charles and Theresa are GREAT!!!!! Ranks high on my list of farorite places to ride. We will be back
Reviewed by: Cajunmuleman on 9/7/2014 10:14:52 AM
More reviews by Cajunmuleman
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/24/2014 Hometown: Rayne, LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband and I love campgrounds and owners where Top Notch sure nice warm and friendly.The food was all homecooked and very delicious.They had cooper sinks in the rooms and was extremely clean and well stocked.The trailriding was best views with overlooks every where.So many things to see five days riding wasn't nearly enough at all.We already planned return trip next fall.If winter weather breaks we'll go down and stay in one of many well decorated rooms they have to rent out.This camp should be on every ones Bucket List.Only recommend is not for beginners or green horses.AAA placew to camp & ride.We also made all of new riding friends down there everyone was so friendly and kind.Thanks CaneyMountain we'll be back real soon.Happy Trails
Reviewed by: Amy Clark on 12/12/2013 4:10:14 PM
More reviews by Amy Clark
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/28/2013 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I stayed a week at Caney Mountain with my husband and six other friends. We had a great time. Charles and Theresa were great hosts, they were very attentive to our needs. This is a new campground that is continually adding more camp spots and they are also building more accomodations including more bathrooms and rental rooms. Their bathhouse that they have now is very clean and nice. We decided to have Theresa cook our evening meals and it was wonderful. It gave us time to relax after a long day of riding and was an opportunity to socialize in the evenings. The cowboy church on Sunday was very nice. The trails were the most scenic that I have ever ridden except for out west in Utah and New Mexico. They beat any that I have ridden in Indiana, Illinois, Kentucky, Tennessee and Missouri and we have been to a lot of camps in those states. The bluff riding was awesome, they just went on and on with great overlooks for several miles. There are also trails under lots of the bluffs. We rode with the resident self proclaimed "mayor" of Caney Mountain, Bootsie. He was a great guide and took us to the most scenic areas. He lives there and says there are so many trails to ride in all directions that he has not ridden them all. Charles also went out with us when he could get away and he was a great guide also.The only down side to this camp is that it does not have electricity, we all have generators so it was not a problem for us. Also the road going into the camp, about seven miles long was gravel/dirt that was very slow going and narrow in places. I do not reccommend going in after dark, also there is another way in from Big Flat, Cold Spring road, that is not reccommended for big trailer. You have to ford some creeks coming from that direction. In a nutshell this is a great place to go that is very isolated, it took us 45 minutes from the highway to drive the last seven miles. We loved it there so much that we have booked another two weeks in the fall.
Reviewed by: Marcheta Crowder Crouch on 3/25/2013 5:09:54 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/20/2013 Hometown: Shelbyville, Indiana, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautiful trails great campground food is wonderful
Reviewed by: S.Bryant on 1/1/2013 5:51:26 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/15/2012 Hometown: Memphis, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just returned from four days of riding at Caney Mtn. We absolutely loved all the scenic trails: beautiful bluffs that go on for miles, overlooks around every turn, rock formations, wildlife, and the beautiful Buffalo River. I was a little nervous about primitive camping (the reason I gave it 4 stars) bc I had never camped without hookups. However, I didn't feel I went without a thing. The bathroom is exceptionaly clean, nice and warm, and plenty of hot water. Teresa's cooking is absolutely amazing and I highly recommend it if you like country cooking! Charles and Teresa are great people and theres never a dull moment with Bootsie around. Helen is super nice as well and very knowlegible on the area. The forestry road going in isnt that bad just bumpy and so you have to go slow. We plan to return in the spring bc we didn't even scratch the surface on the riding available at Caney Mtn. You won't be disappointed if you try out Caney Mtn!!!
Reviewed by: Amanda W. on 11/4/2012 6:06:23 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/28/2012 Hometown: Lebanon, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Caney Mountain Horse Camp is absolutely fabulous! We have taken our horses all over the country and some of the best riding is right here. The scenery is breathtaking!! The trails are wonderful some easy but some very challenging which made it all that more exciting. Charles is so good to try and take everyone out in smaller groups according to your speed and your experience. I can't wait for Spring hoping to see more heavier water from the waterfalls. Beautiful camping spot in the trees and pens for your horses. Theresa is a wonderful cook when you just do not feel like cooking, so don't pass that opportunity to be able to just kick back and enjoy your time with great food and fellowship. I will miss all, hoping to return again soon. Thanks Charles, Theresa for making our 25th Wedding Anniversary the BEST.
Reviewed by: Vanessa on 10/29/2012 10:54:53 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/24/2012 Hometown: Republic, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great Place to Ride. Most Beautiful Scenery. Rivers,Caves,Mountains,Creeks, Would have Water Falls if they had more rain. They have it all. Charles & Teresa were the BEST. Thanks for everything. ( Only place I have been that i did not want to go back home lol)
Reviewed by: Kimberly on 10/15/2012 11:55:16 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/8/2012 Hometown: TREZEVANT, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Absolutely the best horse riding experience in my lifetime! Charles and Teresa, along with Bootsie and Cheryl (and others), were very friendly and accommodating. The seclusion and lack of electrical services adds to the allure of this horse camp and riding experience. If you are in need of quiet and a dose of "excape from the Rat Race" then this is the place for YOU.
Reviewed by: Darlene on 10/13/2012 7:22:34 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/8/2012 Hometown: , TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I highly recommend Caney Mountain Horse Camp at Big Flat, Arkansas. Charles and Teresa Taylor are extremely hospitable, Teresa's cooking is wonderful! The trails are absolutely spectacular! They take rides out daily for anyone that wants a guide, at no charge. Wonderful people, and beautiful country!
Reviewed by: Jenny Wells on 5/27/2012 7:50:12 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/25/2012 Hometown: Ravenden, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

They have the best trails I have been on. Great food. Really friendly folks. We stayed in one of their rooms for a week. Going back for more. This campground and trails are worth the pull. It is a primitive site but quiet generators are ok at your site. Mike & Missy Eagle, Southern Indiana
Reviewed by: Mike Eagle on 3/4/2012 1:16:07 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 2/22/2012 Hometown: Burns City, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a great time at Caney Mountain! When we left, we felt like we were leaving family behind. It was truely a great experience and one of the best places we have ridden so far. There are trails for every level of riders and someone will show you where it is best to ride. Regardless of experience, your horse needs to be fit. You cannot ride this place out in a week, perhaps even two! The owners and camp hosts are the best people you would ever want to meet. I gave the camp 4 stars only because they are still working on the sites and pens. The sites could be a bit more level and the pens are rocky. Although, you are on top of a mountain. Charles plans to bring in shavings which will make the pens much nicer. They are nice and dry and 12X12. The sites are gravel and they will make sure that you are level when you park. There is water available for the horses, etc. Just bring plenty of drinking water. We stayed a week and had no issues with water and our generator kept our batteries charged. The bathhouse is spotless and very nice. Teresa cooks some wonderful meals for a very reasonable price which makes mornings go much easier and evenings very relaxed. The road going in is rather rough and it takes a while to travel it because you have to go slow, but it is well worth the effort. Just take your time. Call ahead and they will be sure to hold traffic until you are in. The trails are amazing. They go out from camp in all directions and you can see many beautiful sights in a day's ride. You don't have to travel 3 hours to see one bluff, you can almost see 3 bluffs in one hour! It's quick to get to the river too which is also quite beautiful even though it was low when we were there due to drought. If you have a chance to go to Caney, don't hesitate, you will enjoy the ride!
Reviewed by: Tammy on 10/23/2011 6:07:50 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/9/2011 Hometown: Brooksville, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This a is great place to camp and ride. The trails are the best we have ever rode in Arkansas. The campground is very nice with nice pens and a lovely shower house. Charles and Theresa are number one for campground hosts. We cannot wait to go back. The rental rooms are very nice and very reasonably priced.
Reviewed by: Debbie on 9/5/2011 6:18:46 PM
More reviews by Debbie
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/1/2011 Hometown: , MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Riding at Caney Mountain is an awesome experience! Our first trip was in Dec. of 2010 and we have been back several times since! The trails are challenging and beautiful. I would recommend that you have your animals shod all the way around, the trails are rocky. If you enjoy a remote wilderness type experience this is THE PLACE to go with OUTSTANDING hosts! Charles and Teresa make everyone feel welcome and Bootsie and Charles are both great trail guides! The bathhouse is immaculate and the camp spots are shaded with good safe 12 x 12 pens for your animals. Evenings are a relaxing time spent on the porch of the cabin visiting with new and old friends! When you call for reservations, be sure to tell Teresa that you want meals included! Teresa is a wonderful cook her biscuits can't be beat! What better way to spend a weekend - great riding, great company and great food! And someone else cooking breakfast and dinner!!!
Reviewed by: Donna on 8/3/2011 8:35:11 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/30/2011 Hometown: Ida, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What a TERRIFIC experience! I can't say enough about Caney Mtn Horse Camp, Theresa and Charles are genuinely wonderful people. They have put their heart and soul into the camp and it shows. The facilities are gorgeous (we did not camp) the bathhouse is better than my bathroom at home! The trails range from Easy to Challenging, they say these are the BEST trails in Arkansas and I have to agree. Lovely wooded trails along the Buffalo River, the Bluff trails have stunning views. Some parts of the trails were rocky, I would recommend shoes for the horses. Lots of nice creek crossings. My gelding had very little trail experience...he does now! Spend a week there and any horse will become an excellent trail horse. Do not miss out on Theresa's cooking!! They have a sign that says, "Come as strangers, leave as friends" and it's so very true. Hopefully you'll meet Bootsie and Tom, just all-around great folks. I will definitely be back in the fall.
Reviewed by: Kristin Harding on 6/6/2011 5:29:29 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/3/2011 Hometown: Jonesboro, AR

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is the place to go if you want adventurous riding, sights of the gorgeous bluffs on the Buffalo River, and the best hospitality EVER!!! The owners are Charles and Teresa Taylor. They have made an awesome horse camp, lodge, bath facilities, and rooms to rent. Teresa is THE BEST cook so take advantage of the meals!!!! You will have to make multiple camping trips to experience the many trails. I'm going back in the fall. :-)
Reviewed by: Cindy on 6/6/2011 2:13:33 PM
More reviews by Cindy
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/3/2011 Hometown: Batesville, AR