HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Caprock Canyon State Park
(click on name for more information)


Quitaque, Tx

Overall TRAIL RATING with 9 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 8 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just returned from trail riding in Texas. Our stay a Caprock Canyon was great. The volunteers and rangers were extremely nice and helpful. The horse camp is primitive with excellent pipe corrals and water . Very nice. The trails are marked well with awesome scenery. Highly recommend this state park .
Reviewed by: remington77 on 4/15/2016 12:04:13 PM
More reviews by remington77
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/5/2016 Hometown: Waverly, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

WOW!!! We really enjoyed this camp and trail! The site seeing and trails were awesome! Pretty easy, but watch for those people with giant backpacks comin up over hills at ya..
Reviewed by: janerides on 9/14/2010 6:40:57 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/12/2010 Hometown: Springfield, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The weather was gorgeous; perfect riding weather. The trails were well maintained and although the horse camp was full we rarely saw any other riders. The views are awesome as well. We will definitely be going back to ride again.
Reviewed by: mule rider on 11/28/2009 7:48:07 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/31/2009 Hometown: , NM

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is by far one of the most beautiful places in Texas! I plan to go back soon. Great groomed trails and wonderful campsites. Could be improved with electric.
Reviewed by: Donna Allen on 6/3/2009 6:04:44 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/16/2008 Hometown: Coldspring, TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We've camped twice, 1st time in July - the biting flies drove the horses crazy. 2nd was around Thanksgiving. A mountain lion visited the campground (tracks confirmed by ranger)and the weather went from beautifully warm to an ice storm in 24 hours. Trails are great. Horse campground is nice with 2 pipe fence correls per site.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 5/12/2009 2:17:10 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/7/2009 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

very nice ride beautiful views. used rent a horse, not bad. stayed in turkey hotel. Liked area so much we bought a place there. Now avaible for guests. There is a paddock avaible to keep horses,RV hookups. Come visit return to the fiftys. 2/3bedrtoom house cost 10,15 K
Reviewed by: Ted Crom on 7/15/2007 4:33:54 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/15/2007 Hometown: Cross Creek, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just returned from a trip to Caprocks canyon,the views are spectaculor,there are not enough trails,the campground does not have electricity but it is nice,the pens are really nice.if it was not so far,I would go often.
Reviewed by: JT on 4/21/2007 3:45:39 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/10/2007 Hometown: CARENCRO, LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rode from South Plains to Quitaque going thru the old tunnel full of darkness & bats. Storm came up w/lightning, high winds, and golfball sized hail. No place to hide. All we could do was to keep on trotting. Made the 25 miles in less than 3 hours. Course we are endurance people and have conditioned endurance horses. WORTH THE TRIP
Reviewed by: Jim on 11/22/2004 9:11:27 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/1/1996 Hometown: , TX

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is a very scenic trail. Two places were too steep for our group and we led our horses through these areas rather than ride. It was beautiful and exciting and well worth the drive to the park.
Reviewed by: Elizabeth on 10/23/2004 9:42:01 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/13/2004 Hometown: Allen, TX