HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Circle E Guest Ranch, LLC
(click on name for more information)
Winchester, TN

Overall TRAIL RATING with 163 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 160 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a great 2 wks. at Circle E. The trails are rocky. I recommend front & hind shoes w/pads or boots for horses not accustomed. Pretty scenery, could use a few more sign posts if your directionally challenged like me. They are marked "easy" Moderate" "extreme". The yellow arrows always point back to camp the fastest route and I found myself on "extreme" trails following them. Most stalls are 8x8 ask for stalls in barn D & E for 8x 10 (request an extra stall for hay/tack if staying longer than a weekend).They provide bedding, but I recommend you supply your own manure fork. The Owner let me turn my horses out into a round pen and small pastures for 2 hr. periods (greatly appreciated) If you have a rig that requires 2 30amp or 50 amp electric ask for sites C 1-5 or D 1-5. Pull thru sites. Easy access to both sides of the dump station (the white pvc pipe lifts out of the ground for dumping. The roads were nice and wide getting into the campground. There is a 2mile 11% hill so make sure your truck's tranny and brakes are in good working order and matches to your trailer. Owner & staff were friendly and helpful. Would love to return
Reviewed by: guytim on 10/26/2016 8:56:17 AM
More reviews by guytim
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/9/2016 Hometown: CENTREVILLE, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great riding, food, people and facilities. Thanks to the cooks for feeding us and we greatly appreciated Cody for helping us find the best trails for a couple of old folks from Florida. Everyone we meet was friendly and helpful, from the gentleman from Mobile that helped our mare cross her first double log to the folks from Manchester that took us on a great ride. Looking forward to being back next year.
Reviewed by: bob campbell on 10/19/2016 11:16:22 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/10/2016 Hometown: Cherry Lake, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Circle E Guest Ranch in Belvidere, TN - I stayed for 2wks in October 2016. The campground was clean with pull-thru sites. Has electric /water/dump station/ bath & shower room . Has a dining/entertainment hall. Dining hall is open for organized rides and most weekends. Has stalls. The sites have 1 30 amp & 2 20 amp services. If you have a larger rig you want sites C 1-5 or D 1-5, they have 1 30 amp, 1 50 amp, 2 20 amp electric service. They offer free bedding and offer cleaning for $5 per day. The barns closest to the campsites have 8x8 stalls. I recommend barn D & E because they have 8x10 stalls . They gave us a free tack stall to store feed & tack. Make sure you request one if staying more than a weekend. Shower house was clean. Food was good. Camp staff and owner were friendly, helpful and accommodating. They let us use the round pen to let our horses stretch out. The trail could use more markers. They can be rocky and some sharp rocks. I recommend your horse have front & back shoes w/pads or all boots if your horse isn't from a rocky region. I am from Michigan and had shoes without pads or front boots on our horses and the rocks still bothered them. The trails are marked easy, moderate & extreme. The yellow arrows point back to camp. One word of caution on using the yellow arrows to find your way back to camp.They route you the most direct way and not necessarily the "easy" way. I re-routed on yellow because it took me on "extreme " trails. The riding was beautiful and I would recommend Circle E. The roads getting to the campground are good and will accommodate the largest of rigs, however there is a 11% grade, 2 mile hill just before the campground. Make sure your tow vehicle is matched to your trailer and transmission /brakes are in good working condition
Reviewed by: Guytim on 10/19/2016 9:55:42 AM
More reviews by Guytim
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/19/2016 Hometown: CENTREVILLE, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our second trip to Circle E guest ranch and since this was KY spring break week and not TN the campground was not busy at all. The weather was nice the 4 days we were there but it had rained considerably the week prior to our visit so the trails had several muddy spots. We stayed on the saw mill side of the campground since one of our group had rented a cabin, (which had a nice view over the bluff) and our sites were very nice with Electric (50amp), water, and sewer hook ups. The barn is one of the nicest we have used and for $5 per day they will clean your stall while you are out riding, which we did enjoy having that amenity. The campground is clean but sadly the restaurant is now only open for group rides. The maps are very easy to follow and the riding for the most part is easy to navigate but you will pull several inclines so have your mount legged up prior to the visit. I have never been on one of their group rides but I believe that the facilities would provide a good experience. If you have never ridden in this part of Tennessee then I would recommend visiting. The owners have worked hard to provide a very nice campground with lots of trails to explore.
Reviewed by: Mike Lisa on 6/2/2015 11:22:54 AM
More reviews by Mike Lisa
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/6/2015 Hometown: Hartford, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first visit to Circle E. We came with a group of 10 and stayed on the Saw Mill side for the Sept organized ride. There were some really good things about this campground and some not so good. The best part of Circle E by far are the trails. If you are a good rider, have a good horse and like a challenge there arent any trails you cant ride here. Yes there was mud but you could get around most of the bad spots. Yes some of the rocks were really slick just go slow. A must is having a "fit horse" thats well shod, most of the trails have steep long climbs. We stayed on the Saw mill side but they dont tell you that there are permanent homes on that side and it looks dumpy.The stalls are way bigger on this side but if you keep your horse on the outside of the barn like we did there are no lights. There were two wheelbarrows in the barn that barely worked and were being held together with baleing twine. The meals were good but we had the same thing for breakfast everyday. We opted to walk to the dining hall for meals but if you dont like exercising you will want to drive its a long walk! All though they can improve on some things our overall vacation was good you cant beat the trails here we will return in the future.
Reviewed by: Indyfire on 12/9/2014 4:05:23 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/6/2014 Hometown: Danville, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have ridden at this campground many times and I would not pull my rig from Texas to Tennessee if both the campground and trails were not enjoyable. Got a problem riding in mud then do not come riding in Southwest Texas. Got a problem with rocks then do not come riding in the Texas Hill Country. I guess all we have left to ride is the beach. Heck if there was not an element of danger riding in the mountains then I guess I would just stay here and work these cows all the time. Ray and his group do an excellent job and I have ridden trails in 26 states and I like to ride Tennessee and the Circle E. Do not let a few rocks and a little mud keep you from going to Circle E. Great food and people and riding.
Reviewed by: Roll Top Meadows Farm on 11/22/2014 9:48:32 AM
More reviews by Roll Top Meadows Farm
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/15/2014 Hometown: Alvin , tx

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

you want find a horse camp owner thats trys any harder. Everyone that works at circle E was great trails,camping,dinner hall,barns all great dont know were u could find a better place camp and ride i have rode many places and circle E is a place i want to go back to many times
Reviewed by: Johnny Hall on 12/25/2013 11:35:50 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/1/2013 Hometown: Russellville, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Always friendly helpful staff in the office, the restrooms/bathhouses are huge and always clean. We have ridden here a dozen times or so and love it! Some people fuss about the mud but there are usually ways of going around it if it is an issue at all. We have trail ridden for years and expect mud to be in the mountains, as well as some rocks. There are lots of trails for different levels of experience to suit anyone. If you don't like a certain trail, turn around, there will be lots more to choose from. We love coming here and are thankful for people like Mr. Evans who give us the opportunity to ride over hundreds of acres of land.
Reviewed by: M Jett on 11/9/2013 9:00:56 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/13/2013 Hometown: McMinnville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great weekend! rode some trails that I never knew were there, we rode with trail guide Gary Neeley he took us on awesome ride, the campground was nearly empty, what a shame, cause the place is awesome, great trails great campsites (several hundred) super barns, fall colors, bluffs and rock wide trails narrow trails thanks ray for having us
Reviewed by: Bob Peck on 11/3/2013 5:04:53 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/2/2013 Hometown: New Market , AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Enjoyable stay. Only wish they would cater a little to folks who don't like the orginized rides...we pay $$ too.
Reviewed by: W Wilkerson on 10/11/2013 2:12:44 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/6/2013 Hometown: , AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Loved it!!! Didn't stay long enough. It's even better when the restaurant is open...I don't have to cook! We were there during the Blue Grass Festival and the food there and people who work there couldn't be nicer. The campground was well kept up....will go again.
Reviewed by: Julie Anthony on 7/5/2013 5:01:11 PM
More reviews by Julie Anthony
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/1/2013 Hometown: Morriston, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have ridden from Mexico to Canada and this is one of my absolute favorite places to come. The people here are great to deal with and having a restaurant on site is very handy. The sites are large and all pull thru and the barn is clean when you arrive. Bathrooms and showers are kept up,cleaned and in great condition. The trails are beautiful. Some areas are sometimes muddy but they tell you where these are so you don't have to face them. Be sure your horses or mules are shod because the area is rocky. Beautiful creeks, waterfalls, high vistas and caves. They have it all.
Reviewed by: Barbara Buckley on 6/17/2013 10:17:58 AM
More reviews by Barbara Buckley
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/5/2013 Hometown: Clearwater, Florida, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great facilities and trails. Very friendly and helpful management.
Reviewed by: Tim Scarbrough on 5/11/2013 5:14:20 PM
More reviews by Tim Scarbrough
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/4/2013 Hometown: Columbus, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We went up for the organized ride in September of 2012! My first organized ride at Circle E, I have rode there before! I LOVED IT! We had great food always something to eat! Afternoon activities were fun! Lots of new friends, trail boss were nice! We did run into bees but Ray was right on them trying to get them taking care of! Can't wait till next year!
Reviewed by: Carrie on 1/18/2013 1:39:49 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/14/2012 Hometown: Soddy Daisy TN, Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a great time at this campground. It was the October scheduled ride. Food was good, stalls good(plenty of sawdust)site was roomy for our very large trailer on the office side. We plan on going back next year for the October ride (reservation have already been made). Beautiful scenery especially at "Pretty Place" Awesome view. Must see place to go trailriding. The trails were easy to rugged, all depended on what you wanted to ride. I read other reviews about people complaining of mud. Well we found mud and also it had rained about an inch or two. You are going to have mud. Just ride around it. Very nice place to ride!! Can't wait to go back in October next year.
Reviewed by: Elizabeth DeBorde on 12/3/2012 6:08:22 AM
More reviews by Elizabeth DeBorde
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/16/2012 Hometown: Arcanum, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Another beautiful weekend. The trails were awesome, the weather perfect and the fall colors were amazing. And as always the ranch was very clean and the staff was friendly
Reviewed by: marjorie on 11/6/2012 2:39:02 PM
More reviews by marjorie
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/1/2012 Hometown: new market, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are wonderful, campground great, food at restaurant delicious. Will come back as often as we can.
Reviewed by: K. Gilbert on 11/4/2012 9:01:41 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/26/2012 Hometown: Niceville, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

September ride was awesome. Weather was beautiful. Campground very clean. Showers and restrooms kept clean. Entertainment great. Some bees on trails but to be expected in September. Trails smooth to challenging and well marked. Trail guides very helpful. We will return in October.
Reviewed by: Bill on 9/16/2012 7:23:38 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/15/2012 Hometown: , LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We just made our first trip to Circle E Guest Ranch in Belvidere , TN and had a good time. The camp ground is nice and very clean. You have two choices to camp, as this place is on both sides of the road. The saw mill side is the older and the smaller of the two with much more shade and a little more private, however the barn and bath house are at one end of the campground so you may have a little walk to your horses. The bath house on the saw mill side is small with 2 stalls and 2 showers but was clean. The barn is very nice, clean and has shavings when you arrive. The office side is new, with over 100 sites on this side. The barns are new with nice stalls, not overly big, but clean and safe. The bath house on this side is excellent, with 6 showers, sinks, toilets that are all some of the nicest I have ever been too. There is also a very nice restaurant on the office side that serves meals every Friday and Saturday night during open weekends and has full meals for the organized rides. There are trails on both sides of the road and they have a very nice color map that is very easy to follow. The trials are marked and I believe that there is riding to suit all types of riders. There was some mud but we were able to ride around most of the spots. I enjoyed the riding but due to the intense heat this weekend we were only able to ride about 3 ½ hours each morning, so we were only able to scratch the surface of all the trails at this camp ground. There is over 1000 acres on the saw mill side and over 10,000 acres on the office side. We are definitely looking forward to returning soon and would recommend you give this place a try.
Reviewed by: Mike on 7/8/2012 6:36:33 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/4/2012 Hometown: Hartford, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had A great ride at Circle-E again. We had one and a half days of light steady rain, but the ground soaked it up. There was very little mud and lots of great scenery. My first out of state was in 98 and I truly believe Circle -E is by far the best laid out camp I have ever seen. the dineing hall is second to none. A great place to go to. And as allways the management and other guest just make you feel like its home. Ron Kieszkowski
Reviewed by: ron Kieszkowski on 5/30/2012 1:53:51 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/13/2012 Hometown: Michigan City, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My wife Dee and I spent 9 days riding this awesome area. Riding for 9 days on our fox trotters, Tank and Buddy, we were able to cover most of the well marked trails. We had very little mud on the trails and only in the spring run-off area. The trails were VERY WELL maintained and the campground as well as the camp staff was great. Did I mention the scenery was beautiful and there were trails for every level of rider and horse. Be sure to order a steak in the camp restaurant it is the best in the area. This is a campground we plan to return to next year.
Reviewed by: Tom Dischler on 5/20/2012 9:23:06 AM
More reviews by Tom Dischler
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/2/2012 Hometown: Eunice, LA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have ridden at Circle E off and on all winter. Last time I rode was Good Friday.The trail bosses have worked all winter to improve the trails..more trails, more by passes around the mud and replacing trail markers. These trails are for every level or interest..there are quiet, easy going sandy trails, there are more challenging trails with peaks and valleys that offer excitement, but not unsafe and then there are the trails that take on an air of what it must of been like when this area was traveled by the cowboys of long ago...There is some mud, but it is worth a little inconvience of going around the mud to enjoy the caves, the waterfalls and the beautiful plants that only underground springs can nourish. For those that only want to come for a day or two..ask one of the trail bosses to take you out....their services are free (tips are nice, but not required)..they know all the best spots and you get the best use of the whole experience..The campground is like no other..I love to travel to Orchard Cove, Falling Waters, Eminience, Big South Fork and of course Colorado and all points west..all of these campgrounds and facalities offer something different and all are great, but Circle E is the entire package..pull through campsites with plenty of electricity and water..Stalls are good sized and safe and always in good repair. The dinning hall/dance hall is the best that I've seen..5 stars for Circle E for sure.
Reviewed by: Miss Pam on 4/23/2012 12:39:11 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/6/2012 Hometown: Cowan, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

AS always I had a blast I hate to see so many badreviews on the mud, it is not that bad, my first trip to circle E was unimpressive, my second trip was great! now I can't count the trips I have taken there, the more I go the more i love it! the mountain is just great, and the trails are easy to difficult, the trail guides can show you all the neat stuff, we rode with Gary neely this last time and he showed us trails we have never seen and the rock bluffs and hollows were just wow!, you can go with a guide or go on your own, You can NOT ride this place in one weekend, there is too many trails, you cant even ride one side, yeh its on both sides of the road, the campground is huge! nice barns, bathhouses,super friendly people, You could not ask for a nicer person than Ray Evans and his staff. I WILL be back again and again,
Reviewed by: bob on 4/22/2012 7:49:05 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/21/2012 Hometown: new market, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I am amazed every trip we have at Circle E. It gets better each time. Thanks to all the staff for taking such pride in your ranch. We continue to enjoy the trails more each time and the campsite in so peaceful. We visit very often since we are so close and continue and to come up on beautiful sites. keep up the good work.
Reviewed by: Marjorie on 4/22/2012 6:03:33 PM
More reviews by Marjorie
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/12/2012 Hometown: New Market, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have visited many places all over southern USA and by far Circle E is the best all around place I have been. Owner and staff are great and go out of their way to meet any need you may have. The campground, barns, bath/shower houses are the best I've seen at a campground. The riding is exceptionally beautiful. Trails for all level riders. Marked trail maps. With regard to maps and markings on trails, you can call and tell some one where you are at, in case of an emergency, almost always. I have saw several negative comments about there being a lot of mud. Please keep in mind that you are going "TRAIL" riding in the mountain. Mountains have water and streams all in and around them. There are seasons that it rains a lot in the mountains. Anywhere in the world you mix water and dirt and have hooves walking through it, you will have some mud. That is out of the control of anybody anywhere. However, PLEASE keep in mind that if at any time you encounter a strip of muddy trail on Circle E trails, and if that bothers you, you can get off of the heavily traveled trail and go around it. The trails are never muddy for long distances at a time. The mud some have commented on so negatively about is not any worse than it would be anywhere else during a rainy seasons. I recommend anybody that loves great riding, extremely nice hosts and staff, beautiful, clean campgrounds and facilities plus more go visit Circle E. you will not be disappointed!!!!! Happy Trails...
Reviewed by: Melissa "missy" Jones on 4/22/2012 1:47:05 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/1/2012 Hometown: Monticello, MS

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List