HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Croft State Park
(click on name for more information)
Spartanburg, SC

Overall TRAIL RATING with 16 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 15 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had another wonderful weekend at Croft. It snowed heavily Friday afternoon which was one of the most beautiful rides I've ever had. The trails vary greatly from beginner to expert and the campground is private. The only complaint is the barn is too far from the campground for my total comfort. The rangers also need to get better about checking coggins. Otherwise, I would recommend this park again and again.
Reviewed by: Jennifer on 2/16/2010 8:33:02 PM
More reviews by Jennifer
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 2/14/2010 Hometown: Clover, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campground was very good and was completed shaded. The comfort stations were clean and very nice. The trails are very good, well marked, and all in the woods. Your horses are kept in stalls about 1/4 mile from the campground which means carrying your tack back and forth. All around it is a very good and quiet place to take a family with reasonable rates and a very helpful and courteous staff.
Reviewed by: Lewis M. on 10/15/2009 11:25:33 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/14/2009 Hometown: Lexington, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camp croft is a wonderfull place to camp and ride. All the sites are level and are easy to get into. It also has a very nice bathhouse. The trails are some of the best in SC, for beginners and experts. They are marked very well, you can't get lost. They also have a very nice riding arena for you to use.The only bad thing about it is the barn is not close to the campground, so you have to haul your tack up to the barn to ride everyday. We live close to croft so we mainly go for the day, but it's worth a weekend.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 2/2/2009 6:43:41 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/20/2008 Hometown: lyman, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice upgrades in the stalls! Glad they brought a horse person on board for recommendations! Nice new trails. Camping there again very soon!
Reviewed by: jenny on 12/30/2008 8:02:48 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 12/12/2008 Hometown: charlotte, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Have camped at Croft several times over the years but they have made wonderful improvements in the last year. Stalls are great even though a quarter of a mile away. Campground is quiet and I have never had any problems camping or with the horses staying here. Trails are very nice especially for gaited horses. Love the new trail opening.
Reviewed by: Jennifer on 11/17/2008 4:10:36 PM
More reviews by Jennifer
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/9/2008 Hometown: Clover, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

love the riding.trails were great........barn look very accomadating.good size and enclosed dutch doors also......campground was nice.hoses to rinse horses on cement slabs....all in all this is great place.the weather in this area would make great year around place to go...for those of you who need to be able to put your eyes on your horses alot need bike or golf cart, the barn is up the hill away from campground
Reviewed by: giddyupgal on 10/18/2008 5:54:19 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/25/2008 Hometown: rutherfordton, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

If you have not been to Croft lately, you need to plan a trip. I have seen more improvements in this park in the last year than the last 20 years. Work has been done on the campsites, the show ring, the barn, the trails. New picnic tables have been added near the barn, with hitching rails for the horse. Croft is the first SC trails that have been opened to horse riders, cyclist, and hikers to share the trails . We are having a great time and please let the rangers know if you like all the work being done. Written by Linda H. 17-Aug-2008
Reviewed by: Linda H on 8/17/2008 1:57:33 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/15/2008 Hometown: Spartanburg, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to get away for the weekend. Trails are easy to moderate--typically clean. Did have a serious bee encounter there once--informed the rangers and they took care of it immediately. Nice campground/bathhouse--little tight but can manage easily. Do hate the stables are so far away but are typically very suitable.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 12/27/2007 4:28:54 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 1/1/2000 Hometown: , SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I would highly recommend Croft for your first trip to the upstate. The campground was very nice, quiet & roomy. The trails were great! This is our first time riding in these kinds of hills being from the lowcountry. We had our 9 & 11 year olds riding with us and they had no problems. Trails had some pretty steep hills but no problems for anyone. Our horses do not have shoes & we had no problems, but the trails are pretty rocky. I can't say enough good things about Croft. All the office personel were extremely nice & helpfull. Stalls were very nice & the park is locked at night, so your horses are very secure even though they are about 1/4 mile away. We are ready to for a return trip to Croft & will most definately go back soon.
Reviewed by: Chuck on 7/24/2007 9:19:13 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/21/2007 Hometown: Varnville, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice campground, just too far away from horses. Worry about horses being hurt or stolen. Trails pretty and easy to ride. Some are extremely muddy after rain.
Reviewed by: withheld on 6/24/2005 9:49:55 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/24/2005 Hometown: , SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband and I ride at Croft sporadically throughout the year. The campsites are nice, my only complaint is that the horses stay in a stable about 1/2 mile (?) away so they aren't with us. The trails are great but MUST be avoided after any wet weather as they become total mudholes!
Reviewed by: Pace on 10/19/2004 12:27:13 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/19/2004 Hometown: Anderson, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Distance wise the trails are good for beginners or experienced riders, but they could use a little more maintenance.
Reviewed by: Patrick Kelley on 10/4/2004 10:04:05 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/29/2004 Hometown: Union , SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A wonderful place to ride and camp. Trails slick in the rain. Even tho the camp flyers say shavings provided at no extra cost, only the initial bedding really is and there are none to buy. Long way to barn from campsites but no 4 wheelers allowed, but golf carts are. Great washracks
Reviewed by: Debbie Kinard on 7/3/2004 6:05:38 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/30/2004 Hometown: Athens, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Easy to moderate ride. Have ridden all trails. Nothing difficult.
Reviewed by: Mike Kinsey on 6/26/2004 9:43:01 PM
More reviews by Mike Kinsey
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/26/2004 Hometown: Belton, SC