HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Double M Campground
(click on name for more information)
junction, il

Overall TRAIL RATING with 20 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 21 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had another enjoyable trip to Double M campground. We stayed 3 nights over Memorial Day weekend in the lower group section and had stalls in the barn by the road. Both the site and stalls were clean and nice for our group. We camped with 3 other trailers and Heath allowed us to put our trailers in however we needed which added to the experience. We also ate several times at the restaurant and all the meals were good quality and priced accordingly. Double M seems to always have extra activities for the holiday weekend and this year they had a tack auction on Saturday and a scavenger hunt on Sunday. I will say that they always seem to be adding improvements to the campground and as always the ridding in Shawnee National forest is great and Double M has some of the best maps we have been given. We did not use the bath house ourselves but one of our group did and seemed satisfied with the facilities, however from the bottom of the campground to the bathhouse it is easier to drive than walk. We have been coming to Double M for years and we are always treated fairly and Heath always seems genuinely pleased to have you at his campground. We have camped at several campgrounds in Shawnee and I can honestly say that I believe Double M is one of the top choices for an overall experience.
Reviewed by: Mike Lisa on 6/2/2015 10:55:11 AM
More reviews by Mike Lisa
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/22/2015 Hometown: Hartford, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First time at this camp last September LOVED IT,LOVED IT,LOVED IT!!!! Will be returning many times.
Reviewed by: Jessica Randover on 12/22/2012 9:13:31 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/14/2012 Hometown: , MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a great time.One of the best trailriding experiences I have ever had, will return.
Reviewed by: David Hatcher on 11/4/2012 11:19:07 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/14/2012 Hometown: , MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Heath overlooked out reservations for 2nd time. After staying and had horses in new covered stalls, we came back to find out all of our food and drinks were stolen from our coolers we had in the truck, plus someone stole our license plate off our horse trailer. Heath has too much going on to pay attention to the people coming and going, and cannot keep up with reservations. Wont be staying there again.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 8/25/2012 7:21:04 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/2/2011 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first trip to Double M campground and our second trip to Shawnee. The campground was well kept and nicely laid out for both horse and camper. Since it was Memorial Day weekend the campground was full, but everything seemed to move nicely around the camp. The owner (Heath) was very nice and took several opportunities during the weekend to check in on us and make sure we had everything we needed. I will have to say that the trails out of Double M are marked very well and the map was easy to follow. The stalls are nice (10x10) with rubber mats and seem to be fairly new, but they are limited so I would recommend reservations. We camped with a group of five trailers and the sites are nice with water, elect, and shaded with good tie out poles. I would recommend having a least 3 leveling boards for the trailers as some of the campground is on a hill side, but nothing bad at all. The bathhouse is clean but a little small with only 2 shower stalls in each and with it being a holiday weekend it was busy. The restaurant was clean, with good food, and well ran. We ate a couple of meals there and were pleased with both by all in our group. We enjoyed our trip to Double M and would gladly recommend this place to any level rider.
Reviewed by: Mike on 5/29/2012 3:36:57 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/25/2012 Hometown: Hartford, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The hosts of Double M are great! Heath made us feel very welcome. We loved the covered stalls, but lots of options for horses from picketing to panels. Trail heads directly out of camp. The trails were some of the most beautiful trails I've ever seen. Also some of the most well marked. Lots of water on the trail - no need to worry about horses not having enough to drink. New trail work includes gravel on some portions of the trail - rest of trail has rocks but mostly round, smooth rock. We had shoes and I was glad but tough barefoot hooves would probably be ok too. We did not encounter anything trecherous. Even though it rained a couple of days, the ground was not too slick. There are some nice sights to do even without your horse (Garden of the Gods, Menenite community...) Plenty of miles of trails. We are planning to go back. (Note: if you are traveling there from the south you have to take a ferry across the Ohio River. It is free and runs every 10 minutes but it closes at 9:30 pm so don't go in late. There is a bridge in Paducah but its a bit out of the way)
Reviewed by: Blaine on 11/27/2011 7:35:58 AM
More reviews by Blaine
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/24/2011 Hometown: Gray, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Third time to the Shawnee Forest,had the BEST TIME EVER at this camp!Will return many times.
Reviewed by: Brenda Parks on 11/4/2011 9:11:01 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/30/2011 Hometown: , IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The camp and riding was exceptional!!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 11/7/2010 2:23:09 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/24/2010 Hometown: St Louis, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just got back yesterday, The camp & trails were great.
Reviewed by: Danial Moore on 6/14/2010 11:40:11 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/11/2010 Hometown: , GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been to Shawnee National forest two times previously and the trips were fine.Great riding,fair camping.Last year I decided to go to Double M Campground. Exceded all my expectations.One of the best horsecamps I have ever been to,best riding in this forest.
Reviewed by: Janet Donlitter on 2/5/2010 1:30:43 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/12/2009 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Awesome camp, awesome riding, can't wait to go back.
Reviewed by: Mandy Dawson on 10/30/2009 8:05:13 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/4/2009 Hometown: Springfield, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This will be only a "half" review, because the rain kept us from getting out on many trails. We visited Double M during the week, and weren't there on a weekend. Having said that...the camp was about the same as the other Shawnee camps we've been to, except for the hosts, Heath and Amy. They were absolutely wonderful! Heath is very helpful; he checks on everyone a couple of times/day, but doesn't "hover." He put our corral panel stalls in the shade for us before we arrived, and left a message and directions on the office door because he was out clearing trails. Trails, what few we were able to ride, were fairly well marked and clear. Rode by a rattlesnake. Because of the rain, we did some sightseeing and enjoyed that. One thing I must mention: Double M has the absolute Cadillac of porta-lets! Smells great (yeah, I know. How many times do you hear that?!) Has water, soap, and paper towels inside for you to wash up. Shower house was clean. The restaurant wasn't open when we were there, but other campers testified that the food is terrific. All in all, we'll come back sometime.
Reviewed by: cherri on 6/10/2009 4:51:22 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/1/2009 Hometown: , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

All I can say is WOW!! I have been coming to the Shawnee since 1990. We take a weeks vacation in the Shawnee every year, usually later in the year due to the heat. This year we tried Double M Campground the camp is great but the riding was exceptional. At first it was a little intimidating because there was so much trail, however after we got a map we were good to go. Huge blufflines,lakes,rock formations we were about 20 minuets to our first bluff at Pounds Hollow from camp. Thacker Hollow around Initial Tree was my favorite it was a long valley with a 60 to 80 foot bluff down one side and a creek down the middle. Hurricane Bluff was just as nice, we rode on top of a huge bluff and there was buzzards flying below us! We seen many deer & 2 bobcat on the trail. The restaurant is only open on weekends but when we did get to eat there the food was delicious. Next year we are going to rent a cabin. Heath, the owner told us about another riding area south of camp that we did not even hit. Best vacation ever in the Shawnee.
Reviewed by: Terry on 9/20/2008 10:38:01 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/4/2008 Hometown: , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campground and hosts are great. All advertisements said laundry available, but there is none and we were going to get it done before going home. no big deal. After having ridden the middle/west side of Shawnee for 16 years, we were VERY disappointed with the scenery on the east side. Not many rock formations, bluffs, or water. Lots of trees and nice trails. There were hills, but not rocky. The trails were not well marked and lots of times we rode around in circles trying to figure out where we were. Some of the permanent folks told us about the diamond 104/106 trails and that they would get us back.Thank goodness we know about them as the regular forest signs were very confusing as to which way to go and did not say where you were. We sure would like it if MM was in a different location and closer to some of the Shawnee landmarks as we would stay again with them, but since we like more challenging riding and lots of bluffs, and water crossings, unfortunately we won't stay there again.
Reviewed by: Sam on 6/12/2008 12:03:35 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/1/2008 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground very nice, Owners helpful and ready to assist if needed, bathrooms clean and best of all the trails are great and challenging. Really great place to ride
Reviewed by: Susan on 4/21/2008 10:59:56 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: Fort Wayne, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

i love double M i have camped thier since i was three
Reviewed by: kim on 1/29/2008 11:22:55 AM
More reviews by kim
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 1/1/2004 Hometown: morganfield , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We rented the cabins which were quiet and set back from the road, very spacious, with shade, everything worked & was clean. There was plenty of hot water so that all 4 of us could shower daily. Our horses were penned near us with a dusk to dawn light above. We could look out the window & check on them at night. The owner (Heath) was very helpful & friendly, this attitude was found with everyone in the campground that worked here. Many permanent campers were helpful with info on trails, where to ride and get the most out of our trip. We saw plenty of wildlife, deer, turkeys, hawks & eagles. We went in the fall when the trees had just changed & believe me, Shawnee forest is very beautiful, with many spectacular caves, ponds, streams & rock formations. Definetly mother nature at its finest. The trails were marked, about 50/50 on being rocky. Many trails went up & down hills. Some trails were steep & rigorous. Heath (the owner) provided us with maps of trails we could access from the campground. Wonderful sites such as: Garden of the Gods, Ponds Hollow, Whiskey Cave, Circle rock, Rim rock are all able to be traveled to directly from Double "M" campground. We enjoyed the trails, nature, campers, restaurant and the camp employees. Very easy access from major roads, entrance into camp for trailers was also wide with plenty of room to park and turn around. We definetly will make many return camping trips here.
Reviewed by: Scottie/Patricia on 11/7/2007 7:20:09 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/7/2007 Hometown: Bridgman, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We rented the cabins which were quiet and set back from the road, very spacious, with shade, everything worked & was clean. There was plenty of hot water so that all 4 of us could shower daily. Our horses were penned near us with a dusk to dawn light above. We could look out the window & check on them at night. The owner (Heath) was very helpful & friendly, this attitude was found with everyone in the campground that worked here. Many permanent campers were helpful with info on trails, where to ride and get the most out of our trip. We saw plenty of wildlife, deer, turkeys, hawks & eagles. We went in the fall when the trees had just changed & believe me, Shawnee forest is very beautiful, with many spectacular caves, ponds, streams & rock formations. Definetly mother nature at its finest. The trails were marked, about 50/50 on being rocky. Many trails went up & down hills. Some trails were steep & rigorous. Heath (the owner) provided us with maps of trails we could access from the campground. Wonderful sites such as: Garden of the Gods, Ponds Hollow, Whiskey Cave, Circle rock, Rim rock are all able to be traveled to directly from Double "M" campground. We enjoyed the trails, nature, campers, restaurant and the camp employees. Very easy access from major roads, entrance into camp for trailers was also wide with plenty of room to park and turn around. We definetly will make many return camping trips here.
Reviewed by: Scottie/Patricia on 11/7/2007 7:19:22 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 11/7/2007 Hometown: Bridgman, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first trip to Shawnee. We loved Double M. The owner and entire camp were so friendly and accomodating. Can't wait to go back. Loved the riding.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 11/1/2007 7:16:55 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/28/2007 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is absolutely the best camp in the shawnee,bar none & I have been to all of them.You can not get better service any ware in the Shawnee. The friendly staff was a pleasant change from many other camps.Wonderfully marked trail system, & the restaurant has some of the best home cooked meals I have had anyplace Shawnee or other.I put in for a permanent site after the first weekend.
Reviewed by: John on 7/13/2007 2:46:35 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 7/13/2007 Hometown: , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Anonymous on 6/25/2007 10:23:07 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/25/2007 Hometown: , KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

beautiful riding, area, & camp
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 3/14/2006 11:52:39 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/14/2005 Hometown: , IN