HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Double M
(click on name for more information)


Junction, il

Overall TRAIL RATING with 27 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 27 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Double M is one of my favorite camps. Heath is always very friendly and helpful. It seems like every time we return that he continues to improve the campground. The only thing that I think needs more attention is the bathroom. It does need some improvements but it is still usable. The food at the restaurant is very good and priced well. This is a very nice campground and will continue to go back.
Reviewed by: Lauri Barbre on 6/27/2016 2:57:48 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/9/2016 Hometown: Fairfield, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our third trip to Double M, and as before Heath meet us at the entrance and walked us through the check in process without incident. Since we were there for our KY spring break week the campground was not overly crowded and we had our choice of stalls for the 4 nights we stayed. The campground was nice but I will have to say that the bathhouse was not as well kept as what we had seen in the past trips. I attribute this to it being early in the ridding season and may have not had the big spring cleaning yet??? (but, I am sure this will be confirmed by reviews later in the year)…. The restaurant was very good and is priced very well for the amount of food we were served. The riding in Shawnee National forest was excellent as always and is one of my favorite places to ride. The trails are well marked and clear for most any rider. If you have never had the opportunity to ride the Shawnee then I would definitely recommend you add this to your bucket list. Overall I would, and do go back to Double M at least once per year, but I do have to agree with other comments concerning the number of loose dogs at camp. We did have an issue with one dog trying to pack off things but it did not rune the trip, and I believe that the owners are working to improve this issue.
Reviewed by: Mike Lisa on 5/28/2014 2:52:10 PM
More reviews by Mike Lisa
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/12/2014 Hometown: Hartford, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We stayed at this campground for 4 days. If I had known about this web site beforehand it would have saved us a lot of time and money. We will never ever go back. It started off poorly when we arrived. My friend paid cash and wasn't given a receipt. When she asked for one the owner got huffy and rude. The campsites were awful and unlevel. we had made reservations several months ahead of time. camp dogs roamed loose day and night coming into our camp, stealing food, urinating on our chairs, hay, and who knows what else. We were made to feel that as overnighters we didn't count as the majority of the camp is devoted to permanent sites. The bathroom that was available to us was a portapotty. Just awful. The trails (maintained by the forest service) are excellent. The restaurant was good but this campground is awful. Never ever again.
Reviewed by: Ozark Mountain Gal on 12/28/2013 8:44:09 PM
More reviews by Ozark Mountain Gal
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/25/2013 Hometown: ,

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails were the best I ever rode. Of course they are maintained by the National Forest Service. The camp seemed like a dump. Layout is bad. Bathhouse was deplorable. Pens were just okay. Might go back just to ride the great trails.
Reviewed by: roy rankin on 10/14/2013 7:17:06 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/10/2013 Hometown: Leloup, ks

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We recently camped at Double M. Overall the campground is very nice with electric and water at sites and easy access to trails. Negatives were the sites are very unlevel. The campground is probably 80% percent permanant sites and is very empty during the week. On the weekend most of the sites fill and there is alot of noise and partying going on. Dogs also run loose at the campground. The trails out of Double M are absolutely wonderful. The owner will also let you borrow a stock trailer to ride out from different trailheads. Definitely plan on going back.
Reviewed by: Ann Beathard on 7/1/2013 12:41:56 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/9/2013 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Our first time at Double M- have camped various places in the Shawnee National Forest. VERY nice campground, we had a great site up by the stalls. Shady. Stalls were nice- Campground was quiet and well run. Heath was very helpful and friendly as were the "perm" campers. Trails were well marked. We will return
Reviewed by: Claudia on 5/29/2013 4:53:56 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/20/2013 Hometown: New Albany, Indiana, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our second trip to Double M. We came with a group of 6 trailers and Heath meet us at the office to show us our reserved spots and stalls. The weather was PERFECT and although the campground was full for the holiday weekend everything was very well maintained. The campground continues to improve each year and new sites have been added. The maps work well with the markings in the national forest so it is easy to get around. The trials were in very good shape considering the wet spring. The bathhouse is small for a full holiday weekend but no one seemed to mind and only waited a little bit on Saturday night. This is an excellent place to ride and camp and the owners do seem to care about everything going on and keep the place under control at all times. The only negative comment that I would give for the consideration of improvement would be that on several occasions we had other campers dogs at our sites while trying to eat. I realize that this is difficult to enforce and better controlled by owners so I still give this campground a 5 star rating.
Reviewed by: mike lisa on 5/29/2013 8:00:27 AM
More reviews by mike lisa
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/25/2013 Hometown: Hartford, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had camped at Double M several years ago for a couple of days; it was a work in progress. Heath has really improved the campground and the trails. Trails are well-marked, pretty, and varied. Lots of choices. The new stalls at the top of the hill are small but nice. We didn't use the shower house so can't comment on that. Restaurant had good home cooking. Heath and his wife are on the right track; he is very personable and helpful. We'll be back, and can highly recommend the campground.
Reviewed by: pale dry pete on 4/28/2013 5:35:16 PM
More reviews by pale dry pete
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/27/2013 Hometown: southeastern , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

First time at this camp last October LOVED IT,LOVED IT,LOVED IT!!!! Will be returning many times.
Reviewed by: Jessica Randover on 12/22/2012 9:09:12 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/14/2012 Hometown: , MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a great time.One of the best trailriding experiences I have ever had, will return.
Reviewed by: David Hatcher on 11/4/2012 11:16:37 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/14/2012 Hometown: , MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Double M has some of the best riding in the Shawnee forest and a friendly camp. Did not use the shower house. Heath is very helpful in planing a ride if you are new to the camp and is always there if you have any questions.Having a restaurant with homemade pie just tops the whole experience. Will go back no question.
Reviewed by: Kurtis Longenecker on 10/30/2012 5:34:10 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/23/2012 Hometown: Pecatonica, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Let me start by saying campground was clean.we parked our trailer on a pad so it was level.stalls were nice and plenty big.restaurant was nice and food was good. Trail map was accurate and trails were marked well. This was important because there are alot of trails. Had a great time. We will be returning.
Reviewed by: J Rieckers on 10/16/2012 6:47:11 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/12/2012 Hometown: Bowling Green, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

campground is nice, but Heath messed up our reservations not once but TWICE after we had pre-paid. He then tried to stick 5 people in a run down yard barn with a mattress on the floor. This went on until way past 9pm.... luckily a woman he rented our cabin to was understanding and let us have it and she stayed with a friend in trailer. Heath needs to update his computer system or something. my family was very upset for 2nd time... He had called us first time to CANCEL our Memorial Day vacation after we had all taken off work, so we tried again. no more. we will stay somewhere else and ride trails on our own.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 8/25/2012 7:13:24 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/2/2011 Hometown: Robards, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Excellent camping facilities for every type of camper: primitive, water and electric hook-ups, or cabins for those who don't want to camp. We used the hook-ups and covered stalls. Very reasonably priced. Owner,(Heath) was helpful and accommodating. Trails were well marked and mapped. We had no trouble finding our way around. Camp has amenities that some others don't like wi-fi and a restaurant, open on weekends. Although we didn't eat there, other campers raved about it. Like other camps in the Shawnee N.F. it has a lot of permanent campers, but still has plenty of space for people who come in from out of the area. You might want to bring a table to eat/cook on as sites don't have picnic tables. Over all, I think this is the best camp in the Shawnee. We hope to be able to return.
Reviewed by: Julie Slack on 6/14/2012 4:40:07 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/5/2012 Hometown: Englewood, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Third time to the Shawnee Forest,had the BEST TIME EVER at this camp!Will return many times.
Reviewed by: Brenda Parks on 11/4/2011 9:07:22 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/30/2011 Hometown: , IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Spent 4 days here and loved it! We will be back
Reviewed by: Laura Beckman on 4/7/2011 12:25:36 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 3/18/2011 Hometown: Rockford, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Double M Campground is a great place to camp and ride. We go here regularly throughout the year and it is our home away from home. MM has a restaurant with good food and friendly owners who will help whenever needed. There are new trails that take you over hills and hollows to beautiful places with unique rock formations and awesome views. Come ride the Shawnee. Double M is the place to be!
Reviewed by: Loretta Wheeler on 2/1/2011 7:53:58 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/30/2010 Hometown: McLeansboro, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Had a great Thanksgiving weekend riding the scenic trails of the Shawnee. Double M is a real nice campground with miles and miles of well marked, mapped trails featuring typical Shawnee scenery. Amy & Heath are as hopitable hosts as you will find. We arrived early Thanksgiving afternoon in the midst of a monsoon. Heath left his family dinner to get us situated and our horses out of the weather. Fortunately, the weather straightened out Friday and was good from there on out. Even though they had 5 inches of rain in two days, we didn't find many muddy spots out on the trail. Their little restaurant has a well rounded menu and the food and service was excellent. We will definetly be visiting again next season.
Reviewed by: Tam & Steve on 11/30/2010 10:01:47 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/26/2010 Hometown: Princeton, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The camp and riding was exceptional!!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 11/7/2010 2:14:40 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/24/2010 Hometown: St.Louis, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Loved it!
Reviewed by: Jenny Thomas on 10/11/2010 10:44:01 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/1/2010 Hometown: , NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The camp and trails was wonderful, plan on making many more trips to this facility.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 8/27/2010 7:48:53 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/14/2010 Hometown: St. Louis, MO

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just got back yesterday, The camp & trails were great.
Reviewed by: Danial Moore on 6/14/2010 11:37:08 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/11/2010 Hometown: , GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been to Shawnee National forest two times previously and the trips were fine.Great riding,fair camping.Last year I decided to go to Double M Campground. Exceded all my expectations.One of the best horsecamps I have ever been to,best riding in this forest.
Reviewed by: Janet Donlitter on 2/5/2010 1:32:39 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/12/2009 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Awesome camp, awesome riding, can't wait to go back.
Reviewed by: Mandy Dawson on 10/30/2009 8:00:51 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/4/2009 Hometown: Springfield, IL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a great ride,even tho the weather dumped on us. As allways there were plenty of go arrounds in the muddy spots. plenty of things to look at,and management was frendly and willing to help and listen about any problem. our fellow campers were verry frendly also, inspite of the rain. good time, good people, good place to go.
Reviewed by: Ron kieszkowski on 10/19/2009 5:10:32 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/10/2009 Hometown: michigan City, IN

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List