HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Dupont State Forest - Holly View Farm
(click on name for more information)


Brevard, NC

Overall TRAIL RATING with 15 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 15 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camping at Holly View was great. Super nice people. Dupont was beautiful! Every waterfall was better that the one before.
Reviewed by: pasocorto on 10/27/2013 3:22:04 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/12/2013 Hometown: Homestead, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camped and rode for 4 days and had a great time. Traci and her dad are very friendly and accommodating in getting you to and from the Forest. Even loaned us a trailer so we could go out on our own. Stables are very nice and you're right there next to your horse. Can't wait to go back!!!
Reviewed by: Laurie Green on 10/16/2013 12:01:46 PM
More reviews by Laurie Green
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/13/2013 Hometown: Ramer, Al

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

8 of us went to this camping grounds. We were pleased with the whole set up. The creek behind the camp site was refreshing. The sites were grassy and flat. the additional shelter near our campsites was fantastic for our group meals this was very helpful when it rained one evening. We did the DuPont on one day then the Pisgah forest the next day. The use of the camp grounds stock trailer allowed us to trailer the horses to the trail head about 5 miles or so away-- this was very handy so that we would not have to break camp to go ride. The stalls were very roomy for the horses. Since it was pretty and August-- we also went to the tubing place in town and did tubing down the river for about an hour-- WOOO--that was so much fun! We plan to go back. Turkey Pin road to the Pisgah trail head was a one lane narrow road-- next time we will park right off the highway and ride the horses up to the trail head--:)
Reviewed by: Ally Purvis on 8/15/2013 4:35:39 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/9/2013 Hometown: Aberdeen, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just returned from a great weekend at Holly View Farm. Saw all the waterfalls. Dupont is one of the nicest parks we have ever been to. Very well-maintained and easy to ride. Tracy did a great job her knowledge of the trails and area was really helpful. Stalls and very comfortable for the horses with shavings provided! A great trip We will be going soon.
Reviewed by: Melissa on 5/20/2012 4:11:24 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/18/2012 Hometown: Salisbury, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice campground - hosts are very hospitable. No picketing - horses are kept in stalls across the road from camp - visible from camp. You do have to trailer out to trailheads & be picked back up. DuPont trails are nice, wide bridle paths & can get very crowded with hikers, tourists & bikers. We also trailered out to Pisgah & it was very pretty & quiet. DuPont may be more enjoyable on an off weekend - we were there Memorial Day weekend, which probably made it a lot more populated.
Reviewed by: Gail Wiley on 1/8/2012 9:11:19 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/28/2011 Hometown: Watkinsville, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just returned from a fabulous July 4th weekenend at Holly View Farm. We rode for 3 days and saw all the major waterfalls. Dupont is one of the nicest and cleanest parks we have ever been to. Park was very well-maintained and trails are really well marked. Lots of bikers and hikers but most yielded to the horses and were very polite. Tracie did a great job of getting our group of 7 riders back and forth to the trail head and picking us up when we were done riding. Any questions just call and and even while riding. She will tell you where to go. Her knowledge of the trails and area was really helpful for finding things for the kids to do while there. Camp was clean with good power and water. Stalls and very comfortable for the horses with shavings provided. Sites were large and grassy with no problem accomodating a 40 ft. rig. Bath-house was clean and very close to camp. A great trip; can't wait to go back again!!
Reviewed by: J. Sizemore on 7/5/2011 8:09:48 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/4/2011 Hometown: Barnesville , GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We stayed at Holly View Campground for a week, and had a wonderful time. Traci is very friendly and will drop you off at the trailhead of your choice. She will pick you up at a designated time at the end of your ride, or you can call her on her cell phone. The trails in the Dupont are fabulous, and especially for gaited horses. The Park is extremely clean and well manicured, with lots of scenic areas. High lines to tie your horses at all of the waterfalls. Lots of picnic areas with tables and portolets. Would definitely go back! Thanks Traci for a great experience
Reviewed by: Robert & Sharon on 6/1/2011 1:07:01 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/25/2011 Hometown: Morrow, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campground is immaculate with good stalls, large flat level sites, and they have good water and electric hookups. The camp is located midway between Pisgah and Dupont Forest. Tracy , the owner is very good about hauling you to different trail heads in both forests. She plans to purchase a stock trailer , so people can trailer themselves. We were there for two weeks and had a wonderful time.
Reviewed by: Tim Scarbrough on 5/25/2010 5:07:06 PM
More reviews by Tim Scarbrough
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/7/2010 Hometown: columbus, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This review is about the trails at DuPont. We always enjoy riding there. If this is your first visit, I would recommend riding out of the Lake Imaging trail head first. It's easy to get to all the falls, plus other nice riding. The Corn Mill shoals trail head has more single track trail through very scenic terrain (and some more difficult). There's quite a bit of road riding out of the Buck Forest trail head. The Fawn Lake and Guion Farm trail heads offer interesting riding but aren't used as much. You can get to most all of the riding from any of these trail heads. Oh, you should have a map of the forest, which Tracy or the park office should be able to give you.
Reviewed by: jtrider on 11/14/2009 9:30:39 AM
More reviews by jtrider
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/15/2009 Hometown: Columbus, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails at DuPont are easy to navigate and nice forests .. lots of trails and easy to follow if you have a map and know how to read one. We loved the falls - all of them. We explored each of them as much as we could. Holly View Farm, Tracey and her Dad are great. Tracy and her Dad have done a great job with the new stalls that are large and well maintained. There are outside turnout areas, campground is nicely maintained as well as bath facalities. Sites are level with plenty of room, electricity, and water. Even though you have to trailer to the trail head Tracy is more than happy to shuttle you to and from the trail heads that is more than reaonable. She went so far as to write down in detail each turn we needed to take so that we could see the falls and ride as much as we desired. We called her at an appointed stop and she was waiting for us at the pickup site. We picniced at the lake midday so that we got the most riding as we could in one day. We will go back.
Reviewed by: Donna & Tim Morris on 5/27/2009 6:54:31 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/1/2009 Hometown: Tazewell, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

All of the past reviews are accurate. Tracy is great. We went there in the early summer and plan to go back in Oct. She will have a new barn ajacent to the campsites. We hope to ride in the Pisgah National forest as well as Dupont this time. By the way, there are several great places to eat in Brevard.
Reviewed by: Julie Slack on 9/1/2007 11:36:52 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/1/2007 Hometown: Englewood,, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails at DuPont are easy but very pretty .. lots of trails and easy to follow if you have a map and know how to read one .. the camp ground Holly View Farm is really very nice .. Tracy and her Dad have done a great job .. stalls are large and well maintained .. there are outside turnout areas .. campground is nice .. lots of turn around space .. level sites .. 30 amp electricity .. small but very nice bath area .. only problem is you have to trailer to the trail head but there is NO camping at the park itself .. Tracy has a shuttle service to and fom the trail heads that is more than reaonable .. nice picnic sheltered area in the curve of a little creek .. came in handy for us since we had a huge rain storm one night .. we just rolled out grill over and kept right on enjoying the night.
Reviewed by: Tom Collins on 5/11/2007 3:30:15 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/11/2007 Hometown: Winston Salem, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I kept my horse here for 2 nights after a week at ultimate ride campground. What a pleasant change! Tracy couldn't have been more accomodating and my horse had a clean,secure stall with deep shavings and he was put out in a paddock during the day and in at night. He was fed for me twice a day as I was visiting cousins in the area. Next trip I will stay here and ride the forests. Thanks, Tracy!
Reviewed by: K athy Hendrix on 4/25/2007 1:39:18 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 4/25/2007 Hometown: Lake Worth , FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

holly view campground was excellent easy access, covered picnic shelters, showers, the barn was well kept, stalls were clean with fresh shavings, felt my horses including a stallion were safe and secure which allowed us to do some site seeing also. Tracy was very nice and helpful. The trails were beautiful with a covered bridge, waterfalls, lakes, very nice. Some water crossings and very clear water my horses liked drinking this water. We had a great time and can't wait to visit this year.
Reviewed by: deanna on 2/11/2007 12:24:28 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 10/6/2006 Hometown: , WV

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Hollyview Farm is a great place! Tracy is wonderful, safe driver, and very reasonable for trailering to trailheads. The campground is flat with nice firepits. The barn is clean, and the lots well kept. The owners of this property should be proud. They have really worked hard, and only wish for you to have a great riding experience. Dupont Forest trails are well maintained. Pisgah as well. BEAUTIFUL COUNTRY!!! We drove 7 hours to Brevard North Carolina, it was well worth it. Thanks Tracy!!
Reviewed by: Anna Fowler on 11/6/2006 11:10:03 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 11/6/2006 Hometown: Coolville, OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Holly View Farm is a GREAT place to stay! The folks who run it are friendly, helpful, and cooperative. Bath facilities are modest but well cared for and clean - separate Cowboy & Cowgirl "one-holers," tile board & linoleum. Plenty of exra toilet tissue, Clorox wipes, Lysol spray, paper towels, liquid hand soap. (Tell me you find those at all the other campgrounds!) Very quiet - you can hear the horse in the field behind you snuffle at night. 9 LEVEL hook-ups with lots of back-up space. Covered arena in case of rain (which we had one morning.) Separate full-size dressage arena. Barn is older but well cared for and in good shape with spacious stalls; stalls have thick rubber mats with shavings on top. (Shavings provided.) Highly recommended and we will stay there again! DuPont Forest trails vary. Some graveled roads, some intermediate trails, some single-track & steep trails. Jim Branch Trail (off Lake Imaging parking lot) is fun! Plan on riding a minimum of 2 hours, but well worth it. High Falls and Triple Falls are easy to get to. Signage is mostly excellent; we encountered only one unmarked fork on the way from High Falls to Triple Falls but hikers & other equestrians readily provided guidance. Police officer with whom we rode said that you can get lost in DuPont Forest but implied that you almost have to work at it. (Cell phones don't work well in the Forest.) We rode for about 10 or more hours over 3 days and feel we barely scratched the surface of the available trails. We were newbies when we got there; we suggest you talk with someone who's been there and get a map from the forest service and Tracy at Holly View has them too. Maps are fairly readable but someone who's been there can point out best places to ride first. All in all, a most enjoyable 3 days for us!
Reviewed by: John & Linda on 7/31/2006 7:47:12 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/30/2006 Hometown: Newberry, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Beautiful scenery, waterfalls. Very easy trails
Reviewed by: BJ Moretz on 10/10/2005 1:57:17 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: Hometown: Patterson , NC