HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Dupont State Forest - Spur of the Moment Furnished Cottage
(click on name for more information)


Brevard, NC

Overall TRAIL RATING with 19 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 18 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to ride with gorgeous waterfalls. Enjoyed the location and great house we stayed at....very roomy, clean, and nice barn for our horses. Can't wait to visit again! Thank you!!
Reviewed by: Brenda Goett on 7/20/2015 10:38:25 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/11/2015 Hometown: Jamestown, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love Dupont and Spur of the Moment!! We had 4 ladies staying in the house. It was just lovely. The barn was just as nice. Trail access was so convenient, did not have to trailer. It also had two separate paddocks out back. It was just a perfect trip. Can't wait to go back!
Reviewed by: Leisa Reeves on 7/19/2015 1:33:15 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 7/10/2015 Hometown: Greenback, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have stayed at the Spur of the Moment several times, it's a beautiful 3 bedroom 2 bath home with all the accommodations needed. Two large paddocks behind the house and a large barn with nice stalls. No need to trailer out as you can catch the trails right from out of the driveway. Beautiful water falls and easy riding, the owner is fantastic!
Reviewed by: mary kay nelson on 7/18/2015 7:14:58 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 7/10/2015 Hometown: loudon, tn

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Dupont State Forest is an awesome place to ride! The footing was excellent, even after heavy thunderstorms. The trails are well marked and all bike riders were courteous and considerate of the horses. Spur of the Moment is perfectly situated just a short ride from Dupont. The barn and paddocks provide for peaceful rest or grazing after a long ride. The house is well-equipped for a comfortable stay and decorated beautifully for the equine lover. Thanks to Mary and John for being excellent hosts!
Reviewed by: Mountain Splendor Stable on 6/24/2014 12:12:57 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/15/2014 Hometown: Roanoke, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The rental home is so nice and clean and the horses are right out back you can see them through the screen door. The property is back off from the road so you can't even see traffic. Short distance to the Dupont State Park. Trails were great and scenery was awesome. Very nice place will return.
Reviewed by: Horselovincowgirl on 9/16/2013 3:10:50 AM
More reviews by Horselovincowgirl
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/15/2013 Hometown: Yadkinville, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have always wanted to ride Dupont State Forest. At Spur of the Moment it was so easy to access the park without having to load up and haul. The trails and scenery were amazing and more than we imagined. The mountain bikers were all respectful of our horses which was a concern to us. Our "home" was very nice. Clean, open,lovely and full of horse art and the corrals were right off the back deck. Loved the fact that the house was off the road and private. We can't wait to stay there again and have more rides in Dupont. One of the best trips we have ever had with the horses.
Reviewed by: Debbie Handy on 7/26/2013 9:54:04 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/23/2013 Hometown: Greensboro, , NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just got back from a long weekend at this cabin with 3 ladies and my hubby. We had a wonderful time and loved the accommodations and LOVED the riding. Three of our friends had never been to Dupont, it was voted a favorite by all. SO great to ride right into the forest. Mary was wonderful, easy to work with making our arrangements. We used to camp at Ultimate Ride and sure have missed Dupont, now we have a great place to go!
Reviewed by: Cobie & Larry on 7/4/2013 10:39:35 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/29/2013 Hometown: Mt. Pleasant, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

What a wonderful time and place. Horses in the back yard. trails right acr0ss the road. A trip I will take again
Reviewed by: sissy on 6/12/2013 5:57:53 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/27/2013 Hometown: Brunswick, ga

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

"Spur of the Moment" is a home away from home. Wonderful! Horses in the back paddocks that you can watch from the patio. Easy access to Dupont Trails right from the driveway. Couldn't ask for anything better! Very easy trails with beautiful waterfalls to view!
Reviewed by: Moe on 6/5/2013 6:06:22 PM
More reviews by Moe
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/26/2013 Hometown: Waynesville, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A perfect place for vacationing with your horse. Mary is a saint, very patient with all of our questions since this was our first time at the cabin and Dupont. The cabin looks like someone's home, not a rental. The furnishings are wonderful - beds comfortable, couldn't ask for anything more. The horses stay in the backyard in wood-fence corrals, and you can ride right to the trails. Dupont is beautiful and very horse friendly, waterfalls are gorgeous, trails range from forest roads to trails winding through the woods. You'll love it.
Reviewed by: Kathleen on 10/29/2012 6:08:44 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/24/2012 Hometown: Dahlonega, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We stayed at Spur of the Moment house and it was a wonderful place fully equipped, with enough space to board our horses comfortably, and the best part was not having to trailer our horses to the park....we had to go down the side of the rode for a couple of minutes and then we were in the woods! Mary, (owner of house) had everything organized and little stickers everywhere she thought we might have a question. The house was warm and comfy. It was great! Thank you Mary!
Reviewed by: Shelia Roberts on 10/29/2012 4:50:20 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/19/2012 Hometown: Durham, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

this is our 5th time to Dupont, one of the best and most beautiful horse trails with five different waterfalls to see on horse back and a covered bridge.Very easy riding. You share the trails with hikers and bikers and they all are very courteous when they see the horses coming as they have the right away. The owners of the property are very helpful and accommodating. The house was very nice and plenty of room for all. It was so nice to be able to ride right down the driveway and hit the trail in about 300 feet. It only took us about 10 minutes from the house to the Lake Imaging parking area. You can't beat that!! We will be back for sure and be bringing many friends to enjoy
Reviewed by: mary kay neslon on 7/28/2012 12:45:32 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/22/2012 Hometown: loudon, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This rental house is PERFECT!! The trails are easy access, wonderful place to keep your horses and not worry. The home is spacious, clean, and decorated so well. Mary is wonderful to work with. We had a 7 girl trip. Each riding at different levels; there was a trail for everyone. The ones that didnt ride had a great time hiking. Dupont is a beautiful place to visit. We have wonderful memories and plan to go back next year.
Reviewed by: Darlene Lengel on 7/25/2012 9:37:35 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/14/2012 Hometown: Charlotte, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

"Spur of the Moment" rental home exceeds expectations. Perfect location...you literally ride across the street into DuPont. Inside the home is cozy, fully-stocked with kitchen essentials, and paddocks behind home can hold numerous horses. DuPont, as a trail ride, is breathtaking and full of waterfalls. However, caveat, the trails are comprised of large rocks, which is NOT condusive to horses. Be careful.
Reviewed by: Knicole on 4/23/2012 1:27:08 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/13/2012 Hometown: Cary, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first stay here at Spur of the Moment and it was a wonderful experiance. We would for sure re-visit. Her cabin was very cleaned and very well kept and stocked up...even with a Keurig coffee maker!!! Very close to the entry trail, so no trailering nessasary, big plus!!! Loved the big corals out the back door for our horses, no small stalls or crazy high ties!!! Thanks Mary for staying in touch with us thru-out this mini vaca!!!
Reviewed by: Mindy on 10/18/2011 9:08:45 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/8/2011 Hometown: Salisbury, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This is your home away from home! Cozy! Hosts are fantastic. DuPont is directly across the road from the house.Trails are really well groomed and very scenic.There is so much to do for non-horse lovers as well. Will be back soon!!!!
Reviewed by: Donna L. on 9/11/2011 8:50:56 AM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 9/3/2011 Hometown: Wilmington, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to stay. Very clean and friendly, accomidating hosts. Trail access is fantastic, virtually no road riding required. Trailer parking is tight, but that may improve. Trails were mostly easy, some gravel trail/road riding, but some beautiful single track and lots of waterfalls. Well worth our 8 hour haul and hope to return again.
Reviewed by: Derek and Michelle on 7/25/2011 1:43:47 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/20/2011 Hometown: Depauw, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a great time the weather was nice the first two days and the second 2 days it rained and we went into Asheville to the new movie theaters off of I-40. The cabin was nice and roomy. The horses are in paddocks right outside the den window. We liked being able to ride right into Dupont from the property. The trails are very well groomed and and marked. They have street signs at every intersection. If you get tired of riding the 113,000 acres at Dupont. You can ride at Pisgah which is minutes away which has 125,000 acres.Biltmore Forest is 40 minutes with 130,000 acres. Biltore is a little pricey but well worth the ride.
Reviewed by: cindy on 12/21/2010 5:19:43 AM
More reviews by cindy
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/20/2010 Hometown: Fort Mill, SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The house was very close to the trail. The house was clean and comfortable. I liked looking out the patio door and seeing the horses.
Reviewed by: brenda price on 12/19/2010 7:19:43 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/9/2010 Hometown: camden, SC