HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for East Fork Stables
(click on name for more information)


Jamestown, TN

Overall TRAIL RATING with 57 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 57 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Rented a cabin within the campground with stall behind the cabin. The cabin was perfect, the stall were good. The trails are well maintained. The people at East Fork and in the local community were very friendly and helpful. Jamestown has everything you need with in a very short drive. This is our second stay at East Fork and we like it better every time we go. Our only complaint is we don't live closer. Looking forward to going back next year.
Reviewed by: L. Mitchell on 6/28/2016 12:46:49 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/11/2016 Hometown: Big Island, Va

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love, love, love it here. Trails are amazing and well marked staff is great. Camping spots are crowded close together which I am not a fan of but who cares with trails and courtesy like you find here plus they have a horse playground, arena, great barn, and great security. I was concerned for years about the level of experience I'd need to ride these trails as I'd heard so much about riding the edge but that is one trail that you have to request to ride and prove you can ride. I've had double partial knee replacements and can say these are trails any intermediate rider can handle easily plus they are wide. Overlooks are amazing and if your horse is out of shape if stay off trail F as it is long pulls up hills and then long down. Not aggressive just long and hard pulls and no reason to do them if you don't prefer it. Plenty of others to ride and you see the same great stuff. We've made an annual adventure of it. Love it.
Reviewed by: Marion miller on 1/6/2016 12:16:56 AM
More reviews by Marion miller
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/2/2015 Hometown: slaughters, ky

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Just, OH WOW! We camped for a week at East Fork Stables and had a blast. You can choose the type of trail you want to ride, from easy to challenging and the overlooks were breathtaking. At the overlooks, there are high-lines to tie the horses up and most have picnic tables to enjoy a nice lunch. The stalls were clean and spacious. I had a stall with a defective snap and within a VERY short time, a new snap had replaced the old. Your first bag of shavings are complimentary and these people go out of their way to make sure you and your horse are comfortable. Garbage pickup right at curbside every day. Picket lines right behind the campsite for saddling convenience. There were at least 3 or 4 trailheads right out of camp. This is a for-sure, will come back to place. Oh, and EASY to get into with a big rig! That's important for those of us that like our creature comforts. Way to go East Fork! You are a STELLAR campground!
Reviewed by: brncntry on 9/26/2014 3:18:10 PM
More reviews by brncntry
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/8/2014 Hometown: Havana, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A very friendly young lady was working the front desk and was helpful pointing out areas we didn't want to miss. A group of 3 of us rode all day today and loved the well marked trails. Lots of wide sandy trails, minimum mud and trails that would suit both beginners and those wanting to pull some hills. The waterfall and all the scenic overlooks are amazing. We are looking forward to riding at East Fork again in the spring.
Reviewed by: M Jett on 11/9/2013 8:53:59 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 11/9/2013 Hometown: McMinnville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I ride at East Fork a lot and am always pleased with the trails and the staff. There is a variety of terrain depending on what you want to do that day and there are enough trails to ride something different for several days. Unlike other areas near/in Big South Fork, you don't have to ride the same trail every day to get to a different trail. The staff is always super nice and helpful and the grounds are always well maintained no matter if they are packed or only a few campers there! Can't wait for them to open York Gap up again!
Reviewed by: docsmom on 10/15/2013 9:09:22 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/5/2013 Hometown: Huntsville, al

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

One of my favorites!
Reviewed by: Julie Anthony on 7/5/2013 5:11:24 PM
More reviews by Julie Anthony
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/30/2013 Hometown: Morriston, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Stayed in Pearl Cabarn 5 days. Great cabin/clean/everything you need except food. Nice stalls. Trails were a little wet/they had lots of rain but dried out nicely. Nice trails, lots of riding. People really helpful. Nice little town. Great trip, we have found our new favorite vacation spot!! We will go back!!
Reviewed by: LORRIE on 6/11/2013 10:11:16 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/26/2013 Hometown: BIG ISLAND , VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camped and rode at EFS for 4 days this past week. Campground was clean, well kept, roomy. Stalls are great. We were in barn D, so it was a new one. Stalls are 10x10, which is a good size. Trails are well marked. Most we rode were easy to moderate. We rode one that was more challenging, and I heard from other riders that there were some challenging trails. Staff was helpful and friendly. We'll be back when the leaves are off the trees so we can see even more of the beautiful overlooks.
Reviewed by: pale dry pete on 6/9/2013 4:01:09 PM
More reviews by pale dry pete
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/8/2013 Hometown: southeastern , IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

ALL AROUND BEST FOR ALL KINDS OF TRAILS. GOT TO BE THE PRETTIEST BLUFFS EAST OF THE ROCKIES.....SITES AND STALLS AAAAAAAAA. BEEN THERE OVER AND OVER AND WILL GO BACK OVER AND OVER. GET THE MEAL PACKAGE WHEN THEY OFFER. WE WENT YEARS WITHOUT AND THIS TIME AT THE COWBOY AND INDIAN RIDE WE DID. AWSOME HOME COOKED. WE HAVE BEEN MISSING SOME VERY VERY GOOD AND ECONOMICAL FOOD. STONE MOUNTAIN BAND ON SATURDAY WAS GREAT. ALL AROUND BEST. LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!CAN'T SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THE AMOUNT OF TRAIL RIDING YOU WILL DO!!!!!!!!!!!
Reviewed by: J Crane on 5/21/2012 5:42:02 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 5/16/2012 Hometown: Blountville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We used to be true EF campers, would not think of going else where.But EF has changed. Staff are not freindly or accomodating as they used to be.The bath houses are not maintained as they once were however the grass and the rest of the campgrounds are neat and clean. The new barn is nice with safe and secure stalls. We liked the trails well enough,but no new ones have been opened in years. Having the oppourunity to purchase food or not was a plus. Now it is our understanding you do not have the option. The partys at EF have all been nice and maybe, they could offer a party pass option with out the food for those campers that want to bring their own food. I also noticed that there are not many reviews for the 2012 season.
Reviewed by: Adcock on 5/21/2012 12:15:23 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/17/2012 Hometown: Smithville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Have been riding East Fork since it opened. Always love it but the office staff is not friendly or welcoming.All the trails have been made beginner easy.Sure miss a little more difficulty. The campground and stalls are terrific and always have been.Just miss the friendly smiles and super fun trails of the past. a trails have been made
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 4/22/2012 3:23:45 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/6/2011 Hometown: , GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Did not camp at East Fork - Rode the trail which are very nice. Beautiful overlooks. Will definately go back!
Reviewed by: X on 4/13/2012 8:38:37 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/7/2012 Hometown: Nesbit, MS, MS

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

would love to know why eastfork is closed till april
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 12/14/2011 1:42:45 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/5/2010 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Been going to EFS for around 12 years.Been a lot of other places, but EFS is simply the best. Gen. Mgr Phil Hopson & his entire staff are always extremly courteous & helpful. Camp sites are great & they have any type trail you could wish for. A little pricey, but remember the old saying, "you get what you pay for.
Reviewed by: Earl & Linda on 11/22/2011 12:41:54 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/13/2011 Hometown: Knoxville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our 3rd trip to East Fork in the past year. We really like the campground - it is well maintained, clean and most spots are shady. The trails are great - they range from easy to agreesive and the office provides a map that is really handy. We haven't had any complaints - it's our favorite place to camp and ride.
Reviewed by: Alex & Tammy on 5/30/2011 1:16:11 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/30/2011 Hometown: Springfield, TN, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Jan & Lakota from Greenville Sc just got back from East Fork Stables in James Town Tenn for the Derby Ride. It was absolutely beautiful! They have several barns, Lot's of great camping spaces, delicious food,friendly people and trails that will make you think you have entered the Enchanted Forest . The trails are VERY clearly marked & well maintained .A variety of riding,from easy, moderate to challenging. They also have a large riding arena, round pin, and Extreme Cowboy obsticals to practice on . I can not wait to return !
Reviewed by: Jan on 5/13/2011 7:36:02 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/5/2011 Hometown: Greenville , SC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Eastfork used to be THE PLACE! Many changes since I was last there. It is not as friendly or as organized as it use to be. Trails have been watered down to where they are not very challenging for riders that like more than a wagon trail. It is all business in the office now, not welcoming like it use to be. Wish I had not gone and could remember the way it was when Ms. Bobby was on the front porch waiting for us to come in and get started on a wonderful riding trip. Need to work on maps some also. Still nice place BUT nothing like it use to be! Barns and campground nice.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 11/1/2010 11:06:46 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/10/2010 Hometown: Toney, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

A lot has changed since we were at Eastfork last. Some of the trails were changed and made too easy. We like to trail ride so riding three abreast down a "trail" isn't our kind of riding. If you can get there in a car, "why ride"? However, had a wonderful time anyway and really enjoyed York Gap but had to ride five miles in the sun to get to the trail head. Great place but really did enjoy it more the way it used to be. Camp sites are the best and stalls are really nice. Map could use an update or two. All in all considered we had a good time and I'm sure we'll go back again, someday.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/13/2010 11:19:11 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/10/2010 Hometown: , Select State

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

great memorial day weekend great facilities great well marked trails doesnt get a lot better than this
Reviewed by: chris and brenda on 9/10/2010 7:11:52 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/28/2010 Hometown: Cross Plains, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We spent labor day weekend at East Fork Stables and had a great time. The trails were excellent, with some wide and easy and others narrow and steep. A good mix for all level rider. The scenery was beautiful. The kids and I followed the trail down to the bottom of the water fall. Great hike for all. The only negative was that the markings for the trails were initially a littel confusing, but after riding a few times we were easily able to orient ourselves on the trails. We stayed in a cabin with 3 of our kids and everyone enjoyed the stay. Great hospitality and excellent meal at the campsite on Saturday night. We will definitely return!! It was worth the 3 hour drive.
Reviewed by: Aubrey on 9/9/2010 9:46:44 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/4/2010 Hometown: Rineyville, KY

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Oh how we love East Fork!! We have ridden at many different places and East Fork by far tops them all. I can't wait until next Memorial Day so we can go back. The campgrounds, the barns, the hospitality---everything is TOP NOTCH!!! If you have not been to East Fork, you have to go!
Reviewed by: Stacy on 6/13/2010 8:59:22 PM
More reviews by Stacy
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/26/2010 Hometown: Orland, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Five stars to you all the way Eastfork. We love everything about you.
Reviewed by: Sherry on 5/3/2010 11:16:58 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/29/2010 Hometown: Sparta, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We ride East Fork often and we have the trails!
Reviewed by: Betsy Blackstock on 1/14/2010 7:47:27 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/28/2009 Hometown: Knoxville, TN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: charles on 1/14/2010 4:58:13 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/7/2009 Hometown: montgomery, AL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We have been to East Fork Stables many times, usually about twice per year. This trip was in conjunction with the TQHA ride. Again and again we are always treated very well and really don't want to leave. The camping and trails are among the best anywhere and when East Fork Stables does up the food, well it would be tough to beat prime rib dinner and full counrty breakfasts. The staff is always at the top of their game to make it the best experience possible.
Reviewed by: Mike on 10/5/2009 12:23:00 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/3/2009 Hometown: Columbus, OH

More Reviews Available.
View Complete List