HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Farmlane Campground
(click on name for more information)


Waterloo Recreation Area State Park, Mi

Overall TRAIL RATING with 14 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 9 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Trails are extremely well kept and well maintained. Like others mentioned though they are very poorly marked. Intended to do the easy 1hr loop and ended up being lost for 4hrs. Still had a great ride and the horsemen we found were incredible helpful in getting us back on track. The terrain is amazing for Michigan. Lots of steep up and down hills and even a few switchbacks, but they were so well maintained that even my husband on a horse that had never been trail riding before did great. Most of the trail is shaded and even after being lost we can't wait to get back.
Reviewed by: Mel on 6/15/2011 3:46:35 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/10/2011 Hometown: Stockbridge, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Most trails were clear and well maintained, although we did run into a few sideways trees and some unfortunate mudholes. This was my gelding's first trail ride, and he absolutely enjoyed himself, but it was tough on his inexperienced legs and feet. With that said, though, we both had a wonderful time and both left smiling. :o)
Reviewed by: April B. on 4/9/2011 6:48:20 AM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 6/15/2010 Hometown: Alto, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Would be 5 star, but poorly marked.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/30/2010 8:17:23 PM
Experience: Beginner Ride Date: 10/29/2010 Hometown: Milan, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

LOVE Waterloo, a great workout for horse and rider. Feels like you are in the true wilderness, beautiful overlooks. Lots of hills, some quite steep, but a blast to canter up. Not for timid riders or beginners.
Reviewed by: Heather on 5/22/2010 8:04:59 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/1/2009 Hometown: Milford, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

WOW!!! had a blast , horses wanted to do it all again the next day!! We rode a total of about 22 to 24 miles in two days. Campgrounds are nice, people were helpful and friendly. I thought I was in the hills of Kentuckey somewhere! The creek was clear and refreshing, the hills were difficult for our horses they have never had to do that. Lots of places to canter and the scenic look out was beautiful,, watch out for "Murder Mountain"!!!
Reviewed by: Jean Powe on 9/8/2009 4:43:10 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/6/2009 Hometown: South Rockwood, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very nice area with miles and miles of trails. Farmlane Campground was a nice place to stay, sites with pens available, water & electric. Great experience, only drawback was the trails are not marked well, many aren't marked at all. Heard several stories of people getting lost.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/12/2008 7:45:02 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/1/2008 Hometown: , MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Check us out at www.waterloohorsemen.org
Reviewed by: Chad Simpson on 5/2/2008 1:14:03 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/3/2008 Hometown: Manchester, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Sandi Roath on 3/29/2008 11:55:08 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/23/2004 Hometown: Haslett, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Ive Ridden here a couple times. The Campgrounds and Trails are very nice and well kept! I will deffaintly be coming back.
Reviewed by: Sarah on 1/13/2008 7:53:06 PM
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 6/11/2006 Hometown: Pinckney, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

this is an awesome trail system and the people do a great job keeping up the trails it is challenging on the back half of the trail the new map system is wonderful. you can ride for hours or for 1hr around the camp ground. the camp ground is great also rustic but very well kept
Reviewed by: jackie on 10/13/2007 2:01:03 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/5/2007 Hometown: parma, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We stay at Farmlane a lot!! Love the people, love the trails!!!
Reviewed by: Leah on 7/9/2007 1:28:58 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 7/9/2007 Hometown: Chelsea, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Didn't find it very difficult at all. The campsites are small compared to other parks.
Reviewed by: Louise on 5/7/2007 5:46:30 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 5/31/2005 Hometown: Grand Rapids, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

New markers on the trails make it easier to follow. Trails are beautiful, well maintained and fun to ride. Love Farmlane, the water and electric are nice! We have been there several times and its always a wonderful experience!
Reviewed by: Shelly on 2/6/2007 11:55:49 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 10/1/2006 Hometown: Carleton, MI

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Love the trails and the challenge that you have to face on them. A great place to ride. Even with all the recent rain the trails were very dry. You can ride for hours and not see the same thing twice. Pump water easily available and restrooms are clean.
Reviewed by: Heather on 4/17/2006 1:55:00 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/15/2006 Hometown: Mulliken, MI