HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Fort Mountain State Park
(click on name for more information)


Chatsworth, GA

Overall TRAIL RATING with 15 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 15 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Welcome to Fort Mountain Stables located in beautiful Chatsworth, GA. We have 25 miles of riding trails for your riding enjoyment. Fort Mountain Stables has restrooms and hot showers at the barn. Water and 30amp power is located at every site. Firewood and shavings if offered for sale at the barn. For your safety and ours, Coggins is required. Dogs are welcomed, however, they must be leashed and cannot go on the trails. We have hitching rails at the barn and at the overlook. To help keep you from getting lost, we offer free trail maps. FORT MOUNTAIN STABLES 548 Cliff Mine Road Chatsworth, GA 30705 706-429-5075 Rebecca Kilgore Camping $20 p/night (ride fee included) Stalls: $10 p/night p/horse (you clean) Highline/Fence: $5 p/night p/horse (designated areas only) Day ride: $10 p/person Call for reservations 706-429-5075
Reviewed by: Rebecca Kilgore on 8/26/2015 12:56:27 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/23/2015 Hometown: Chatsworth, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our first horse camping experience and we enjoyed it a lot. We had came to Ft. Mountian about a month ago for a day ride to scope it out. The trails range from fairly easy to quite steep and rocky. Some of the lower trails have creeks that run along side of them while some of the higher ones have small water falls along them. The higher trails are certainly tougher due to how steep they are in sections and the amount of rocks. Both of the horses did great even doing back to back days of riding. The second day we went about 10 miles over a wide variety of trail conditions and they did awesome. I will say that the trails could use a little maintance. There are the occasional trees down on a trail just about anywhere you go but they had trees down on almost every trail. We didn't mind because it gives the horses good practice crossing obstacles but one tree in particular almost knocked me off my horse because he had to go around it and it was pretty tight. The camp sites were good with power and water hookups. They also had areas for high lines for the horses. Overall a great place.
Reviewed by: Chris Rogers on 5/16/2011 4:18:56 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 5/14/2011 Hometown: Cumming, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

WOW! These trails are amazing! Only reason not 5 awesome stars is there could be better sign posts marking witch trail your on. Ended up on the 401 and 301 by accident but OMG it was a blast! The views are breathtaking, the waterfalls (like 20!) are amazing and the wildlife is abundant. This was our first trail out this season and my pony mare and I were way tired when we got back but both of us had a great time. SHOES ARE A MUST as there are rocks but they are manageable and the trails are kept clear. These are also very wide trails so don't let the mountain scare you. You can ride 2 abreast even in the narrow sections. Didn't camp or anything I just went for the day but the barn was fine and Heather and Neil were wonderful. I was nervous about riding out by myself but Heather was great and gave me lots of very helpful trail tips. I can't wait to go back and ride to 407! Highly Highly recommend this amazing place.
Reviewed by: Allison Dunn on 4/19/2011 5:34:08 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 4/17/2011 Hometown: Ringgold, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Would definitely stay here again. We enjoyed all of the trails we rode (including 407). These are mountain trails and you don't go into the mountains and not expect some rocks on some trails. Make sure your horse is shod. Some trails have no rocks. Neil, Chris and Heather were all wonderful, pleasant and helpful hosts. We very much enjoyed our stay at Cherokee Stables at Ft Mountain. I gave the campground a 4 star only because Neil is still working on it but it is a very pleasant place to stay and has everything that you need. We ride about 12 miles a day on non-gaited horses (but not slow pokes) and there's about 2-3 days of riding here but many other opportunities nearby. Views were spectacular and they have one of the prettiest waterfalls I have seen. This is mountain riding but all of the trails are nice and wide and not scary.
Reviewed by: Tammy on 3/26/2011 5:13:03 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 3/25/2011 Hometown: Brooksville, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was our second trip and again we had a blast. We love the camping and the trails. We have a 3horse LQ and have camped in the low campsites and the upper hill and enjoyed both. You can't find a better host than Neil. He told us which trails were good and which not so good. He has two showers in the barn. We kept our horses in the barn because we also did some site seeing while we were there. This is one of our favorite places to camp and will be back this year. Thank you Neil for always making us feel like old friends.
Reviewed by: Leisa McCannon on 3/6/2011 3:06:56 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/10/2010 Hometown: Covington, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Neil and his employee were most helpful and friendly. Made us feel right at home both at the barn and in the campground. Trails were great and a great view from the lookout (helicopter pad). A great place to stop on our way to South Fork, Tn. Will surely try and come back again and try some of the other trails.
Reviewed by: Jennifer Eardley on 10/10/2010 12:21:19 PM
More reviews by Jennifer Eardley
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/25/2010 Hometown: Sarasota, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Camping at Cherokee Stables on Ft. Mountain was a blast. This is the 2nd time our club has visited and camped. We drove in from South Florida. We were able to camp "up top" on the hill. Full electric & water sites. Plenty of room for 7 large GN trailers up there. The view is awesome. Some of the trails are rough but not terrible, the views are excellent. We enjoyed the riding immensely and Neil was a fantastic host. The barn is clean and the stalls were fine.
Reviewed by: Andrea on 3/22/2010 1:54:19 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 4/18/2009 Hometown: Homestead, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a great 4 night stay. Neil was VERY helpful, and even loaned us a heavy duty electric cord (we forgot ours). You MUST have shoes on all four feet for these trails and watch out for trail 407. It is a few miles of boulder-like rocks, very rocky and hard to travel and strenuous for you and your horse- you must go slow and easy. On our first day, we'd been out for about 2 hours and made the mistake of following a sign that said 2.7 miles back to the stable (which was incorrect) and it was more like 3 hours (on gaited horses!) and that was how we came upon trail 407- we were pretty beat by the end of that ride, luckily we had oreos and water with us. We did however see some amazing scenery- several bluffs that you could see forever and along the way old abandoned mines and amazing waterfalls and rockface shears and a few caves. Lovely flowers were in bloom too (first week of October). After we told Neil of our rocky trek through the boulder rocks, he gave us directions to avoid that trail (407)- the rest of the trails are pretty great- any one you chose. Nice and wide ( you still need 4 shoes !) quite comfortable to ride. He keeps the trails maintained and debris free and was running about on his tractor a few times keeping things nice and picked up. We didn't go in the barn (we used an electric fence for a corral for our horses and he had a nice large spot he suggested where we set them up right near us) but the barn appeared in good shape and I would have used it without worry. Never saw any bears! but another group of riders told us they saw a momma bear with two older cubs. (no issues) just wish we could have seen that! Camping sites are a little of a challenge getting around (4 horse LQ trailer) but there are a few you could get into with a larger rig. Some are quite close for buddies and some were a little more private but still kinda close. There would be no issues with a smaller trailer- but hard to make some turns if in a longer trailer) I know there was a toilet in the barn- not sure about a shower. There was a jiffy john on top of the hill in the camp area (we stayed at the bottom of the hill and it was more private and relatively flat- but I noticed some sites were not so level- but you can add shims and such to your trailer to get it level enough) Water and electric at all the sites. Some folks high-tied so there are places for that. Pretty much whatever you wanted to do would be ok. High-tying, corrals or barn. We would go back again! Had a great family trip. Quiet and private. Our level of experience is a lot more than some and not as much as some. Quite a bit more than intermediate but not necessarily an "expert". We get all around the Georgia area and have been to Alabama and Florida too. Our 14 year old daughter had no problem.
Reviewed by: Renee on 10/5/2009 11:32:29 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/1/2009 Hometown: Snellville/Metro-Atlanta, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

IT was very nice place to stay. Neil was very good person to deal with on the campsite. Stalls where good. Trails where wonderful! Will return.
Reviewed by: Dayna on 1/6/2009 6:35:46 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/4/2007 Hometown: Callahan, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

This was my first horse camping experience and I needed some help sorting out the kinks on my LQ trailer - the hosts were VERY helpful and friendly in every way. They couldn't have been better! We had a nice buddy campsite just past the barn on the left, it was level and fairly private. Trails were the rockiest I've ever been on (we took the 407 not knowing it was the rockiest one). Should have asked for directions! Shoes definitely recommended. Would go back again!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on 10/9/2007 8:08:14 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/29/2007 Hometown: Canton, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Reviewed by: Anonymous on 8/16/2007 3:20:58 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/16/2007 Hometown: , FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The trails were great and the scenery and animals we saw were spectacular. Would love to go again. Neil and Derrick were great hosts. Met some very nice people and wanted to stay a day or two longer to ride with them. Will go back again.
Reviewed by: Cotton H on 7/11/2007 7:25:16 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/5/2007 Hometown: Milton, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Wow, what a ride! Neil and his place are great! That's Harrison, only better looking, inside joke, but you'll understand if you go! Nice barn. Some campsites are unlevel so bigger rigs be advised, but you can make it work, it's so worth it. Of course we went on the most difficult trail first having no idea what we were in for! Rocky and steep, not all of it, but a lot. All four must be shod! The last day we did the same 1st trail again and it was no big deal. Just the shock of coming from flat Flordia to there. Our horses were pretty well conditioned and left with "Arnold" muscles, Arabs can do anything right Diane! We saw a bear with cubs..blocking our trail no less. And turtles, a snake. Even our ride in the downpouring rain was great. And the cold air coming from the mine in July heat was great! We can't wait to go again!
Reviewed by: Cindy Sheldon on 7/10/2007 6:25:13 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/7/2007 Hometown: Navarre, FL

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Neil is delightful and very accomodating. Campground is on top of a large hill with power and water but very little space and unlevel sites. This is probably not somewhere that you want to go with a large LQ trailer as getting into the camp and manuevering around the camp is very tight. The barn was adequate with clean stalls. The trails are some of the prettiest that I have seen with caves, waterfalls, mineshafts, old miner cabins, etc. The trails are well marked and well maintained. The trails are extemely rocky (will certainly need shoes on all 4 here) and can be moderately steep with many miles at a steady incline. This is no place for an out of shape or flat lander horse!
Reviewed by: bke on 7/8/2007 2:37:57 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 10/6/2007 Hometown: Dawsonville, GA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

NEIL WAS VERY HOSPITABLE HE EVEN CALLED HIS SHOER WHEN MY HORSE THREW A SHOE MADE US VERY COMFORTABLE WOULD RECOMMEND THE STABLE TO ANYBODY TRAILS COULD GO ON FOREVER VERY CLEAN BARN WE RETURNED FOR OVERNIGHT STAY 01/06/07 WE WILL RIDE AND CAMP THERE AGAIN THANKS NEIL
Reviewed by: TAMMY COULSTON on 1/8/2007 12:48:28 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 12/23/2006 Hometown: FLAT ROCK, IN

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Campground has a great view. There is water and electric at all sites. The barn was decent and the host very helpful. They let us use are own corral panels. Toilet but no showers. These were some of the nicest trails I've seen. There are waterfalls, mineshafts, old miner cabins, smokehouses and large caves. The trails are well marked and kept up. Some are moderately steep but a kid could do it. Your horse will need shoes here. Go by car to the top of the Mtn and there is a nice swimming bch, boat rental and put-put golf.
Reviewed by: Tammy on 9/18/2005 9:39:25 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/7/2005 Hometown: Lake Helen, FL