HorseTrailDirectory.com
Trail Riders Helping Trail Riders

Reviews for Fort Valley Ranch
(click on name for more information)
Fort Valley, VA

Overall TRAIL RATING with 15 votes:
Overall CAMP RATING with 16 votes:

Enter your Trail and/or Campground Review 

Individual Reviews

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been asked to delete my review but don't see a way to do this. While I did not personally visit this campground, the two people with whom I was going to camp DID tour the facility. My review was based on their experience. Since then, we were informed that there WAS an entrance that could handle a 40 ' rig - unfortunately, the person giving the campground information when my friends visited didn't provide this information. To be specific: toilets are basically porta potties, showers - well let's just say my friends wouldn't want to use them. Granted we are women and perhaps have higher standards for showers than most men. (No offense fellas). If you intend to camp only in a living quarters trailer and only use your trailer facilities, none of this is a problem for you.
Reviewed by: sandy Cryder on 10/6/2015 5:58:24 PM
More reviews by sandy Cryder
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/23/2015 Hometown: Mt. Sidney, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Whoever gave this a 4 star must have pretty low standards. Bathhouses were terrible, showers were terrible. Campsites and entrance not really suitable for big rigs and those campsites that were large enough had inadequate electric hook ups. Office folks gave different stories about availability of campsites. Too bad because it has lots of trails. Very disappointed. These folks need to upgrade for the price they are charging.
Reviewed by: Sandy Cryder on 9/25/2015 2:21:32 PM
More reviews by Sandy Cryder
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/23/2015 Hometown: Mt. Sidney, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had a wonderful time at Fort Valley Ranch in October. Bill and Laura were as wonderful as always and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The trees were beautiful and the views from the mountain tops just gorgeous. We even tried a trail we had not been on before when at Fort Valley Ranch, and after going up over the mountain, we descended down to the Shenandoah River---just beautiful! We love Fort Valley Ranch Horse Campground and can't wait until the Spring and our next camping trip there!
Reviewed by: C. Ann on 1/15/2014 1:10:17 PM
More reviews by C. Ann
Experience: Not Specified Ride Date: 10/12/2013 Hometown: Shenandoah, Va

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

we spent a week at Fort Valley. The trails range from beginner to expert but the maps that they give you are not very good. The property does not look as beautiful as the best of America by Horseback TV show. They have no planned evening entertainment and no flushing toilets. The outhouse was very cute. The camp store is a complete waste of space. The owners were not there when we arrived and we were greeted by a Lovely young lady named Leanna. She went above the call of duty by bringing us her own mustard,ketchup and ant poison. The other wrangler named Mason was also very helpful and a delight to be around. The shower had bees and two people from our group got stung, so one of the ladies showered in the unoccupied bunkhouse. The owners returned halfway through our stay and said hello but did not make us feel welcome at all, in fact it felt very tense.suddenly the camp filled up with dogs running loose. they followed the horses and visited the camp sight much to the dismay of our dog which we kept tied. when we checked out we were charged an extra $100. for using the bunkhouse shower. that's right $100.00 needless to say we will not be staying there again. sourpuss people with sourpuss attitude. Leanna and Mason were wonderful but I don't think they will be there long...pity
Reviewed by: Tina Wallman on 8/3/2013 11:30:32 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 8/2/2013 Hometown: Hancock, MD

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The campground is wonderful with lots of shade and corral pens for your horse close to your camping site, including some covered. Bill and Laura, the owners, are so warm and friendly and do all they can to make your stay a good one. There are even a few paddocks available unless previously spoken for. There are miles and miles of trails with some on the property and most in the National Forest. There are many to choose from with different levels of difficulty and amount of rocks and if someone complains saying "the trails are rocky", they have been on the wrong trails or else they expect MOUNTAIN TRAILS to be like the sandy beach trails in flat low areas. The idea is to ask Bill beforehand and take the trail you want depending on degree of difficulty and/or rocky terrain. Many of the trails have great views (Kennedy Peak trail is one)and as long as you have shoes on your horse all around and you and your horse have ridden more than just flat, sandy trail riding, you should have no problem. (The trails seen on "Best of America By Horseback" are THE actual trails on campground property, but the previous reviewer makes no sense to expect all 80+ miles of trail (most in the National Forest) to be exactly the same as those shown!) Great people, great place and highly recommended!
Reviewed by: C. Ann on 7/28/2013 9:55:37 AM
More reviews by C. Ann
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 7/1/2013 Hometown: Shenandoah, Va

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Very disappointed trails very rocky not liked seen on Best of America on Horseback
Reviewed by: Linda on 9/18/2012 1:24:43 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 6/10/2012 Hometown: , OH

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to go for trail riding. It can be as easy or as challenging as you want. The camp was good, nothing fancy but everything you needed. Used the paddock, but horses would have been fine in panels. People there extra nice, checked on us every evening, advised us on trails to ride. Will be going back often.
Reviewed by: L. K. Mitchell on 10/3/2011 9:12:36 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/25/2011 Hometown: Big Island, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I really enjoyed my time at Fort Valley. Camp was nice and clean. Trails are great to. A little rocky in places, but the views are worth the rocks on the trail.
Reviewed by: Sterling Carter on 11/16/2010 6:43:04 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 11/13/2010 Hometown: Vinton , VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Great place to ride and camp, very nice people. First time we went one of our horses got hurt. We rode one of their horses w/no charge.And we got lost came looking for us and picked us up w/the horse trailer.
Reviewed by: Amy on 6/12/2010 10:48:36 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/5/2009 Hometown: st. pauls, NC

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

We had 4 horses, all who are trailered at least once a week to trail heads and ridden for an average of 4 hours each time (of course, we also work them during the week as well). We chose a trail loop consisting of one Easy rated trail and a Moderate rated trail and were told the loop would take about 4 hours at a quarter horse walk. Well, almost 9hours later, we returned with 2 horses with subtle limps. Their definition of easy is our version of difficult. The trails are quite narrow and very rocky. There are several miles when you are walking on total rock. Make sure your horses have boots if they are not shod! The next day, all 4 horses had swollen legs of some sort so we loaded up to go home. The campground has a great layout though. The covered corrals are perfect! Big enough to move around and lots of shade. The cabin was very clean and up to date, but be aware that 2 rooms does not mean bedrooms, it is literally rooms so you'll be quite close and personal with whoever joins you! I would plan a layover here, but not a trail riding weekend again.
Reviewed by: Kristen on 11/8/2009 9:10:23 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 8/25/2009 Hometown: Harrisburg, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been coming to Fort Valley for 12 years, through 3 various ownerships. Bill & Laura have made extensive improvements at the campground as while as the trails.The property is well maintained..the cabins have been renovated, paddock fencing is new , the public restrooms& showers are clean which is not the norm at other horse camping facilities. The hospitality is wonderful which is one of the reasons I ( we...the other ladies from Pa ) visit twice a year.
Reviewed by: Gina Hilliard on 10/18/2009 1:59:11 PM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 6/25/2009 Hometown: Sugarloaf, PA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

My husband and I are regular campers at Fort Valley Ranch. We have enjoyed each visit there. Some of the trails in the George Washington National Forest can be very rough, so one needs to study the map and back page of map to find which trails are suitable to them. Fort Valley Ranch trails are easy and one can ride for a few hours on them. The owners, Bill and Laura, always make us feel extremely welcome and are very hospitable and accommodating. We find Fort Valley to be very peaceful and relaxing and plan to camp there multiple times during the year. We also enjoy being able to bring out the fishing poles and tackle box and spend some time fishing.
Reviewed by: Lisa Turner on 10/2/2009 3:49:32 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/5/2009 Hometown: Williamsport, MD

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I can't see why anyone would not like the campground,as for the trails they(Ft.Valley Campground)have no control over the GW National Forest or it's trail system!
Reviewed by: Dick Davis on 10/1/2009 11:50:30 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/5/2009 Hometown: Williamsport, MD

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

The new owner's ...the Shumachers are doing a great job...they keep the place clean and neat. They are helpful in all ways, and have created a few new trails for a more pleasurable experience. I encourage riders to visit! Teri P.
Reviewed by: Teri P. on 10/1/2009 6:13:37 AM
Experience: Expert Ride Date: 9/15/2009 Hometown: Yorktown, VA

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

Fort Valley is a wonderful place to camp and ride. The new owners go out of their way to make your stay one that you wont forget. I have been riding there for a number of years and the current owners Bill and Laura Schumacher have made the camp and trails even better. I would recommend that you try Fort Valley as your next camping experience and see for yourself. Great hospitality and fun all thanks to Bill and Laura. I will continue to camp there. I will be there in October.
Reviewed by: William Ridgell on 10/1/2009 4:09:40 AM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/6/2009 Hometown: Valley Lee, MD

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I loved going to Fort Valley Ranch and plan to go back often. The trail to Kennedy's Peak is awesome. The folks that run Fort Valley are wonderful and make you feel like one of the family.
Reviewed by: Sandy Hayden on 9/30/2009 6:54:10 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/5/2009 Hometown: Avenue, MD

Trail Rating: 
Camp Rating: 

I have been going to Fort Valley for about 4 years now. Since the new owners took over. I have seen improvements. I always have a good stay and time there. The camphost are there for any need that you may have. It has been one of my favorite places to go
Reviewed by: Joanny on 9/30/2009 6:27:24 PM
Experience: Intermediate Ride Date: 9/4/2009 Hometown: Dameron, MD